$508 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 5, 2015 Check-out: Aug 6, 2015

The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
94 out of 94
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Flying all day
DMV
Jan 24, 2013

Excellent

Great Couples getaway. The staff the resort is excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Head to the Paradisus Palma Real Main hotel for late night food

Review of The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chris464837r4yri8r
Business
Maryland
Jul 14, 2014

great resort

My family and I had a great time at this resort. Awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shegirl29
Business
Oklahoma City, OK
Jun 26, 2014

The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real

This was to be an Epic event. A destination wedding for my daughter and husband to be. We booked our airplane/hotel and transportation to and from Hotel on this site...Usually a great idea.. Not so good this time. I also booked and paid for a room for our Son. He got a Master Suite ...we got a room with Ants and far away from everyone. Finally they moved us after our 3rd day and I had to wait two hours for a service man to come and help me with my bags...The new room was great...but the experience a little exhausting. They treated our guests who I also had paid and reserved their rooms on melia dot com, better than us. Something was not quite right about that. But Johenny was the one to upgrade and put us in a Master Suite. Thanks to him.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Use the hotel transportation to go into the city and shop. If you go down on the beach you are at your own risk.

Review of The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sotms
Business
New York, NY, USA
Jun 14, 2014

Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real

Great looking hotel with huge clean rooms. there are lots of things to do for kids. for adults there are plenty of secluded areas by the pool where you can find quietness. Staff is friendly. Beach is very nice, but need to take a shuttle or walk which is also fun. Breakfast and lunch are decent, while dinner food is very average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CWilli
Business
Columbus, Ohio
May 20, 2014

Very Beautiful Resort

The lush gardens and beautfiul waters make this resort on bavaro stand out. Definitely the nicest resort on that stretch of beach. My girflriend and I had a very nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make reservations for dinner first day. Bana and the market grill are the best.

Review of The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
All Inclusive Explorer
Business
RIchmond, VA
May 19, 2014

2nd Fantastic Trip to the Reserve at Palma Real

This was our family’s second fantastic visit to the Paradisus Palma Real Reserve Family Concierge, and our third trip to the Dominican Republic. If you are considering a family beach trip with kids under the age of 10-12, then you should consider the value that this hotel has to offer. The Family Concierge experience is amazing. It has been four years since our last visit to the property, and we were nervous that our second trip would not be as amazing as our first trip was those many years ago. To our amazement, the hotel experience has gotten better! Not only was our favorite person, Mayra Valencia, still a concierge there, but she was able to work with us during our stay. She made such an impression on our two boys during our last stay, that they referred to the Dominican Republic as going to “Mayra’s Beach”. We checked in and received a room upgrade because it was our second visit to the property. We were assigned room 5202 which is a swim out room. I didn’t think that having a swim out room would be much of an improvement over the other rooms when considering booking options, but I think differently now having had the experience of the past week. The swim out option provides you with not only easy access to the pool, but in our experience, it provided access to a quiet pool experience as not many people at all were ever in our section of the pool. It was nice to leave the kids and activities of the main pool behind to enjoy our own private pool like experience back at the room (even though the main pool is connected to the swim our rooms). The food is just as good as ever. The Mexican Restaurant and the buffet Naos are under construction and the jack hammering during the day down at the Palma Real main pool can be distracting. During this construction phase, the Market Grill is serving dinner, and it provides an excellent venue and fresh food choices. It was one our favorite locations to dine during the trip. The surf and turf here was fantastic. We also really enjoyed Aqua at the Reserve, the sushi we made at Mizu, Vento and Gabi Beach. Lunches were best at H20 grill by the Reserve Main Pool. The Yucca Arepas were excellent as was everything else we ate there. It was difficult to come home to a house without milk and not be able to dial up room service to bring it straight away. The only downsides to the trip were construction noises at the Palma Real and the timeshare sales pitch. We didn’t sit through the pitch this visit, but were still pressed to sit with a salesperson to earn their “points” for getting us to a presentation. Not a big deal, but it is the only distraction from an otherwise amazing vacation experience. Several people deserve attention and will make your trip to the Reserve very special. I already mentioned Mayra who you will want as your family concierge. Carlos, who runs the activities around the Reserve, has a great attitude and big smile. He is really fun and works hard to make sure that everyone else is enjoying their trip. After eight days of being driven around the resort by Francisco, I was a little rusty behind the wheel when I got home. Francisco also has a superior personality, is honest, and willing to go the extra mile for guests. The omelet chef at Gabi Club in the Reserve is also very patient with guests and makes a fantastic breakfast. Our family continues to highly recommend the Reserve at the Paradisus Palma Real with the Family Concierge. All of the personal attention you receive will make you feel very special, and you won’t want to come back to reality… Enjoy your trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try the Sushi making class at Mizu. Small classes with great lesson and sushi

Review of The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Whiznit
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Apr 7, 2014

Best All Inclusive ever. Has a Kid Zone. Makes Riu and Sandals look like a joke.

This hotel was wonderful--but there were two things I wasn't crazy about. I'll get to those in a minute. First, the good stuff. The rooms were amazing and the pools and privacy of the Reserve are worth every penny. The rooms have a kitchenette with a mini fridge stocked at all times that you can take from as part of the all inclusive. A separate bedroom and bathroom. The rooms were very clean and the showers huge. The Reserve is separated from the rest of the hotel Paradisus--this is what you're paying extra for... it's private and smaller. More island feeling than the main hotel, which is kind of low key Vegas-ey. You can still get from the Reserve to the main hotel (which has most of the restaurants, the casino and the beach area) on a golf cart any time you want. The Reserve all inclusive means you can eat at any of the many restaurants at the Reserve and the main hotel, and skip the dinner buffets without paying extra. You just have to get a dinner reservation at the restaurants you want. (I suggest booking all your reservations as soon as you get there, then you don't have to deal with it later. You will have a personal rep from the hotel who will book all your reservations and help you book your excursions when you check in.) The Reserve all inclusive also means top shelf liquor on demand. The main hotel does not have top shelf liquor. We could only find one bar with top shelf liquor at the main hotel, and they wanted $12 a drink. The pools are extremely clean and spacious with lounging beds, a swim up bar, and lots of private lagoons ensconced in perfectly landscaped greenery and flowers. It seriously is that amazing. The Reserve also has a kid zone that comes FREE with the all inclusive package. It is huge and clean with basketball, air hockey, computers, video games, arts and crafts and a baby room.The staff is very hands on and has an activity every hour on the hour. A bungee jumping trampoline and a rock climbing wall!! Seriously. Great for kids up to age 11 or 12 I'd say. We used the kid zone for getting our kids out of the sun for an hour or two as well as for adult happy hour before dinner. (You can sign your child in and leave, and they will babysit for you until you come back.) Now the negatives. First, this is a time share area where there are people who want you to buy a time share. It is annoying, but manageable. We were approached on the second day, said no thanks, and were left alone after that. The second complaint would be that the internet was very spotty. In the morning and in the 5pm-7pm range, it seemed everyone was trying to use wifi at the same time and it was impossible to get on. However, I didn't go to a tropical paradise to be connected to the real world, so I got over it. Highly recommend the Reserve. Go for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Book your reservations at the hotel restaurants the first day you get there. Making reservations was easy because the hotel rep makes them for you. We thought the Mexican restaurant, Mole, was great and the other ones we dined in were average. Order carefully, the staff seems to understand English, but we got some crazy stuff coming out a few times. All part of the fun.

Review of The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fezzik
Business
Colorado
Apr 6, 2014

Enjoyed the Reserve

We are a family of 4, 2 kids ages 9 and 11. The Reserve was a beautiful and quiet resort that never felt crowded, although was at full capacity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The resort does try to sell you a time share. If you get a call in your room that says they have a gift for you in the lobby, don't take the bait.

Review of The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
aubs dad
Business
chatt tn
Mar 29, 2014

wonderful family vacation

this resort was beautifully landscaped and well maintained the staff was friendly and helpful. For an all inclusive the food was very good with a diverse offering of restaurants. Plenty of things for the kids and the adults to keep us all happy.The kid zone was a treat for the kids. The gym and yoga offerings a treat for the adults. I could mention a couple of things but it isn't really worth it the good far outweighed the bad. I would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Star301
Business
Illinois
Feb 10, 2014

Beautiful resort not worth the money

Its a beatiful place gardens everywhere. But even when its hot you still feel cold in the pool and the ocean is too ruff. We've been all over the caribean and its just not worth the money and time to get there you are better off going to Puerto Rico and stay at El Conquistador resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Naty21
Business
Northbrook, IL
Jan 14, 2014

Needs improvement

- nice resort, but you're paying more to be farther form the beach, not sure how that came about... - staff is nice and friendly, but unprofessional, they're never there when you need them, expect tips for EVERY single thing they do and don't know the most basic drinks (i.e. margaritas, mudslides etc) - transportation between The Reserve and the beach is about 5-7 minutes PLUS 20 minutes that you spend waiting for the golf cart - the resort is advertised as family friendly, however, there are no elevators and tons of stairs; ground-level suites have terraces that are not fenced in and the pool is right at the end of the terrace; - there seems to be a shortage of towels at the beach, if you arrive around noon or later, don't expect any (we were told that people 'take too many'... very professional...) - very limited selection of breakfast items is served at The Reserve buffet as opposed to the buffet at Palma Real (doesn't make sense to me that I'm paying more to be under-served) - babysitters at the Kidz Zone don't feel that they need to be in the play area even when there are kids under their care there at the moment - dinners are 'extremely' hard to book, since 'everything is filled', yet when you go to any restaurant at any given time in the evening you'll see lots of available tables Overall, it's a nice resort that's being terribly mis-managed. There is a lot of room for improvement and hopefully the management reviews their problem areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Save yourself money and stay at The Palma Real instead of The Reserve. You'll be right on the beach, which will also save you time (about 1 hr a day) in transportation.

Back to menu Return to top