$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 12, 2015 Check-out: Sep 15, 2015

Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Arena Gorda 1, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 60
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boston Bill
Friends
Boston MA. USA
Feb 22, 2011

top notch

very well trained staff, very friendly will go back again someday, great ocean location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

the dance shows in nightclub were much better than I thought they would be

Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
atillmanpa[@]
Couples
Tennessee
Oct 26, 2009

Awesome anniversary!

We had a great vacation at Riu Palace Macao. Our room was very nice. Service staff were friendly and helpful. Service was excellent -- just ask and it is done. Food was good -- I unlike some do not expect gourmet meals at all inclusive resorts. Beach was clean and beautiful with plenty of chairs, activities and shade. We went on one excursion -- Funny monster truck -- a taste of dominican culture. I highly recommend it. We also chose a spa package of three massages on the beach -- very nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take plenty of small bills. Lots of sun screen. Pack a power strip and remove ground prong -- electrical outlets are recessed.

Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vincy gal
Single
Boston
Jul 8, 2010

A must stay hotel

I played volleyball aranged by hotel, there was beach aerobics, dance lesson on the beach, parasailing, free catamaran, free kayaking....the food was great......the staff were friendly and very professional.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food at the buffet was very delicious....you had a reserve table just for you (same one every night). The a la carte restaurant were exquisite.

Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Chicago, IL
Aug 17, 2010

Great vacation spot!!

Great experience...the resort was overall great, i do not have any complaints about the resort, except the rooms are a little outdated!!! The staff was very helpfull and very friendly always going out of their way to help, location is great..steps away from the beach and the beach bar where they always have a drink for you!! A lot of activities to do so you dont get bored!! I will definately come back...My first time in DR and i had a wonderful experience!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sand and surf worshippers
Couples
Annapolis, Md.
Feb 26, 2011

I keep going back

The hotel was overbooked so we were moved next door to the Bamboo,which has recently been remodeled. After 3 days we requested to move back. Having stayed at the Macao Palace previously, we new what we were missing. They upgraded our room selection to a suite and provided us with a 3 day voucher for next year. We then proceeded to have a wonderful time. The food was just fine with a different theme every night. We went on a snorkeling excursion for 1/2 day which included snorkeling, swimming with sharks and rays, lunch, and a 15 minute massage. This was only about 20 minutes from the resort. There is a beautiful 20 miles of beach to walk along. I will be going back next year for the 8th time. This little piece of paradise helps ward off winter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The hotel staff will get you involved in all kinds of activities or leave you to relax and explore as you please.

Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thomas from Florida
Family
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Jul 25, 2014

RIU Macao is for you

Like they say upon arrival, "Welcome Home". This is a beautiful adults-only resort. Really no reason to leave the property during our stay. Food selection was amazing, rooms were spotless, staff was very friendly and accommodating. There were 12 in our group, and the RIU crew helped make our visit memorable. The hotel veranda was my favorite place; always a breeze, view of the pool and the beach, and an attentive wait staff. If I had to give a "con", it would be that housekeeping was in and out of room multiple times each day to accomplish cleaning. Seems they could coordinate that a little better and be in and out in one visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Main dining buffet was excellent. There are a few specialty restaurants which require reservations, long pants for men and dresses for the women. If you would "rather not" get dressed up, the buffets cover breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Natalia B.
Couples
Hopkins
Dec 16, 2014

Awesome family trip.

I and my husband are very satisfied of our vacation. The hotel Riu Macao is buitilul and clean, comfortable place! We had big variety of food and entertainment. The staff was friendly, the location is perfect so I recommend this resort for vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Natalia B.
Couples
Hopkins
Dec 29, 2014

Awesome family trip.

I and my husband are very satisfied of our vacation. The hotel Riu Macao is buitilul and clean, comfortable place! We had big variety of food and entertainment. The staff was friendly, the location is perfect so I recommend this resort for vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

The first or second floor is the best choice.

Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Janice and Justin
Couples
Brooklyn and Queens
Jul 29, 2014

Family Trip

Awesomeeeeee! My boyfriend and I will definitely come back again. Food, staff, service, rooms was amazing. I will never forget our experience here at the Macao. Family interaction was made it incredible. We miss everyone already.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Molly31
Couples
Morgantown, wv
Aug 12, 2014

Amazing

Everything from the food to the staff was superb. Every single person who works there was fabulous from the people on the beach to the wait staff in the restaurants and bars. My husband and I went there for our honeymoon and unfortunately we both got sick presumably from the water. We were careful to not drink the water and we suspect it may have come from food (cooks washing the lettuce in water for example). The buffet was absolutely delicious though. The variety and size of the buffet was impressive. We ate at the buffet 6 of the 7 nights we stayed there and at one of the restaurants (there's 4 but they all need reservations unlike the buffet) the other night. Beach was perfect with lots of Palm trees for shade and finding a spot on the beach was not as difficult as I expected either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Be prepared to haggle. If you walk down Caribbean street (where all the shops are between the riu hotels) keep your gaurd up. They're very pushy. Also watch out for people selling stuff on the beach.

Back to menu Return to top