$389 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 26, 2015 Check-out: Mar 29, 2015

Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Arena Gorda 1, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
60 reviews
Awesome family trip.

I and my husband are very satisfied of our vacation. The hotel Riu Macao is buitilul and clean,... See full review

  • Natalia B.
  • Dec 29, 2014
RIU Macao is for you

Like they say upon arrival, "Welcome Home". This is a beautiful adults-only resort. Really no... See full review

  • Thomas from Florida
  • Jul 25, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana hotel lures with leisure activities, eateries

Embraced by lovely palm trees and overlooking the ocean, Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive beckons with palatial white architecture, classically styled rooms and a heavy menu of resort activities. Kids ages 4 to 12 have their own club featuring supervised activities, while adults can learn how to Scuba dive, play water polo or visit the numerous a la carte or specialty restaurants on the property.

Highlights
  • Live music and themed dinners
  • Traditional rooms with patios and terraces
  • Multiple a la carte restaurants on site and access to bars at sister Riu properties
  • Kids' club for children ages 4 to 12
Rooms

Old-world touches dominate the 356 rooms at Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive. Heavy floral-printed drapes and valances coordinate with oversized, striped armchairs, while hand-carved mahogany furniture adds stateliness to the spaces. Shaded lamps and a palette of beige, forest green and burgundy favor traditional design themes. Every room boasts a bathroom with bidet, central air, liquor dispenser and patio or terrace.

Features

Leisure activities at Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive are as vast as the buffet. Guests might take a Scuba lesson in the pool, play table tennis, hit the Jacuzzi or indulge in the many water sports in the area, from kayaking to windsurfing. A casino is a center for all-day action, and live music and themed entertainment feed the festive vibe. Families also take advantage of the kids' club for children ages 4 to 12.

Dining

On-the-spot cooking stations and buffets overflowing with salad, fruit, seafood and other items fuel visitors at Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive. The hotel also hosts themed dinners three times a week and a la carte dinners at specialty restaurants Grill and steakhouse, Caribe grill, Kabuki and Krystal. For a change of scenery, tourists can also sample other bars within the Riu complex (excluding Pacha nightclub and those at Riu Palace Punta Cana.)

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.4 mi/19.9 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • El Cortecito (10.4 mi/16.8 km)
  • Cap Cana (15.3 mi/24.7 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (21.1 mi/34 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (24.6 mi/39.6 km)
Business
  • Indoor and outdoor event space
  • Audiovisual equipment
Policies and fees
  • Minimum Age: At least one person of 21 years old in every room.
  • The Hotel reserves the right of admission and therefore we may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. This situation can have serious consequences and should be avoided at any cost.  
  • The hotel prohibits spring breakers year-round and student groups under 21 years old.
  • Maximum Occupancy: In all RIU hotels and room categories (unless specified otherwise) the maximum occupancies are 4 bodies in room, either 3 Adults + 1 Child OR 2 Adults + 2 Children. Four adults are NOT permitted. All bodies in room will fit on existing bedding, any special request remains upon availability. Children & and third adult will sleep in existing bedding.
  • Discounts: Children under 2 years stay & eat free. Their age must be specified in the Booking. Honeymooners: Will receive a surprise gift in their room upon arrival. Certificate of Marriage will be required upon arrival.
  • Special requests : Any special request such a extra beds, rollaways, cribs, room next door, remains upon availability of the hotel . Guests will be informed at check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive Rooms

Suite
Features: Living room area, Air-conditioned, one king size bed, ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, mini bar & liquor dispenser (restockable), in room safe, bathroom with shower, bidet and hairdryer, balcony or terrace. New Italian bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso". Coffe maker as of November 2009.
Double Room
Air-conditioned, two double beds, ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, mini bar & liquor dispenser (restockable), clock/alarm radio, in room safe, bathroom with shower, bidet and hair dryer, balcony or terrace. New Italian amenities "Lavarino Cosso". Coffe maker as of November 2009.
Jacuzzi Suite
Features: Living room area, as well as a balcony or terrace with jacuzzi. Air-conditioned, one king size bed, ceiling fan, satelite TV, phone, mini bar & liquor dispenser (restockable), clock/alarm radio, in room safe, bathroom with shower, bidet and hair dryer, balcony or terrace. New Italian bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso". Coffe maker as of November 2009.
Superior
Air-conditioned, 2 double beds, ceiling fan, satellite TV, clock/ alarm radio, phone, mini bar & liquor dispenser (restockable), in room safe, bathroom with shower, bidet and hair dryer, balcony or terrace. New Italian bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso". Coffe maker as of November 2009.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Barber/Beauty shop
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference room, 1506 ft2 / 140 m2, capacity 80 pax.

Dining

La Boheme
Lounge bar.
Cubano
Piano bar.
La Sirena
Pool Bar.
International
Lunch & Snacks.
La Pizzeria
Located at the Caribbean street, serving Italian & Snacks.
Chiringuito
Beach Bar.
Caribe Grill Steakhouse
Restaurant la Carte for dinner.
Japanese Restaurant
Try this restaurants only for dinner. Reservations required.
El Patio
Main restaurants offering buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Kristal
Restaurant la Carte for dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (60)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 60
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boston Bill
Business
Boston MA. USA
Feb 22, 2011

top notch

very well trained staff, very friendly will go back again someday, great ocean location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

the dance shows in nightclub were much better than I thought they would be

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
atillmanpa[@]
Business
Tennessee
Oct 26, 2009

Awesome anniversary!

We had a great vacation at Riu Palace Macao. Our room was very nice. Service staff were friendly and helpful. Service was excellent -- just ask and it is done. Food was good -- I unlike some do not expect gourmet meals at all inclusive resorts. Beach was clean and beautiful with plenty of chairs, activities and shade. We went on one excursion -- Funny monster truck -- a taste of dominican culture. I highly recommend it. We also chose a spa package of three massages on the beach -- very nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take plenty of small bills. Lots of sun screen. Pack a power strip and remove ground prong -- electrical outlets are recessed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vincy gal
Business
Boston
Jul 8, 2010

A must stay hotel

I played volleyball aranged by hotel, there was beach aerobics, dance lesson on the beach, parasailing, free catamaran, free kayaking....the food was great......the staff were friendly and very professional.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food at the buffet was very delicious....you had a reserve table just for you (same one every night). The a la carte restaurant were exquisite.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 17, 2010

Great vacation spot!!

Great experience...the resort was overall great, i do not have any complaints about the resort, except the rooms are a little outdated!!! The staff was very helpfull and very friendly always going out of their way to help, location is great..steps away from the beach and the beach bar where they always have a drink for you!! A lot of activities to do so you dont get bored!! I will definately come back...My first time in DR and i had a wonderful experience!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sand and surf worshippers
Business
Annapolis, Md.
Feb 26, 2011

I keep going back

The hotel was overbooked so we were moved next door to the Bamboo,which has recently been remodeled. After 3 days we requested to move back. Having stayed at the Macao Palace previously, we new what we were missing. They upgraded our room selection to a suite and provided us with a 3 day voucher for next year. We then proceeded to have a wonderful time. The food was just fine with a different theme every night. We went on a snorkeling excursion for 1/2 day which included snorkeling, swimming with sharks and rays, lunch, and a 15 minute massage. This was only about 20 minutes from the resort. There is a beautiful 20 miles of beach to walk along. I will be going back next year for the 8th time. This little piece of paradise helps ward off winter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The hotel staff will get you involved in all kinds of activities or leave you to relax and explore as you please.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thomas from Florida
Business
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Jul 25, 2014

RIU Macao is for you

Like they say upon arrival, "Welcome Home". This is a beautiful adults-only resort. Really no reason to leave the property during our stay. Food selection was amazing, rooms were spotless, staff was very friendly and accommodating. There were 12 in our group, and the RIU crew helped make our visit memorable. The hotel veranda was my favorite place; always a breeze, view of the pool and the beach, and an attentive wait staff. If I had to give a "con", it would be that housekeeping was in and out of room multiple times each day to accomplish cleaning. Seems they could coordinate that a little better and be in and out in one visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Main dining buffet was excellent. There are a few specialty restaurants which require reservations, long pants for men and dresses for the women. If you would "rather not" get dressed up, the buffets cover breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Natalia B.
Business
Hopkins
Dec 16, 2014

Awesome family trip.

I and my husband are very satisfied of our vacation. The hotel Riu Macao is buitilul and clean, comfortable place! We had big variety of food and entertainment. The staff was friendly, the location is perfect so I recommend this resort for vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Natalia B.
Business
Hopkins
Dec 29, 2014

Awesome family trip.

I and my husband are very satisfied of our vacation. The hotel Riu Macao is buitilul and clean, comfortable place! We had big variety of food and entertainment. The staff was friendly, the location is perfect so I recommend this resort for vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The first or second floor is the best choice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
adka
Business
New York, NY, USA
Oct 31, 2011

great prewinter escape

very friendly staff,very relaxing atmosphere,can walk miles on the beach or stay at the swimming pool. food is excelent and Kristal restaurant on the beach offers great menu and beatiful ocean view. small katamarans are great fan to learn sailing. will return next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mayberry
Business
Kings Park, New York
Feb 13, 2012

Always a great stay

This was our 6th visit to Riu Palace Macao. Always happy with our vacation but this resort is "tired" looking. They finally installed flat screen TV's for starters and this spring they are closing for renova- tions which are much needed. It was evident that the staff was not as experienced as in the past. I believe that when they opened the new Riu Bavaro next door much of the Macao's experienced waiters, cleaners, etc were sent there. This was evident. I will return to this resort next year to see the renovations first hand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top