$263 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Arena Gorda 1, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 60
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chiago, IL
Jun 7, 2009

Great accomodations...food: blah

The $40 per night for room upgrade was totally worth it. Food was nothing special, avoid the Japanese restaurant at all cost. Poor entertaiment. Mainly people in their 50's. Long pants are mandatory for men for all dinner options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Offer at least half of original price. Crafts and souvenirs are way overpriced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Punta Gorda,FL
Jun 3, 2009

Looks can be Deceiving...

The Hotel is very beautiful but has many,many flaws. The good things: 1.Super- Friendly Staff 2.Very Beautiful Lobby (Palace Punta Cana not Macao) 3.Good Service 4.Great Beach 5.Big Pool The Bad: 1.They turn off Air Conditioning in the Middle of the night and in the middle of the day. Therefore its very hot usually. 2.Rooms have moldy and humid smell. Sheets and pillows reek from mold and feel wet even when recently changed. 3.Poor Entertainment. They have a couple of beach games during the day but thats it. At night the shows are more 18+ than anything. Not very proffesional shows and very adult based comedy not family appropriate. 4.Food is very European-International. This can be good or bad. The staff does all possible to please you and find what you want to eat.. but lacks variety and much quality. 5.Lobby although with A/C(Palace Punta Cana not Macao) it is turned off nightly along with all lights. 6.There are MANY TOPLESS EUROPEAN BATHERS, Hard to take a picture without having a topless woman appear in the picture. Overall pick a different hotel for a more pleasant stay in Punta Cana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Ask for High Floor Room, all the lower floors have moldy and humid smell.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luvfrenchies
Business
Manheim, P{A
May 29, 2009

Great Vacation at the Riu

The hotel was very nice and clean. The staff was wonderful especially the bartenders. The rooms are nice and clean. Not as cool as I'd like but I think the air conditioning worked better in some rooms than others. The food was very good with a lot to choose from. The beach was beautiful. I did not get one mosquito bite nor did I even see a mosquito. The only com[plaint I had was the phone did not work in my room. It was a wire problem so never got fixed during my stay. I'm sure I could have switched rooms but didn't feel like moving all my stuff. Got some good buys at the huts down at the far end of the beach - worth the 15 minute or so walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

When facing the water, turn right and walk down the beach for good shopping. The shop owners will bug you but you can really bargain with them. Don't take "no" for an answer. Better prices than anything on Carribean street I'm sure.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KevNan
Business
Boston
May 11, 2009

Great Vacation!

This was our first trip to Punta Cana, and we were really impressed with the awesome beach and great hotel. The staff was absolutely incredible, always smiling and singing as they waited on us hand and foot. The food was pretty good. We ate at the buffet most meals, but did have one terrific meal at the a la carte gourmet restaurant, "Krystal." Most of the hotel guests were from Germany, and weren't very friendly, but the staff more than made up for that. Most of our time was spent on the beach, but the scene at the pool seemed fun, too. We really enjoyed the in-room liquor dispenser that had some top shelf liquor, including Stolichnaya Vodka and a lower-end Brugal Rum. Nights were spent either in the lobby bar or in some of the comfortable seating around the property. As always, the staff was right there to meet your needs. We visited all four other hotel resorts on the Riu property, and although nice, we enjoyed the more peaceful Macao the most. If you're looking for an activity-packed vacation, this place is probably not for you, but if you're looking to relax at a quiet, relatively small location with world-class beaches and first-class service, you'll like the Riu Palace Macao. We will definitely consider returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Bring plenty of one dollar bills for tips. The staff truly deserves them, and appreciates them. You'll likely have the same servers, and over the course of your stay, you will make friends with them. Try out an a la carte restaurant, but you'll find the buffet dinners offer great variety for even a picky eater.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
heather4change
Business
Michigan
Apr 22, 2009

O.K. at Macao

The RIU Macao was fine. I have traveled to many all-inclusive hotels and the Riu was o.k. but not quite what I would have expected for a four star resort. The rooms are very dated and during the day there were few choices for lunch/snacking. The resort is on the smaller side, which I like. It gives you a chance to really get to know the staff and the other guests at the hotel. One of my favorite places in the resort was the disco. Lots of people there and good mix of Latin and regular disco tech type music. Best of all it's FREE. You do however have to pay for your drinks there. Fodd choices were good with a large main buffet and the extra restraunts. Overall it was a wonderful stay but most of my enjoyment came from the friends I was with not from the hotel. The public spaces at the resort were clean and comfortable but looked dated just like the rooms. I have stayed in the RIUs in Mexico and this resort did not live up to my " RIU" expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Disco located right in between resorts!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Berea
Jun 26, 2008

Best beach

The RIU Palace Macau sits on the best beach we have visited. What makes it so great? The wideness, the clean near-white sand,the crystal clear warm water, the thickly scattered palm trees along the hotel's ocean front, the ease of finding lounge chairs, the friendliness of the waiter bringing my pina colada.....The entire hotel staff is friendly and welcoming. We had a great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 5, 2008

Amazing Hotel, STAY OUT OF THE CASINO!

We just returned from a 5 night stay at the Rio Macao. We had an amazing time. The staff is very friendly and speaks many languages. The food was great, and the beach was awesome! I would suggest bringing tip money, even though tips are included. When packing, focus on beach wear and nice dinner clothes, people dress up for dinner. I will warn everyone, however, to stay out of the casino. It is not operated by the hotel and they will not help you if you have problems. A casino staff member approached someone in our party to enter the casino with some free play for a game that she was not familiar with and she ended up losing thousands of dollars without knowing it. She had to use a credit card to pay the debt, and then they used her card to charge almost $10,000 of additional fraudulent charges. Avoid the casino all together, and warn anyone you know who is traveling there. This apparently happens at many resorts in DR. Enjoy your trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

There a group of shops within walking distance on the beach. You have to negotiate the price on everything though. Make sure you have small bills because they will tell you they don't have change.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Jan 25, 2008

Good food, good people, not good rooms

We were 1st time in RIU and 3rd time in Punta Cana. Hotel is very satisfied besides rooms. If you looking for good room - not this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 11, 2007

RIU Palace Macao - great staff and beach

My wife and I spent 9 days at the RIU Palace Resort June 3rd -12th. The hotel was located on a great beach alongside 4 other RIU resorts. We thought the Buffet restaurant was good for breakfast and provided good choices at dinner. We ate at 2 of the reservation required restaurants ( Caribe Grill) and (Kabuki). The menu was the same both nights at the Caribe. The pool location was extremely HOT so we stayed at the beach where it was much cooler with a nice breeze. The drinks are good....the beer and wire were not so good. The shows were pretty much the same as a cruise except maybe worse. Overall. we had a great time and would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Jun 10, 2007

Great if you like to relax

This was a great hotel. Everyone was very friendly. The room was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Great night life

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top