$269 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 8, 2015 Check-out: Jan 11, 2015

Sanctuary Cap Cana

5 stars
Cap Cana, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
57 reviews
Couples dream getaway

This place is magical and we enjoyed every second of it! Upon entering the resort I felt as I had... See full review

  • Kamala Ingrid
  • Aug 19, 2014
This was a really nice getaway trip.

Everything was nice, the weather was not so hot, no humid, sunshine everyday. The Hotel was huge, 3... See full review

  • EricUSA
  • Aug 12, 2014
Punta Cana resort sparkles with swim-out suites, luxury spa

The sprawling villa façade of Sanctuary Cap Cana is only one clue to the grandeur that lies within. The Spanish Colonial-inspired resort spares no opulence. Guests retire to spacious suites and villas-some with direct access to the saltwater pool. Restaurants and bars play up the tropical setting, while an upscale spa ensures private time.

Highlights
  • Resort with high-end amenities
  • Full-service spa
  • Multiple restaurants and bars
  • Some rooms with direct access to the saltwater pool
  • Near two Jack Nicklaus-designed golf courses
Rooms

Guests unwind in high style in the suites and villas in Sanctuary Cap Cana. Some rooms take on contemporary style (think espresso wood platform beds and mod lamps), while others veer more tropical (intricate cutout arches, straw-based furniture and knotty wood walls). Upscale amenities raise the comfort, thanks to fine linens, silk bathrobes and marble floors. Soaring ceilings and expansive patios or balconies amplify the luxury. An extraordinary treat: Some rooms offer swim-out access to the saltwater pool.

Features

Visitors get pampered at the resident spa, a retreat beloved for its pool, hydrotherapy services and massages. Guests also indulge in the five swimming pools, bartending and dance lessons and golf courses nearby.

Dining

Restaurants at Sanctuary Cap Cana pay special attention to ambiance. Blue Marlin, a casual seafood eatery, sets the scene for relaxation with oceanfront dining, while Argentinean grill The Steakhouse stirs drama with a cast iron and brick oven that uses charcoal to fire juicy meats to perfection. For the most special of occasions, request a private, candlelit, seaside table. Follow up with a cocktail at the romantic Love bar, one of many lounges on the property.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (3.7 mi/6 km)
Attractions
  • El Cortecito (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Playa Bavaro (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Cap Cana (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (8.8 mi/14.1 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (20.6 mi/33.2 km)
Business
  • 15,846-square-foot convention center for up to 550 guests
  • 18,279 square feet of event space
  • Business center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sanctuary Cap Cana also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Sanctuary Cap Cana Rooms

Junior Suite Ocean View
Junior Suites with ocean views. Suites consist of a king or two double beds with fine linens, furnished balcony or terrace with stunning ocean views, in-suite climate control, plasma TV, separate living area with desk, high speed internet connection, espresso machine, in-suite safe, selection of newspapers and magazines and coffee and tea selection, full marble bathroom with separate water closet, shower, luxurious Gilchrist and Soames bath amenities, bathrobes and slippers, hair dryer and double vanity sinks. Maximum occupancy is 2 adults. 645 sq. ft. Guests are immersed in Unlimited-Luxury treating adults to elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites with 24-hour concierge and room service, fine culinary experiences including an array of themed gourmet la carte dining options, fabulous bars and lounges, pool and beach wait service, and live evening entertainment.
Monarch Villa
Monarch Villa bordering or close to the Caribbean Sea. Luxury Villas consist of an ample terrace, open-air spaces, a king or two double beds with fine linens, furnished balcony or terrace with stunning ocean views, in-suite climate control, plasma TV, separate living area with desk, high speed internet connection, espresso machine, in-suite safe, selection of newspapers and magazines and coffee and tea selection, full marble bathroom with separate water closet, shower, luxurious Gilchrist and Soames bath amenities, bathrobes and slippers, hair dryer and double vanity sinks. Maximum occupancy is 2 adults. 1050 sq. ft. Guests are immersed in Unlimited-Luxury treating adults to elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites with 24-hour concierge and room service, fine culinary experiences including an array of themed gourmet la carte dining options, fabulous bars and lounges, pool and beach wait service, and live evening entertainment.
Monarch Ocean Front Villa
Monarch Ocean Front Villa with ocean views bordering the Caribbean Sea, consist of an ample terrace, open-air spaces, a king or two double beds with fine linens, furnished balcony or terrace with stunning ocean views, in-suite climate control, flat screen TV, separate living area with desk, high speed internet connection, espresso machine, in-suite safe, coffee and tea selection, full coral stone bathroom with separate water closet, shower, luxurious bath amenities, bathrobes and slippers, hair dryer and double vanity sinks. Maximum occupancy is 2 adults.
Honeymoon Suite with Private pool
Honeymoon Suite located on the third floor of the Fortress with both ocean and tropical views, consist of private pools and sun deck, a king bed with fine linen beds, in-suite climate control, flat screen TV, separate living area with desk, high speed internet connection, espresso machine, in-suite safe, coffee and tea selection, full coral stone bathroom with separate water closet, shower, luxurious bath amenities, bathrobes and slippers, hair dryer and double vanity sinks. Maximum occupancy is 2 adults.
Castle Junior Suite Swim Out
Castle Jr. Suite located in the Fortress with direct swim-out access to the salt water pool. Suites consist of a king bed with fine linen beds, in-suite climate control, flat screen TV, separate living area with desk, high speed internet connection, espresso machine, in-suite safe, selection of newspapers and magazines and coffee and tea selection, full coral stone bathroom with separate water closet, shower, luxurious Gilchrist and Soames bath amenities, bathrobes and slippers, hair dryer and double vanity sinks. Maximum occupancy is 2 adults.
Beach Front Premiun Suite
Suites with direct beach access and ocean front views. Suites consist of a king or two double beds with fine linens, furnished balcony or terrace, in-suite climate control, plasma TV, separate living area with desk, high speed internet connection, espresso machine, in-suite safe, selection of newspapers and magazines and coffee and tea selection, full marble bathroom with separate water closet, shower, luxurious Gilchrist and Soames bath amenities, bathrobes and slippers, hair dryer and double vanity sinks. Maximum occupancy is 2 adults. 754 sq. ft. Guests are immersed in Unlimited-Luxury treating adults to elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites with 24-hour concierge and room service, fine culinary experiences including an array of themed gourmet la carte dining options, fabulous bars and lounges, pool and beach wait service, and live evening entertainment.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Casa Bella Restaurant
Dedicated to international dishes a mix of specialties and classics; open for breakfast and dinner.
The Steak House
Contemporary American grill designed in the tradition of an Argentinean grill, with a cast iron and brick oven that uses wood and charcoal. Prime meats are the feature selection; open for lunch and dinner.
Blue Marlin Restaurant
Serving fresh seafood delicacies in a relaxed oceanfront atmosphere; open for lunch and dinner.
Wok Restaurant
Pan-Asian fusion with a touch of flair Oriental la carte specialties are served at a Teppanyaki table, where your chef awaits; open for dinner only.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (57)

Ratings and reviews for Sanctuary Cap Cana

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RICHIE G
Business
NEW YORK
Oct 18, 2010

secret sanctuary

very hard to describe. if you wanted to do nothing this was the perfect place you would love. pools,beach,lounges,swim up bar,dancing,entertainment,staff was the friendliest,happy all the time, restaurants were perfect,food excellent, DOMINICAN HOSPITALITY AT ITS FINEST.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NIKKEN
Business
Greensboro, NC, USA
Oct 20, 2011

Perfect Getaway

Sanctuary is a gorgeous property with great amenities and amazing staff! As soon as you get there they welcome you "home" and make you feel that you are at home! The staff was very kind and helpful as well as a lot of fun! Miami was the best! Events on the resort are great and quite entertaining. Food is very good (outside of dinner at Blue Marlin). The wildlife at the resort is amazing, especially the giant spiders which are very harmless and a part of the natural beauty! We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Orbitz was also great in assuring us about our reservation and airport travel through the change over of resort management! So glad we were there with Salamader resort instead of Secrets!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

To help ensure less spending/tipping, save tipping for the end of the day with your bar staff instead of tipping after ordering every drink!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JoMaBo
Business
Maryland
Apr 4, 2013

Sick (in a good way)

Reserved this place for a short 3 night getaway for my wife and I and we LOVED every minute of it. The resort was amazing; staff was helpful and friendly; food was very good (been to quite a few resorts and can't say the same for them). Not to mention once we arrived, they gave us a free upgrade to one of the Monarch Villas (can you say ridiculous??). Definitely will recommend this place and definitely will be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

All restaurants at hotel were very good. Aside from some spotty service (waiters sometimes seem a little overwhelmed), the food was great. Experience all of them if you can.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Experienced Traveler 5k
Business
Gary, Indiana
Jul 23, 2013

Proposal

I proposed to my fiancé as a surprise during our stay at this great hotel. The staff was very very helpful and friendly and did not try to overcharge us due to me being an American, as other places has tried to do. Everything was beautiful at the hotel and the room that we had with a private pool. If you wish to go out into town and do shopping, a taxi is the only means unless you rent a vehicle. Touristy dining and shopping is quite a ways from the place so use the taxi service provided there. I recommend this place to couples.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super couple in action
Business
Miami, Florida
Aug 12, 2013

Great vacation

We really got a great time at Santuary!!! the Hotel is beautiful , the staff very friendly, they make you feel that you are at home and the meals and restaurants were really good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Adventure day excursion was fascinating!!!. It combines two outdoor excursions, the zipline in a beautiful scenery and the buggy ride by forest, cave and the beach...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dublin OH COUPLE
Business
Dublin, OH
Aug 15, 2013

Great Hotel!

I think this hotel is not rated high enough. The majority of the food was awesome. The rooms are amazing, especially the swim out rooms in the castle. Overall for the value, you can't beat the Sanctuary!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lepp
Business
Wilmington, DE
Sep 4, 2013

Luxury

The best luxury property in Punta Cana/Cape Cana by far! This is my second review of this property and the place just keeps getting better. It is an amazingly beautiful property with superior staff, great facilities and awesome food. This is my 3rd trip to the D.R. this year so this review is based on more than one visit and one resort. I have a feel for the resorts that are offered in the Dominican Republic. The food is awesome…! I don't know how they deliver 5 star food and impeccable service for such reasonable prices. Either chose one of the elegant, romantic restaurants, buffets or utilize the 24 hour room service...it's all good, all included! As I've stated before, I'm not normally a fan of "all exclusive’s" but the Sanctuary is truly my exception. This majestic and extremely beautiful resort always delivers. And, the place continues to improve. I don't shop for a resort in the D.R. anymore, I just book The Sanctuary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BetsyJoanne
Business
Cap Cana, Santo Domingo
Oct 8, 2013

Vacation getaway with great friends

My experience was EXCELLENT!!!! We went with a group of friends (10 total) and we had an amazing experience at this hotel. The staff was so friendly and helpful. They just couldn't do enough for us. Anything we wanted or needed, we just had to ask. The pool water was sparkling clean, the grounds were immaculate, the food was delicious and different varieites every day at the buffet. Restaurants on the premises were fantastic too. We have not one bad this to say about our stay at Sanctuary Cap Cana Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

You can negotiate with the vendors that set up poolside on the weekends and probably get half off their original asking price. Do NOT go to the BellaMare store for souvigners that is rcommended by the Consiere Desk. They are OVER priced and no not negotiate at all. You should definitely stay on the hotel premises for safety reasons as well!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Peri K Dallas
Business
Texas
Dec 10, 2013

Loved Sanctuary

We had a wonderful stay. The staff was amazing and it was quiet and romantic. Perfect getaway for us. We will definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Toby29
Business
Washington DC
Dec 16, 2013

Paradise

The hotel is just perfect. Large spacious rooms with all commodities. A nice sea-view made our day each morning. Amazing pools with great pool bars. Perfect beach, with comfortable beach chairs and lounge areas. Nice restaurants with great food. The choices are great and the a la carte style is very nice. The food is presented very elegant and is very tasteful. The staff is friendly and always helpful. Room service comes twice a day (morning and evening), so the room is always in perfect condition. The wide variety of cocktails are made with real quality liquor and are delicious.The hotel gardens are just beautiful and give you the feeling that you are in paradise. I guess this made the hotel look so nice and charming. There were a lot of young people (couples) in the hotel, and the atmosphere is very quite and relaxing. The animation team did there best do organize a lot of fun activities, but were not pushing you to participate, which we liked. Room service is perhaps a bit slow, but we had all the time. This was our best all-inclusive holiday so far. Well worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Cap Cana is somewhat isolated from the other large tourist resorts in Punta Cana and Bavaro, so there are not many activities around. But this makes the setting even more remote and beautiful. Don't expect any nightlife in the area. It is all about relaxing and quietness.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top