$237 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 23, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Arena Gorda 1, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Nice vacation spot

Nice clean beaches, warm water. Windy but wind is warm and did not bother us. Quality of service is good. Front desk people could have more training.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
G- the teacher
Business
New York, NY
Jul 19, 2010

The Pleasantly Unexpected

This was one of the best vacations I ever had- I wanted to relax and destress, and this was just the place to do it at. The rooms were super clean, the service, whether maid service, bar service or at the buffets was unsurpassed. All you had to do was smile and someone was there at your side to tend to your request. The poolside bar tender was quite a character- he was always smiling, joking around with you, he remembered your preference and always was quick to bring the drinks. We enjoyed canoeing and kayaking, playing bingo bongo and archery. Most of all, we enjoyed the food- the variety, quality and freshness. The pool was clean and maintained daily- the beach was beautiful- clean sand, plenty of loungers. The evening entertainment was a little lacking, but interesting none the less. I would definitely recommend this resort and would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Appreciate the hard work and effort that is put into each production- though not of stellar quality-some parts were well done.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vincy gal
Business
Boston
Jul 8, 2010

A must stay hotel

I played volleyball aranged by hotel, there was beach aerobics, dance lesson on the beach, parasailing, free catamaran, free kayaking....the food was great......the staff were friendly and very professional.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food at the buffet was very delicious....you had a reserve table just for you (same one every night). The a la carte restaurant were exquisite.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tracy Caribbean Traveler
Business
Detroit, MI
May 26, 2010

Beautiful Dominican Resort

We do a lot of carribean vacations. This was an awesome resort, and you can't go wrong with Riu staff. We did a few excursions here through an on site rep because the rep we went through never showed up. We went on a catamaran, swam with the sharks and stingrays, and went deep sea fishing. All in all great vacation spot. And dont be scared by the on site reps...we got great deals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Apr 5, 2010

Average experience

It was by no means a 4 star hotel. The staff was not very warm, there were too many dos and donts, restaurants were average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't do Scuba Doo, it is overrated

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Mar 17, 2010

Excellente!

Fun activities, good food. If you want more glamour, stay in Rui Palace Punta Cana (5min by foot). Macao is more intimate though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Pacha discotheque - right outside the gates. Great music around 1am.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sand and surf worshippers
Business
Annapolis Md.
Mar 2, 2010

Third return to paridise

We have gone to the Dominican Republic 6 times to beat the winter blues. We found the Riu Palace Macao 4 years ago. This was our 3rd trip to this resort. We found the food quite acceptable for an all inclusive. The ride from the airport was easy access due to pre booking. The check in was quick. We had a fruit plate waiting in our room. Then to the beach for a walk. We booked an excursion with [...] whom you can find at the pool every AM teaching scuba. He sent us on a half day of snorkeling and swimming with the sharks. You should buy the DVD they make of your trip. Every morning there are staff to help you find beach chairs whether poolside our on the beach. One or two dollars tip early in your stay will almost guarantee great service the rest of the week. You are assigned a table for dinner and the waiter or waitress will be the same all week. Your wine etc. will be waiting when you sit. We meet folks from all over the world including Dominicans willing to tell their story. Just a great week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

To get the best deal on gifts,coffee, cigars, T-shirts just turn right at the beach and walk for 15 to 20 minutes. The shops on the beach love to haggle over the prices. Usually things cost about 1/2 the asking price

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saginaw, MI
Jan 15, 2010

Good get away - beach was great!!

We had a great time. It is humid outside & the rooms were great with air conditioning & the ceiling fans. We did get tried of buffet meals toward end of the week, but there was variety. We loved the "steak house". Make sure make the reservations every morning asap. We liked going to the other RIU's next door. Casino slot machines didn't work half of the time. It was a good place to stay & would recommend a friend to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
atillmanpa[@]
Business
Tennessee
Oct 26, 2009

Awesome anniversary!

We had a great vacation at Riu Palace Macao. Our room was very nice. Service staff were friendly and helpful. Service was excellent -- just ask and it is done. Food was good -- I unlike some do not expect gourmet meals at all inclusive resorts. Beach was clean and beautiful with plenty of chairs, activities and shade. We went on one excursion -- Funny monster truck -- a taste of dominican culture. I highly recommend it. We also chose a spa package of three massages on the beach -- very nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take plenty of small bills. Lots of sun screen. Pack a power strip and remove ground prong -- electrical outlets are recessed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A. Nico
Business
Baltimore, MD
Sep 5, 2009

The Second Time at Riu Palace Macao

This was our second stay at Riu Palace Macao. We decided to book the same hotel based on our previous experience. Everything was the same as before, but we've noticed a big change in lunch menu... We were a little disappointed by the quality and assortment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Single Man
Business
Long Beach, CA
Aug 11, 2009

Just right for the price

We liked the hotel, though, the room felt damped when we got there and parts of the structure had noticeable wear and tear. We visited Riu Palace Punta Cana and that was so much better, of course it also costs more! For the price Riu Macao was just right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Be sure to get a confirmation on some of the recreation activities you book. We booked and paid for a horseback ride one day before and we ended up waiting for 30 minutes until finally the representative who had sold use the trip showed up saying that there would be no one picking us up because not enough people purchased the trip! Agghhh... wasted more than an hour doing this.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top