$193 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2014 Check-out: Aug 31, 2014

Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Arena Gorda 1, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
93 reviews
RIU Macao is for you

Like they say upon arrival, "Welcome Home". This is a beautiful adults-only resort. Really no... See full review

  • Thomas from Florida
  • Jul 25, 2014
Fantastic Staff

Extremely nice and friendly staff!! They go out of their way to help you or get whatever you need... See full review

  • Midwest Hoosier Traveler
  • May 23, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana hotel lures with leisure activities, eateries

Embraced by lovely palm trees and overlooking the ocean, Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive beckons with palatial white architecture, classically styled rooms and a heavy menu of resort activities. Kids ages 4 to 12 have their own club featuring supervised activities, while adults can learn how to Scuba dive, play water polo or visit the numerous a la carte or specialty restaurants on the property.

Highlights
  • Live music and themed dinners
  • Traditional rooms with patios and terraces
  • Multiple a la carte restaurants on site and access to bars at sister Riu properties
  • Kids' club for children ages 4 to 12
Rooms

Old-world touches dominate the 356 rooms at Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive. Heavy floral-printed drapes and valances coordinate with oversized, striped armchairs, while hand-carved mahogany furniture adds stateliness to the spaces. Shaded lamps and a palette of beige, forest green and burgundy favor traditional design themes. Every room boasts a bathroom with bidet, central air, liquor dispenser and patio or terrace.

Features

Leisure activities at Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive are as vast as the buffet. Guests might take a Scuba lesson in the pool, play table tennis, hit the Jacuzzi or indulge in the many water sports in the area, from kayaking to windsurfing. A casino is a center for all-day action, and live music and themed entertainment feed the festive vibe. Families also take advantage of the kids' club for children ages 4 to 12.

Dining

On-the-spot cooking stations and buffets overflowing with salad, fruit, seafood and other items fuel visitors at Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive. The hotel also hosts themed dinners three times a week and a la carte dinners at specialty restaurants Grill and steakhouse, Caribe grill, Kabuki and Krystal. For a change of scenery, tourists can also sample other bars within the Riu complex (excluding Pacha nightclub and those at Riu Palace Punta Cana.)

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.4 mi/19.9 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • El Cortecito (10.4 mi/16.8 km)
  • Cap Cana (15.3 mi/24.7 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (21.1 mi/34 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (24.6 mi/39.6 km)
Business
  • Indoor and outdoor event space
  • Audiovisual equipment
Policies and fees
  • Minimum Age: At least one person of 21 years old in every room.
  • The Hotel reserves the right of admission and therefore we may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. This situation can have serious consequences and should be avoided at any cost.  
  • The hotel prohibits spring breakers year-round and student groups under 21 years old.
  • Maximum Occupancy: In all RIU hotels and room categories (unless specified otherwise) the maximum occupancies are 4 bodies in room, either 3 Adults + 1 Child OR 2 Adults + 2 Children. Four adults are NOT permitted. All bodies in room will fit on existing bedding, any special request remains upon availability. Children & and third adult will sleep in existing bedding.
  • Discounts: Children under 2 years stay & eat free. Their age must be specified in the Booking. Honeymooners: Will receive a surprise gift in their room upon arrival. Certificate of Marriage will be required upon arrival.
  • Special requests : Any special request such a extra beds, rollaways, cribs, room next door, remains upon availability of the hotel . Guests will be informed at check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive Rooms

Suite
Features: Living room area, Air-conditioned, one king size bed, ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, mini bar & liquor dispenser (restockable), in room safe, bathroom with shower, bidet and hairdryer, balcony or terrace. New Italian bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso". Coffe maker as of November 2009.
Double Room
Air-conditioned, two double beds, ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, mini bar & liquor dispenser (restockable), clock/alarm radio, in room safe, bathroom with shower, bidet and hair dryer, balcony or terrace. New Italian amenities "Lavarino Cosso". Coffe maker as of November 2009.
Jacuzzi Suite
Features: Living room area, as well as a balcony or terrace with jacuzzi. Air-conditioned, one king size bed, ceiling fan, satelite TV, phone, mini bar & liquor dispenser (restockable), clock/alarm radio, in room safe, bathroom with shower, bidet and hair dryer, balcony or terrace. New Italian bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso". Coffe maker as of November 2009.
Superior
Air-conditioned, 2 double beds, ceiling fan, satellite TV, clock/ alarm radio, phone, mini bar & liquor dispenser (restockable), in room safe, bathroom with shower, bidet and hair dryer, balcony or terrace. New Italian bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso". Coffe maker as of November 2009.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Barber/Beauty shop
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.7202 -68.4556
Area served
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
Punta Cana Airport - (PUJ)
Area description
Located at 50 km distance from the City of Higey.

Dining

La Boheme
Lounge bar.
Cubano
Piano bar.
La Sirena
Pool Bar.
International
Lunch & Snacks.
La Pizzeria
Located at the Caribbean street, serving Italian & Snacks.
Chiringuito
Beach Bar.
Caribe Grill Steakhouse
Restaurant la Carte for dinner.
Japanese Restaurant
Try this restaurants only for dinner. Reservations required.
El Patio
Main restaurants offering buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Kristal
Restaurant la Carte for dinner.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference room, 1506 ft2 / 140 m2, capacity 80 pax.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (93)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 93
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John the Don
Dallas TX
Jun 10, 2014

Great relaxation hotel

Great getaway, the food, drinks, and entertainment were excellent. Nice staff, very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Best place to party is with the locals

Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Midwest Hoosier Traveler
Indianapolis, IN
May 23, 2014

Fantastic Staff

Extremely nice and friendly staff!! They go out of their way to help you or get whatever you need or want. Food was great for the amount of people they have to prepare food for. Awesome pool and beach area. Would highly recommend for anyone looking for an all-adult resort!! Not too big in size and easy to navigate throughout the complex. Only negative I have to offer is a lot of cigarette smoking, especially European travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Catamaran trip to Saona Island was fantastic!!

Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Riu Junkie
Brooklyn, NY
Mar 29, 2014

Great for NO KIDS!!!!!

I've been to many Riu locations. This was a perfect mix of all they have to offer, and best of all - NO KIDS!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
l.m.g.
connecticut
May 9, 2013

we liked the adults only resort.

very helpful stuff.like the compact of this resort.food was tasteful and beautifully presented.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DDKK
Middleton, WI
May 7, 2013

Long, detailed review

1. This place has an awesome beach. If you love the beach, you really can't go wrong. It is next to a bunch of other Riu resorts and they all share an enormous white sand beach. Combine that with the palm trees and light blue Caribbean Sea, and you've got all you could ask for. We had a large group, and there were always plenty of chairs as well. 2. The staff was great. They were professional and polite, but they were definitely down to screw around with you once they realized you're into that. For example, at dinner one night, we started chanting the waiter's name and he started dancing around. Then another waiter came in and tried to get us to start chanting his name. They seem to have a really good sense of humor, and are willing to have fun with you if that's what you want. 3. The entertainment team was the same way. They were very friendly and enthusiastic. I ended up going to a couple of shows alone because my friends were not interested. One of the team members saw me sitting by myself and grabbed me and pulled me up front to sit with her. I thought that was nice. Note: It seemed to me that the staff's English wasn't as good as in Mexico (not surprising), but if you make a point to talk slow and not use weird words, they will understand you. 4. The entertainment itself was pretty good. They have a lot of games/activities during the day and shows at night. The shows were hit or miss. I really liked the circus show. 5. The food and drink were okay. Mama Juana might be the greatest shot I've ever had. The rest of the liquor was pretty average. The food was the same way. They had a lot of stuff that was pretty good, but nothing really amazing. I went to two specialty restaurants (steakhouse and italian). The food there was better, but it wasn't quite as good as the Barcelo I went to in Mexico. I think those are the main impressions I came away with. I've only been to two all inclusives. This one was similar or better in every way than the Barcelo in Mexico except for the food and drink. If you are really into fine dining and top shelf booze, you should probably go elsewhere. If you aren't picky about that stuff and are looking for a place to relax and have fun, then this is good choice. P.S. I seem to remember the page for this hotel saying that it is not wheelchair accessible. I can't speak for the rooms, but I definitely saw people in wheelchairs. I checked all the main areas and they all have ramps, and there is a paved path to the beach. I'd think a wheelchair could work here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

I can't confirm this as I was told at the end of my trip, but one of the fellow guests said the Bambu is the place to go if you want to party at night. It is right next door and you have access to it if you are staying at the Macao

Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
World traveler 168
California
Feb 12, 2013

Punta Cana Riu Palace

5 of us booked riu Macao , when we arrived, 3 of us got sent to Riu Punta Cana without notice. Next 5 days we had musty smell room and bad services. We always tip very well, but the service was really bad. Only one staff have great service is Saul from pool bar

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jerry R.
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 13, 2011

Punta Canta Vacae

Overall, the hotel & staff were great. The only exception is the A/C did not work properly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Try the doom buggie tour/excursion. Great experience!

Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jerry R.
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 13, 2011

Punta Canta Vacae

Overall, the hotel & staff were great. The only exception is the A/C did not work properly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Try the doom buggie tour/excursion. Great experience!

Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Asian Sensation
Bayside, Queens, NY, USA
Aug 26, 2011

Riu Palace Macao Was Okay

We booked this hotel knowing that it wasn't going to be the greatest place to stay at. We were right in that so we knew what to expect. All the other reviewers are spot on in saying that this hotel is outdated. The rooms weren't overly spacious, and the 3rd floor rooms seem smaller but that's only because the ceiling caves in. The smell of mold is definitely predominant as well, and you'll definitely bring it back home, even after a few washes. The staff was great, they always had a smile on their faces. However, most of the staff had a difficulty with English. The beach was beautiful, however it was ruined with Hurricane Irene for our last two days. The beach is definitely less crowded then the other resorts. You will see a lot of people walking up and down the shoreline so be prepared for that if your looking for privacy. All in all, this hotel wasn't anything spectacular. I know they are building another Riu Palace next door so you should wait till next year to book a trip if your planning on staying at a Riu since the Riu Palace Punta Cana didn't seem all that great neither. Also, be sure to haggle with the vendors at Caribbean Street. I got a bottle of mamajuana with two cigars for $8 USD while the person wanted it for $25. Haggling is your friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to haggle with the vendors at Caribbean Street. I got a bottle of mamajuana with two cigars for $8 USD while the person wanted it for $25. Haggling is your friend.

Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Asian Sensation
Bayside, Queens, NY, USA
Aug 26, 2011

Riu Palace Macao Was Okay

We booked this hotel knowing that it wasn't going to be the greatest place to stay at. We were right in that so we knew what to expect. All the other reviewers are spot on in saying that this hotel is outdated. The rooms weren't overly spacious, and the 3rd floor rooms seem smaller but that's only because the ceiling caves in. The smell of mold is definitely predominant as well, and you'll definitely bring it back home, even after a few washes. The staff was great, they always had a smile on their faces. However, most of the staff had a difficulty with English. The beach was beautiful, however it was ruined with Hurricane Irene for our last two days. The beach is definitely less crowded then the other resorts. You will see a lot of people walking up and down the shoreline so be prepared for that if your looking for privacy. All in all, this hotel wasn't anything spectacular. I know they are building another Riu Palace next door so you should wait till next year to book a trip if your planning on staying at a Riu since the Riu Palace Punta Cana didn't seem all that great neither. Also, be sure to haggle with the vendors at Caribbean Street. I got a bottle of mamajuana with two cigars for $8 USD while the person wanted it for $25. Haggling is your friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to haggle with the vendors at Caribbean Street. I got a bottle of mamajuana with two cigars for $8 USD while the person wanted it for $25. Haggling is your friend.

Back to menu Return to top