$165 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

Sanctuary Cap Cana

5 stars
Cap Cana, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
59 reviews
This was a really nice getaway trip.

Everything was nice, the weather was not so hot, no humid, sunshine everyday. The Hotel was huge, 3... See full review

  • EricUSA
  • Aug 12, 2014
Perfect vacation

I had been to many resorts but Sanctuary is by far my new favorite ! From the moment we arrived the... See full review

  • Voytech
  • Jul 4, 2014
Punta Cana resort sparkles with swim-out suites, luxury spa

The sprawling villa façade of Sanctuary Cap Cana is only one clue to the grandeur that lies within. The Spanish Colonial-inspired resort spares no opulence. Guests retire to spacious suites and villas-some with direct access to the saltwater pool. Restaurants and bars play up the tropical setting, while an upscale spa ensures private time.

Highlights
  • Resort with high-end amenities
  • Full-service spa
  • Multiple restaurants and bars
  • Some rooms with direct access to the saltwater pool
  • Near two Jack Nicklaus-designed golf courses
Rooms

Guests unwind in high style in the suites and villas in Sanctuary Cap Cana. Some rooms take on contemporary style (think espresso wood platform beds and mod lamps), while others veer more tropical (intricate cutout arches, straw-based furniture and knotty wood walls). Upscale amenities raise the comfort, thanks to fine linens, silk bathrobes and marble floors. Soaring ceilings and expansive patios or balconies amplify the luxury. An extraordinary treat: Some rooms offer swim-out access to the saltwater pool.

Features

Visitors get pampered at the resident spa, a retreat beloved for its pool, hydrotherapy services and massages. Guests also indulge in the five swimming pools, bartending and dance lessons and golf courses nearby.

Dining

Restaurants at Sanctuary Cap Cana pay special attention to ambiance. Blue Marlin, a casual seafood eatery, sets the scene for relaxation with oceanfront dining, while Argentinean grill The Steakhouse stirs drama with a cast iron and brick oven that uses charcoal to fire juicy meats to perfection. For the most special of occasions, request a private, candlelit, seaside table. Follow up with a cocktail at the romantic Love bar, one of many lounges on the property.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (3.7 mi/6 km)
Attractions
  • El Cortecito (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Playa Bavaro (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Cap Cana (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (8.8 mi/14.1 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (20.6 mi/33.2 km)
Business
  • 15,846-square-foot convention center for up to 550 guests
  • 18,279 square feet of event space
  • Business center

Hotel Map

18.4722 -68.3995
Area served
Higuey, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport- (PUJ) - Estimate driving time 10 minutes.
Area description
Located ten minutes away from the Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ) and only five miles away from one of the most abundant fisheries in the Caribbean and close to the heart of the largest humpback whale sanctuary of the world, fishing season in Cap Cana.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sanctuary Cap Cana also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Sanctuary Cap Cana Rooms

Junior Suite Ocean View
Junior Suites with ocean views. Suites consist of a king or two double beds with fine linens, furnished balcony or terrace with stunning ocean views, in-suite climate control, plasma TV, separate living area with desk, high speed internet connection, espresso machine, in-suite safe, selection of newspapers and magazines and coffee and tea selection, full marble bathroom with separate water closet, shower, luxurious Gilchrist and Soames bath amenities, bathrobes and slippers, hair dryer and double vanity sinks. Maximum occupancy is 2 adults. 645 sq. ft. Guests are immersed in Unlimited-Luxury treating adults to elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites with 24-hour concierge and room service, fine culinary experiences including an array of themed gourmet la carte dining options, fabulous bars and lounges, pool and beach wait service, and live evening entertainment.
Monarch Villa
Monarch Villa bordering or close to the Caribbean Sea. Luxury Villas consist of an ample terrace, open-air spaces, a king or two double beds with fine linens, furnished balcony or terrace with stunning ocean views, in-suite climate control, plasma TV, separate living area with desk, high speed internet connection, espresso machine, in-suite safe, selection of newspapers and magazines and coffee and tea selection, full marble bathroom with separate water closet, shower, luxurious Gilchrist and Soames bath amenities, bathrobes and slippers, hair dryer and double vanity sinks. Maximum occupancy is 2 adults. 1050 sq. ft. Guests are immersed in Unlimited-Luxury treating adults to elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites with 24-hour concierge and room service, fine culinary experiences including an array of themed gourmet la carte dining options, fabulous bars and lounges, pool and beach wait service, and live evening entertainment.
Monarch Ocean Front Villa
Monarch Ocean Front Villa with ocean views bordering the Caribbean Sea, consist of an ample terrace, open-air spaces, a king or two double beds with fine linens, furnished balcony or terrace with stunning ocean views, in-suite climate control, flat screen TV, separate living area with desk, high speed internet connection, espresso machine, in-suite safe, coffee and tea selection, full coral stone bathroom with separate water closet, shower, luxurious bath amenities, bathrobes and slippers, hair dryer and double vanity sinks. Maximum occupancy is 2 adults.
Honeymoon Suite with Private pool
Honeymoon Suite located on the third floor of the Fortress with both ocean and tropical views, consist of private pools and sun deck, a king bed with fine linen beds, in-suite climate control, flat screen TV, separate living area with desk, high speed internet connection, espresso machine, in-suite safe, coffee and tea selection, full coral stone bathroom with separate water closet, shower, luxurious bath amenities, bathrobes and slippers, hair dryer and double vanity sinks. Maximum occupancy is 2 adults.
Castle Junior Suite Swim Out
Castle Jr. Suite located in the Fortress with direct swim-out access to the salt water pool. Suites consist of a king bed with fine linen beds, in-suite climate control, flat screen TV, separate living area with desk, high speed internet connection, espresso machine, in-suite safe, selection of newspapers and magazines and coffee and tea selection, full coral stone bathroom with separate water closet, shower, luxurious Gilchrist and Soames bath amenities, bathrobes and slippers, hair dryer and double vanity sinks. Maximum occupancy is 2 adults.
Beach Front Premiun Suite
Suites with direct beach access and ocean front views. Suites consist of a king or two double beds with fine linens, furnished balcony or terrace, in-suite climate control, plasma TV, separate living area with desk, high speed internet connection, espresso machine, in-suite safe, selection of newspapers and magazines and coffee and tea selection, full marble bathroom with separate water closet, shower, luxurious Gilchrist and Soames bath amenities, bathrobes and slippers, hair dryer and double vanity sinks. Maximum occupancy is 2 adults. 754 sq. ft. Guests are immersed in Unlimited-Luxury treating adults to elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites with 24-hour concierge and room service, fine culinary experiences including an array of themed gourmet la carte dining options, fabulous bars and lounges, pool and beach wait service, and live evening entertainment.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Casa Bella Restaurant
Dedicated to international dishes a mix of specialties and classics; open for breakfast and dinner.
The Steak House
Contemporary American grill designed in the tradition of an Argentinean grill, with a cast iron and brick oven that uses wood and charcoal. Prime meats are the feature selection; open for lunch and dinner.
Blue Marlin Restaurant
Serving fresh seafood delicacies in a relaxed oceanfront atmosphere; open for lunch and dinner.
Wok Restaurant
Pan-Asian fusion with a touch of flair Oriental la carte specialties are served at a Teppanyaki table, where your chef awaits; open for dinner only.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (59)

Ratings and reviews for Sanctuary Cap Cana

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 59
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ronna009
Columbia, South Carolina
Apr 15, 2013

Close Enough to Perfect!!

This resort is tucked away in Cap Cana which seems to be a private area of Punta Cana. The resort is GORGEOUS!!! The grounds are meticulously tended. The steakhouse and Italian Restaurant are upscale & white tablecloth, etc. The Seafood restaurant is over the water and also upscale but has more of a relaxed atmosphere. We were pleasantly surprised that the food exceeded our expectations everywhere except for the Wok... and it may have been what we ordered. We DEFINITELY plan on staying here again but next time we want a Villa :) We stayed in the regular Junior Suite and have no complaints but The villas are so gorgeous!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Adverture Boogies were SOOOO much fun!! Short drive and inside the secluded Cap Cana Area

Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kamila1985
Chicago
Jan 21, 2014

Dont go there

The hotel not worth of the price. From the first day problems started. I went there with one of my friends. When we came there from airport , they told us they are overbooked and they sent us to the other hotel. How that could happen??? We had reservations and they told us they are overbooked. They sent us to diffrent hotel. we had to pay for a taxi there which we shouldnt bcuz that wasnt our false. For the next day my ears got clogged so we had to take a taxi back to the sanctuary cap cana were we should stay from the beggining. They sent me to the doctor at the hotel. For just checkin my ear she charged me 120$ and she announced that she cant do anything with that and i have to go to hospital. They charged me there 600$ just for IV and checking my ear. I was there 10 minutes. They gave me prescriptions so I had to drive to pharmacy to buy that, additional 100$, no explamations about how to use, nothing, even at the hospital people cant speak english. For the next day they gave us room at Sanctuary Cap Cana, we lost all day bcuz of their falses we had to be on the luggaes all day. We met other tourist from the hotel and what happen? They had the same problem when they came . They told them they were overbooked there too. I met on the trip doctors who were from New York and they told us the medicine i got they have in the shop in the resort. They just use me. I had only simple infection and the doctor from hotel should know that but she said she cant do anything with that bcuz of course they have contarct with hospitals. Food was terrible, we thought we pay so much money for something and we didnt get what we wanted. At the stake house there we ordered stakes and they gave us totally diffrent stakes what we ordered, they just did mistakes. By the way stakes were not good to eat. Overall , hotel is not worth of the price. People speak there only in Spanish so is very very hard to communicate with them. I dont recomment this hotel!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Svetlana31
Atlanta
Apr 15, 2013

What a disappointment!

Words can not describe how much i was upset and later angry i made a choice on this hotel. I was planning this special trip to Punta Cana with my mother who flew to Atlanta to visit me from Moscow after not seeing each other for a year.I wanted to take her on a beautiful trip to Punta Cana and took my time to find a perfect place for us.Unfortanutelly it was not Sanctuary Cap Cana. From the moment we came to the resort we did not like a thing.The property was so dark,quite,small,boring with the dirtiest beach i ve seen.On top of it the staff at the front desk was so rude and unfriendly.We asked for a room with two beds instead we only got one bed and it took a few times to ask to separate the bed.The verity of food was so poor we barely could make a choice.At night the property was so dark,not lively,boring ,we were depressed.We could not stay there more than one night and had to leave thats how horrible it was.Noone showed us around or explained anything,we were completly lost.And how stressful ,upsetting and decieving the process of leaving was.The staff was extremely rude,kept on lying to us about talking to the manager,unwilling to give us a refund,ignoring us,and so shady about the whole situation.I was beyond angry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SARAH LOCAL
Santo Domingo
Jan 6, 2014

Overall Ok

It was average. I liked that it was quiet and relaxing not like other all inclusive hotels that are loud. But the truth is nothing really surprised me out of the ordinary, the food was average, the service was average. It is Ok but it does not have a wow factor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Ask for brand alcoholic drinks that are included, otherwise they will serve you the generic stuff.

Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Oboyle
Milwaukee, WI
Feb 3, 2014

Dont expect a room when you have a reservation

We were sent for 2 nights, half our trip, to the alsol village. Overflow property. Where the room was great, but food was horrible and they call a 20ft stretch of sand between docks their beach. We were told we would get an upgraded room, 50% off the spa and neither was given. Twice i asked for the spa certificate and both times they said come back later and we will have it ready. On checking out they gave us a 7 night return stay. Like im going back...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Leelee1
City of London, UK
Sep 9, 2011

Not a hotel that i'd visit again.

On arrival everything was fine until i checked into my room. I had the ocean view junior suite, which looked and sounded lovely on-line. The room was old and shabby and smelt damp. It was more like a room that belonged in a 2star hotel. I was not happy at all. in the end i upgraded to a honeymoon suite with private pool which was a lot better but cost an extra 875us on top of my holiday. The private beach is tiny and not kept well. The restaurants in the hotel were nice, they had all top shelf drinks in the bars so no complaint there. The evenings entertainment was an absolute joke.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sisters from the Midwest
Chicago
May 3, 2013

Sister Trip April 22-28

First let me say this is my second stay in Punta Cana. Two entirely different experiences at two entirely different hotels. This hotel is great if you are looking for a very quiet experience except for the children who seemed to appear on Friday and Saturday yelling and splashing in the main pool. Pool areas are beautiful and in fact all the grounds are gorgeous. Understand why you would want to bring your children here as there is limited areas they can escape to. Barriers at each end of beach front and play areas. Do not come here for the food. Was surprised that of the 5 restaurants only 1-3 are open each night. Steak House open only 2 of the 6 nights we were there. Blue Marlin, great view and decent food. This place needs to go all inclusive or not. A major pain to have to sign the check every time even in you have paid for all inclusive. Think this is their way of making certain you tip as there is a space on the check to add and you feel guilty if you don't. Room was in great location (beachfront ) close to everything but still quiet. Must say that if we needed anything they were there in mere minutes with the exception of room service. Entertainment was very limited very unlike the larger resorts that have major productions nightly. All in all would not come back here if not a couple or family. The castle seemed to be the place if you wanted to avoid children. Swimout rooms look very private and the pool and bar here frequented by couples only. Very quiet. All staff very friendly and make sure to know some minimal Spanish. No shopping off the resort and don't bother with the public beach as no better than the beach at the hotel. Make sure to bargain with the souvenir sellers as they expect it. Cheaper to buy your souvenirs from them rather than hotel shops or airport for certain! Didn't go on any excursions as was just looking to relax and that we did! Last note, if you are single and with friends or want gourmet food, this is not your hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mom and Daughter trip
The Netherlands
Aug 21, 2013

Great hotel, but poor service

A perfect location, but does not deserve a five star due to unfriendly and unprofessional employees in almost all restaurants they have. They have five restaurants and a pool bar, but only 3 are open for lunch or dinner so the employees will be working in all off them. Especially female staff is not able to smile or at least have a neutral face when you approach them if you are a female. Some male staff is continuously hitting on you cause you're a female without a male with you. Very uncomfortable. I was there with my daughter celebrating the completion of her bachelor, but we did not feel welcome at all. The quality of the food was poor in general. The room: We booked a suit with sea view. When we arrived after traveling for more then 15 hours (from Europe) arriving in the evening we found out that from the room we got you can see the sea if you stand and try real hard to see the sea over the top of a sad roof and through palm trees. When you enter the room you get claustrophobic immediately. I asked for another room and did not get unpacked. We were promised another room the next day. We got that the next day at 17:00 pm after going back and forward to the reception for a couple of times. Which means that we started our holiday a day later. That room was the room we booked with a wonderful view of the sea. The room was daily cleaned, but only shampoo, conditioner and bath gel was refreshed daily, other amenities not. We got the room with an empty minibar. After asking the reception to fill the minibar for 4 days I gave up asking them again. The forth day someone came to the room in the evening and asked us if there was anything we needed. I told that person about the minibar, and finally the 5th day the minibar got stocked. We were there for 7 nights. The day we had to leave, I asked them about options for late check out as our flight was scheduled for 20:00 pm and their check out time is 12 pm. If we wanted to keep the room till 17 pm we had to pay 40 USD per hour. Not an hour was given to us complimentary for the wasted first day of our holiday. In other 5 star hotels I have never paid extra for late check outs. The first 5 star I ever been to, which turned out to be a disappointment. You book a 5 star for the quality of service you expect. I believe with right management of staff it can be a great hotel. All other resources are available. But Client Service is something that they need to work on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Have an adventure day at Scape Park. Do the Zip line and buggy. Don't wast your time to visit the casino with the hotel shuttle. As soon as you arrive you would want to go back to your hotel. Absolutely not a trip for visitors of a 5 star hotel.

Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TazTeufel
New York
Oct 6, 2013

Not for vegetarians or water sport lovers

We were cautious about the 'all-inclusive' holiday concept and rightfully so - not that our worst fears were confirmed, the place wasn't full of boozing teenagers, but there was very little else to do on the grounds other than eat and drink. No water sports, for instance, which nearly every other resort seems to have. Fortunately we had a rental car and were able to explore the beautiful diving in Bayahibe (must see and totally underrated).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car and go diving or snorkelling in bayahibe.

Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pennsylvania
Dec 29, 2010

Not our favorite vacation

There was not much to do. We found ourselves very bored at night. To top off our trip..I had clothing stolen from my room. This made an ok trip bad!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
South Carolina
N. Myrtle Beach,SC
Dec 30, 2013

Pleasant Holiday

Most pleasant Safe Very clean Staff really tried to please Management very helpful esp with golf tee times Would go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search