$188 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

Sanctuary Cap Cana

5 stars
Cap Cana, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
57 reviews
Couples dream getaway

This place is magical and we enjoyed every second of it! Upon entering the resort I felt as I had... See full review

  • Kamala Ingrid
  • Aug 19, 2014
This was a really nice getaway trip.

Everything was nice, the weather was not so hot, no humid, sunshine everyday. The Hotel was huge, 3... See full review

  • EricUSA
  • Aug 12, 2014
Punta Cana resort sparkles with swim-out suites, luxury spa

The sprawling villa faƧade of Sanctuary Cap Cana is only one clue to the grandeur that lies within. The Spanish Colonial-inspired resort spares no opulence. Guests retire to spacious suites and villas-some with direct access to the saltwater pool. Restaurants and bars play up the tropical setting, while an upscale spa ensures private time.

Highlights
  • Resort with high-end amenities
  • Full-service spa
  • Multiple restaurants and bars
  • Some rooms with direct access to the saltwater pool
  • Near two Jack Nicklaus-designed golf courses
Rooms

Guests unwind in high style in the suites and villas in Sanctuary Cap Cana. Some rooms take on contemporary style (think espresso wood platform beds and mod lamps), while others veer more tropical (intricate cutout arches, straw-based furniture and knotty wood walls). Upscale amenities raise the comfort, thanks to fine linens, silk bathrobes and marble floors. Soaring ceilings and expansive patios or balconies amplify the luxury. An extraordinary treat: Some rooms offer swim-out access to the saltwater pool.

Features

Visitors get pampered at the resident spa, a retreat beloved for its pool, hydrotherapy services and massages. Guests also indulge in the five swimming pools, bartending and dance lessons and golf courses nearby.

Dining

Restaurants at Sanctuary Cap Cana pay special attention to ambiance. Blue Marlin, a casual seafood eatery, sets the scene for relaxation with oceanfront dining, while Argentinean grill The Steakhouse stirs drama with a cast iron and brick oven that uses charcoal to fire juicy meats to perfection. For the most special of occasions, request a private, candlelit, seaside table. Follow up with a cocktail at the romantic Love bar, one of many lounges on the property.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (3.7 mi/6 km)
Attractions
  • El Cortecito (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Playa Bavaro (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Cap Cana (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (8.8 mi/14.1 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (20.6 mi/33.2 km)
Business
  • 15,846-square-foot convention center for up to 550 guests
  • 18,279 square feet of event space
  • Business center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sanctuary Cap Cana also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Sanctuary Cap Cana Rooms

Junior Suite Ocean View
Junior Suites with ocean views. Suites consist of a king or two double beds with fine linens, furnished balcony or terrace with stunning ocean views, in-suite climate control, plasma TV, separate living area with desk, high speed internet connection, espresso machine, in-suite safe, selection of newspapers and magazines and coffee and tea selection, full marble bathroom with separate water closet, shower, luxurious Gilchrist and Soames bath amenities, bathrobes and slippers, hair dryer and double vanity sinks. Maximum occupancy is 2 adults. 645 sq. ft. Guests are immersed in Unlimited-Luxury treating adults to elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites with 24-hour concierge and room service, fine culinary experiences including an array of themed gourmet la carte dining options, fabulous bars and lounges, pool and beach wait service, and live evening entertainment.
Monarch Villa
Monarch Villa bordering or close to the Caribbean Sea. Luxury Villas consist of an ample terrace, open-air spaces, a king or two double beds with fine linens, furnished balcony or terrace with stunning ocean views, in-suite climate control, plasma TV, separate living area with desk, high speed internet connection, espresso machine, in-suite safe, selection of newspapers and magazines and coffee and tea selection, full marble bathroom with separate water closet, shower, luxurious Gilchrist and Soames bath amenities, bathrobes and slippers, hair dryer and double vanity sinks. Maximum occupancy is 2 adults. 1050 sq. ft. Guests are immersed in Unlimited-Luxury treating adults to elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites with 24-hour concierge and room service, fine culinary experiences including an array of themed gourmet la carte dining options, fabulous bars and lounges, pool and beach wait service, and live evening entertainment.
Monarch Ocean Front Villa
Monarch Ocean Front Villa with ocean views bordering the Caribbean Sea, consist of an ample terrace, open-air spaces, a king or two double beds with fine linens, furnished balcony or terrace with stunning ocean views, in-suite climate control, flat screen TV, separate living area with desk, high speed internet connection, espresso machine, in-suite safe, coffee and tea selection, full coral stone bathroom with separate water closet, shower, luxurious bath amenities, bathrobes and slippers, hair dryer and double vanity sinks. Maximum occupancy is 2 adults.
Honeymoon Suite with Private pool
Honeymoon Suite located on the third floor of the Fortress with both ocean and tropical views, consist of private pools and sun deck, a king bed with fine linen beds, in-suite climate control, flat screen TV, separate living area with desk, high speed internet connection, espresso machine, in-suite safe, coffee and tea selection, full coral stone bathroom with separate water closet, shower, luxurious bath amenities, bathrobes and slippers, hair dryer and double vanity sinks. Maximum occupancy is 2 adults.
Castle Junior Suite Swim Out
Castle Jr. Suite located in the Fortress with direct swim-out access to the salt water pool. Suites consist of a king bed with fine linen beds, in-suite climate control, flat screen TV, separate living area with desk, high speed internet connection, espresso machine, in-suite safe, selection of newspapers and magazines and coffee and tea selection, full coral stone bathroom with separate water closet, shower, luxurious Gilchrist and Soames bath amenities, bathrobes and slippers, hair dryer and double vanity sinks. Maximum occupancy is 2 adults.
Beach Front Premiun Suite
Suites with direct beach access and ocean front views. Suites consist of a king or two double beds with fine linens, furnished balcony or terrace, in-suite climate control, plasma TV, separate living area with desk, high speed internet connection, espresso machine, in-suite safe, selection of newspapers and magazines and coffee and tea selection, full marble bathroom with separate water closet, shower, luxurious Gilchrist and Soames bath amenities, bathrobes and slippers, hair dryer and double vanity sinks. Maximum occupancy is 2 adults. 754 sq. ft. Guests are immersed in Unlimited-Luxury treating adults to elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites with 24-hour concierge and room service, fine culinary experiences including an array of themed gourmet la carte dining options, fabulous bars and lounges, pool and beach wait service, and live evening entertainment.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Casa Bella Restaurant
Dedicated to international dishes a mix of specialties and classics; open for breakfast and dinner.
The Steak House
Contemporary American grill designed in the tradition of an Argentinean grill, with a cast iron and brick oven that uses wood and charcoal. Prime meats are the feature selection; open for lunch and dinner.
Blue Marlin Restaurant
Serving fresh seafood delicacies in a relaxed oceanfront atmosphere; open for lunch and dinner.
Wok Restaurant
Pan-Asian fusion with a touch of flair Oriental la carte specialties are served at a Teppanyaki table, where your chef awaits; open for dinner only.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (57)

Ratings and reviews for Sanctuary Cap Cana

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
South Carolina
Business
N. Myrtle Beach,SC
Dec 30, 2013

Pleasant Holiday

Most pleasant Safe Very clean Staff really tried to please Management very helpful esp with golf tee times Would go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ScottyH
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 23, 2014

Great, quiet, getaway

If you're looking for an action-packed, water sports-filled getaway that'll also keep the kids occupied for days on end with activities, Cap Cana isn't the place for you. Check out the resorts in Punta Cana (families) or Cabarete (action sports seekers). But, if you're looking for a quiet getaway, with better than average "all inclusive" food, attentive staff, and beautiful facilities, Sanctuary Cap Cana should be on your short list for consideration. For us, this vacation was about 'downtime'. Getting away, and simply relaxing by the pool or beach. Doing some swimming, some reading, and taking in some spa services. Sanctuary delivered that in spades. Staff was always gracious and eager to please. Though some were less 'engaged' than others, even the ones who were simply 'going through the motions' sill provided outstanding service. For me, the only thing that was a bit odd was the fact that each day seemed to bring a different number and combination of towels and wash cloths. Some days, it was 4 bath towels and nothing else. The next day, it was 2 bath towels & 1 hand towel. After that, 3 bath towels, no hand towels, and two wash cloths. Not really a problem, but it became a fun game to 'guess what we got' each afternoon when we returned to the room. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John P island
Business
South Carolina
Feb 11, 2014

First romantic trip together

Overall great and worth the money. A few things weren't a little off, but great location. Staff was hit or miss, but overall tried hard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Not much of a nightlife scene at this hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dumplin1025
Business
Edina, MN
May 5, 2014

Beautiful property! Great Staff!

Staff was great-extremely helpful and friendly. The location is absolutely beautiful! The hotel pool was refreshing and the drinks at the bar were great. Beautiful beach with sugar white sand. Would go back for sure! Great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tifani E.
Business
Long Beach, Ca
Jun 5, 2014

A secret beautiful relaxing oasis

Stayed here for our 5 year anniversary. It is a BEAUTIFUL resort! The pictures just do not do it any justice at all. It is really breathtaking. Pay the extra money and get an ocean front view, its so colorful and pretty. We stayed in the honeymoon suite(in the castle/fortress) with the private pool and it was devine. The room was modern and inviting, and the views and pool were amazing. Most of the staff was very nice and friendly, it is a spanish speaking country but most of the worker's english is good. The drinks are verrrry watered down, so ask for a double or a shot on the side. Do take a walk next door to the Alsol resort, it is so dead an empty over there they treat you like royalty, and their pool food is much better! The only think I didnt like about the trip was that the females staff seemed to all be flirting with my husband and it made me upset. I loved that tipping was optional an NOT required despite them gibving you azeroed out bill, so beware your tips is already included. We had a wonderful time and will return again soon with our family! We regret not taking a day trip, we kept hearing that the doone buggies were alot of fun. Also if you are looking for warm ocean water, it was not warm at all in late May.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go over to the Alsol infinity pool at the other resort, its like a 10 min senic walk(get a note from the concierge) and you can enjoy the pool, 3 jacuzzi's and bar for free with the note. They have stronger liquor and Jack Daniels!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Akron, OH
Dec 23, 2010

Great place to unwind!

4-1/2 Stars on a 5 scale rating. My wife and I went just to relax for 4 days and this place is ideal for relaxation. The room was very comfortable with nice amenities and all of the staff we came into contact with were excellent. The pool area was alive with staff keeping things interesting with optional activities. Even though I love children, it was very nice to have the quiet of an adults only venue. But don't get me wrong, it definitely was not boring. As mentioned, there were activities in and around the pool every day and there were a variety of good shows each evening (dance and magic). Since our stay was relatively short, we didn't get to go to Caleton which is a boat doc area about 10-15 minutes away. If you decide to play Punta Espada golf course, you won't find many better anywhere. But you will be challenged by the wind as many of the holes are along the ocean where there could be a 40 yard wind effect on your shots. And the architect of the entire complex is beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cesar A C
Business
Woodhaven
May 10, 2014

Amazing views, average food.

My wife and I loved the beach, pools and location in general. We feel we did not get our money's worth when it came to food. It was average, not great considering how much we paid for the all-inclusive package. It was quiet just like we wanted. Since this looks like a couples getaway, I was expecting more couple oriented activities like romantic evenings, couples dance with song request or a band playing romantic music but there were none. I would also recommend a karaoke night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Southeast
Apr 1, 2011

A True Review

Ok so here is the review. Hotel: The hotel is in great condition and does look like the pictures on the website. The common areas of the hotel were very clean and were stylishly decorated. Our room was in slightly worn condition but still very nice. Bathroom was very large and new but the shower grout was a little dirty. Beach/Pool: The main pool was busy and loud but there was other pools tucked around the property that were quite. The hidden pool on top of the castle is highly recommended. The beach in front of the hotel is nice but a little crowded because it not huge. You have to get up early to get a decent chair. They need to get more chair cushions to accomodate every chair. They did keep on running out of towels which was a little annoying. They replinished them throughout the day but sometimes we had to wait. The beaches next to the hotel(I think the name is Juanillio)are incredible. Miles of sand with no hotels or people. Food: I'm a food snob. I have to say the food was probably the best I have had in the carribean. It wasn't world class like in NY or San Fran but much better than I expected on an island in the carribean. The steak tasted like steak and it was cooked well (not over-done,etc). Service: Everyone is really nice and really tried to be accomodating. I thought the staff was courteous. They remembered our names. Pool bar was a little slow but they were nice. Golf: AMAZING. I saw the pictures on the web and thought it can't be that nice. It is. You can't understand how perfect and beatiful the course is until you play it. Overall I would definately stay here if I go back to the Dominican Republic. The PROS definately outweigh the minor CONS. It was good enough were I don't think I would consider another hotel. Hope this helps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach next to the hotel is really nice. If your facing the water it is to the left of the hotel. You have to walk around the parking lot and castle to get there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ralph020
Business
Princeton, NJ
Feb 17, 2011

Sanctuary Cap Cana Feb 2011

5 stars: only 170 rooms,location from airport,view,landscaping, pools,beaches,spa, room, fitness center, Punta Espada golf (play after 1:30 for lower rate), cleanliness. 4 stars:service (langauge minor barrier)3 stars: food hit or miss but available 24/7, nightlife. 0 stars: casino

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

while all inclusive and bountiful, hit or miss with the food you choose. However, available 24/7 and you could also order something else if you didn't like it. they should provide a wine list for the house wines. You had your choice of red or white; not by type.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mrsshonpy
Business
Lancaster, PA
Jul 5, 2011

Beautiful Resort

The resort was beautiful and the staff very friendly. Food was fabulous. Very relaxing not alot of on site activities. Beach small but beautiful. Down side was every morning we were awakened by a loud continuous banging noise at about 530 am. Sounded like a machine running below our room. Water trampoline was broken, bikes were no good. Two restaurants ran out of the food we wanted to order and the resort was not even close to being full plus some nights only had choice of two restaurants to eat at and we had to wait over an hour to be seated. Occassionally service was slow and when we called (twice) for our luggage to be picked up at check out, no one ever came so we carried it to the lobby ourselves. Housekeeping also came to clean our room a few nights when we were there changing for dinner. It is a wonderful resort and we had a really great time but would not spend the money to stay there again our stay at the Majestic Colonial was just as nice for a better price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top