$389 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 13, 2015 Check-out: Feb 16, 2015

Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Arena Gorda 1, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
60 reviews
Awesome family trip.

I and my husband are very satisfied of our vacation. The hotel Riu Macao is buitilul and clean,... See full review

  • Natalia B.
  • Dec 29, 2014
RIU Macao is for you

Like they say upon arrival, "Welcome Home". This is a beautiful adults-only resort. Really no... See full review

  • Thomas from Florida
  • Jul 25, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana hotel lures with leisure activities, eateries

Embraced by lovely palm trees and overlooking the ocean, Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive beckons with palatial white architecture, classically styled rooms and a heavy menu of resort activities. Kids ages 4 to 12 have their own club featuring supervised activities, while adults can learn how to Scuba dive, play water polo or visit the numerous a la carte or specialty restaurants on the property.

Highlights
  • Live music and themed dinners
  • Traditional rooms with patios and terraces
  • Multiple a la carte restaurants on site and access to bars at sister Riu properties
  • Kids' club for children ages 4 to 12
Rooms

Old-world touches dominate the 356 rooms at Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive. Heavy floral-printed drapes and valances coordinate with oversized, striped armchairs, while hand-carved mahogany furniture adds stateliness to the spaces. Shaded lamps and a palette of beige, forest green and burgundy favor traditional design themes. Every room boasts a bathroom with bidet, central air, liquor dispenser and patio or terrace.

Features

Leisure activities at Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive are as vast as the buffet. Guests might take a Scuba lesson in the pool, play table tennis, hit the Jacuzzi or indulge in the many water sports in the area, from kayaking to windsurfing. A casino is a center for all-day action, and live music and themed entertainment feed the festive vibe. Families also take advantage of the kids' club for children ages 4 to 12.

Dining

On-the-spot cooking stations and buffets overflowing with salad, fruit, seafood and other items fuel visitors at Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive. The hotel also hosts themed dinners three times a week and a la carte dinners at specialty restaurants Grill and steakhouse, Caribe grill, Kabuki and Krystal. For a change of scenery, tourists can also sample other bars within the Riu complex (excluding Pacha nightclub and those at Riu Palace Punta Cana.)

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.4 mi/19.9 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • El Cortecito (10.4 mi/16.8 km)
  • Cap Cana (15.3 mi/24.7 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (21.1 mi/34 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (24.6 mi/39.6 km)
Business
  • Indoor and outdoor event space
  • Audiovisual equipment
Policies and fees
  • Minimum Age: At least one person of 21 years old in every room.
  • The Hotel reserves the right of admission and therefore we may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. This situation can have serious consequences and should be avoided at any cost.  
  • The hotel prohibits spring breakers year-round and student groups under 21 years old.
  • Maximum Occupancy: In all RIU hotels and room categories (unless specified otherwise) the maximum occupancies are 4 bodies in room, either 3 Adults + 1 Child OR 2 Adults + 2 Children. Four adults are NOT permitted. All bodies in room will fit on existing bedding, any special request remains upon availability. Children & and third adult will sleep in existing bedding.
  • Discounts: Children under 2 years stay & eat free. Their age must be specified in the Booking. Honeymooners: Will receive a surprise gift in their room upon arrival. Certificate of Marriage will be required upon arrival.
  • Special requests : Any special request such a extra beds, rollaways, cribs, room next door, remains upon availability of the hotel . Guests will be informed at check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive Rooms

Suite
Features: Living room area, Air-conditioned, one king size bed, ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, mini bar & liquor dispenser (restockable), in room safe, bathroom with shower, bidet and hairdryer, balcony or terrace. New Italian bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso". Coffe maker as of November 2009.
Double Room
Air-conditioned, two double beds, ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, mini bar & liquor dispenser (restockable), clock/alarm radio, in room safe, bathroom with shower, bidet and hair dryer, balcony or terrace. New Italian amenities "Lavarino Cosso". Coffe maker as of November 2009.
Jacuzzi Suite
Features: Living room area, as well as a balcony or terrace with jacuzzi. Air-conditioned, one king size bed, ceiling fan, satelite TV, phone, mini bar & liquor dispenser (restockable), clock/alarm radio, in room safe, bathroom with shower, bidet and hair dryer, balcony or terrace. New Italian bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso". Coffe maker as of November 2009.
Superior
Air-conditioned, 2 double beds, ceiling fan, satellite TV, clock/ alarm radio, phone, mini bar & liquor dispenser (restockable), in room safe, bathroom with shower, bidet and hair dryer, balcony or terrace. New Italian bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso". Coffe maker as of November 2009.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Barber/Beauty shop
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference room, 1506 ft2 / 140 m2, capacity 80 pax.

Dining

La Boheme
Lounge bar.
Cubano
Piano bar.
La Sirena
Pool Bar.
International
Lunch & Snacks.
La Pizzeria
Located at the Caribbean street, serving Italian & Snacks.
Chiringuito
Beach Bar.
Caribe Grill Steakhouse
Restaurant la Carte for dinner.
Japanese Restaurant
Try this restaurants only for dinner. Reservations required.
El Patio
Main restaurants offering buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Kristal
Restaurant la Carte for dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (60)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 60
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
very upset customer
Business
brandywine maryland
Sep 3, 2010

DON'T STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!

I stayed at the Riu Palace Macao on Aug 5th-9th. I went on this vacation with two friends.We were really disappointed with our stay at this resort. This is not a 4 or 5 star resort in my opinion. When we got there I noticed that the grounds were not kept up, that concerned me but I didn't want to jump to conclusions. From that point on everything went down hill. The elevators were filthy! They were run down, dirty, had dried brown smears of something on doors and lots of bugs in the ceiling lights. We asked them to clean the elevators when we came back down to the front desk to get a better room. My first room had no air conditioning, the lamp on the dresser was broken and leaning to the side, the balcony rails were eaten away by termites and painted over with white paint and the sheets and bed coverings were dull and worn with stains on them. I called to talk to a manager and he said that someone would be up to check the a/c but I waited about 25 min in this HOT room before I went back down to the front desk. After explaining to them for 15min on why I won't stay in that room they finally gave me another room but this one was not much better. The second room also didn't have working air conditioning, the toliet paper holder was falling off the wall, the room had no bath towels or toliet paper and there were little bugs crawling all over the room. I had bug bites all over me when I got up but I don't know where they came from so I called to ask someone to come spray the room. They sent spray up to my room but left it with me to spray so I had to also become a bug exterminator on my vacation. Then the electric started going on and off on the entire resort, the air conditioning went out in the dining room so we had to eat and while sweating profusely. I was HOT, IRRITATED & MISERABLE!!! Now I need a vacation from this so-called vacation. When I thought that this vacation couldn't get any worse I started to feel sick after breakfast on the Aug 9th before I checked out. I was feeling nauseous and my stomach started to cramp. Throughout my travels back home and even now I'm having stomach cramps and diarrhea. This doesn't make any sense. I paid to stay at a 4-5 star resort and this wasn't. That is false advertisement and I would have not stayed there if the pictures reflected the up to date condition of the resort.I'm very unhappy with my visit there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
World traveler 168
Business
California
Feb 12, 2013

Punta Cana Riu Palace

5 of us booked riu Macao , when we arrived, 3 of us got sent to Riu Punta Cana without notice. Next 5 days we had musty smell room and bad services. We always tip very well, but the service was really bad. Only one staff have great service is Saul from pool bar

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Fri
Business
NY
Jul 10, 2009

HORRIBLE

Dirty and Bad hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Leesburg, VA
Dec 4, 2010

The worst Riu

Not a 5* hotel! Dirty sheets, dirty bedspread,mosquitos in the room and maybe even bedbugs as my husband has bites all over his body even after they sprayed the room extensively for the mosquitos. No hot water for almost 24 hours,small room smelling of cigarettes, and the food was very poor. Dining room doors not cleaned the whole time we were there, floors not swept. Front desk management wouldn't let us upgrade to the better Riu Palace Punta Cana. We wasted 3 days because of the run around they gave us and then they told us they were fully booked. Not true. We spoke to the chief of reservations at the Punta Cana Riu on Sat. and they Did have availability. We did not see the [...] rep. the whole time we were there. No orientation. Didn't know they had a casino or nightly shows at the Macao until Wed. Front desk management told my husband it was ok to check out at 2:00 pm, no problem, but I had heard another company's rep. tell his people at their orientation that they would be charged by the hour if they did not check out by 12:00, which was the case.We travel extensively and have gone to three other Riu Palaces: in Cabo San Lucas, Pacifico in Puerto Vallarta and Riviera Maya, and I take three or four families with me. I am also a Riu Class member (even though it did me absolutely no good on this trip), so I DO know what a good hotel is, and I'm not complaining unnecessarily. Shame on the management for not helping us and wasting 3 precious days by lying to us.When we booked our reservation, I was told that the hotel was 3 kilometers away from the airport, so I did not book the hefty transportation fee (for 3 kilometers). It turned out to be over half an hour away and so we had to pay quite a lot more going by private transportaion. Overall a very, very unsatisfactory vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Staten Island, NY
Jun 19, 2009

Over-rated hotel

Rude staff; it is an adventure to find a staff member who speaks English

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Punta Gorda,FL
Jun 3, 2009

Looks can be Deceiving...

The Hotel is very beautiful but has many,many flaws. The good things: 1.Super- Friendly Staff 2.Very Beautiful Lobby (Palace Punta Cana not Macao) 3.Good Service 4.Great Beach 5.Big Pool The Bad: 1.They turn off Air Conditioning in the Middle of the night and in the middle of the day. Therefore its very hot usually. 2.Rooms have moldy and humid smell. Sheets and pillows reek from mold and feel wet even when recently changed. 3.Poor Entertainment. They have a couple of beach games during the day but thats it. At night the shows are more 18+ than anything. Not very proffesional shows and very adult based comedy not family appropriate. 4.Food is very European-International. This can be good or bad. The staff does all possible to please you and find what you want to eat.. but lacks variety and much quality. 5.Lobby although with A/C(Palace Punta Cana not Macao) it is turned off nightly along with all lights. 6.There are MANY TOPLESS EUROPEAN BATHERS, Hard to take a picture without having a topless woman appear in the picture. Overall pick a different hotel for a more pleasant stay in Punta Cana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Ask for High Floor Room, all the lower floors have moldy and humid smell.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
A.M.H.K.
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 25, 2014

Riu Macao

The pool area, although small, is really nice and our room was amazing - we got the suite upgrade with the private hot tub out on the balcony. The food was a huge disappointment though. Personally, I thought the restaurants were awful and the staff acted like they didn't want to be there. In addition, there were only 3 restaurants but one of them is typically closed so you have to wake up early in the morning to make reservations and you just have an option of two. The drinks were great and strong so no complaints there. I wouldn't ever go back there, given the chance. Look for a different option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NCLady7
Business
Charlotte, NC
May 21, 2013

Not the best vacation

Everything was excellent, but we were not impressed with the food, compared to other resorts we have stayed at. One of the reasons we chose this resort was because there was a casino there. We have both played thousands of games of Blackjack at many places, but please BEWARE! This casino is a scam!!!! They pull cards out of the middle & the bottom of the deck!!! Thankfully we noticed what they were doing & that there were way too many low cards before we lost too much money. It was a HUGE disappointment to not be able to gamble while we were there. On a positive note, the resort was immaculate & the staff was very friendly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

DO NOT play in the casino!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Super Nurse and Mom
Business
West Virginia
May 24, 2014

2nd time to Punta Last to this resort

This was our second trip to Punta Cana. The hotel food really wasn't that good. The beef in any of the restaurants is always overcooked no matter how you tell them to cook it. The entertainment was what was most disappointing. Compared to the first time we went to punta and stayed at a different hotel it was horrible. On the second night they did a rock station show and we left halfway through it was so bad. The spa credits they give you are a joke. $35 off the combinations massage which is originally $145 and that's the only massage you can use the credit for. Not to mention that the spa isn't a different hotel that you had to walk a mile to get to because their phone was broken. The casino there is ridiculous also. All it is is a small room with a few machines and a couple tables crammed in it. That brings me to the casino credits that you get. Those are a joke too. They are matchplay only good for the table games which I don't play anyways. The beach at this resort is nice however the water is choppy and it's hard to go out into the ocean and just relax when you're getting hit with waves all the time. Our rooms were nice and they were clean I can't complain about that. I think the resort is just too big there's no personal feeling that you get at all while you are there. We did two excursions which turned out pretty nice except for the fact that the one that went to Santo Domingo and was supposed to leave at 6:40 AM did not leave until 7:30 AM which meant we were standing out on the street corner that whole time waiting for the bus to come get us. Yes we will probably go back to Punta again, but we will stay at the first resort that we stayed at the first time we went which is now the Dreams Palm Resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Sanona Beach trip was fun but take money with you. They tell you there is no shopping but there is!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, Fl
May 29, 2011

Riu Macao

We were just looking to relax and get away from work, so we didn't do much else than stay at the hotel and sign up for a few trips. We never got to eat at any of the restaurants as you have to make your recervation from 7:00 to 10:00am every morning and most of the time they are already booked if you don't go very early. Needless to say we never made it! We ate at the regular buffet place instead. In the afternoons, we hanged by the pool and the beach. A big draw back was that pool closed at 7:00pm and most of the times by 6:00-6:30pm. Also, no music and/or very little entertainment. We ate dinner at the buffet place. Great service and great people there. We went to the show at 10:00am. I felt the shows were a bit too short, but nice when the entertainment team weren't the ones doing it. If you only speak English, you might have trouble understanding what they say. Some of the trips/experiences we did were parasailing, buggy rides and zip lining. Parasailing was a great experience. Customer service was bad, the guys kept arguing about someone else taking one of their customers. We had to remind them three times to speed up because our friends were falling into the water, they were too focused on the argument that forgot they had people in the air. Zip lining was great, I would encourage everyone to do it. Awesome all around. Buggy ride was a disappointment, we changed vehicles three times because they kept breaking down. The person leading it wasn't too friendly and was rushing everyone because he needed to go to his other job. In short, if you are looking to relax and not do much, this is a nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top