$363 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real All Inclusive

5 stars
Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
104 reviews
2nd Fantastic Trip to the Reserve at Palma Real

This was our family’s second fantastic visit to the Paradisus Palma Real Reserve Family Concierge,... See full review

  • All Inclusive Explorer
  • May 19, 2014
Best All Inclusive ever. Has a Kid Zone. Makes Riu and Sandals look like a joke.

This hotel was wonderful--but there were two things I wasn't crazy about. I'll get to those in a... See full review

  • Whiznit
  • Apr 7, 2014
Boutique hideaway suites on beachfront mega-resort in Punta Cana
Welcome to luxury redefined at The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real, on Playa Bavaro in Punta Cana. A boutique sanctuary within the Romanesque glamour of Paradisus Palma Real Resort, The Reserve features nearly 190 residential concierge suites, including family concierge suites, suites with a private garden, swim-up suites and presidential suites. Guests enjoy access to three restaurants, a spectacular freeform swimming pool, a pool for kids, guest lounge, private beach with concierge service and more.
Highlights
  • Find sanctuary at The Reserve, a private luxury accommodation on the Paradisus resort property
  • Drop kids off at the Paradisus Kids Zone
  • Enjoy relaxing on the dreamy Playa Bavaro with full concierge services provided by the resort
  • Unlimited golf green fees at Cocotal Golf & Country Club located right in front of the hotel
  • 7 stars Michelin rated Chef Martin Berasategui at "Passion by Martin Berasategui " ($) at Paradisus Palma Real
  • Free Internet
  • Dedicated Family Concierge to coordinate activities and services during the day
  • Cell phone or Walkie-talkie radio for all-day communication with your Family Concierge
  • Spectacular Kid's Zone with mini-water park with slides and water features
  • Palma Real Shopping Village, Punta Cana's biggest shopping mall, is right in front of the hotel
  • Complimentary Internet access in rooms and also in The Reserve lounge
  • Connecting rooms available. Payable extra.
Location
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real is nestled within the Paradisus Palma Real Resort on Playa Bavaro, in Punta Cana. Located in La Altagracia, the easternmost province of the Dominican Republic, the Punta Cana area is legendary for a sunny climate, miles of picture-perfect beaches, golfing, historic sites, nature preserves and upscale resorts.
Rooms

The Reserve 190 luxuriously appointed Residential Concierge Suites including Family Concierge Suites, Suites with Private Garden,  spectacular Swim-up Suites.  All rooms feature a separate living area with sofa bed, Jacuzzi for two on the terrace, two flat-screen TV's, CD & DVD Player and free internet access.


Family Concierge Suites

Families will find their perfect vacation with the unique Family Concierge service. Starting with the Family Concierge Suites with the possibility to book connected rooms, including Paradisus Kids Kit, dedicated concierge, exclusive services and activities and access to huge Kids Zone with mini water park with slides and right in front the children's swimming pool and toddler splash pool.

Dining
Guests at The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real Resort suites enjoy three a la carte restaurants: the Mediterranean-cuisine Aqua, Teppanyaki Mizu and exclusive Gabi Club. The Reserve also offers access to a poolside grill and bars at both the Gabi Club and H2O.
Recreation
Guests at The Reserve at Paradisus enjoy all-inclusive and additional-fees activities ranging from a variety of swimming pools to the YHI SPA, a fitness center and the on-site Kids Zone, with games, swimming, classes and other activities for the younger folks.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (14 mi/22.5 km)
  • Basilica de Higuey (31.5 mi/50.8 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (53.1 mi/85.5 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (65.1 mi/105 km)
  • Santo Domingo (133 mi/214 km)
  •  Cocotal Golf & Country Club

  •  San Juan Shopping

Hotel Map

18.6766 -68.4117
Area served
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
The resort is just 20 minutes from Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ), 90 minutes from La Romana airport (LRM) and three and half hours from Santo Domingo International airport (SDQ).
Area description
The Reserve is located at the entrance of Paradisus Palma Real Resort located on the Domincan Republic's legendary Bavaro beach with its pristine white sands and is only a few minutes away from The Cocotal Golf & Country Club and the Palma Real Shopping Village.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real All Inclusive Rooms

The Reserve One Bedroom Master Suites Swim Up
The One Bedroom Master Swim up Suites are equipped with one King or two Queen Beds (on request on arrival at the hotel). Room size is 1077 sq. ft. Including Direct access to the swimming pool from terrace area with submerged bed, dining area, Jacuzzi for two on the bathroom and on the terrace, 915 sq.ft private outdoor patio and garden area, private Bali bed and canopy and connection with One Bedroom Swim up Suite ($) All The Reserve Suite accommodations feature separate living area with sofa bed, individually controlled A/C and ceiling fan, private terrace or balcony, Jacuzzi for two on the balcony, European spa jet-shower, double closets, two flat-screen TVs, CD player & DVD player, Coffee maker machine or Nespresso machine, daily stocked mini bar, 24-hour room service, free high-speed Internet access, safe deposit box, dining area and many more.
The Reserve One Bedroom Master Suites
The One Bedroom Master Suites are equipped with one King or two Queen Beds (on request on arrival at the hotel). Room size is 1077 sq. ft. Including dining area, Jacuzzi for two in the bathroom and on the balcony and connection with One Bedroom Suite ($) All The Reserve Suite accommodations feature separate living area with sofa bed, individually controlled A/C and ceiling fan, private terrace or balcony, Jacuzzi for two on the balcony, European spa jet-shower, double closets, two flat-screen TVs, CD player & DVD player, Coffee maker machine or Nespresso machine, daily stocked mini bar, 24-hour room service, free high-speed Internet access, safe deposit box, dining area and many more.
The Reserve Family Concierge One Bedroom Suite
Ideal for families, The Reserve Family Concierge One Bedroom Suites offer view of our pool or lush gardens and are conditioned with all the amenities that define Paradisus Palma Real Resort's elegant suites plus added benefits that are designed with family vacations in mind. These Suites are equipped with one King or two Queen Beds (on request on arrival at the hotel) and feature upgraded amenities. Room size is 807 sq. ft. including the following exclusive Family Concierge amenities PlayStation (on request), children's mini bathrobes and slippers, children's amenities kit in the bathroom, children's towels and children's pillows, Jacuzzi for two on the terrace, separate living room area with sofa bed, daily stocked mini-bar including children's drinks, personalized turn-down service with milk and cookies, pillow menu, bathrobes and slippers for the parents and luxury bathroom amenities.
The Reserve Family Concierge One Bedroom Master Suites
The Reserve Family concierge One Bedroom Master Suites are equipped with one King or two Queen Beds (on request on arrival at the hotel). Room size is 1077 sq. ft. including the following exclusive Family Concierge amenities PlayStation (on request), children's mini bathrobes and slippers, children's amenities kit in the bathroom, children's towels and children's pillows, Jacuzzi for two on the terrace and bathroom, separate living room area with sofa bed, daily stocked mini-bar including children's drinks, personalized turn-down service with milk and cookies, pillow menu, bathrobes and slippers for the parents and luxury bathroom amenities.
The Reserve One Bedroom Swim Up Suites
The One Bedroom Suites Swim Up are equipped with one King or two Queen Beds (on request on arrival at the hotel). Room size is 807 sq. ft. including direct access to the swimming pool from terrace area with submerged bed, dining area, Jacuzzi for two on the terrace, 818 sq.ft. private outdoor patio and garden, private Bali Bed and canopy and connection with One Bedroom Master Swim-up Suite ($). All The Reserve Suite accommodations feature separate living area with sofa bed, individually controlled A/C and ceiling fan, private terrace or balcony, Jacuzzi for two on the balcony, European spa jet-shower, double closets, two flat-screen TVs, CD player & DVD player, Coffee maker machine or Nespresso machine, daily stocked mini bar, 24-hour room service, free high-speed Internet access, safe deposit box, dining area and many more.
The Reserve One Bedroom Suite with Private Garden
The One Bedroom Suites with private patio and garden are equipped with one King or two Queen Beds (on request on arrival at the hotel). Room size is 807 sq. ft. including Jacuzzi for two on the terrace, 818 sq.ft private outdoor patio and garden area, private Bali bed and canopy and connection with One Bedroom Master Suite with private patio and garden ($) All The Reserve Suite accommodations feature separate living area with sofa bed, individually controlled A/C and ceiling fan, private terrace or balcony, Jacuzzi for two on the balcony, European spa jet-shower, double closets, two flat-screen TVs, CD player & DVD player, Coffee maker machine or Nespresso machine, daily stocked mini bar, 24-hour room service, free high-speed Internet access, safe deposit box, dining area and many more.
The Reserve One Bedroom Suites
Oversized suites with beautiful views of the resort's pools or lush gardens are elegantly decorated in the tones of the Caribbean with dark mahogany furniture and marble floors. Step inside your very own private sanctuary of elegance and tranquility and relish in your personal corner of Paradise. The One Bedroom Suites are equipped with one King or two Queen Beds (on request on arrival at the hotel). Room size is 807 sq. ft. Including Jet Tub for two on the balcony, connection with One Bedroom Master Suite ($) and dining area. All The Reserve Suite accommodations feature separate living area with sofa bed, individually controlled A/C and ceiling fan, private terrace or balcony, Jacuzzi for two on the balcony, European spa jet-shower, double closets, two flat-screen TVs, CD player & DVD player, Coffee maker machine or Nespresso machine, daily stocked mini bar, 24-hour room service, free high-speed Internet access, safe deposit box, dining area and many more.
The Reserve One Bedroom Master Suites
The One Bedroom Master Suites with private patio and garden are equipped with one King or two Queen Beds (on request on arrival at the hotel). Room size is 1077 sq. ft. including Jacuzzi for two on the bathroom and on the terrace, 915 sq.ft private outdoor patio and garden area, private Bali bed and canopy and connection with One Bedroom Suite with private patio and garden ($). All The Reserve Suite accommodations feature separate living area with sofa bed, individually controlled A/C and ceiling fan, private terrace or balcony, Jacuzzi for two on the balcony, European spa jet-shower, double closets, two flat-screen TVs, CD player & DVD player, Coffee maker machine or Nespresso machine, daily stocked mini bar, 24-hour room service, free high-speed Internet access, safe deposit box, dining area and many more.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Passion by Martin Berasategui ($) at Paradisus Palma Real
Paradisus Palma Real opened the doors to its re-imagined restaurant, Passion by Martin Berasategui ($). Lauded by gourmands around the world, Chef Berasategui is famous for his delectable cuisine which is crafted with masterful technique. Guests will be able to dine a la carte or indulge in a tasting menu complete with wine pairings.
Eight restaurants and eight bars at Paradisus Pama Real
As The Reserve guest you have also free access to the services, facilities and restaurants of Paradisus Palma Real (not included Royal Service area).
Aqua
Aqua at The Reserve with Mediterranean Cuisine featuring a la carte international delectable specialties.
Mizu
Mizu Teppanyaki show at the brand new The Reserve
GABi Club
GABi, the chill-out club with chic but casual elegance where bar, restaurant and pool come together in a unique harmony. Every day and every night people come to mingle, to meet, feel the beat, have a drink, catch the groove and experience new emotions in a fashion-forward ambiance.
Hydro Grill
Open all day for quick bites, sandwiches and snacks by the pool.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (104)

Ratings and reviews for The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Flying all day
DMV
Jan 24, 2013

Excellent

Great Couples getaway. The staff the resort is excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Head to the Paradisus Palma Real Main hotel for late night food

Review of The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shegirl29
Oklahoma City, OK
Jun 26, 2014

The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real

This was to be an Epic event. A destination wedding for my daughter and husband to be. We booked our airplane/hotel and transportation to and from Hotel on this site...Usually a great idea.. Not so good this time. I also booked and paid for a room for our Son. He got a Master Suite ...we got a room with Ants and far away from everyone. Finally they moved us after our 3rd day and I had to wait two hours for a service man to come and help me with my bags...The new room was great...but the experience a little exhausting. They treated our guests who I also had paid and reserved their rooms on melia dot com, better than us. Something was not quite right about that. But Johenny was the one to upgrade and put us in a Master Suite. Thanks to him.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Use the hotel transportation to go into the city and shop. If you go down on the beach you are at your own risk.

Review of The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sotms
New York, NY, USA
Jun 14, 2014

Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real

Great looking hotel with huge clean rooms. there are lots of things to do for kids. for adults there are plenty of secluded areas by the pool where you can find quietness. Staff is friendly. Beach is very nice, but need to take a shuttle or walk which is also fun. Breakfast and lunch are decent, while dinner food is very average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CWilli
Columbus, Ohio
May 20, 2014

Very Beautiful Resort

The lush gardens and beautfiul waters make this resort on bavaro stand out. Definitely the nicest resort on that stretch of beach. My girflriend and I had a very nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make reservations for dinner first day. Bana and the market grill are the best.

Review of The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
All Inclusive Explorer
RIchmond, VA
May 19, 2014

2nd Fantastic Trip to the Reserve at Palma Real

This was our family’s second fantastic visit to the Paradisus Palma Real Reserve Family Concierge, and our third trip to the Dominican Republic. If you are considering a family beach trip with kids under the age of 10-12, then you should consider the value that this hotel has to offer. The Family Concierge experience is amazing. It has been four years since our last visit to the property, and we were nervous that our second trip would not be as amazing as our first trip was those many years ago. To our amazement, the hotel experience has gotten better! Not only was our favorite person, Mayra Valencia, still a concierge there, but she was able to work with us during our stay. She made such an impression on our two boys during our last stay, that they referred to the Dominican Republic as going to “Mayra’s Beach”. We checked in and received a room upgrade because it was our second visit to the property. We were assigned room 5202 which is a swim out room. I didn’t think that having a swim out room would be much of an improvement over the other rooms when considering booking options, but I think differently now having had the experience of the past week. The swim out option provides you with not only easy access to the pool, but in our experience, it provided access to a quiet pool experience as not many people at all were ever in our section of the pool. It was nice to leave the kids and activities of the main pool behind to enjoy our own private pool like experience back at the room (even though the main pool is connected to the swim our rooms). The food is just as good as ever. The Mexican Restaurant and the buffet Naos are under construction and the jack hammering during the day down at the Palma Real main pool can be distracting. During this construction phase, the Market Grill is serving dinner, and it provides an excellent venue and fresh food choices. It was one our favorite locations to dine during the trip. The surf and turf here was fantastic. We also really enjoyed Aqua at the Reserve, the sushi we made at Mizu, Vento and Gabi Beach. Lunches were best at H20 grill by the Reserve Main Pool. The Yucca Arepas were excellent as was everything else we ate there. It was difficult to come home to a house without milk and not be able to dial up room service to bring it straight away. The only downsides to the trip were construction noises at the Palma Real and the timeshare sales pitch. We didn’t sit through the pitch this visit, but were still pressed to sit with a salesperson to earn their “points” for getting us to a presentation. Not a big deal, but it is the only distraction from an otherwise amazing vacation experience. Several people deserve attention and will make your trip to the Reserve very special. I already mentioned Mayra who you will want as your family concierge. Carlos, who runs the activities around the Reserve, has a great attitude and big smile. He is really fun and works hard to make sure that everyone else is enjoying their trip. After eight days of being driven around the resort by Francisco, I was a little rusty behind the wheel when I got home. Francisco also has a superior personality, is honest, and willing to go the extra mile for guests. The omelet chef at Gabi Club in the Reserve is also very patient with guests and makes a fantastic breakfast. Our family continues to highly recommend the Reserve at the Paradisus Palma Real with the Family Concierge. All of the personal attention you receive will make you feel very special, and you won’t want to come back to reality… Enjoy your trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Try the Sushi making class at Mizu. Small classes with great lesson and sushi

Review of The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Whiznit
Indianapolis, IN
Apr 7, 2014

Best All Inclusive ever. Has a Kid Zone. Makes Riu and Sandals look like a joke.

This hotel was wonderful--but there were two things I wasn't crazy about. I'll get to those in a minute. First, the good stuff. The rooms were amazing and the pools and privacy of the Reserve are worth every penny. The rooms have a kitchenette with a mini fridge stocked at all times that you can take from as part of the all inclusive. A separate bedroom and bathroom. The rooms were very clean and the showers huge. The Reserve is separated from the rest of the hotel Paradisus--this is what you're paying extra for... it's private and smaller. More island feeling than the main hotel, which is kind of low key Vegas-ey. You can still get from the Reserve to the main hotel (which has most of the restaurants, the casino and the beach area) on a golf cart any time you want. The Reserve all inclusive means you can eat at any of the many restaurants at the Reserve and the main hotel, and skip the dinner buffets without paying extra. You just have to get a dinner reservation at the restaurants you want. (I suggest booking all your reservations as soon as you get there, then you don't have to deal with it later. You will have a personal rep from the hotel who will book all your reservations and help you book your excursions when you check in.) The Reserve all inclusive also means top shelf liquor on demand. The main hotel does not have top shelf liquor. We could only find one bar with top shelf liquor at the main hotel, and they wanted $12 a drink. The pools are extremely clean and spacious with lounging beds, a swim up bar, and lots of private lagoons ensconced in perfectly landscaped greenery and flowers. It seriously is that amazing. The Reserve also has a kid zone that comes FREE with the all inclusive package. It is huge and clean with basketball, air hockey, computers, video games, arts and crafts and a baby room.The staff is very hands on and has an activity every hour on the hour. A bungee jumping trampoline and a rock climbing wall!! Seriously. Great for kids up to age 11 or 12 I'd say. We used the kid zone for getting our kids out of the sun for an hour or two as well as for adult happy hour before dinner. (You can sign your child in and leave, and they will babysit for you until you come back.) Now the negatives. First, this is a time share area where there are people who want you to buy a time share. It is annoying, but manageable. We were approached on the second day, said no thanks, and were left alone after that. The second complaint would be that the internet was very spotty. In the morning and in the 5pm-7pm range, it seemed everyone was trying to use wifi at the same time and it was impossible to get on. However, I didn't go to a tropical paradise to be connected to the real world, so I got over it. Highly recommend the Reserve. Go for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Book your reservations at the hotel restaurants the first day you get there. Making reservations was easy because the hotel rep makes them for you. We thought the Mexican restaurant, Mole, was great and the other ones we dined in were average. Order carefully, the staff seems to understand English, but we got some crazy stuff coming out a few times. All part of the fun.

Review of The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fezzik
Colorado
Apr 6, 2014

Enjoyed the Reserve

We are a family of 4, 2 kids ages 9 and 11. The Reserve was a beautiful and quiet resort that never felt crowded, although was at full capacity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The resort does try to sell you a time share. If you get a call in your room that says they have a gift for you in the lobby, don't take the bait.

Review of The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
aubs dad
chatt tn
Mar 29, 2014

wonderful family vacation

this resort was beautifully landscaped and well maintained the staff was friendly and helpful. For an all inclusive the food was very good with a diverse offering of restaurants. Plenty of things for the kids and the adults to keep us all happy.The kid zone was a treat for the kids. The gym and yoga offerings a treat for the adults. I could mention a couple of things but it isn't really worth it the good far outweighed the bad. I would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Star301
Illinois
Feb 10, 2014

Beautiful resort not worth the money

Its a beatiful place gardens everywhere. But even when its hot you still feel cold in the pool and the ocean is too ruff. We've been all over the caribean and its just not worth the money and time to get there you are better off going to Puerto Rico and stay at El Conquistador resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Naty21
Northbrook, IL
Jan 14, 2014

Needs improvement

- nice resort, but you're paying more to be farther form the beach, not sure how that came about... - staff is nice and friendly, but unprofessional, they're never there when you need them, expect tips for EVERY single thing they do and don't know the most basic drinks (i.e. margaritas, mudslides etc) - transportation between The Reserve and the beach is about 5-7 minutes PLUS 20 minutes that you spend waiting for the golf cart - the resort is advertised as family friendly, however, there are no elevators and tons of stairs; ground-level suites have terraces that are not fenced in and the pool is right at the end of the terrace; - there seems to be a shortage of towels at the beach, if you arrive around noon or later, don't expect any (we were told that people 'take too many'... very professional...) - very limited selection of breakfast items is served at The Reserve buffet as opposed to the buffet at Palma Real (doesn't make sense to me that I'm paying more to be under-served) - babysitters at the Kidz Zone don't feel that they need to be in the play area even when there are kids under their care there at the moment - dinners are 'extremely' hard to book, since 'everything is filled', yet when you go to any restaurant at any given time in the evening you'll see lots of available tables Overall, it's a nice resort that's being terribly mis-managed. There is a lot of room for improvement and hopefully the management reviews their problem areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Save yourself money and stay at The Palma Real instead of The Reserve. You'll be right on the beach, which will also save you time (about 1 hr a day) in transportation.

Review of The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bret Warren
Chicago, IL
Jan 9, 2014

To be 5 Star, you need to pay attention to details

My wife and spent 8 days at the Reserve and on the whole, it was a pretty relaxing experience with high quality food all round. However, when it came to service, they have a long way to go...starting with the front desk! Here is a laundry list annoyances that mostly tied into a lack of communication on some front. - Didn't tell us they stuck us in a room with 2 double beds until we got into the room. Not how you want to start your anniversary getaway. We raised a stink and they reluctantly moved us. - The 2 TVs both got poor reception and one stopped working. - $2 alarm clock and $5 stereo that didn't work. Really? That's the best you could do? - Significant number of calls down to front desk or spa that went unanswered or into voice mail. They seem understaffed at the front desk. - Forgot to bring coffee/breakfast to the room twice. - Maids gave us a bit of hard time when we asked for small face clothes. Weird. Are they endangered? - The assigned butler for the week was, well, pretty self centered and not very responsive or even visible. He seemed visibly upset when we were clear with him early on we didn't want to sit through the time share pitch. Unprofessional comes to mind. He seemed very disinterested in us after that first introductory conversation. He also forgot to follow up on a couple requests and never apologized. - My wife needed to get medicine from the pharmacy, which took a while to reach from the front desk, then difficult to communicate with, then slow to deliver, and when they did show up, they brought the wrong medicine! We had to go through the process all over again. - I arranged a tee time a course and waited 50 minutes longer than the planned departure time. The service the hotel didn't seem to care too much that they were late picking me up. There were lots of little things you would expect but you get the picture. There were also a lot things they did right and some employees really did try hard to make you comfortable, despite the all-inclusive nature that doesn't lend itself to great service mentality. The staff was overly friendly for the most part, always smiling and kind. They were everywhere you didn't need to go far to find someone with a badge. The music was pretty relaxing and what you would want poolside. The shuttles to the beach ran very frequently, so you could rides easily to the main hotel where the beach was located. And bartenders were generous in their pours and eager to fix you the drink of choice. The beds were a bit uncomfortable and springy with cheap sponge pillows, not the best. Definitely 3 star beds, not five star. All that said, you can't beat the weather and the rooms, hallways and facilities were decked out with marble, beautiful tile and manicured gardens everywhere. The place was always clean and the Spa at the Reserve was expensive but full of ladies that knew exactly what pressure to exert to get out those kinks. The health club was decent and located next to the spa, so all good there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try to make sure you get to all the restaurants, including the only one you pay $60 pp for, worth the dining experience and the good was excellent. Also recommend the Caribbean Pirate ship cruise, which was an interactive "play" of sorts that included a stop for dinner on an ocean platform just away from shore. Great change of pace with some good fun with aspiring, young actors. Also, if you have kids, the Reserve is the place. IF no kids, stay at the Caba Real facility which has fewer.

Back to menu Return to top