$389 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 13, 2015 Check-out: Feb 16, 2015

Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Arena Gorda 1, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
60 reviews
Awesome family trip.

I and my husband are very satisfied of our vacation. The hotel Riu Macao is buitilul and clean,... See full review

  • Natalia B.
  • Dec 29, 2014
RIU Macao is for you

Like they say upon arrival, "Welcome Home". This is a beautiful adults-only resort. Really no... See full review

  • Thomas from Florida
  • Jul 25, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana hotel lures with leisure activities, eateries

Embraced by lovely palm trees and overlooking the ocean, Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive beckons with palatial white architecture, classically styled rooms and a heavy menu of resort activities. Kids ages 4 to 12 have their own club featuring supervised activities, while adults can learn how to Scuba dive, play water polo or visit the numerous a la carte or specialty restaurants on the property.

Highlights
  • Live music and themed dinners
  • Traditional rooms with patios and terraces
  • Multiple a la carte restaurants on site and access to bars at sister Riu properties
  • Kids' club for children ages 4 to 12
Rooms

Old-world touches dominate the 356 rooms at Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive. Heavy floral-printed drapes and valances coordinate with oversized, striped armchairs, while hand-carved mahogany furniture adds stateliness to the spaces. Shaded lamps and a palette of beige, forest green and burgundy favor traditional design themes. Every room boasts a bathroom with bidet, central air, liquor dispenser and patio or terrace.

Features

Leisure activities at Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive are as vast as the buffet. Guests might take a Scuba lesson in the pool, play table tennis, hit the Jacuzzi or indulge in the many water sports in the area, from kayaking to windsurfing. A casino is a center for all-day action, and live music and themed entertainment feed the festive vibe. Families also take advantage of the kids' club for children ages 4 to 12.

Dining

On-the-spot cooking stations and buffets overflowing with salad, fruit, seafood and other items fuel visitors at Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive. The hotel also hosts themed dinners three times a week and a la carte dinners at specialty restaurants Grill and steakhouse, Caribe grill, Kabuki and Krystal. For a change of scenery, tourists can also sample other bars within the Riu complex (excluding Pacha nightclub and those at Riu Palace Punta Cana.)

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.4 mi/19.9 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • El Cortecito (10.4 mi/16.8 km)
  • Cap Cana (15.3 mi/24.7 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (21.1 mi/34 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (24.6 mi/39.6 km)
Business
  • Indoor and outdoor event space
  • Audiovisual equipment
Policies and fees
  • Minimum Age: At least one person of 21 years old in every room.
  • The Hotel reserves the right of admission and therefore we may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. This situation can have serious consequences and should be avoided at any cost.  
  • The hotel prohibits spring breakers year-round and student groups under 21 years old.
  • Maximum Occupancy: In all RIU hotels and room categories (unless specified otherwise) the maximum occupancies are 4 bodies in room, either 3 Adults + 1 Child OR 2 Adults + 2 Children. Four adults are NOT permitted. All bodies in room will fit on existing bedding, any special request remains upon availability. Children & and third adult will sleep in existing bedding.
  • Discounts: Children under 2 years stay & eat free. Their age must be specified in the Booking. Honeymooners: Will receive a surprise gift in their room upon arrival. Certificate of Marriage will be required upon arrival.
  • Special requests : Any special request such a extra beds, rollaways, cribs, room next door, remains upon availability of the hotel . Guests will be informed at check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive Rooms

Suite
Features: Living room area, Air-conditioned, one king size bed, ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, mini bar & liquor dispenser (restockable), in room safe, bathroom with shower, bidet and hairdryer, balcony or terrace. New Italian bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso". Coffe maker as of November 2009.
Double Room
Air-conditioned, two double beds, ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, mini bar & liquor dispenser (restockable), clock/alarm radio, in room safe, bathroom with shower, bidet and hair dryer, balcony or terrace. New Italian amenities "Lavarino Cosso". Coffe maker as of November 2009.
Jacuzzi Suite
Features: Living room area, as well as a balcony or terrace with jacuzzi. Air-conditioned, one king size bed, ceiling fan, satelite TV, phone, mini bar & liquor dispenser (restockable), clock/alarm radio, in room safe, bathroom with shower, bidet and hair dryer, balcony or terrace. New Italian bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso". Coffe maker as of November 2009.
Superior
Air-conditioned, 2 double beds, ceiling fan, satellite TV, clock/ alarm radio, phone, mini bar & liquor dispenser (restockable), in room safe, bathroom with shower, bidet and hair dryer, balcony or terrace. New Italian bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso". Coffe maker as of November 2009.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Barber/Beauty shop
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

La Boheme
Lounge bar.
Cubano
Piano bar.
La Sirena
Pool Bar.
International
Lunch & Snacks.
La Pizzeria
Located at the Caribbean street, serving Italian & Snacks.
Chiringuito
Beach Bar.
Caribe Grill Steakhouse
Restaurant la Carte for dinner.
Japanese Restaurant
Try this restaurants only for dinner. Reservations required.
El Patio
Main restaurants offering buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Kristal
Restaurant la Carte for dinner.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference room, 1506 ft2 / 140 m2, capacity 80 pax.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (60)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 60
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sully500
Business
NH
Apr 11, 2012

visited over easter 2012

This was my second time at Riu Place Macao...the facilities and staff are great, they want you to come back and do everything possible to make that happen..this summer the facility is being renovated it is currently a little dated...reno's to include a larger pool which will make the prop even more attactive.Good Value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stacy88
Business
Green Bay, Wi
Apr 19, 2012

Wonderful Time

We had a wonderful time. The service was great. Always a smile, hello or High 5 from all the staff. The food was good . There is some repetition on the buffet, but if you change up what you eat, there are plenty of items so you can have something different every night. Service in the main buffet restaurant was fabulous, we had the same waiter every night. He knew what we liked to drink after the first night and had it ready for us, as soon as we walked in. We were with a group of 4 adults and 4 teenagers. The entertainment people did a great job including our teenagers in activities. They enjoyed themselves. The beaches are awesome, we loved walking the what seemed to be an endless beach. Our rooms was clean and the front desk got us everything we asked of them. My only complaint would be that we were there the last week before renovations and two days before we left they started emptying out the place and closing a few of the restaurants, which I felt was a bit unfare to us, I would have hoped they would have waited until the hotel was empty. We didn't let that get in the way of the good time we were having in a beautiful location. We all said that we would return to this hotel again. I liked the size of the resort you didn't have to walk far to get from your room to the pool to the beach and could easily walk back to the room to get something if you needed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bill W of Ohio
Business
Ohio
Feb 19, 2013

Winter Break

The adults only Riu Palace Macao was perfect for a couple who just wants to relax and get some sun and warmth during the cold winters in Ohio. The staff was very friendly and helped in anyway they could. Rooms were kept clean and the maid service was outstanding in that they would provide whatever we needed. The beach was the best we had ever seen in our visits to the Caribbean. Plenty of open area with the option of setting under a palm tree. The food was good and plenty of options in the main restaurant. We did not care for the specialty restaurants. Too difficult to reserve a setting and the choices at the restuarants were not all that great. Ovrall, it was a great week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DDKK
Business
Middleton, WI
May 7, 2013

Long, detailed review

1. This place has an awesome beach. If you love the beach, you really can't go wrong. It is next to a bunch of other Riu resorts and they all share an enormous white sand beach. Combine that with the palm trees and light blue Caribbean Sea, and you've got all you could ask for. We had a large group, and there were always plenty of chairs as well. 2. The staff was great. They were professional and polite, but they were definitely down to screw around with you once they realized you're into that. For example, at dinner one night, we started chanting the waiter's name and he started dancing around. Then another waiter came in and tried to get us to start chanting his name. They seem to have a really good sense of humor, and are willing to have fun with you if that's what you want. 3. The entertainment team was the same way. They were very friendly and enthusiastic. I ended up going to a couple of shows alone because my friends were not interested. One of the team members saw me sitting by myself and grabbed me and pulled me up front to sit with her. I thought that was nice. Note: It seemed to me that the staff's English wasn't as good as in Mexico (not surprising), but if you make a point to talk slow and not use weird words, they will understand you. 4. The entertainment itself was pretty good. They have a lot of games/activities during the day and shows at night. The shows were hit or miss. I really liked the circus show. 5. The food and drink were okay. Mama Juana might be the greatest shot I've ever had. The rest of the liquor was pretty average. The food was the same way. They had a lot of stuff that was pretty good, but nothing really amazing. I went to two specialty restaurants (steakhouse and italian). The food there was better, but it wasn't quite as good as the Barcelo I went to in Mexico. I think those are the main impressions I came away with. I've only been to two all inclusives. This one was similar or better in every way than the Barcelo in Mexico except for the food and drink. If you are really into fine dining and top shelf booze, you should probably go elsewhere. If you aren't picky about that stuff and are looking for a place to relax and have fun, then this is good choice. P.S. I seem to remember the page for this hotel saying that it is not wheelchair accessible. I can't speak for the rooms, but I definitely saw people in wheelchairs. I checked all the main areas and they all have ramps, and there is a paved path to the beach. I'd think a wheelchair could work here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

I can't confirm this as I was told at the end of my trip, but one of the fellow guests said the Bambu is the place to go if you want to party at night. It is right next door and you have access to it if you are staying at the Macao

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
l.m.g.
Business
connecticut
May 9, 2013

we liked the adults only resort.

very helpful stuff.like the compact of this resort.food was tasteful and beautifully presented.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pgh Bett
Business
Pitttsburgh, PA
Jan 17, 2014

Lots to Like at Riu Palace Macao

Upon arrival greeted with a welcome drink and bags taken to our room. Liked the location as the room was near the end of the hallway and quiet. Was on the first level and looked out toward Caribbean St. and had full morning sun. Except for a few minor issues (both iron and hair dryer were dirty, the TV volumn kept changing, and had to ask for face cloths) the room would have been perfect. The best part of staying here is the location on the beach. A large area of sand and palm trees laid between the pool and the ocean. We could walk for miles without obstruction. We have been to a number of Caribbean beaches and found this one to be the nicest of all. We ate at the four restaurants that require reservations and found this made for a nice change and liked being waited on. Krystal was open every day serving a sit down three course lunch. The buffets offered so many choiches and food was kept fresh and served at the proper temperature. At breakfast and dinner one could choose to sit inside or out on the open patio. Service was quick and friendly. The entertainment staff offered lots of play opportunies during the day around the pool. In the evening there were musicians who played mostly bacharta and maranga. We particularly liked the music we were able to dance to. Show Time varied in that some of the entertainers were quite talented while others were just ok to watch. I definitly would recommend this adult all inclusive resort as there are many things about it to like (love).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Silver Wraith
Business
Vermont
Jan 29, 2014

Solid 4 Star

Our stay at the Riu Palace Macao was from 1/20 thru 1/28. This is our 4th time to this island, 3rd time to Punta Cana. The resort is small and an adult's only, two of the reasons we went here. I'll start with my only real complaints, neither show stoppers.... for some reason the coffee here is sub par.... the cappuccino and espresso are both good... a real head scratcher... The other negative is the distance from the pool/resort area to the ocean... the resort is part of a Riu Complex and there is a path that connects all the resorts and you are allowed to use some of the other properties. The path is kinda the half way point from the resort proper and the ocean... once again not a show stopper but seeing/hearing/smelling the ocean from the resort is a nice touch. The positives are too many to list. The food here at the buffet is very possibly the best we've had at any all-inclusive, including some fairly high end resorts (5-star). The staff is top notch and very attentive. Everyone from the pool wait staff, always there with a fresh drink, to the bar tenders, the dinning room wait staff, chamber maids to the grounds crew and front desk staff, all very pleasant and helpful. The room we had was very comfortable and clean, mini fridge restocked daily with water/soda/beer and you can request specific beverages and they are happy to honor your request. The beach is gorgeous, once you get to it and you can walk for miles. The powdery white sand and the turquoise water just goes on for ever, one of the greatest sections of beach anywhere we've been. The towel game was at hand to some extent at the resort, but we never had any issues getting a lounger we wanted, even going down after breakfast.... If you are looking for a low key, restful, enjoyable stay in the Dominican, this is the place for you... the average age of the patrons was slightly higher then normal, but maybe that was due to the time of year we were there. A good mix of nationalities as well, a lot of Germans and British to go with our usual mix of Canadians and Americans. Always nice hearing the different languages as you walk around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Buffet food/variety is exceptional.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Mar 17, 2010

Excellente!

Fun activities, good food. If you want more glamour, stay in Rui Palace Punta Cana (5min by foot). Macao is more intimate though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Pacha discotheque - right outside the gates. Great music around 1am.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A. Nico
Business
Baltimore, MD
Sep 5, 2009

The Second Time at Riu Palace Macao

This was our second stay at Riu Palace Macao. We decided to book the same hotel based on our previous experience. Everything was the same as before, but we've noticed a big change in lunch menu... We were a little disappointed by the quality and assortment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Jul 28, 2011

Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive

The hotel was old, renovated, but kept clean.The beach was very beautiful, although it needed cleaning from sea weeds more often than once in the morning, as the hotel did. The hotel employees were very helpful and nice.Hotel room services were very slow and most of the room cleaning crew could not understand English.The nightly entertainment was very good on certain nights. I would say at least 3 out of the 8 nights or (.375 of the nights) we spent there were very good. The remaining shows were OK, but below average.Scuba diving was very bad, the crew was not helpful, they did not advise us that the seas were very rough. The waves were more than 8 feet high and the boat operator was not cooperative in getting us out of the water, afraid that we may .... from seas sickness in his boat making him having to clean it after us, do he kept us waiting in the water an additional 8 or more minutes before extending the ladder for us to get on board.The dive masters (2 of them) went down before the divers instead of waiting to make sure every one went down first and was OK before them diving in. I wasted at least 10 minutes out the 40 minutes total dive looking for my dive partner, until I realized that she did not make it down for some reason .... When I got back to the boat I was told that she got seas sick & requested to be transferred back to shore.The non-motorized water activity was very well organized and well done. As well as the motorized activity such as para sailing etc... I believe they were operated privately.The hotel food/drinks were very good, but they only have 4 restaurants contrary to what they proclaim on their web site [...] Over all it was a nice 8 day vacation, just like everything else, you get back what you put into it. Lower your expectation & you will not be disappointed.I hope this helps someone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top