Sanctuary Cap Cana

5 stars
Cap Cana, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
57 reviews
Couples dream getaway

This place is magical and we enjoyed every second of it! Upon entering the resort I felt as I had... See full review

  • Kamala Ingrid
  • Aug 19, 2014
This was a really nice getaway trip.

Everything was nice, the weather was not so hot, no humid, sunshine everyday. The Hotel was huge, 3... See full review

  • EricUSA
  • Aug 12, 2014
Punta Cana resort sparkles with swim-out suites, luxury spa

The sprawling villa façade of Sanctuary Cap Cana is only one clue to the grandeur that lies within. The Spanish Colonial-inspired resort spares no opulence. Guests retire to spacious suites and villas-some with direct access to the saltwater pool. Restaurants and bars play up the tropical setting, while an upscale spa ensures private time.

Highlights
  • Resort with high-end amenities
  • Full-service spa
  • Multiple restaurants and bars
  • Some rooms with direct access to the saltwater pool
  • Near two Jack Nicklaus-designed golf courses
Rooms

Guests unwind in high style in the suites and villas in Sanctuary Cap Cana. Some rooms take on contemporary style (think espresso wood platform beds and mod lamps), while others veer more tropical (intricate cutout arches, straw-based furniture and knotty wood walls). Upscale amenities raise the comfort, thanks to fine linens, silk bathrobes and marble floors. Soaring ceilings and expansive patios or balconies amplify the luxury. An extraordinary treat: Some rooms offer swim-out access to the saltwater pool.

Features

Visitors get pampered at the resident spa, a retreat beloved for its pool, hydrotherapy services and massages. Guests also indulge in the five swimming pools, bartending and dance lessons and golf courses nearby.

Dining

Restaurants at Sanctuary Cap Cana pay special attention to ambiance. Blue Marlin, a casual seafood eatery, sets the scene for relaxation with oceanfront dining, while Argentinean grill The Steakhouse stirs drama with a cast iron and brick oven that uses charcoal to fire juicy meats to perfection. For the most special of occasions, request a private, candlelit, seaside table. Follow up with a cocktail at the romantic Love bar, one of many lounges on the property.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (3.7 mi/6 km)
Attractions
  • El Cortecito (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Playa Bavaro (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Cap Cana (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (8.8 mi/14.1 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (20.6 mi/33.2 km)
Business
  • 15,846-square-foot convention center for up to 550 guests
  • 18,279 square feet of event space
  • Business center

Hotel Map

18.4722 -68.3995
Area served
Higuey, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport- (PUJ) - Estimate driving time 10 minutes.
Area description
Located ten minutes away from the Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ) and only five miles away from one of the most abundant fisheries in the Caribbean and close to the heart of the largest humpback whale sanctuary of the world, fishing season in Cap Cana.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sanctuary Cap Cana also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Sanctuary Cap Cana Rooms

Junior Suite Ocean View
Junior Suites with ocean views. Suites consist of a king or two double beds with fine linens, furnished balcony or terrace with stunning ocean views, in-suite climate control, plasma TV, separate living area with desk, high speed internet connection, espresso machine, in-suite safe, selection of newspapers and magazines and coffee and tea selection, full marble bathroom with separate water closet, shower, luxurious Gilchrist and Soames bath amenities, bathrobes and slippers, hair dryer and double vanity sinks. Maximum occupancy is 2 adults. 645 sq. ft. Guests are immersed in Unlimited-Luxury treating adults to elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites with 24-hour concierge and room service, fine culinary experiences including an array of themed gourmet la carte dining options, fabulous bars and lounges, pool and beach wait service, and live evening entertainment.
Monarch Villa
Monarch Villa bordering or close to the Caribbean Sea. Luxury Villas consist of an ample terrace, open-air spaces, a king or two double beds with fine linens, furnished balcony or terrace with stunning ocean views, in-suite climate control, plasma TV, separate living area with desk, high speed internet connection, espresso machine, in-suite safe, selection of newspapers and magazines and coffee and tea selection, full marble bathroom with separate water closet, shower, luxurious Gilchrist and Soames bath amenities, bathrobes and slippers, hair dryer and double vanity sinks. Maximum occupancy is 2 adults. 1050 sq. ft. Guests are immersed in Unlimited-Luxury treating adults to elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites with 24-hour concierge and room service, fine culinary experiences including an array of themed gourmet la carte dining options, fabulous bars and lounges, pool and beach wait service, and live evening entertainment.
Monarch Ocean Front Villa
Monarch Ocean Front Villa with ocean views bordering the Caribbean Sea, consist of an ample terrace, open-air spaces, a king or two double beds with fine linens, furnished balcony or terrace with stunning ocean views, in-suite climate control, flat screen TV, separate living area with desk, high speed internet connection, espresso machine, in-suite safe, coffee and tea selection, full coral stone bathroom with separate water closet, shower, luxurious bath amenities, bathrobes and slippers, hair dryer and double vanity sinks. Maximum occupancy is 2 adults.
Honeymoon Suite with Private pool
Honeymoon Suite located on the third floor of the Fortress with both ocean and tropical views, consist of private pools and sun deck, a king bed with fine linen beds, in-suite climate control, flat screen TV, separate living area with desk, high speed internet connection, espresso machine, in-suite safe, coffee and tea selection, full coral stone bathroom with separate water closet, shower, luxurious bath amenities, bathrobes and slippers, hair dryer and double vanity sinks. Maximum occupancy is 2 adults.
Castle Junior Suite Swim Out
Castle Jr. Suite located in the Fortress with direct swim-out access to the salt water pool. Suites consist of a king bed with fine linen beds, in-suite climate control, flat screen TV, separate living area with desk, high speed internet connection, espresso machine, in-suite safe, selection of newspapers and magazines and coffee and tea selection, full coral stone bathroom with separate water closet, shower, luxurious Gilchrist and Soames bath amenities, bathrobes and slippers, hair dryer and double vanity sinks. Maximum occupancy is 2 adults.
Beach Front Premiun Suite
Suites with direct beach access and ocean front views. Suites consist of a king or two double beds with fine linens, furnished balcony or terrace, in-suite climate control, plasma TV, separate living area with desk, high speed internet connection, espresso machine, in-suite safe, selection of newspapers and magazines and coffee and tea selection, full marble bathroom with separate water closet, shower, luxurious Gilchrist and Soames bath amenities, bathrobes and slippers, hair dryer and double vanity sinks. Maximum occupancy is 2 adults. 754 sq. ft. Guests are immersed in Unlimited-Luxury treating adults to elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites with 24-hour concierge and room service, fine culinary experiences including an array of themed gourmet la carte dining options, fabulous bars and lounges, pool and beach wait service, and live evening entertainment.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Casa Bella Restaurant
Dedicated to international dishes a mix of specialties and classics; open for breakfast and dinner.
The Steak House
Contemporary American grill designed in the tradition of an Argentinean grill, with a cast iron and brick oven that uses wood and charcoal. Prime meats are the feature selection; open for lunch and dinner.
Blue Marlin Restaurant
Serving fresh seafood delicacies in a relaxed oceanfront atmosphere; open for lunch and dinner.
Wok Restaurant
Pan-Asian fusion with a touch of flair Oriental la carte specialties are served at a Teppanyaki table, where your chef awaits; open for dinner only.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (57)

Ratings and reviews for Sanctuary Cap Cana

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sisters from the Midwest
Chicago
May 3, 2013

Sister Trip April 22-28

First let me say this is my second stay in Punta Cana. Two entirely different experiences at two entirely different hotels. This hotel is great if you are looking for a very quiet experience except for the children who seemed to appear on Friday and Saturday yelling and splashing in the main pool. Pool areas are beautiful and in fact all the grounds are gorgeous. Understand why you would want to bring your children here as there is limited areas they can escape to. Barriers at each end of beach front and play areas. Do not come here for the food. Was surprised that of the 5 restaurants only 1-3 are open each night. Steak House open only 2 of the 6 nights we were there. Blue Marlin, great view and decent food. This place needs to go all inclusive or not. A major pain to have to sign the check every time even in you have paid for all inclusive. Think this is their way of making certain you tip as there is a space on the check to add and you feel guilty if you don't. Room was in great location (beachfront ) close to everything but still quiet. Must say that if we needed anything they were there in mere minutes with the exception of room service. Entertainment was very limited very unlike the larger resorts that have major productions nightly. All in all would not come back here if not a couple or family. The castle seemed to be the place if you wanted to avoid children. Swimout rooms look very private and the pool and bar here frequented by couples only. Very quiet. All staff very friendly and make sure to know some minimal Spanish. No shopping off the resort and don't bother with the public beach as no better than the beach at the hotel. Make sure to bargain with the souvenir sellers as they expect it. Cheaper to buy your souvenirs from them rather than hotel shops or airport for certain! Didn't go on any excursions as was just looking to relax and that we did! Last note, if you are single and with friends or want gourmet food, this is not your hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ronna009
Columbia, South Carolina
Apr 15, 2013

Close Enough to Perfect!!

This resort is tucked away in Cap Cana which seems to be a private area of Punta Cana. The resort is GORGEOUS!!! The grounds are meticulously tended. The steakhouse and Italian Restaurant are upscale & white tablecloth, etc. The Seafood restaurant is over the water and also upscale but has more of a relaxed atmosphere. We were pleasantly surprised that the food exceeded our expectations everywhere except for the Wok... and it may have been what we ordered. We DEFINITELY plan on staying here again but next time we want a Villa :) We stayed in the regular Junior Suite and have no complaints but The villas are so gorgeous!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Adverture Boogies were SOOOO much fun!! Short drive and inside the secluded Cap Cana Area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Svetlana31
Atlanta
Apr 15, 2013

What a disappointment!

Words can not describe how much i was upset and later angry i made a choice on this hotel. I was planning this special trip to Punta Cana with my mother who flew to Atlanta to visit me from Moscow after not seeing each other for a year.I wanted to take her on a beautiful trip to Punta Cana and took my time to find a perfect place for us.Unfortanutelly it was not Sanctuary Cap Cana. From the moment we came to the resort we did not like a thing.The property was so dark,quite,small,boring with the dirtiest beach i ve seen.On top of it the staff at the front desk was so rude and unfriendly.We asked for a room with two beds instead we only got one bed and it took a few times to ask to separate the bed.The verity of food was so poor we barely could make a choice.At night the property was so dark,not lively,boring ,we were depressed.We could not stay there more than one night and had to leave thats how horrible it was.Noone showed us around or explained anything,we were completly lost.And how stressful ,upsetting and decieving the process of leaving was.The staff was extremely rude,kept on lying to us about talking to the manager,unwilling to give us a refund,ignoring us,and so shady about the whole situation.I was beyond angry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JoMaBo
Maryland
Apr 4, 2013

Sick (in a good way)

Reserved this place for a short 3 night getaway for my wife and I and we LOVED every minute of it. The resort was amazing; staff was helpful and friendly; food was very good (been to quite a few resorts and can't say the same for them). Not to mention once we arrived, they gave us a free upgrade to one of the Monarch Villas (can you say ridiculous??). Definitely will recommend this place and definitely will be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

All restaurants at hotel were very good. Aside from some spotty service (waiters sometimes seem a little overwhelmed), the food was great. Experience all of them if you can.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jimmysan
Windsor, Ontario
Feb 25, 2013

The most relaxing trip ever!

We have just returned from a week @ Sanctuary Cap Cana and have never experienced a more relaxing vacation. Our rooms were on the 2nd floor of the castle and was a junior suite.....Very comfortable beds and pillows along with great showers and a bidet! Although the closets needed a bit of work everything else was top notch.The food at the a la carte resturants seem to be hit & miss . Although the food was still good it often it was overcooked. All staff seemed to work hard to make their guest happy! Hats off to Carlos @ the pool bar and Carlos @ The Blue Marlin a definite asset to the resort. It seemed as though the resort was running at half capacity because it was so quiet which wasn't a bad thing. Beautiful grounds and villas with a spanish flair definetly a top notch resort.All in all we gave it a 4.5 only because the food could use a bit of improvement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Clyde's Mom
Atlanta
Jan 23, 2013

Way better than expected

We booked this trip very last minute and were pleasantly surprised to find that we had hit the jackpot. Not only was the room beautiful, the all inclusive food delicious but it was the staff that made the trip. As we arrived they started with their motto "welcome home" and then proceeded to do everything they could to make you feel like you were indeed home but better. The resort is beautiful and clean. The beach had sea weed but the resort staff was up every morning making sure the beaches were beautiful for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kpac
New Jersey, USA
Oct 25, 2011

Only one downside

Everything was amazing! Food was great, lots of selections. Service is top notch! Everybody was super nice. Property is gorgeous, well maintained. Only downside is the beach is basically unswimable. Lots of seaweed. I dont think its the hotels fault, its just nature. Hotel tries to clean it up all day long but still comes back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NIKKEN
Greensboro, NC, USA
Oct 20, 2011

Perfect Getaway

Sanctuary is a gorgeous property with great amenities and amazing staff! As soon as you get there they welcome you "home" and make you feel that you are at home! The staff was very kind and helpful as well as a lot of fun! Miami was the best! Events on the resort are great and quite entertaining. Food is very good (outside of dinner at Blue Marlin). The wildlife at the resort is amazing, especially the giant spiders which are very harmless and a part of the natural beauty! We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Orbitz was also great in assuring us about our reservation and airport travel through the change over of resort management! So glad we were there with Salamader resort instead of Secrets!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

To help ensure less spending/tipping, save tipping for the end of the day with your bar staff instead of tipping after ordering every drink!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Leelee1
City of London, UK
Sep 9, 2011

Not a hotel that i'd visit again.

On arrival everything was fine until i checked into my room. I had the ocean view junior suite, which looked and sounded lovely on-line. The room was old and shabby and smelt damp. It was more like a room that belonged in a 2star hotel. I was not happy at all. in the end i upgraded to a honeymoon suite with private pool which was a lot better but cost an extra 875us on top of my holiday. The private beach is tiny and not kept well. The restaurants in the hotel were nice, they had all top shelf drinks in the bars so no complaint there. The evenings entertainment was an absolute joke.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MTornado
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Aug 21, 2011

Definitely the royal treatment!

The accommodations and hotel staff were more than excellent. You are treated like royalty from the moment you arrive. There is plenty of pool space. The beach isn't that large, but you won't have to fight for a spot. Food was pretty good, but not all of the restaurants were open for dinner every night and the menus were not very expansive. I would definitely recommend this resort to honeymooners and couples wanting some R&R. If you are looking to party, there are not as many activities at the resort compared to others, but they do have bars open late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The only restaurant you need to make reservations for is the Wok, and only if you want to sit at the hibachi grill.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search