$188 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Sanctuary Cap Cana

5 stars
Cap Cana, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
57 reviews
Couples dream getaway

This place is magical and we enjoyed every second of it! Upon entering the resort I felt as I had... See full review

  • Kamala Ingrid
  • Aug 19, 2014
This was a really nice getaway trip.

Everything was nice, the weather was not so hot, no humid, sunshine everyday. The Hotel was huge, 3... See full review

  • EricUSA
  • Aug 12, 2014
Punta Cana resort sparkles with swim-out suites, luxury spa

The sprawling villa façade of Sanctuary Cap Cana is only one clue to the grandeur that lies within. The Spanish Colonial-inspired resort spares no opulence. Guests retire to spacious suites and villas-some with direct access to the saltwater pool. Restaurants and bars play up the tropical setting, while an upscale spa ensures private time.

Highlights
  • Resort with high-end amenities
  • Full-service spa
  • Multiple restaurants and bars
  • Some rooms with direct access to the saltwater pool
  • Near two Jack Nicklaus-designed golf courses
Rooms

Guests unwind in high style in the suites and villas in Sanctuary Cap Cana. Some rooms take on contemporary style (think espresso wood platform beds and mod lamps), while others veer more tropical (intricate cutout arches, straw-based furniture and knotty wood walls). Upscale amenities raise the comfort, thanks to fine linens, silk bathrobes and marble floors. Soaring ceilings and expansive patios or balconies amplify the luxury. An extraordinary treat: Some rooms offer swim-out access to the saltwater pool.

Features

Visitors get pampered at the resident spa, a retreat beloved for its pool, hydrotherapy services and massages. Guests also indulge in the five swimming pools, bartending and dance lessons and golf courses nearby.

Dining

Restaurants at Sanctuary Cap Cana pay special attention to ambiance. Blue Marlin, a casual seafood eatery, sets the scene for relaxation with oceanfront dining, while Argentinean grill The Steakhouse stirs drama with a cast iron and brick oven that uses charcoal to fire juicy meats to perfection. For the most special of occasions, request a private, candlelit, seaside table. Follow up with a cocktail at the romantic Love bar, one of many lounges on the property.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (3.7 mi/6 km)
Attractions
  • El Cortecito (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Playa Bavaro (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Cap Cana (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (8.8 mi/14.1 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (20.6 mi/33.2 km)
Business
  • 15,846-square-foot convention center for up to 550 guests
  • 18,279 square feet of event space
  • Business center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sanctuary Cap Cana also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Sanctuary Cap Cana Rooms

Junior Suite Ocean View
Junior Suites with ocean views. Suites consist of a king or two double beds with fine linens, furnished balcony or terrace with stunning ocean views, in-suite climate control, plasma TV, separate living area with desk, high speed internet connection, espresso machine, in-suite safe, selection of newspapers and magazines and coffee and tea selection, full marble bathroom with separate water closet, shower, luxurious Gilchrist and Soames bath amenities, bathrobes and slippers, hair dryer and double vanity sinks. Maximum occupancy is 2 adults. 645 sq. ft. Guests are immersed in Unlimited-Luxury treating adults to elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites with 24-hour concierge and room service, fine culinary experiences including an array of themed gourmet la carte dining options, fabulous bars and lounges, pool and beach wait service, and live evening entertainment.
Monarch Villa
Monarch Villa bordering or close to the Caribbean Sea. Luxury Villas consist of an ample terrace, open-air spaces, a king or two double beds with fine linens, furnished balcony or terrace with stunning ocean views, in-suite climate control, plasma TV, separate living area with desk, high speed internet connection, espresso machine, in-suite safe, selection of newspapers and magazines and coffee and tea selection, full marble bathroom with separate water closet, shower, luxurious Gilchrist and Soames bath amenities, bathrobes and slippers, hair dryer and double vanity sinks. Maximum occupancy is 2 adults. 1050 sq. ft. Guests are immersed in Unlimited-Luxury treating adults to elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites with 24-hour concierge and room service, fine culinary experiences including an array of themed gourmet la carte dining options, fabulous bars and lounges, pool and beach wait service, and live evening entertainment.
Monarch Ocean Front Villa
Monarch Ocean Front Villa with ocean views bordering the Caribbean Sea, consist of an ample terrace, open-air spaces, a king or two double beds with fine linens, furnished balcony or terrace with stunning ocean views, in-suite climate control, flat screen TV, separate living area with desk, high speed internet connection, espresso machine, in-suite safe, coffee and tea selection, full coral stone bathroom with separate water closet, shower, luxurious bath amenities, bathrobes and slippers, hair dryer and double vanity sinks. Maximum occupancy is 2 adults.
Honeymoon Suite with Private pool
Honeymoon Suite located on the third floor of the Fortress with both ocean and tropical views, consist of private pools and sun deck, a king bed with fine linen beds, in-suite climate control, flat screen TV, separate living area with desk, high speed internet connection, espresso machine, in-suite safe, coffee and tea selection, full coral stone bathroom with separate water closet, shower, luxurious bath amenities, bathrobes and slippers, hair dryer and double vanity sinks. Maximum occupancy is 2 adults.
Castle Junior Suite Swim Out
Castle Jr. Suite located in the Fortress with direct swim-out access to the salt water pool. Suites consist of a king bed with fine linen beds, in-suite climate control, flat screen TV, separate living area with desk, high speed internet connection, espresso machine, in-suite safe, selection of newspapers and magazines and coffee and tea selection, full coral stone bathroom with separate water closet, shower, luxurious Gilchrist and Soames bath amenities, bathrobes and slippers, hair dryer and double vanity sinks. Maximum occupancy is 2 adults.
Beach Front Premiun Suite
Suites with direct beach access and ocean front views. Suites consist of a king or two double beds with fine linens, furnished balcony or terrace, in-suite climate control, plasma TV, separate living area with desk, high speed internet connection, espresso machine, in-suite safe, selection of newspapers and magazines and coffee and tea selection, full marble bathroom with separate water closet, shower, luxurious Gilchrist and Soames bath amenities, bathrobes and slippers, hair dryer and double vanity sinks. Maximum occupancy is 2 adults. 754 sq. ft. Guests are immersed in Unlimited-Luxury treating adults to elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites with 24-hour concierge and room service, fine culinary experiences including an array of themed gourmet la carte dining options, fabulous bars and lounges, pool and beach wait service, and live evening entertainment.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Casa Bella Restaurant
Dedicated to international dishes a mix of specialties and classics; open for breakfast and dinner.
The Steak House
Contemporary American grill designed in the tradition of an Argentinean grill, with a cast iron and brick oven that uses wood and charcoal. Prime meats are the feature selection; open for lunch and dinner.
Blue Marlin Restaurant
Serving fresh seafood delicacies in a relaxed oceanfront atmosphere; open for lunch and dinner.
Wok Restaurant
Pan-Asian fusion with a touch of flair Oriental la carte specialties are served at a Teppanyaki table, where your chef awaits; open for dinner only.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (57)

Ratings and reviews for Sanctuary Cap Cana

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pennsylvania
Dec 29, 2010

Not our favorite vacation

There was not much to do. We found ourselves very bored at night. To top off our trip..I had clothing stolen from my room. This made an ok trip bad!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Akron, OH
Dec 23, 2010

Great place to unwind!

4-1/2 Stars on a 5 scale rating. My wife and I went just to relax for 4 days and this place is ideal for relaxation. The room was very comfortable with nice amenities and all of the staff we came into contact with were excellent. The pool area was alive with staff keeping things interesting with optional activities. Even though I love children, it was very nice to have the quiet of an adults only venue. But don't get me wrong, it definitely was not boring. As mentioned, there were activities in and around the pool every day and there were a variety of good shows each evening (dance and magic). Since our stay was relatively short, we didn't get to go to Caleton which is a boat doc area about 10-15 minutes away. If you decide to play Punta Espada golf course, you won't find many better anywhere. But you will be challenged by the wind as many of the holes are along the ocean where there could be a 40 yard wind effect on your shots. And the architect of the entire complex is beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MA, USA
Dec 19, 2010

Unspeakable Beauty

This hotel is all about service. From the moment we got there, to the moment we checked out, they could not do enough for us. Everyone was friendly, attentive, and happy! The setting is stunning, and our first impression was of a clean, welcoming,and beautifully decorated lobby overlooking several terraces of infinity pools and then the ocean, which has a color that you cannot describe, nor capture in pictures. We traveled with 2 other couples, and all the rooms were ready upon arrival. A small a/c problem in one of the rooms was addressed immediately, and then the concierge called to make sure it was done to our satisfaction. There are many dining choices each night, and the food/service was excellent in each one. They have brought in some top-notch chefs. Cappriccio, the Italian option, was our favorite...the lasagna was unbelievable. There is an activities sheet which is placed in your room each evening with the turn-down service. There are poolside/beach activities, with choices ranging from yoga to Spanish lessons. Also, there is some form of entertainment nightly. We enjoyed the Love Bar for pre-dinner drinks. If you are a golfer, the Punta Espada Golf Course (5 minutes away) is stunning, with most holes along the ocean. It's hard to concentrate on your shots! The Spa is also 5-star. Shopping is limited to a few small shops, but if you rent a car, there are more options just outside of Cap Cana. There is a sundries shop on-site, so if you run out of suntan lotion (a distinct possibility), you can get it there. What is most striking about the Dominican people is that they are always happy. I saw some of the most beautiful & genuine smiles I have ever seen while traveling. Even though they work very long days (you will often see the same servers at all three meals in the different restuarants, and if you look closely, you may even see some as part of the evening entertainment), they are always so willing to please. Even though it says tipping is not necessary, a dollar goes a long way, and is so appreciated. Also, they remember you, and are willing to go the extra mile for you. Don't be surprised if it feels like "family" by the end of the week. I usually like to name specific people who have been outstanding, but in this case, EVERYONE was outstanding...front desk, concierge, bell/valet, servers, entertainment staff, and housekeeping. Do remember...you are on "Dominican time", so if you are patient and kind, it is reciprocated 10-fold. In response to the question, "Is it safe to eat & drink here?", the answer is...not one of the 6 of us had any issues at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RICHIE G
Business
NEW YORK
Oct 18, 2010

secret sanctuary

very hard to describe. if you wanted to do nothing this was the perfect place you would love. pools,beach,lounges,swim up bar,dancing,entertainment,staff was the friendliest,happy all the time, restaurants were perfect,food excellent, DOMINICAN HOSPITALITY AT ITS FINEST.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
La Condesa
Business
Miami Florida
Sep 29, 2010

fantastic getaway

The hotel was a real 5*, the location, the amenities, exelent food, the suite was impecable, the personal of the hotel were very professional and well train for the job. we will come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

dining and entertainment

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Aug 31, 2010

Gorgeous Couples Retreat

My husband and I went to Secrets Sanctuary to get away for our Anniversary and to have some time alone without kids. I am always nervous when I book online but the pictures were gorgeous and the place turned out to be amazing. It is secluded but there is really no reason to want to leave the resort. However if you do want to venture out to a mall or other restaurants off the property, the hotel will take you there. It is one of the prettiest hotels I have ever been to and the views are breathtaking. We were already planning our next trip back before the second day was over. The food is really good especially if you order off the menu and the nightly entertainment was surprisingly good. We met a lot of great couples at the pool and enjoyed every minute of it. We did the spa and also the trip out to the Blue Hole. It is a must see. Make sure you look at the pictures online because they show how nice the resort is. It is still expanding with more onsite restaurants and additions so it can only get better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Although buffets are appealing, order off the menu as much as possible because the food is even better that way. Besides you can always go to the buffet too if you want. We loved the Blue Marlin and the Wok. Anything off the grill is amazing from fish, chicken, beef or lobster. Ask about what sorbets and ice creams are available too and try one daily.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bronstmj
Business
Farmington Hills, MI
Aug 24, 2010

Excellente!

Fantastic location, beautiful grounds, outstanding food and unbelievable service. On par with the other Secrets resorts we visited (Maroma, Capri, Silversands).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Ocean Club pool is a hidden gem. It is in a quiet location at the resort and is great for privacy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top