$193 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2014 Check-out: Sep 26, 2014

Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Arena Gorda 1, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
58 reviews
RIU Macao is for you

Like they say upon arrival, "Welcome Home". This is a beautiful adults-only resort. Really no... See full review

  • Thomas from Florida
  • Jul 25, 2014
Fantastic Staff

Extremely nice and friendly staff!! They go out of their way to help you or get whatever you need... See full review

  • Midwest Hoosier Traveler
  • May 23, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana hotel lures with leisure activities, eateries

Embraced by lovely palm trees and overlooking the ocean, Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive beckons with palatial white architecture, classically styled rooms and a heavy menu of resort activities. Kids ages 4 to 12 have their own club featuring supervised activities, while adults can learn how to Scuba dive, play water polo or visit the numerous a la carte or specialty restaurants on the property.

Highlights
  • Live music and themed dinners
  • Traditional rooms with patios and terraces
  • Multiple a la carte restaurants on site and access to bars at sister Riu properties
  • Kids' club for children ages 4 to 12
Rooms

Old-world touches dominate the 356 rooms at Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive. Heavy floral-printed drapes and valances coordinate with oversized, striped armchairs, while hand-carved mahogany furniture adds stateliness to the spaces. Shaded lamps and a palette of beige, forest green and burgundy favor traditional design themes. Every room boasts a bathroom with bidet, central air, liquor dispenser and patio or terrace.

Features

Leisure activities at Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive are as vast as the buffet. Guests might take a Scuba lesson in the pool, play table tennis, hit the Jacuzzi or indulge in the many water sports in the area, from kayaking to windsurfing. A casino is a center for all-day action, and live music and themed entertainment feed the festive vibe. Families also take advantage of the kids' club for children ages 4 to 12.

Dining

On-the-spot cooking stations and buffets overflowing with salad, fruit, seafood and other items fuel visitors at Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive. The hotel also hosts themed dinners three times a week and a la carte dinners at specialty restaurants Grill and steakhouse, Caribe grill, Kabuki and Krystal. For a change of scenery, tourists can also sample other bars within the Riu complex (excluding Pacha nightclub and those at Riu Palace Punta Cana.)

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.4 mi/19.9 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • El Cortecito (10.4 mi/16.8 km)
  • Cap Cana (15.3 mi/24.7 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (21.1 mi/34 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (24.6 mi/39.6 km)
Business
  • Indoor and outdoor event space
  • Audiovisual equipment
Policies and fees
  • Minimum Age: At least one person of 21 years old in every room.
  • The Hotel reserves the right of admission and therefore we may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. This situation can have serious consequences and should be avoided at any cost.  
  • The hotel prohibits spring breakers year-round and student groups under 21 years old.
  • Maximum Occupancy: In all RIU hotels and room categories (unless specified otherwise) the maximum occupancies are 4 bodies in room, either 3 Adults + 1 Child OR 2 Adults + 2 Children. Four adults are NOT permitted. All bodies in room will fit on existing bedding, any special request remains upon availability. Children & and third adult will sleep in existing bedding.
  • Discounts: Children under 2 years stay & eat free. Their age must be specified in the Booking. Honeymooners: Will receive a surprise gift in their room upon arrival. Certificate of Marriage will be required upon arrival.
  • Special requests : Any special request such a extra beds, rollaways, cribs, room next door, remains upon availability of the hotel . Guests will be informed at check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.7202 -68.4556
Area served
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
Punta Cana Airport - (PUJ)
Area description
Located at 50 km distance from the City of Higey.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive Rooms

Suite
Features: Living room area, Air-conditioned, one king size bed, ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, mini bar & liquor dispenser (restockable), in room safe, bathroom with shower, bidet and hairdryer, balcony or terrace. New Italian bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso". Coffe maker as of November 2009.
Double Room
Air-conditioned, two double beds, ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, mini bar & liquor dispenser (restockable), clock/alarm radio, in room safe, bathroom with shower, bidet and hair dryer, balcony or terrace. New Italian amenities "Lavarino Cosso". Coffe maker as of November 2009.
Jacuzzi Suite
Features: Living room area, as well as a balcony or terrace with jacuzzi. Air-conditioned, one king size bed, ceiling fan, satelite TV, phone, mini bar & liquor dispenser (restockable), clock/alarm radio, in room safe, bathroom with shower, bidet and hair dryer, balcony or terrace. New Italian bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso". Coffe maker as of November 2009.
Superior
Air-conditioned, 2 double beds, ceiling fan, satellite TV, clock/ alarm radio, phone, mini bar & liquor dispenser (restockable), in room safe, bathroom with shower, bidet and hair dryer, balcony or terrace. New Italian bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso". Coffe maker as of November 2009.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Barber/Beauty shop
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

La Boheme
Lounge bar.
Cubano
Piano bar.
La Sirena
Pool Bar.
International
Lunch & Snacks.
La Pizzeria
Located at the Caribbean street, serving Italian & Snacks.
Chiringuito
Beach Bar.
Caribe Grill Steakhouse
Restaurant la Carte for dinner.
Japanese Restaurant
Try this restaurants only for dinner. Reservations required.
El Patio
Main restaurants offering buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Kristal
Restaurant la Carte for dinner.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference room, 1506 ft2 / 140 m2, capacity 80 pax.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (58)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luvfrenchies
Manheim, P{A
May 29, 2009

Great Vacation at the Riu

The hotel was very nice and clean. The staff was wonderful especially the bartenders. The rooms are nice and clean. Not as cool as I'd like but I think the air conditioning worked better in some rooms than others. The food was very good with a lot to choose from. The beach was beautiful. I did not get one mosquito bite nor did I even see a mosquito. The only com[plaint I had was the phone did not work in my room. It was a wire problem so never got fixed during my stay. I'm sure I could have switched rooms but didn't feel like moving all my stuff. Got some good buys at the huts down at the far end of the beach - worth the 15 minute or so walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

When facing the water, turn right and walk down the beach for good shopping. The shop owners will bug you but you can really bargain with them. Don't take "no" for an answer. Better prices than anything on Carribean street I'm sure.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KevNan
Boston
May 11, 2009

Great Vacation!

This was our first trip to Punta Cana, and we were really impressed with the awesome beach and great hotel. The staff was absolutely incredible, always smiling and singing as they waited on us hand and foot. The food was pretty good. We ate at the buffet most meals, but did have one terrific meal at the a la carte gourmet restaurant, "Krystal." Most of the hotel guests were from Germany, and weren't very friendly, but the staff more than made up for that. Most of our time was spent on the beach, but the scene at the pool seemed fun, too. We really enjoyed the in-room liquor dispenser that had some top shelf liquor, including Stolichnaya Vodka and a lower-end Brugal Rum. Nights were spent either in the lobby bar or in some of the comfortable seating around the property. As always, the staff was right there to meet your needs. We visited all four other hotel resorts on the Riu property, and although nice, we enjoyed the more peaceful Macao the most. If you're looking for an activity-packed vacation, this place is probably not for you, but if you're looking to relax at a quiet, relatively small location with world-class beaches and first-class service, you'll like the Riu Palace Macao. We will definitely consider returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Bring plenty of one dollar bills for tips. The staff truly deserves them, and appreciates them. You'll likely have the same servers, and over the course of your stay, you will make friends with them. Try out an a la carte restaurant, but you'll find the buffet dinners offer great variety for even a picky eater.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
heather4change
Michigan
Apr 22, 2009

O.K. at Macao

The RIU Macao was fine. I have traveled to many all-inclusive hotels and the Riu was o.k. but not quite what I would have expected for a four star resort. The rooms are very dated and during the day there were few choices for lunch/snacking. The resort is on the smaller side, which I like. It gives you a chance to really get to know the staff and the other guests at the hotel. One of my favorite places in the resort was the disco. Lots of people there and good mix of Latin and regular disco tech type music. Best of all it's FREE. You do however have to pay for your drinks there. Fodd choices were good with a large main buffet and the extra restraunts. Overall it was a wonderful stay but most of my enjoyment came from the friends I was with not from the hotel. The public spaces at the resort were clean and comfortable but looked dated just like the rooms. I have stayed in the RIUs in Mexico and this resort did not live up to my " RIU" expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Disco located right in between resorts!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Berea
Jun 26, 2008

Best beach

The RIU Palace Macau sits on the best beach we have visited. What makes it so great? The wideness, the clean near-white sand,the crystal clear warm water, the thickly scattered palm trees along the hotel's ocean front, the ease of finding lounge chairs, the friendliness of the waiter bringing my pina colada.....The entire hotel staff is friendly and welcoming. We had a great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Mar 5, 2008

Amazing Hotel, STAY OUT OF THE CASINO!

We just returned from a 5 night stay at the Rio Macao. We had an amazing time. The staff is very friendly and speaks many languages. The food was great, and the beach was awesome! I would suggest bringing tip money, even though tips are included. When packing, focus on beach wear and nice dinner clothes, people dress up for dinner. I will warn everyone, however, to stay out of the casino. It is not operated by the hotel and they will not help you if you have problems. A casino staff member approached someone in our party to enter the casino with some free play for a game that she was not familiar with and she ended up losing thousands of dollars without knowing it. She had to use a credit card to pay the debt, and then they used her card to charge almost $10,000 of additional fraudulent charges. Avoid the casino all together, and warn anyone you know who is traveling there. This apparently happens at many resorts in DR. Enjoy your trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

There a group of shops within walking distance on the beach. You have to negotiate the price on everything though. Make sure you have small bills because they will tell you they don't have change.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newark, NJ
Jan 25, 2008

Good food, good people, not good rooms

We were 1st time in RIU and 3rd time in Punta Cana. Hotel is very satisfied besides rooms. If you looking for good room - not this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Jun 11, 2007

RIU Palace Macao - great staff and beach

My wife and I spent 9 days at the RIU Palace Resort June 3rd -12th. The hotel was located on a great beach alongside 4 other RIU resorts. We thought the Buffet restaurant was good for breakfast and provided good choices at dinner. We ate at 2 of the reservation required restaurants ( Caribe Grill) and (Kabuki). The menu was the same both nights at the Caribe. The pool location was extremely HOT so we stayed at the beach where it was much cooler with a nice breeze. The drinks are good....the beer and wire were not so good. The shows were pretty much the same as a cruise except maybe worse. Overall. we had a great time and would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newark, NJ
Jun 10, 2007

Great if you like to relax

This was a great hotel. Everyone was very friendly. The room was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Great night life

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search