Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Arena Gorda 1, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

3.9/5

Overall score

77%

Would recommend

Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1
All-inclusive Punta Cana hotel lures with leisure activities, eateries

Embraced by lovely palm trees and overlooking the ocean, Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive beckons with palatial white architecture, classically styled rooms and a heavy menu of resort activities. Kids ages 4 to 12 have their own club featuring supervised activities, while adults can learn how to Scuba dive, play water polo or visit the numerous a la carte or specialty restaurants on the property.

Highlights
  • Live music and themed dinners
  • Traditional rooms with patios and terraces
  • Multiple a la carte restaurants on site and access to bars at sister Riu properties
  • Kids' club for children ages 4 to 12
Rooms

Old-world touches dominate the 356 rooms at Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive. Heavy floral-printed drapes and valances coordinate with oversized, striped armchairs, while hand-carved mahogany furniture adds stateliness to the spaces. Shaded lamps and a palette of beige, forest green and burgundy favor traditional design themes. Every room boasts a bathroom with bidet, central air, liquor dispenser and patio or terrace.

Features

Leisure activities at Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive are as vast as the buffet. Guests might take a Scuba lesson in the pool, play table tennis, hit the Jacuzzi or indulge in the many water sports in the area, from kayaking to windsurfing. A casino is a center for all-day action, and live music and themed entertainment feed the festive vibe. Families also take advantage of the kids' club for children ages 4 to 12.

Dining

On-the-spot cooking stations and buffets overflowing with salad, fruit, seafood and other items fuel visitors at Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive. The hotel also hosts themed dinners three times a week and a la carte dinners at specialty restaurants Grill and steakhouse, Caribe grill, Kabuki and Krystal. For a change of scenery, tourists can also sample other bars within the Riu complex (excluding Pacha nightclub and those at Riu Palace Punta Cana.)

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.4 mi/19.9 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • El Cortecito (10.4 mi/16.8 km)
  • Cap Cana (15.3 mi/24.7 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (21.1 mi/34 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (24.6 mi/39.6 km)
Business
  • Indoor and outdoor event space
  • Audiovisual equipment
Policies and fees
  • Minimum Age: At least one person of 21 years old in every room.
  • The Hotel reserves the right of admission and therefore we may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. This situation can have serious consequences and should be avoided at any cost.  
  • The hotel prohibits spring breakers year-round and student groups under 21 years old.
  • Maximum Occupancy: In all RIU hotels and room categories (unless specified otherwise) the maximum occupancies are 4 bodies in room, either 3 Adults + 1 Child OR 2 Adults + 2 Children. Four adults are NOT permitted. All bodies in room will fit on existing bedding, any special request remains upon availability. Children & and third adult will sleep in existing bedding.
  • Discounts: Children under 2 years stay & eat free. Their age must be specified in the Booking. Honeymooners: Will receive a surprise gift in their room upon arrival. Certificate of Marriage will be required upon arrival.
  • Special requests : Any special request such a extra beds, rollaways, cribs, room next door, remains upon availability of the hotel . Guests will be informed at check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive Rooms

Suite
Features: Living room area, Air-conditioned, one king size bed, ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, mini bar & liquor dispenser (restockable), in room safe, bathroom with shower, bidet and hairdryer, balcony or terrace. New Italian bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso". Coffe maker as of November 2009.
Double Room
Air-conditioned, two double beds, ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, mini bar & liquor dispenser (restockable), clock/alarm radio, in room safe, bathroom with shower, bidet and hair dryer, balcony or terrace. New Italian amenities "Lavarino Cosso". Coffe maker as of November 2009.
Jacuzzi Suite
Features: Living room area, as well as a balcony or terrace with jacuzzi. Air-conditioned, one king size bed, ceiling fan, satelite TV, phone, mini bar & liquor dispenser (restockable), clock/alarm radio, in room safe, bathroom with shower, bidet and hair dryer, balcony or terrace. New Italian bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso". Coffe maker as of November 2009.
Superior
Air-conditioned, 2 double beds, ceiling fan, satellite TV, clock/ alarm radio, phone, mini bar & liquor dispenser (restockable), in room safe, bathroom with shower, bidet and hair dryer, balcony or terrace. New Italian bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso". Coffe maker as of November 2009.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Barber/Beauty shop
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Map

18.7202 -68.4556
Area served
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
Punta Cana Airport - (PUJ)
Area description
Located at 50 km distance from the City of Higey.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference room, 1506 ft2 / 140 m2, capacity 80 pax.

Dining

La Boheme
Lounge bar.
Cubano
Piano bar.
La Sirena
Pool Bar.
International
Lunch & Snacks.
La Pizzeria
Located at the Caribbean street, serving Italian & Snacks.
Chiringuito
Beach Bar.
Caribe Grill Steakhouse
Restaurant la Carte for dinner.
Japanese Restaurant
Try this restaurants only for dinner. Reservations required.
El Patio
Main restaurants offering buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Kristal
Restaurant la Carte for dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (62)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
G- the teacher
Business
New York, NY
Jul 19, 2010

The Pleasantly Unexpected

This was one of the best vacations I ever had- I wanted to relax and destress, and this was just the place to do it at. The rooms were super clean, the service, whether maid service, bar service or at the buffets was unsurpassed. All you had to do was smile and someone was there at your side to tend to your request. The poolside bar tender was quite a character- he was always smiling, joking around with you, he remembered your preference and always was quick to bring the drinks. We enjoyed canoeing and kayaking, playing bingo bongo and archery. Most of all, we enjoyed the food- the variety, quality and freshness. The pool was clean and maintained daily- the beach was beautiful- clean sand, plenty of loungers. The evening entertainment was a little lacking, but interesting none the less. I would definitely recommend this resort and would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Appreciate the hard work and effort that is put into each production- though not of stellar quality-some parts were well done.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vincy gal
Business
Boston
Jul 8, 2010

A must stay hotel

I played volleyball aranged by hotel, there was beach aerobics, dance lesson on the beach, parasailing, free catamaran, free kayaking....the food was great......the staff were friendly and very professional.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food at the buffet was very delicious....you had a reserve table just for you (same one every night). The a la carte restaurant were exquisite.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tracy Caribbean Traveler
Business
Detroit, MI
May 26, 2010

Beautiful Dominican Resort

We do a lot of carribean vacations. This was an awesome resort, and you can't go wrong with Riu staff. We did a few excursions here through an on site rep because the rep we went through never showed up. We went on a catamaran, swam with the sharks and stingrays, and went deep sea fishing. All in all great vacation spot. And dont be scared by the on site reps...we got great deals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Apr 5, 2010

Average experience

It was by no means a 4 star hotel. The staff was not very warm, there were too many dos and donts, restaurants were average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't do Scuba Doo, it is overrated

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Mar 17, 2010

Excellente!

Fun activities, good food. If you want more glamour, stay in Rui Palace Punta Cana (5min by foot). Macao is more intimate though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Pacha discotheque - right outside the gates. Great music around 1am.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sand and surf worshippers
Business
Annapolis Md.
Mar 2, 2010

Third return to paridise

We have gone to the Dominican Republic 6 times to beat the winter blues. We found the Riu Palace Macao 4 years ago. This was our 3rd trip to this resort. We found the food quite acceptable for an all inclusive. The ride from the airport was easy access due to pre booking. The check in was quick. We had a fruit plate waiting in our room. Then to the beach for a walk. We booked an excursion with [...] whom you can find at the pool every AM teaching scuba. He sent us on a half day of snorkeling and swimming with the sharks. You should buy the DVD they make of your trip. Every morning there are staff to help you find beach chairs whether poolside our on the beach. One or two dollars tip early in your stay will almost guarantee great service the rest of the week. You are assigned a table for dinner and the waiter or waitress will be the same all week. Your wine etc. will be waiting when you sit. We meet folks from all over the world including Dominicans willing to tell their story. Just a great week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

To get the best deal on gifts,coffee, cigars, T-shirts just turn right at the beach and walk for 15 to 20 minutes. The shops on the beach love to haggle over the prices. Usually things cost about 1/2 the asking price

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saginaw, MI
Jan 15, 2010

Good get away - beach was great!!

We had a great time. It is humid outside & the rooms were great with air conditioning & the ceiling fans. We did get tried of buffet meals toward end of the week, but there was variety. We loved the "steak house". Make sure make the reservations every morning asap. We liked going to the other RIU's next door. Casino slot machines didn't work half of the time. It was a good place to stay & would recommend a friend to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
atillmanpa[@]
Business
Tennessee
Oct 26, 2009

Awesome anniversary!

We had a great vacation at Riu Palace Macao. Our room was very nice. Service staff were friendly and helpful. Service was excellent -- just ask and it is done. Food was good -- I unlike some do not expect gourmet meals at all inclusive resorts. Beach was clean and beautiful with plenty of chairs, activities and shade. We went on one excursion -- Funny monster truck -- a taste of dominican culture. I highly recommend it. We also chose a spa package of three massages on the beach -- very nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take plenty of small bills. Lots of sun screen. Pack a power strip and remove ground prong -- electrical outlets are recessed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A. Nico
Business
Baltimore, MD
Sep 5, 2009

The Second Time at Riu Palace Macao

This was our second stay at Riu Palace Macao. We decided to book the same hotel based on our previous experience. Everything was the same as before, but we've noticed a big change in lunch menu... We were a little disappointed by the quality and assortment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Single Man
Business
Long Beach, CA
Aug 11, 2009

Just right for the price

We liked the hotel, though, the room felt damped when we got there and parts of the structure had noticeable wear and tear. We visited Riu Palace Punta Cana and that was so much better, of course it also costs more! For the price Riu Macao was just right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Be sure to get a confirmation on some of the recreation activities you book. We booked and paid for a horseback ride one day before and we ended up waiting for 30 minutes until finally the representative who had sold use the trip showed up saying that there would be no one picking us up because not enough people purchased the trip! Agghhh... wasted more than an hour doing this.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top