$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Arena Gorda 1, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 59
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KevNan
Business
Boston
May 11, 2009

Great Vacation!

This was our first trip to Punta Cana, and we were really impressed with the awesome beach and great hotel. The staff was absolutely incredible, always smiling and singing as they waited on us hand and foot. The food was pretty good. We ate at the buffet most meals, but did have one terrific meal at the a la carte gourmet restaurant, "Krystal." Most of the hotel guests were from Germany, and weren't very friendly, but the staff more than made up for that. Most of our time was spent on the beach, but the scene at the pool seemed fun, too. We really enjoyed the in-room liquor dispenser that had some top shelf liquor, including Stolichnaya Vodka and a lower-end Brugal Rum. Nights were spent either in the lobby bar or in some of the comfortable seating around the property. As always, the staff was right there to meet your needs. We visited all four other hotel resorts on the Riu property, and although nice, we enjoyed the more peaceful Macao the most. If you're looking for an activity-packed vacation, this place is probably not for you, but if you're looking to relax at a quiet, relatively small location with world-class beaches and first-class service, you'll like the Riu Palace Macao. We will definitely consider returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Bring plenty of one dollar bills for tips. The staff truly deserves them, and appreciates them. You'll likely have the same servers, and over the course of your stay, you will make friends with them. Try out an a la carte restaurant, but you'll find the buffet dinners offer great variety for even a picky eater.

Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tampa fl
Jul 22, 2011

great place to relax

everything was perfect except the matress on the bed, they are very hard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chiago, IL
Jun 7, 2009

Great accomodations...food: blah

The $40 per night for room upgrade was totally worth it. Food was nothing special, avoid the Japanese restaurant at all cost. Poor entertaiment. Mainly people in their 50's. Long pants are mandatory for men for all dinner options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Offer at least half of original price. Crafts and souvenirs are way overpriced.

Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saginaw, MI
Jan 15, 2010

Good get away - beach was great!!

We had a great time. It is humid outside & the rooms were great with air conditioning & the ceiling fans. We did get tried of buffet meals toward end of the week, but there was variety. We loved the "steak house". Make sure make the reservations every morning asap. We liked going to the other RIU's next door. Casino slot machines didn't work half of the time. It was a good place to stay & would recommend a friend to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jerry R.
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 13, 2011

Punta Canta Vacae

Overall, the hotel & staff were great. The only exception is the A/C did not work properly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Try the doom buggie tour/excursion. Great experience!

Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NCLady7
Business
Charlotte, NC
May 21, 2013

Not the best vacation

Everything was excellent, but we were not impressed with the food, compared to other resorts we have stayed at. One of the reasons we chose this resort was because there was a casino there. We have both played thousands of games of Blackjack at many places, but please BEWARE! This casino is a scam!!!! They pull cards out of the middle & the bottom of the deck!!! Thankfully we noticed what they were doing & that there were way too many low cards before we lost too much money. It was a HUGE disappointment to not be able to gamble while we were there. On a positive note, the resort was immaculate & the staff was very friendly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

DO NOT play in the casino!!!

Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Super Nurse and Mom
Business
West Virginia
May 24, 2014

2nd time to Punta Last to this resort

This was our second trip to Punta Cana. The hotel food really wasn't that good. The beef in any of the restaurants is always overcooked no matter how you tell them to cook it. The entertainment was what was most disappointing. Compared to the first time we went to punta and stayed at a different hotel it was horrible. On the second night they did a rock station show and we left halfway through it was so bad. The spa credits they give you are a joke. $35 off the combinations massage which is originally $145 and that's the only massage you can use the credit for. Not to mention that the spa isn't a different hotel that you had to walk a mile to get to because their phone was broken. The casino there is ridiculous also. All it is is a small room with a few machines and a couple tables crammed in it. That brings me to the casino credits that you get. Those are a joke too. They are matchplay only good for the table games which I don't play anyways. The beach at this resort is nice however the water is choppy and it's hard to go out into the ocean and just relax when you're getting hit with waves all the time. Our rooms were nice and they were clean I can't complain about that. I think the resort is just too big there's no personal feeling that you get at all while you are there. We did two excursions which turned out pretty nice except for the fact that the one that went to Santo Domingo and was supposed to leave at 6:40 AM did not leave until 7:30 AM which meant we were standing out on the street corner that whole time waiting for the bus to come get us. Yes we will probably go back to Punta again, but we will stay at the first resort that we stayed at the first time we went which is now the Dreams Palm Resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Sanona Beach trip was fun but take money with you. They tell you there is no shopping but there is!

Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, Fl
May 29, 2011

Riu Macao

We were just looking to relax and get away from work, so we didn't do much else than stay at the hotel and sign up for a few trips. We never got to eat at any of the restaurants as you have to make your recervation from 7:00 to 10:00am every morning and most of the time they are already booked if you don't go very early. Needless to say we never made it! We ate at the regular buffet place instead. In the afternoons, we hanged by the pool and the beach. A big draw back was that pool closed at 7:00pm and most of the times by 6:00-6:30pm. Also, no music and/or very little entertainment. We ate dinner at the buffet place. Great service and great people there. We went to the show at 10:00am. I felt the shows were a bit too short, but nice when the entertainment team weren't the ones doing it. If you only speak English, you might have trouble understanding what they say. Some of the trips/experiences we did were parasailing, buggy rides and zip lining. Parasailing was a great experience. Customer service was bad, the guys kept arguing about someone else taking one of their customers. We had to remind them three times to speed up because our friends were falling into the water, they were too focused on the argument that forgot they had people in the air. Zip lining was great, I would encourage everyone to do it. Awesome all around. Buggy ride was a disappointment, we changed vehicles three times because they kept breaking down. The person leading it wasn't too friendly and was rushing everyone because he needed to go to his other job. In short, if you are looking to relax and not do much, this is a nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bamm89
Business
Boston
May 15, 2014

Great location and service, but not great food

We loved the hotel, beach, bars, and service at Riu Palace Macao, but unfortunately the food was below average. Way too salty and the seafood was often fishy. Other than the food, the hotel was excellent and we had a wonderful time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Make sure to reserve specialty restaurants in advance. You can place multiple reservations at once for subsequent days!

Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brainchick
Business
Sellersburg, IN
Aug 7, 2011

Great location with fair service

Beautiful grounds & room, room service quick but limited menu, refrigerator in room re--stocked only once during week stay. Buffet food was decent and servers attentive. Bar service at pool looked adequate but none on beach (although the bar was close by). Air conditioning in room was broken and never got fixed despite 3 requests. [...]coco tours buggy excursion was fabulous. parasailing avail at extra charge. Linens refreshed twice daily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top