$237 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 10, 2014 Check-out: Dec 13, 2014

Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Arena Gorda 1, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
58 reviews
RIU Macao is for you

Like they say upon arrival, "Welcome Home". This is a beautiful adults-only resort. Really no... See full review

  • Thomas from Florida
  • Jul 25, 2014
Fantastic Staff

Extremely nice and friendly staff!! They go out of their way to help you or get whatever you need... See full review

  • Midwest Hoosier Traveler
  • May 23, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana hotel lures with leisure activities, eateries

Embraced by lovely palm trees and overlooking the ocean, Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive beckons with palatial white architecture, classically styled rooms and a heavy menu of resort activities. Kids ages 4 to 12 have their own club featuring supervised activities, while adults can learn how to Scuba dive, play water polo or visit the numerous a la carte or specialty restaurants on the property.

Highlights
  • Live music and themed dinners
  • Traditional rooms with patios and terraces
  • Multiple a la carte restaurants on site and access to bars at sister Riu properties
  • Kids' club for children ages 4 to 12
Rooms

Old-world touches dominate the 356 rooms at Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive. Heavy floral-printed drapes and valances coordinate with oversized, striped armchairs, while hand-carved mahogany furniture adds stateliness to the spaces. Shaded lamps and a palette of beige, forest green and burgundy favor traditional design themes. Every room boasts a bathroom with bidet, central air, liquor dispenser and patio or terrace.

Features

Leisure activities at Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive are as vast as the buffet. Guests might take a Scuba lesson in the pool, play table tennis, hit the Jacuzzi or indulge in the many water sports in the area, from kayaking to windsurfing. A casino is a center for all-day action, and live music and themed entertainment feed the festive vibe. Families also take advantage of the kids' club for children ages 4 to 12.

Dining

On-the-spot cooking stations and buffets overflowing with salad, fruit, seafood and other items fuel visitors at Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive. The hotel also hosts themed dinners three times a week and a la carte dinners at specialty restaurants Grill and steakhouse, Caribe grill, Kabuki and Krystal. For a change of scenery, tourists can also sample other bars within the Riu complex (excluding Pacha nightclub and those at Riu Palace Punta Cana.)

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.4 mi/19.9 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • El Cortecito (10.4 mi/16.8 km)
  • Cap Cana (15.3 mi/24.7 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (21.1 mi/34 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (24.6 mi/39.6 km)
Business
  • Indoor and outdoor event space
  • Audiovisual equipment
Policies and fees
  • Minimum Age: At least one person of 21 years old in every room.
  • The Hotel reserves the right of admission and therefore we may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. This situation can have serious consequences and should be avoided at any cost.  
  • The hotel prohibits spring breakers year-round and student groups under 21 years old.
  • Maximum Occupancy: In all RIU hotels and room categories (unless specified otherwise) the maximum occupancies are 4 bodies in room, either 3 Adults + 1 Child OR 2 Adults + 2 Children. Four adults are NOT permitted. All bodies in room will fit on existing bedding, any special request remains upon availability. Children & and third adult will sleep in existing bedding.
  • Discounts: Children under 2 years stay & eat free. Their age must be specified in the Booking. Honeymooners: Will receive a surprise gift in their room upon arrival. Certificate of Marriage will be required upon arrival.
  • Special requests : Any special request such a extra beds, rollaways, cribs, room next door, remains upon availability of the hotel . Guests will be informed at check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive Rooms

Suite
Features: Living room area, Air-conditioned, one king size bed, ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, mini bar & liquor dispenser (restockable), in room safe, bathroom with shower, bidet and hairdryer, balcony or terrace. New Italian bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso". Coffe maker as of November 2009.
Double Room
Air-conditioned, two double beds, ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, mini bar & liquor dispenser (restockable), clock/alarm radio, in room safe, bathroom with shower, bidet and hair dryer, balcony or terrace. New Italian amenities "Lavarino Cosso". Coffe maker as of November 2009.
Jacuzzi Suite
Features: Living room area, as well as a balcony or terrace with jacuzzi. Air-conditioned, one king size bed, ceiling fan, satelite TV, phone, mini bar & liquor dispenser (restockable), clock/alarm radio, in room safe, bathroom with shower, bidet and hair dryer, balcony or terrace. New Italian bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso". Coffe maker as of November 2009.
Superior
Air-conditioned, 2 double beds, ceiling fan, satellite TV, clock/ alarm radio, phone, mini bar & liquor dispenser (restockable), in room safe, bathroom with shower, bidet and hair dryer, balcony or terrace. New Italian bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso". Coffe maker as of November 2009.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Barber/Beauty shop
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference room, 1506 ft2 / 140 m2, capacity 80 pax.

Dining

La Boheme
Lounge bar.
Cubano
Piano bar.
La Sirena
Pool Bar.
International
Lunch & Snacks.
La Pizzeria
Located at the Caribbean street, serving Italian & Snacks.
Chiringuito
Beach Bar.
Caribe Grill Steakhouse
Restaurant la Carte for dinner.
Japanese Restaurant
Try this restaurants only for dinner. Reservations required.
El Patio
Main restaurants offering buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Kristal
Restaurant la Carte for dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (58)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 58
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
A.M.H.K.
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 25, 2014

Riu Macao

The pool area, although small, is really nice and our room was amazing - we got the suite upgrade with the private hot tub out on the balcony. The food was a huge disappointment though. Personally, I thought the restaurants were awful and the staff acted like they didn't want to be there. In addition, there were only 3 restaurants but one of them is typically closed so you have to wake up early in the morning to make reservations and you just have an option of two. The drinks were great and strong so no complaints there. I wouldn't ever go back there, given the chance. Look for a different option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Super Nurse and Mom
Business
West Virginia
May 24, 2014

2nd time to Punta Last to this resort

This was our second trip to Punta Cana. The hotel food really wasn't that good. The beef in any of the restaurants is always overcooked no matter how you tell them to cook it. The entertainment was what was most disappointing. Compared to the first time we went to punta and stayed at a different hotel it was horrible. On the second night they did a rock station show and we left halfway through it was so bad. The spa credits they give you are a joke. $35 off the combinations massage which is originally $145 and that's the only massage you can use the credit for. Not to mention that the spa isn't a different hotel that you had to walk a mile to get to because their phone was broken. The casino there is ridiculous also. All it is is a small room with a few machines and a couple tables crammed in it. That brings me to the casino credits that you get. Those are a joke too. They are matchplay only good for the table games which I don't play anyways. The beach at this resort is nice however the water is choppy and it's hard to go out into the ocean and just relax when you're getting hit with waves all the time. Our rooms were nice and they were clean I can't complain about that. I think the resort is just too big there's no personal feeling that you get at all while you are there. We did two excursions which turned out pretty nice except for the fact that the one that went to Santo Domingo and was supposed to leave at 6:40 AM did not leave until 7:30 AM which meant we were standing out on the street corner that whole time waiting for the bus to come get us. Yes we will probably go back to Punta again, but we will stay at the first resort that we stayed at the first time we went which is now the Dreams Palm Resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Sanona Beach trip was fun but take money with you. They tell you there is no shopping but there is!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bamm89
Business
Boston
May 15, 2014

Great location and service, but not great food

We loved the hotel, beach, bars, and service at Riu Palace Macao, but unfortunately the food was below average. Way too salty and the seafood was often fishy. Other than the food, the hotel was excellent and we had a wonderful time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Make sure to reserve specialty restaurants in advance. You can place multiple reservations at once for subsequent days!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kimmy Lou
Business
Ohio
Feb 27, 2014

Best place to vacation!

2nd time here! Love it so much, it's hard to go anywhere else! The staff is incredible, they truly make you feel special! We will definitely be going back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Good deals at the straw market which is just a nice short walk down the beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Silver Wraith
Business
Vermont
Jan 29, 2014

Solid 4 Star

Our stay at the Riu Palace Macao was from 1/20 thru 1/28. This is our 4th time to this island, 3rd time to Punta Cana. The resort is small and an adult's only, two of the reasons we went here. I'll start with my only real complaints, neither show stoppers.... for some reason the coffee here is sub par.... the cappuccino and espresso are both good... a real head scratcher... The other negative is the distance from the pool/resort area to the ocean... the resort is part of a Riu Complex and there is a path that connects all the resorts and you are allowed to use some of the other properties. The path is kinda the half way point from the resort proper and the ocean... once again not a show stopper but seeing/hearing/smelling the ocean from the resort is a nice touch. The positives are too many to list. The food here at the buffet is very possibly the best we've had at any all-inclusive, including some fairly high end resorts (5-star). The staff is top notch and very attentive. Everyone from the pool wait staff, always there with a fresh drink, to the bar tenders, the dinning room wait staff, chamber maids to the grounds crew and front desk staff, all very pleasant and helpful. The room we had was very comfortable and clean, mini fridge restocked daily with water/soda/beer and you can request specific beverages and they are happy to honor your request. The beach is gorgeous, once you get to it and you can walk for miles. The powdery white sand and the turquoise water just goes on for ever, one of the greatest sections of beach anywhere we've been. The towel game was at hand to some extent at the resort, but we never had any issues getting a lounger we wanted, even going down after breakfast.... If you are looking for a low key, restful, enjoyable stay in the Dominican, this is the place for you... the average age of the patrons was slightly higher then normal, but maybe that was due to the time of year we were there. A good mix of nationalities as well, a lot of Germans and British to go with our usual mix of Canadians and Americans. Always nice hearing the different languages as you walk around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Buffet food/variety is exceptional.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pgh Bett
Business
Pitttsburgh, PA
Jan 17, 2014

Lots to Like at Riu Palace Macao

Upon arrival greeted with a welcome drink and bags taken to our room. Liked the location as the room was near the end of the hallway and quiet. Was on the first level and looked out toward Caribbean St. and had full morning sun. Except for a few minor issues (both iron and hair dryer were dirty, the TV volumn kept changing, and had to ask for face cloths) the room would have been perfect. The best part of staying here is the location on the beach. A large area of sand and palm trees laid between the pool and the ocean. We could walk for miles without obstruction. We have been to a number of Caribbean beaches and found this one to be the nicest of all. We ate at the four restaurants that require reservations and found this made for a nice change and liked being waited on. Krystal was open every day serving a sit down three course lunch. The buffets offered so many choiches and food was kept fresh and served at the proper temperature. At breakfast and dinner one could choose to sit inside or out on the open patio. Service was quick and friendly. The entertainment staff offered lots of play opportunies during the day around the pool. In the evening there were musicians who played mostly bacharta and maranga. We particularly liked the music we were able to dance to. Show Time varied in that some of the entertainers were quite talented while others were just ok to watch. I definitly would recommend this adult all inclusive resort as there are many things about it to like (love).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
leningradka
Business
Minnesota
Dec 2, 2013

One of the best hotels in Punta Cana!

This was our fifth stay in this hotel. We have tried different resorts but couldn't find any better location, service and overall satisfaction! Will come again soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NCLady7
Business
Charlotte, NC
May 21, 2013

Not the best vacation

Everything was excellent, but we were not impressed with the food, compared to other resorts we have stayed at. One of the reasons we chose this resort was because there was a casino there. We have both played thousands of games of Blackjack at many places, but please BEWARE! This casino is a scam!!!! They pull cards out of the middle & the bottom of the deck!!! Thankfully we noticed what they were doing & that there were way too many low cards before we lost too much money. It was a HUGE disappointment to not be able to gamble while we were there. On a positive note, the resort was immaculate & the staff was very friendly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

DO NOT play in the casino!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bill W of Ohio
Business
Ohio
Feb 19, 2013

Winter Break

The adults only Riu Palace Macao was perfect for a couple who just wants to relax and get some sun and warmth during the cold winters in Ohio. The staff was very friendly and helped in anyway they could. Rooms were kept clean and the maid service was outstanding in that they would provide whatever we needed. The beach was the best we had ever seen in our visits to the Caribbean. Plenty of open area with the option of setting under a palm tree. The food was good and plenty of options in the main restaurant. We did not care for the specialty restaurants. Too difficult to reserve a setting and the choices at the restuarants were not all that great. Ovrall, it was a great week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
K3N6
Business
New Jersey
Nov 26, 2012

Time away with spouse

The hotel accommodations were the best we've had in our travels. The staff was curteous and the room was very clean. The food was excellent, and with all those choices we never went hungry. I was also able to maintain my Paleo diet. My only regret is that we did not pay for a room upgrade with a view. However, the atmosphere outside the room was warm and inviting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top