$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Arena Gorda 1, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 60
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, Fl
May 29, 2011

Riu Macao

We were just looking to relax and get away from work, so we didn't do much else than stay at the hotel and sign up for a few trips. We never got to eat at any of the restaurants as you have to make your recervation from 7:00 to 10:00am every morning and most of the time they are already booked if you don't go very early. Needless to say we never made it! We ate at the regular buffet place instead. In the afternoons, we hanged by the pool and the beach. A big draw back was that pool closed at 7:00pm and most of the times by 6:00-6:30pm. Also, no music and/or very little entertainment. We ate dinner at the buffet place. Great service and great people there. We went to the show at 10:00am. I felt the shows were a bit too short, but nice when the entertainment team weren't the ones doing it. If you only speak English, you might have trouble understanding what they say. Some of the trips/experiences we did were parasailing, buggy rides and zip lining. Parasailing was a great experience. Customer service was bad, the guys kept arguing about someone else taking one of their customers. We had to remind them three times to speed up because our friends were falling into the water, they were too focused on the argument that forgot they had people in the air. Zip lining was great, I would encourage everyone to do it. Awesome all around. Buggy ride was a disappointment, we changed vehicles three times because they kept breaking down. The person leading it wasn't too friendly and was rushing everyone because he needed to go to his other job. In short, if you are looking to relax and not do much, this is a nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sand and surf worshippers
Business
Annapolis, Md.
Feb 26, 2011

I keep going back

The hotel was overbooked so we were moved next door to the Bamboo,which has recently been remodeled. After 3 days we requested to move back. Having stayed at the Macao Palace previously, we new what we were missing. They upgraded our room selection to a suite and provided us with a 3 day voucher for next year. We then proceeded to have a wonderful time. The food was just fine with a different theme every night. We went on a snorkeling excursion for 1/2 day which included snorkeling, swimming with sharks and rays, lunch, and a 15 minute massage. This was only about 20 minutes from the resort. There is a beautiful 20 miles of beach to walk along. I will be going back next year for the 8th time. This little piece of paradise helps ward off winter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The hotel staff will get you involved in all kinds of activities or leave you to relax and explore as you please.

Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boston Bill
Business
Boston MA. USA
Feb 22, 2011

top notch

very well trained staff, very friendly will go back again someday, great ocean location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

the dance shows in nightclub were much better than I thought they would be

Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Dec 14, 2010

Nice place that works to please

Since there was a lot of rain - it would have helped if one did not have to trampse all over the place- outdoors- to get to various venues of the hotel. It was a very quiet resort -and that's fine if that is what you are looking for - the Riu Bambu has more going on - but if it's raining-not easy to get to. Not close to much shopping or cultural places, which we would have enjoyed. But - the food was fabulous and the staff wonderful Some language barrier - if you don't speak Spanish - you should learn some. My husband was at a distinct disadvantage and consequently glued to me for the duration. It is clean, well run place with excellent staff and very good food -both at the buffet and specialty restaurants. The beach is beautiful and large with plenty of seating and the pool is very nice as well. Overall, a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LI, NY
Dec 9, 2010

Fabulous vacation

Hotel was beautiful, the people who worked there couldn't have been nicer, food was excellent with a variety of selections, with the package we had you could go to at least three other hotels to use their facilities and see there shows and all within walking distance The only downfall- whatever they used to clean the rooms and the comforter was too strong and made my roomate and i sick after we aired out the room and left the screen door open for a day it was a little easier to breath also we found a little mildew on the lower part of the walls And you need to know some spanish

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Leesburg, VA
Dec 4, 2010

The worst Riu

Not a 5* hotel! Dirty sheets, dirty bedspread,mosquitos in the room and maybe even bedbugs as my husband has bites all over his body even after they sprayed the room extensively for the mosquitos. No hot water for almost 24 hours,small room smelling of cigarettes, and the food was very poor. Dining room doors not cleaned the whole time we were there, floors not swept. Front desk management wouldn't let us upgrade to the better Riu Palace Punta Cana. We wasted 3 days because of the run around they gave us and then they told us they were fully booked. Not true. We spoke to the chief of reservations at the Punta Cana Riu on Sat. and they Did have availability. We did not see the [...] rep. the whole time we were there. No orientation. Didn't know they had a casino or nightly shows at the Macao until Wed. Front desk management told my husband it was ok to check out at 2:00 pm, no problem, but I had heard another company's rep. tell his people at their orientation that they would be charged by the hour if they did not check out by 12:00, which was the case.We travel extensively and have gone to three other Riu Palaces: in Cabo San Lucas, Pacifico in Puerto Vallarta and Riviera Maya, and I take three or four families with me. I am also a Riu Class member (even though it did me absolutely no good on this trip), so I DO know what a good hotel is, and I'm not complaining unnecessarily. Shame on the management for not helping us and wasting 3 precious days by lying to us.When we booked our reservation, I was told that the hotel was 3 kilometers away from the airport, so I did not book the hefty transportation fee (for 3 kilometers). It turned out to be over half an hour away and so we had to pay quite a lot more going by private transportaion. Overall a very, very unsatisfactory vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san juan p.r.
Nov 28, 2010

good

for the price is not bad,but the hotel need some remodelation,the food at the pool area could be better,also need an atm machine inside the hotel.i had to walked about 15 min to get one. no good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

comfort of the mattress is too hard.i think the riu bamboo has better facilities

Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 17, 2010

Great vacation spot!!

Great experience...the resort was overall great, i do not have any complaints about the resort, except the rooms are a little outdated!!! The staff was very helpfull and very friendly always going out of their way to help, location is great..steps away from the beach and the beach bar where they always have a drink for you!! A lot of activities to do so you dont get bored!! I will definately come back...My first time in DR and i had a wonderful experience!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
G- the teacher
Business
New York, NY
Jul 19, 2010

The Pleasantly Unexpected

This was one of the best vacations I ever had- I wanted to relax and destress, and this was just the place to do it at. The rooms were super clean, the service, whether maid service, bar service or at the buffets was unsurpassed. All you had to do was smile and someone was there at your side to tend to your request. The poolside bar tender was quite a character- he was always smiling, joking around with you, he remembered your preference and always was quick to bring the drinks. We enjoyed canoeing and kayaking, playing bingo bongo and archery. Most of all, we enjoyed the food- the variety, quality and freshness. The pool was clean and maintained daily- the beach was beautiful- clean sand, plenty of loungers. The evening entertainment was a little lacking, but interesting none the less. I would definitely recommend this resort and would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Appreciate the hard work and effort that is put into each production- though not of stellar quality-some parts were well done.

Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vincy gal
Business
Boston
Jul 8, 2010

A must stay hotel

I played volleyball aranged by hotel, there was beach aerobics, dance lesson on the beach, parasailing, free catamaran, free kayaking....the food was great......the staff were friendly and very professional.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food at the buffet was very delicious....you had a reserve table just for you (same one every night). The a la carte restaurant were exquisite.

Back to menu Return to top