$237 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 10, 2014 Check-out: Dec 13, 2014

Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Arena Gorda 1, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
58 reviews
RIU Macao is for you

Like they say upon arrival, "Welcome Home". This is a beautiful adults-only resort. Really no... See full review

  • Thomas from Florida
  • Jul 25, 2014
Fantastic Staff

Extremely nice and friendly staff!! They go out of their way to help you or get whatever you need... See full review

  • Midwest Hoosier Traveler
  • May 23, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana hotel lures with leisure activities, eateries

Embraced by lovely palm trees and overlooking the ocean, Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive beckons with palatial white architecture, classically styled rooms and a heavy menu of resort activities. Kids ages 4 to 12 have their own club featuring supervised activities, while adults can learn how to Scuba dive, play water polo or visit the numerous a la carte or specialty restaurants on the property.

Highlights
  • Live music and themed dinners
  • Traditional rooms with patios and terraces
  • Multiple a la carte restaurants on site and access to bars at sister Riu properties
  • Kids' club for children ages 4 to 12
Rooms

Old-world touches dominate the 356 rooms at Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive. Heavy floral-printed drapes and valances coordinate with oversized, striped armchairs, while hand-carved mahogany furniture adds stateliness to the spaces. Shaded lamps and a palette of beige, forest green and burgundy favor traditional design themes. Every room boasts a bathroom with bidet, central air, liquor dispenser and patio or terrace.

Features

Leisure activities at Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive are as vast as the buffet. Guests might take a Scuba lesson in the pool, play table tennis, hit the Jacuzzi or indulge in the many water sports in the area, from kayaking to windsurfing. A casino is a center for all-day action, and live music and themed entertainment feed the festive vibe. Families also take advantage of the kids' club for children ages 4 to 12.

Dining

On-the-spot cooking stations and buffets overflowing with salad, fruit, seafood and other items fuel visitors at Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive. The hotel also hosts themed dinners three times a week and a la carte dinners at specialty restaurants Grill and steakhouse, Caribe grill, Kabuki and Krystal. For a change of scenery, tourists can also sample other bars within the Riu complex (excluding Pacha nightclub and those at Riu Palace Punta Cana.)

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.4 mi/19.9 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • El Cortecito (10.4 mi/16.8 km)
  • Cap Cana (15.3 mi/24.7 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (21.1 mi/34 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (24.6 mi/39.6 km)
Business
  • Indoor and outdoor event space
  • Audiovisual equipment
Policies and fees
  • Minimum Age: At least one person of 21 years old in every room.
  • The Hotel reserves the right of admission and therefore we may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. This situation can have serious consequences and should be avoided at any cost.  
  • The hotel prohibits spring breakers year-round and student groups under 21 years old.
  • Maximum Occupancy: In all RIU hotels and room categories (unless specified otherwise) the maximum occupancies are 4 bodies in room, either 3 Adults + 1 Child OR 2 Adults + 2 Children. Four adults are NOT permitted. All bodies in room will fit on existing bedding, any special request remains upon availability. Children & and third adult will sleep in existing bedding.
  • Discounts: Children under 2 years stay & eat free. Their age must be specified in the Booking. Honeymooners: Will receive a surprise gift in their room upon arrival. Certificate of Marriage will be required upon arrival.
  • Special requests : Any special request such a extra beds, rollaways, cribs, room next door, remains upon availability of the hotel . Guests will be informed at check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.7202 -68.4556
Area served
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
Punta Cana Airport - (PUJ)
Area description
Located at 50 km distance from the City of Higey.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive Rooms

Suite
Features: Living room area, Air-conditioned, one king size bed, ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, mini bar & liquor dispenser (restockable), in room safe, bathroom with shower, bidet and hairdryer, balcony or terrace. New Italian bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso". Coffe maker as of November 2009.
Double Room
Air-conditioned, two double beds, ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, mini bar & liquor dispenser (restockable), clock/alarm radio, in room safe, bathroom with shower, bidet and hair dryer, balcony or terrace. New Italian amenities "Lavarino Cosso". Coffe maker as of November 2009.
Jacuzzi Suite
Features: Living room area, as well as a balcony or terrace with jacuzzi. Air-conditioned, one king size bed, ceiling fan, satelite TV, phone, mini bar & liquor dispenser (restockable), clock/alarm radio, in room safe, bathroom with shower, bidet and hair dryer, balcony or terrace. New Italian bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso". Coffe maker as of November 2009.
Superior
Air-conditioned, 2 double beds, ceiling fan, satellite TV, clock/ alarm radio, phone, mini bar & liquor dispenser (restockable), in room safe, bathroom with shower, bidet and hair dryer, balcony or terrace. New Italian bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso". Coffe maker as of November 2009.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Barber/Beauty shop
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference room, 1506 ft2 / 140 m2, capacity 80 pax.

Dining

La Boheme
Lounge bar.
Cubano
Piano bar.
La Sirena
Pool Bar.
International
Lunch & Snacks.
La Pizzeria
Located at the Caribbean street, serving Italian & Snacks.
Chiringuito
Beach Bar.
Caribe Grill Steakhouse
Restaurant la Carte for dinner.
Japanese Restaurant
Try this restaurants only for dinner. Reservations required.
El Patio
Main restaurants offering buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Kristal
Restaurant la Carte for dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (58)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 58
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thomas from Florida
Business
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Jul 25, 2014

RIU Macao is for you

Like they say upon arrival, "Welcome Home". This is a beautiful adults-only resort. Really no reason to leave the property during our stay. Food selection was amazing, rooms were spotless, staff was very friendly and accommodating. There were 12 in our group, and the RIU crew helped make our visit memorable. The hotel veranda was my favorite place; always a breeze, view of the pool and the beach, and an attentive wait staff. If I had to give a "con", it would be that housekeeping was in and out of room multiple times each day to accomplish cleaning. Seems they could coordinate that a little better and be in and out in one visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Main dining buffet was excellent. There are a few specialty restaurants which require reservations, long pants for men and dresses for the women. If you would "rather not" get dressed up, the buffets cover breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stacy88
Business
Green Bay, Wi
Apr 19, 2012

Wonderful Time

We had a wonderful time. The service was great. Always a smile, hello or High 5 from all the staff. The food was good . There is some repetition on the buffet, but if you change up what you eat, there are plenty of items so you can have something different every night. Service in the main buffet restaurant was fabulous, we had the same waiter every night. He knew what we liked to drink after the first night and had it ready for us, as soon as we walked in. We were with a group of 4 adults and 4 teenagers. The entertainment people did a great job including our teenagers in activities. They enjoyed themselves. The beaches are awesome, we loved walking the what seemed to be an endless beach. Our rooms was clean and the front desk got us everything we asked of them. My only complaint would be that we were there the last week before renovations and two days before we left they started emptying out the place and closing a few of the restaurants, which I felt was a bit unfare to us, I would have hoped they would have waited until the hotel was empty. We didn't let that get in the way of the good time we were having in a beautiful location. We all said that we would return to this hotel again. I liked the size of the resort you didn't have to walk far to get from your room to the pool to the beach and could easily walk back to the room to get something if you needed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sully500
Business
NH
Apr 11, 2012

visited over easter 2012

This was my second time at Riu Place Macao...the facilities and staff are great, they want you to come back and do everything possible to make that happen..this summer the facility is being renovated it is currently a little dated...reno's to include a larger pool which will make the prop even more attactive.Good Value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brainchick
Business
Sellersburg, IN
Aug 7, 2011

Great location with fair service

Beautiful grounds & room, room service quick but limited menu, refrigerator in room re--stocked only once during week stay. Buffet food was decent and servers attentive. Bar service at pool looked adequate but none on beach (although the bar was close by). Air conditioning in room was broken and never got fixed despite 3 requests. [...]coco tours buggy excursion was fabulous. parasailing avail at extra charge. Linens refreshed twice daily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Jul 28, 2011

Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive

The hotel was old, renovated, but kept clean.The beach was very beautiful, although it needed cleaning from sea weeds more often than once in the morning, as the hotel did. The hotel employees were very helpful and nice.Hotel room services were very slow and most of the room cleaning crew could not understand English.The nightly entertainment was very good on certain nights. I would say at least 3 out of the 8 nights or (.375 of the nights) we spent there were very good. The remaining shows were OK, but below average.Scuba diving was very bad, the crew was not helpful, they did not advise us that the seas were very rough. The waves were more than 8 feet high and the boat operator was not cooperative in getting us out of the water, afraid that we may .... from seas sickness in his boat making him having to clean it after us, do he kept us waiting in the water an additional 8 or more minutes before extending the ladder for us to get on board.The dive masters (2 of them) went down before the divers instead of waiting to make sure every one went down first and was OK before them diving in. I wasted at least 10 minutes out the 40 minutes total dive looking for my dive partner, until I realized that she did not make it down for some reason .... When I got back to the boat I was told that she got seas sick & requested to be transferred back to shore.The non-motorized water activity was very well organized and well done. As well as the motorized activity such as para sailing etc... I believe they were operated privately.The hotel food/drinks were very good, but they only have 4 restaurants contrary to what they proclaim on their web site [...] Over all it was a nice 8 day vacation, just like everything else, you get back what you put into it. Lower your expectation & you will not be disappointed.I hope this helps someone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tampa fl
Jul 22, 2011

great place to relax

everything was perfect except the matress on the bed, they are very hard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Apr 5, 2010

Average experience

It was by no means a 4 star hotel. The staff was not very warm, there were too many dos and donts, restaurants were average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't do Scuba Doo, it is overrated

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A. Nico
Business
Baltimore, MD
Sep 5, 2009

The Second Time at Riu Palace Macao

This was our second stay at Riu Palace Macao. We decided to book the same hotel based on our previous experience. Everything was the same as before, but we've noticed a big change in lunch menu... We were a little disappointed by the quality and assortment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Punta Gorda,FL
Jun 3, 2009

Looks can be Deceiving...

The Hotel is very beautiful but has many,many flaws. The good things: 1.Super- Friendly Staff 2.Very Beautiful Lobby (Palace Punta Cana not Macao) 3.Good Service 4.Great Beach 5.Big Pool The Bad: 1.They turn off Air Conditioning in the Middle of the night and in the middle of the day. Therefore its very hot usually. 2.Rooms have moldy and humid smell. Sheets and pillows reek from mold and feel wet even when recently changed. 3.Poor Entertainment. They have a couple of beach games during the day but thats it. At night the shows are more 18+ than anything. Not very proffesional shows and very adult based comedy not family appropriate. 4.Food is very European-International. This can be good or bad. The staff does all possible to please you and find what you want to eat.. but lacks variety and much quality. 5.Lobby although with A/C(Palace Punta Cana not Macao) it is turned off nightly along with all lights. 6.There are MANY TOPLESS EUROPEAN BATHERS, Hard to take a picture without having a topless woman appear in the picture. Overall pick a different hotel for a more pleasant stay in Punta Cana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Ask for High Floor Room, all the lower floors have moldy and humid smell.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
heather4change
Business
Michigan
Apr 22, 2009

O.K. at Macao

The RIU Macao was fine. I have traveled to many all-inclusive hotels and the Riu was o.k. but not quite what I would have expected for a four star resort. The rooms are very dated and during the day there were few choices for lunch/snacking. The resort is on the smaller side, which I like. It gives you a chance to really get to know the staff and the other guests at the hotel. One of my favorite places in the resort was the disco. Lots of people there and good mix of Latin and regular disco tech type music. Best of all it's FREE. You do however have to pay for your drinks there. Fodd choices were good with a large main buffet and the extra restraunts. Overall it was a wonderful stay but most of my enjoyment came from the friends I was with not from the hotel. The public spaces at the resort were clean and comfortable but looked dated just like the rooms. I have stayed in the RIUs in Mexico and this resort did not live up to my " RIU" expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Disco located right in between resorts!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top