$193 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Arena Gorda 1, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
91 reviews
Fantastic Staff

Extremely nice and friendly staff!! They go out of their way to help you or get whatever you need... See full review

  • Midwest Hoosier Traveler
  • May 23, 2014
Great for NO KIDS!!!!!

I've been to many Riu locations. This was a perfect mix of all they have to offer, and best of all... See full review

  • Riu Junkie
  • Mar 29, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana hotel lures with leisure activities, eateries

Embraced by lovely palm trees and overlooking the ocean, Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive beckons with palatial white architecture, classically styled rooms and a heavy menu of resort activities. Kids ages 4 to 12 have their own club featuring supervised activities, while adults can learn how to Scuba dive, play water polo or visit the numerous a la carte or specialty restaurants on the property.

Highlights
  • Live music and themed dinners
  • Traditional rooms with patios and terraces
  • Multiple a la carte restaurants on site and access to bars at sister Riu properties
  • Kids' club for children ages 4 to 12
Rooms

Old-world touches dominate the 356 rooms at Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive. Heavy floral-printed drapes and valances coordinate with oversized, striped armchairs, while hand-carved mahogany furniture adds stateliness to the spaces. Shaded lamps and a palette of beige, forest green and burgundy favor traditional design themes. Every room boasts a bathroom with bidet, central air, liquor dispenser and patio or terrace.

Features

Leisure activities at Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive are as vast as the buffet. Guests might take a Scuba lesson in the pool, play table tennis, hit the Jacuzzi or indulge in the many water sports in the area, from kayaking to windsurfing. A casino is a center for all-day action, and live music and themed entertainment feed the festive vibe. Families also take advantage of the kids' club for children ages 4 to 12.

Dining

On-the-spot cooking stations and buffets overflowing with salad, fruit, seafood and other items fuel visitors at Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive. The hotel also hosts themed dinners three times a week and a la carte dinners at specialty restaurants Grill and steakhouse, Caribe grill, Kabuki and Krystal. For a change of scenery, tourists can also sample other bars within the Riu complex (excluding Pacha nightclub and those at Riu Palace Punta Cana.)

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.4 mi/19.9 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • El Cortecito (10.4 mi/16.8 km)
  • Cap Cana (15.3 mi/24.7 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (21.1 mi/34 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (24.6 mi/39.6 km)
Business
  • Indoor and outdoor event space
  • Audiovisual equipment
Policies and fees
  • Minimum Age: At least one person of 21 years old in every room.
  • The Hotel reserves the right of admission and therefore we may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. This situation can have serious consequences and should be avoided at any cost.  
  • The hotel prohibits spring breakers year-round and student groups under 21 years old.
  • Maximum Occupancy: In all RIU hotels and room categories (unless specified otherwise) the maximum occupancies are 4 bodies in room, either 3 Adults + 1 Child OR 2 Adults + 2 Children. Four adults are NOT permitted. All bodies in room will fit on existing bedding, any special request remains upon availability. Children & and third adult will sleep in existing bedding.
  • Discounts: Children under 2 years stay & eat free. Their age must be specified in the Booking. Honeymooners: Will receive a surprise gift in their room upon arrival. Certificate of Marriage will be required upon arrival.
  • Special requests : Any special request such a extra beds, rollaways, cribs, room next door, remains upon availability of the hotel . Guests will be informed at check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.7202 -68.4556
Area served
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
Punta Cana Airport - (PUJ)
Area description
Located at 50 km distance from the City of Higey.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive Rooms

Suite
Features: Living room area, Air-conditioned, one king size bed, ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, mini bar & liquor dispenser (restockable), in room safe, bathroom with shower, bidet and hairdryer, balcony or terrace. New Italian bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso". Coffe maker as of November 2009.
Double Room
Air-conditioned, two double beds, ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, mini bar & liquor dispenser (restockable), clock/alarm radio, in room safe, bathroom with shower, bidet and hair dryer, balcony or terrace. New Italian amenities "Lavarino Cosso". Coffe maker as of November 2009.
Jacuzzi Suite
Features: Living room area, as well as a balcony or terrace with jacuzzi. Air-conditioned, one king size bed, ceiling fan, satelite TV, phone, mini bar & liquor dispenser (restockable), clock/alarm radio, in room safe, bathroom with shower, bidet and hair dryer, balcony or terrace. New Italian bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso". Coffe maker as of November 2009.
Superior
Air-conditioned, 2 double beds, ceiling fan, satellite TV, clock/ alarm radio, phone, mini bar & liquor dispenser (restockable), in room safe, bathroom with shower, bidet and hair dryer, balcony or terrace. New Italian bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso". Coffe maker as of November 2009.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Barber/Beauty shop
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

La Boheme
Lounge bar.
Cubano
Piano bar.
La Sirena
Pool Bar.
International
Lunch & Snacks.
La Pizzeria
Located at the Caribbean street, serving Italian & Snacks.
Chiringuito
Beach Bar.
Caribe Grill Steakhouse
Restaurant la Carte for dinner.
Japanese Restaurant
Try this restaurants only for dinner. Reservations required.
El Patio
Main restaurants offering buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Kristal
Restaurant la Carte for dinner.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference room, 1506 ft2 / 140 m2, capacity 80 pax.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (91)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 91
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Leesburg, VA
Dec 4, 2010

The worst Riu

Not a 5* hotel! Dirty sheets, dirty bedspread,mosquitos in the room and maybe even bedbugs as my husband has bites all over his body even after they sprayed the room extensively for the mosquitos. No hot water for almost 24 hours,small room smelling of cigarettes, and the food was very poor. Dining room doors not cleaned the whole time we were there, floors not swept. Front desk management wouldn't let us upgrade to the better Riu Palace Punta Cana. We wasted 3 days because of the run around they gave us and then they told us they were fully booked. Not true. We spoke to the chief of reservations at the Punta Cana Riu on Sat. and they Did have availability. We did not see the [...] rep. the whole time we were there. No orientation. Didn't know they had a casino or nightly shows at the Macao until Wed. Front desk management told my husband it was ok to check out at 2:00 pm, no problem, but I had heard another company's rep. tell his people at their orientation that they would be charged by the hour if they did not check out by 12:00, which was the case.We travel extensively and have gone to three other Riu Palaces: in Cabo San Lucas, Pacifico in Puerto Vallarta and Riviera Maya, and I take three or four families with me. I am also a Riu Class member (even though it did me absolutely no good on this trip), so I DO know what a good hotel is, and I'm not complaining unnecessarily. Shame on the management for not helping us and wasting 3 precious days by lying to us.When we booked our reservation, I was told that the hotel was 3 kilometers away from the airport, so I did not book the hefty transportation fee (for 3 kilometers). It turned out to be over half an hour away and so we had to pay quite a lot more going by private transportaion. Overall a very, very unsatisfactory vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Leesburg, VA
Dec 4, 2010

The worst Riu

Not a 5* hotel! Dirty sheets, dirty bedspread,mosquitos in the room and maybe even bedbugs as my husband has bites all over his body even after they sprayed the room extensively for the mosquitos. No hot water for almost 24 hours,small room smelling of cigarettes, and the food was very poor. Dining room doors not cleaned the whole time we were there, floors not swept. Front desk management wouldn't let us upgrade to the better Riu Palace Punta Cana. We wasted 3 days because of the run around they gave us and then they told us they were fully booked. Not true. We spoke to the chief of reservations at the Punta Cana Riu on Sat. and they Did have availability. We did not see the [...] rep. the whole time we were there. No orientation. Didn't know they had a casino or nightly shows at the Macao until Wed. Front desk management told my husband it was ok to check out at 2:00 pm, no problem, but I had heard another company's rep. tell his people at their orientation that they would be charged by the hour if they did not check out by 12:00, which was the case.We travel extensively and have gone to three other Riu Palaces: in Cabo San Lucas, Pacifico in Puerto Vallarta and Riviera Maya, and I take three or four families with me. I am also a Riu Class member (even though it did me absolutely no good on this trip), so I DO know what a good hotel is, and I'm not complaining unnecessarily. Shame on the management for not helping us and wasting 3 precious days by lying to us.When we booked our reservation, I was told that the hotel was 3 kilometers away from the airport, so I did not book the hefty transportation fee (for 3 kilometers). It turned out to be over half an hour away and so we had to pay quite a lot more going by private transportaion. Overall a very, very unsatisfactory vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
san juan p.r.
Nov 28, 2010

good

for the price is not bad,but the hotel need some remodelation,the food at the pool area could be better,also need an atm machine inside the hotel.i had to walked about 15 min to get one. no good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

comfort of the mattress is too hard.i think the riu bamboo has better facilities

Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
san juan p.r.
Nov 28, 2010

good

for the price is not bad,but the hotel need some remodelation,the food at the pool area could be better,also need an atm machine inside the hotel.i had to walked about 15 min to get one. no good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

comfort of the mattress is too hard.i think the riu bamboo has better facilities

Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
very upset customer
brandywine maryland
Sep 3, 2010

DON'T STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!

I stayed at the Riu Palace Macao on Aug 5th-9th. I went on this vacation with two friends.We were really disappointed with our stay at this resort. This is not a 4 or 5 star resort in my opinion. When we got there I noticed that the grounds were not kept up, that concerned me but I didn't want to jump to conclusions. From that point on everything went down hill. The elevators were filthy! They were run down, dirty, had dried brown smears of something on doors and lots of bugs in the ceiling lights. We asked them to clean the elevators when we came back down to the front desk to get a better room. My first room had no air conditioning, the lamp on the dresser was broken and leaning to the side, the balcony rails were eaten away by termites and painted over with white paint and the sheets and bed coverings were dull and worn with stains on them. I called to talk to a manager and he said that someone would be up to check the a/c but I waited about 25 min in this HOT room before I went back down to the front desk. After explaining to them for 15min on why I won't stay in that room they finally gave me another room but this one was not much better. The second room also didn't have working air conditioning, the toliet paper holder was falling off the wall, the room had no bath towels or toliet paper and there were little bugs crawling all over the room. I had bug bites all over me when I got up but I don't know where they came from so I called to ask someone to come spray the room. They sent spray up to my room but left it with me to spray so I had to also become a bug exterminator on my vacation. Then the electric started going on and off on the entire resort, the air conditioning went out in the dining room so we had to eat and while sweating profusely. I was HOT, IRRITATED & MISERABLE!!! Now I need a vacation from this so-called vacation. When I thought that this vacation couldn't get any worse I started to feel sick after breakfast on the Aug 9th before I checked out. I was feeling nauseous and my stomach started to cramp. Throughout my travels back home and even now I'm having stomach cramps and diarrhea. This doesn't make any sense. I paid to stay at a 4-5 star resort and this wasn't. That is false advertisement and I would have not stayed there if the pictures reflected the up to date condition of the resort.I'm very unhappy with my visit there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Aug 17, 2010

Great vacation spot!!

Great experience...the resort was overall great, i do not have any complaints about the resort, except the rooms are a little outdated!!! The staff was very helpfull and very friendly always going out of their way to help, location is great..steps away from the beach and the beach bar where they always have a drink for you!! A lot of activities to do so you dont get bored!! I will definately come back...My first time in DR and i had a wonderful experience!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Aug 17, 2010

Great vacation spot!!

Great experience...the resort was overall great, i do not have any complaints about the resort, except the rooms are a little outdated!!! The staff was very helpfull and very friendly always going out of their way to help, location is great..steps away from the beach and the beach bar where they always have a drink for you!! A lot of activities to do so you dont get bored!! I will definately come back...My first time in DR and i had a wonderful experience!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
G- the teacher
New York, NY
Jul 19, 2010

The Pleasantly Unexpected

This was one of the best vacations I ever had- I wanted to relax and destress, and this was just the place to do it at. The rooms were super clean, the service, whether maid service, bar service or at the buffets was unsurpassed. All you had to do was smile and someone was there at your side to tend to your request. The poolside bar tender was quite a character- he was always smiling, joking around with you, he remembered your preference and always was quick to bring the drinks. We enjoyed canoeing and kayaking, playing bingo bongo and archery. Most of all, we enjoyed the food- the variety, quality and freshness. The pool was clean and maintained daily- the beach was beautiful- clean sand, plenty of loungers. The evening entertainment was a little lacking, but interesting none the less. I would definitely recommend this resort and would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Appreciate the hard work and effort that is put into each production- though not of stellar quality-some parts were well done.

Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
G- the teacher
New York, NY
Jul 19, 2010

The Pleasantly Unexpected

This was one of the best vacations I ever had- I wanted to relax and destress, and this was just the place to do it at. The rooms were super clean, the service, whether maid service, bar service or at the buffets was unsurpassed. All you had to do was smile and someone was there at your side to tend to your request. The poolside bar tender was quite a character- he was always smiling, joking around with you, he remembered your preference and always was quick to bring the drinks. We enjoyed canoeing and kayaking, playing bingo bongo and archery. Most of all, we enjoyed the food- the variety, quality and freshness. The pool was clean and maintained daily- the beach was beautiful- clean sand, plenty of loungers. The evening entertainment was a little lacking, but interesting none the less. I would definitely recommend this resort and would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Appreciate the hard work and effort that is put into each production- though not of stellar quality-some parts were well done.

Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vincy gal
Boston
Jul 8, 2010

A must stay hotel

I played volleyball aranged by hotel, there was beach aerobics, dance lesson on the beach, parasailing, free catamaran, free kayaking....the food was great......the staff were friendly and very professional.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The food at the buffet was very delicious....you had a reserve table just for you (same one every night). The a la carte restaurant were exquisite.

Back to menu Return to top