Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive ★★★★

3.8 /5
Overall score
75%
Would recommend
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
4
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Overview

Embraced by lovely palm trees and overlooking the ocean, Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive beckons with palatial white architecture, classically styled rooms and a heavy menu of resort activities. Kids ages 4 to 12 have their own club featuring supervised activities, while adults can learn how to Scuba dive, play water polo or visit the numerous a la carte or specialty restaurants on the property.

Dining

On-the-spot cooking stations and buffets overflowing with salad, fruit, seafood and other items fuel visitors at Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive. The hotel also hosts themed dinners three times a week and a la carte dinners at specialty restaurants Grill and steakhouse, Caribe grill, Kabuki and Krystal. For a change of scenery, tourists can also sample other bars within the Riu complex (excluding Pacha nightclub and those at Riu Palace Punta Cana.)

Rooms

Old-world touches dominate the 356 rooms at Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive. Heavy floral-printed drapes and valances coordinate with oversized, striped armchairs, while hand-carved mahogany furniture adds stateliness to the spaces. Shaded lamps and a palette of beige, forest green and burgundy favor traditional design themes. Every room boasts a bathroom with bidet, central air, liquor dispenser and patio or terrace.

Property features

Leisure activities at Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive are as vast as the buffet. Guests might take a Scuba lesson in the pool, play table tennis, hit the Jacuzzi or indulge in the many water sports in the area, from kayaking to windsurfing. A casino is a center for all-day action, and live music and themed entertainment feed the festive vibe. Families also take advantage of the kids' club for children ages 4 to 12.

Highlights

  • Live music and themed dinners
  • Traditional rooms with patios and terraces
  • Multiple a la carte restaurants on site and access to bars at sister Riu properties
  • Kids' club for children ages 4 to 12

Nearby attractions

  • Playa Bavaro (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • El Cortecito (10.4 mi/16.8 km)
  • Cap Cana (15.3 mi/24.7 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (21.1 mi/34 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (24.6 mi/39.6 km)

Business

  • Indoor and outdoor event space
  • Audiovisual equipment

Transportation

  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.4 mi/19.9 km)

Policies

  • Minimum Age: At least one person of 21 years old in every room.
  • The Hotel reserves the right of admission and therefore we may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. This situation can have serious consequences and should be avoided at any cost.  
  • The hotel prohibits spring breakers year-round and student groups under 21 years old.
  • Maximum Occupancy: In all RIU hotels and room categories (unless specified otherwise) the maximum occupancies are 4 bodies in room, either 3 Adults + 1 Child OR 2 Adults + 2 Children. Four adults are NOT permitted. All bodies in room will fit on existing bedding, any special request remains upon availability. Children & and third adult will sleep in existing bedding.
  • Discounts: Children under 2 years stay & eat free. Their age must be specified in the Booking. Honeymooners: Will receive a surprise gift in their room upon arrival. Certificate of Marriage will be required upon arrival.
  • Special requests : Any special request such a extra beds, rollaways, cribs, room next door, remains upon availability of the hotel . Guests will be informed at check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Dining

La Boheme
Lounge bar.
Cubano
Piano bar.
La Sirena
Pool Bar.
International
Lunch & Snacks.
La Pizzeria
Located at the Caribbean street, serving Italian & Snacks.
Chiringuito
Beach Bar.
Caribe Grill Steakhouse
Restaurant la Carte for dinner.
Japanese Restaurant
Try this restaurants only for dinner. Reservations required.
El Patio
Main restaurants offering buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Kristal
Restaurant la Carte for dinner.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference room, 1506 ft2 / 140 m2, capacity 80 pax.

Recommendations for you

Guest score 4.0 / 5
$301
Guest score 3.8 / 5
$363
Guest score 4.0 / 5
$412
Guest score 4.1 / 5
$308

Amenities

Featured

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool

Activities

  • Pool
  • Fitness center or spa
  • Casino
  • Spa
  • Night club
  • Solarium

Dining

  • All inclusive
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour room service

Services

  • Barber/Beauty shop
  • Gift shop

Internet

  • WiFi

Parking

  • Free parking

Reviews

3.8 /5 Overall score

75% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 3.8/5
  • Cleanliness: 4.3/5
  • Hotel staff: 4.3/5
  • Comfort: 3.9/5
  • Location: 4.3/5
  • Value: 4/5

Excellent trip

Would recommend Mon, Oct 26, 2015
Hotel was absolutely beautiful as well as the pool/beach area. All of the staff members were excellent and really went out of their way to make sure you had a great time on your trip, especially the front desk manager Manny, he was so accommodating and always had a bright smile on his face. The animicon staff work very hard to provide you with non-stop entertainment which is by far the best that I have seen out of any other restort I have visited in the past. When you book a five star hotel you will surely see why it is rated five stars.

| N/A Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Very Nice Week At The Riu Macao

Would recommend Sun, Oct 11, 2015
Stayed at the Riu Palace Macao from 9/20/15 to 9/27/15. Transfer was about 20 min from airport. From the check in until the check out the staff could not have been more accommodating. Danny at the lobby bar, Johann, Edwin and Aquino at the main dining room to name a few. Beach was nice. Yes there was seaweed on the beach but it just was not that bad and we were there every day. Wi Fi was spotty in your room but if you really needed to connect there were no issues in the lobby which is where the main bar is so you will spending some time there anyway. Smoking is acceptable everywhere except the restaurants. There were a few smokers in the pool bar but it never really became an issue for me. If it did you could step over to the main pool which is right next to the pool bar and it was not an issue there. Restaurant reservations were easy and took very little time. Rooms very clean mini fridge was stocked every day. Only thing I would of liked to have was a king size bed not two full sized beds pushed together. Nice sized bathrooms. You are able to use the amenities at the Riu Naiboa and the Riu Bambu in addition to the Macao and both resorts are only a short walk. Overall very good value and I would definitely return to the Riu Palace Macao

| St louis Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Good adult trip

Would recommend Tue, Jul 28, 2015
Trip was a good trip for adults, staff was friendly except for if you like drinking more then average person you had to fight with them for more beer in the room, the beach was awesome and clean one of the best beaches I've been too, shows where good food was alright, buffet was better then most.

| Florence Friends

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Awesome family trip.

Would recommend Mon, Dec 29, 2014
I and my husband are very satisfied of our vacation. The hotel Riu Macao is buitilul and clean, comfortable place! We had big variety of food and entertainment. The staff was friendly, the location is perfect so I recommend this resort for vacation.

Dining

The first or second floor is the best choice.

| Hopkins Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Amazing

Would recommend Tue, Aug 12, 2014
Everything from the food to the staff was superb. Every single person who works there was fabulous from the people on the beach to the wait staff in the restaurants and bars. My husband and I went there for our honeymoon and unfortunately we both got sick presumably from the water. We were careful to not drink the water and we suspect it may have come from food (cooks washing the lettuce in water for example). The buffet was absolutely delicious though. The variety and size of the buffet was impressive. We ate at the buffet 6 of the 7 nights we stayed there and at one of the restaurants (there's 4 but they all need reservations unlike the buffet) the other night. Beach was perfect with lots of Palm trees for shade and finding a spot on the beach was not as difficult as I expected either.

Shopping hint

Be prepared to haggle. If you walk down Caribbean street (where all the shops are between the riu hotels) keep your gaurd up. They're very pushy. Also watch out for people selling stuff on the beach.

| Morgantown, wv Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Family Trip

Would recommend Tue, Jul 29, 2014
Awesomeeeeee! My boyfriend and I will definitely come back again. Food, staff, service, rooms was amazing. I will never forget our experience here at the Macao. Family interaction was made it incredible. We miss everyone already.

| Brooklyn and Queens Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

RIU Macao is for you

Would recommend Fri, Jul 25, 2014
Like they say upon arrival, "Welcome Home". This is a beautiful adults-only resort. Really no reason to leave the property during our stay. Food selection was amazing, rooms were spotless, staff was very friendly and accommodating. There were 12 in our group, and the RIU crew helped make our visit memorable. The hotel veranda was my favorite place; always a breeze, view of the pool and the beach, and an attentive wait staff. If I had to give a "con", it would be that housekeeping was in and out of room multiple times each day to accomplish cleaning. Seems they could coordinate that a little better and be in and out in one visit.

Dining

Main dining buffet was excellent. There are a few specialty restaurants which require reservations, long pants for men and dresses for the women. If you would "rather not" get dressed up, the buffets cover breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

| Fort Lauderdale, Florida Family

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Riu Macao

Would not recommend Fri, Jul 25, 2014
The pool area, although small, is really nice and our room was amazing - we got the suite upgrade with the private hot tub out on the balcony. The food was a huge disappointment though. Personally, I thought the restaurants were awful and the staff acted like they didn't want to be there. In addition, there were only 3 restaurants but one of them is typically closed so you have to wake up early in the morning to make reservations and you just have an option of two. The drinks were great and strong so no complaints there. I wouldn't ever go back there, given the chance. Look for a different option.

| Chicago, IL Couples

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 2 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

2nd time to Punta Last to this resort

Would not recommend Sat, May 24, 2014
This was our second trip to Punta Cana. The hotel food really wasn't that good. The beef in any of the restaurants is always overcooked no matter how you tell them to cook it. The entertainment was what was most disappointing. Compared to the first time we went to punta and stayed at a different hotel it was horrible. On the second night they did a rock station show and we left halfway through it was so bad. The spa credits they give you are a joke. $35 off the combinations massage which is originally $145 and that's the only massage you can use the credit for. Not to mention that the spa isn't a different hotel that you had to walk a mile to get to because their phone was broken. The casino there is ridiculous also. All it is is a small room with a few machines and a couple tables crammed in it. That brings me to the casino credits that you get. Those are a joke too. They are matchplay only good for the table games which I don't play anyways. The beach at this resort is nice however the water is choppy and it's hard to go out into the ocean and just relax when you're getting hit with waves all the time. Our rooms were nice and they were clean I can't complain about that. I think the resort is just too big there's no personal feeling that you get at all while you are there. We did two excursions which turned out pretty nice except for the fact that the one that went to Santo Domingo and was supposed to leave at 6:40 AM did not leave until 7:30 AM which meant we were standing out on the street corner that whole time waiting for the bus to come get us. Yes we will probably go back to Punta again, but we will stay at the first resort that we stayed at the first time we went which is now the Dreams Palm Resort.

Attractions

Sanona Beach trip was fun but take money with you. They tell you there is no shopping but there is!

| West Virginia Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Fantastic Staff

Would recommend Fri, May 23, 2014
Extremely nice and friendly staff!! They go out of their way to help you or get whatever you need or want. Food was great for the amount of people they have to prepare food for. Awesome pool and beach area. Would highly recommend for anyone looking for an all-adult resort!! Not too big in size and easy to navigate throughout the complex. Only negative I have to offer is a lot of cigarette smoking, especially European travelers.

Attractions

Catamaran trip to Saona Island was fantastic!!

| Indianapolis, IN Friends

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Top hotels

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.