$269 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Sanctuary Cap Cana

5 stars
Cap Cana, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
57 reviews
Couples dream getaway

This place is magical and we enjoyed every second of it! Upon entering the resort I felt as I had... See full review

  • Kamala Ingrid
  • Aug 19, 2014
This was a really nice getaway trip.

Everything was nice, the weather was not so hot, no humid, sunshine everyday. The Hotel was huge, 3... See full review

  • EricUSA
  • Aug 12, 2014
Punta Cana resort sparkles with swim-out suites, luxury spa

The sprawling villa façade of Sanctuary Cap Cana is only one clue to the grandeur that lies within. The Spanish Colonial-inspired resort spares no opulence. Guests retire to spacious suites and villas-some with direct access to the saltwater pool. Restaurants and bars play up the tropical setting, while an upscale spa ensures private time.

Highlights
  • Resort with high-end amenities
  • Full-service spa
  • Multiple restaurants and bars
  • Some rooms with direct access to the saltwater pool
  • Near two Jack Nicklaus-designed golf courses
Rooms

Guests unwind in high style in the suites and villas in Sanctuary Cap Cana. Some rooms take on contemporary style (think espresso wood platform beds and mod lamps), while others veer more tropical (intricate cutout arches, straw-based furniture and knotty wood walls). Upscale amenities raise the comfort, thanks to fine linens, silk bathrobes and marble floors. Soaring ceilings and expansive patios or balconies amplify the luxury. An extraordinary treat: Some rooms offer swim-out access to the saltwater pool.

Features

Visitors get pampered at the resident spa, a retreat beloved for its pool, hydrotherapy services and massages. Guests also indulge in the five swimming pools, bartending and dance lessons and golf courses nearby.

Dining

Restaurants at Sanctuary Cap Cana pay special attention to ambiance. Blue Marlin, a casual seafood eatery, sets the scene for relaxation with oceanfront dining, while Argentinean grill The Steakhouse stirs drama with a cast iron and brick oven that uses charcoal to fire juicy meats to perfection. For the most special of occasions, request a private, candlelit, seaside table. Follow up with a cocktail at the romantic Love bar, one of many lounges on the property.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (3.7 mi/6 km)
Attractions
  • El Cortecito (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Playa Bavaro (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Cap Cana (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (8.8 mi/14.1 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (20.6 mi/33.2 km)
Business
  • 15,846-square-foot convention center for up to 550 guests
  • 18,279 square feet of event space
  • Business center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sanctuary Cap Cana also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Sanctuary Cap Cana Rooms

Junior Suite Ocean View
Junior Suites with ocean views. Suites consist of a king or two double beds with fine linens, furnished balcony or terrace with stunning ocean views, in-suite climate control, plasma TV, separate living area with desk, high speed internet connection, espresso machine, in-suite safe, selection of newspapers and magazines and coffee and tea selection, full marble bathroom with separate water closet, shower, luxurious Gilchrist and Soames bath amenities, bathrobes and slippers, hair dryer and double vanity sinks. Maximum occupancy is 2 adults. 645 sq. ft. Guests are immersed in Unlimited-Luxury treating adults to elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites with 24-hour concierge and room service, fine culinary experiences including an array of themed gourmet la carte dining options, fabulous bars and lounges, pool and beach wait service, and live evening entertainment.
Monarch Villa
Monarch Villa bordering or close to the Caribbean Sea. Luxury Villas consist of an ample terrace, open-air spaces, a king or two double beds with fine linens, furnished balcony or terrace with stunning ocean views, in-suite climate control, plasma TV, separate living area with desk, high speed internet connection, espresso machine, in-suite safe, selection of newspapers and magazines and coffee and tea selection, full marble bathroom with separate water closet, shower, luxurious Gilchrist and Soames bath amenities, bathrobes and slippers, hair dryer and double vanity sinks. Maximum occupancy is 2 adults. 1050 sq. ft. Guests are immersed in Unlimited-Luxury treating adults to elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites with 24-hour concierge and room service, fine culinary experiences including an array of themed gourmet la carte dining options, fabulous bars and lounges, pool and beach wait service, and live evening entertainment.
Monarch Ocean Front Villa
Monarch Ocean Front Villa with ocean views bordering the Caribbean Sea, consist of an ample terrace, open-air spaces, a king or two double beds with fine linens, furnished balcony or terrace with stunning ocean views, in-suite climate control, flat screen TV, separate living area with desk, high speed internet connection, espresso machine, in-suite safe, coffee and tea selection, full coral stone bathroom with separate water closet, shower, luxurious bath amenities, bathrobes and slippers, hair dryer and double vanity sinks. Maximum occupancy is 2 adults.
Honeymoon Suite with Private pool
Honeymoon Suite located on the third floor of the Fortress with both ocean and tropical views, consist of private pools and sun deck, a king bed with fine linen beds, in-suite climate control, flat screen TV, separate living area with desk, high speed internet connection, espresso machine, in-suite safe, coffee and tea selection, full coral stone bathroom with separate water closet, shower, luxurious bath amenities, bathrobes and slippers, hair dryer and double vanity sinks. Maximum occupancy is 2 adults.
Castle Junior Suite Swim Out
Castle Jr. Suite located in the Fortress with direct swim-out access to the salt water pool. Suites consist of a king bed with fine linen beds, in-suite climate control, flat screen TV, separate living area with desk, high speed internet connection, espresso machine, in-suite safe, selection of newspapers and magazines and coffee and tea selection, full coral stone bathroom with separate water closet, shower, luxurious Gilchrist and Soames bath amenities, bathrobes and slippers, hair dryer and double vanity sinks. Maximum occupancy is 2 adults.
Beach Front Premiun Suite
Suites with direct beach access and ocean front views. Suites consist of a king or two double beds with fine linens, furnished balcony or terrace, in-suite climate control, plasma TV, separate living area with desk, high speed internet connection, espresso machine, in-suite safe, selection of newspapers and magazines and coffee and tea selection, full marble bathroom with separate water closet, shower, luxurious Gilchrist and Soames bath amenities, bathrobes and slippers, hair dryer and double vanity sinks. Maximum occupancy is 2 adults. 754 sq. ft. Guests are immersed in Unlimited-Luxury treating adults to elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites with 24-hour concierge and room service, fine culinary experiences including an array of themed gourmet la carte dining options, fabulous bars and lounges, pool and beach wait service, and live evening entertainment.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Casa Bella Restaurant
Dedicated to international dishes a mix of specialties and classics; open for breakfast and dinner.
The Steak House
Contemporary American grill designed in the tradition of an Argentinean grill, with a cast iron and brick oven that uses wood and charcoal. Prime meats are the feature selection; open for lunch and dinner.
Blue Marlin Restaurant
Serving fresh seafood delicacies in a relaxed oceanfront atmosphere; open for lunch and dinner.
Wok Restaurant
Pan-Asian fusion with a touch of flair Oriental la carte specialties are served at a Teppanyaki table, where your chef awaits; open for dinner only.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (57)

Ratings and reviews for Sanctuary Cap Cana

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Randolph, NJ
Jul 19, 2011

HIGHLY RECOMMEND

Incredible service. Attentive when you needed food, drinks, etc., but not intrusive at all. Everything from the glassware, silverware etc. to the grounds were super clean. Food was as good as it gets on an island. Dining was always easy, whether it was breakfast, lunch or dinner. No lines. I've been to a lot of places and this was the easiest, most hassle free place I've been to. Adults only and all inclusive made it extremely relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Warsaw
Business
philly,pa
Jul 12, 2011

Amazing Honeymoon!!!

Amazing hotel! Great rooms, restaurants, pools, service, just everything was great. Would definitely come back! Can't wait to come back! The service was amazing and they were very caring.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charleston, SC
Jul 7, 2011

Exceptional Honeymoon

The hotel was wonderful! It was extremely nice and clean. We were immediately welcomed by staff and taken care of for the remainder of our stay. The lobby was beautiful. We were in a beachfront room that had a nice view of the ocean, a sitting area, spacious bed area, bathroom, closet, and entry hall. The entertainment and main pool area staff were amazing. They were very polite, fun, and social. You were definitely encouraged to get involved in activities if you were up for that, or you were left alone to simply relax. The food was decent with plenty of options to choose from. The burgers at the pool bar were great, the Italian restaurant was our favorite, and the 24-hour room service was perfect. It was nice because you did not have to have reservations at any of the restaurants, and we never had to wait for a table. All of the restaurants closed one night during the week at dinner, so you did have to plan for that in order to get to everything. One of our favorite spots to hang out with new friends was at the castle bar/pool area. It was not crowded, and we pretty much had the amazing view all to ourselves. Overall, great hotel with no complaints!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mrsshonpy
Business
Lancaster, PA
Jul 5, 2011

Beautiful Resort

The resort was beautiful and the staff very friendly. Food was fabulous. Very relaxing not alot of on site activities. Beach small but beautiful. Down side was every morning we were awakened by a loud continuous banging noise at about 530 am. Sounded like a machine running below our room. Water trampoline was broken, bikes were no good. Two restaurants ran out of the food we wanted to order and the resort was not even close to being full plus some nights only had choice of two restaurants to eat at and we had to wait over an hour to be seated. Occassionally service was slow and when we called (twice) for our luggage to be picked up at check out, no one ever came so we carried it to the lobby ourselves. Housekeeping also came to clean our room a few nights when we were there changing for dinner. It is a wonderful resort and we had a really great time but would not spend the money to stay there again our stay at the Majestic Colonial was just as nice for a better price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Crazy Redhead
Business
Dallas, TX
May 9, 2011

Low Key Paradise, Absolutely Perfect!!

Being our first trip out of the country together it was absolutely perfect. The hotel staff, especially [...] and [...] were amazing and very personable! We stayed here for our honeymoon and it was just so relaxing and any troubles we had, they fixed promptly. The only thing that was frustrating was they required us to pay at check-in instead of check-out. Doesn't seem like a big deal but when you make plans with you bank to make a huge pull on your account on a particular day and you try a week in advance of that day, it causes problems. Other than that it was delightful. Great Food, Great People, Great Weather! If you want to book excursions, do it once you are at the hotel, seemed cheaper that way. It is more of a low-key resort, not alot of night life, but the little they have is a smaller group that you get to know more people around you, very fun!! =) ENJOY!! We can't wait to take another trip!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Make sure to bring plenty of sunscreen, chap stick and all extra personal items. To buy these at the resort is atrocious! Wayyy tooo expensive!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis
Apr 25, 2011

Wonderful Experience

My boyfriend and I traveled here last week. We had a wonderful time. Beautiful property. Wonderful food. (We are both pretty particlar.)This was my first experience with an all inclusive property. He has been two other 5 star all inclusive properties in the Caribbean...he said they did not even compare to this place. Very exclusive and private, great/friendly staff and service, wonderful food. Room was to die for. Worth the extra price to stay here. If we would go back to the Dominican in the future we would absolutely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ivoryton, CT
Apr 22, 2011

Best Resort Vacation Ever!

This was our best resort vacation ever! The resort is beautiful, the food outstanding and the staff excellente! Everyone went out of their way to make sure we were happy and taken care of. We stayed in a Castle Swim-out Suite which was spacious and modern. We enjoyed that the resort itself is large from a campus perspective but that it only has 176 suites/villas so it seems very intimate – never crowded. You run into the same people regularly and quickly make resort friends. The food was clearly the best we've had while staying at a all inclusive and there was never a long wait to be seated. We would clearly stay here again and have already recommended it to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Southeast
Apr 1, 2011

A True Review

Ok so here is the review. Hotel: The hotel is in great condition and does look like the pictures on the website. The common areas of the hotel were very clean and were stylishly decorated. Our room was in slightly worn condition but still very nice. Bathroom was very large and new but the shower grout was a little dirty. Beach/Pool: The main pool was busy and loud but there was other pools tucked around the property that were quite. The hidden pool on top of the castle is highly recommended. The beach in front of the hotel is nice but a little crowded because it not huge. You have to get up early to get a decent chair. They need to get more chair cushions to accomodate every chair. They did keep on running out of towels which was a little annoying. They replinished them throughout the day but sometimes we had to wait. The beaches next to the hotel(I think the name is Juanillio)are incredible. Miles of sand with no hotels or people. Food: I'm a food snob. I have to say the food was probably the best I have had in the carribean. It wasn't world class like in NY or San Fran but much better than I expected on an island in the carribean. The steak tasted like steak and it was cooked well (not over-done,etc). Service: Everyone is really nice and really tried to be accomodating. I thought the staff was courteous. They remembered our names. Pool bar was a little slow but they were nice. Golf: AMAZING. I saw the pictures on the web and thought it can't be that nice. It is. You can't understand how perfect and beatiful the course is until you play it. Overall I would definately stay here if I go back to the Dominican Republic. The PROS definately outweigh the minor CONS. It was good enough were I don't think I would consider another hotel. Hope this helps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach next to the hotel is really nice. If your facing the water it is to the left of the hotel. You have to walk around the parking lot and castle to get there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ralph020
Business
Princeton, NJ
Feb 17, 2011

Sanctuary Cap Cana Feb 2011

5 stars: only 170 rooms,location from airport,view,landscaping, pools,beaches,spa, room, fitness center, Punta Espada golf (play after 1:30 for lower rate), cleanliness. 4 stars:service (langauge minor barrier)3 stars: food hit or miss but available 24/7, nightlife. 0 stars: casino

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

while all inclusive and bountiful, hit or miss with the food you choose. However, available 24/7 and you could also order something else if you didn't like it. they should provide a wine list for the house wines. You had your choice of red or white; not by type.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gmama
Business
Raleigh NC
Feb 11, 2011

An excellent choice!

We chose this resort based on the photos; which were very accurate. We went there to relax and spend time with old friends while celebrating birthdays and anniversaries for some of us. The staff was very accommodating. It would be less taxing on first time visitors if the hotel provided ground transportation for the guests from and back to the airport. Compared to previous trips, this is very near the top of the list.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is within walking distance within the resort grounds. Be sure to bring evening wear for most restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top