$237 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 5, 2015 Check-out: Jun 8, 2015

Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Arena Gorda 1, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
K3N6
Business
New Jersey
Nov 26, 2012

Time away with spouse

The hotel accommodations were the best we've had in our travels. The staff was curteous and the room was very clean. The food was excellent, and with all those choices we never went hungry. I was also able to maintain my Paleo diet. My only regret is that we did not pay for a room upgrade with a view. However, the atmosphere outside the room was warm and inviting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stacy88
Business
Green Bay, Wi
Apr 19, 2012

Wonderful Time

We had a wonderful time. The service was great. Always a smile, hello or High 5 from all the staff. The food was good . There is some repetition on the buffet, but if you change up what you eat, there are plenty of items so you can have something different every night. Service in the main buffet restaurant was fabulous, we had the same waiter every night. He knew what we liked to drink after the first night and had it ready for us, as soon as we walked in. We were with a group of 4 adults and 4 teenagers. The entertainment people did a great job including our teenagers in activities. They enjoyed themselves. The beaches are awesome, we loved walking the what seemed to be an endless beach. Our rooms was clean and the front desk got us everything we asked of them. My only complaint would be that we were there the last week before renovations and two days before we left they started emptying out the place and closing a few of the restaurants, which I felt was a bit unfare to us, I would have hoped they would have waited until the hotel was empty. We didn't let that get in the way of the good time we were having in a beautiful location. We all said that we would return to this hotel again. I liked the size of the resort you didn't have to walk far to get from your room to the pool to the beach and could easily walk back to the room to get something if you needed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sully500
Business
NH
Apr 11, 2012

visited over easter 2012

This was my second time at Riu Place Macao...the facilities and staff are great, they want you to come back and do everything possible to make that happen..this summer the facility is being renovated it is currently a little dated...reno's to include a larger pool which will make the prop even more attactive.Good Value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mayberry
Business
Kings Park, New York
Feb 13, 2012

Always a great stay

This was our 6th visit to Riu Palace Macao. Always happy with our vacation but this resort is "tired" looking. They finally installed flat screen TV's for starters and this spring they are closing for renova- tions which are much needed. It was evident that the staff was not as experienced as in the past. I believe that when they opened the new Riu Bavaro next door much of the Macao's experienced waiters, cleaners, etc were sent there. This was evident. I will return to this resort next year to see the renovations first hand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Nice vacation spot

Nice clean beaches, warm water. Windy but wind is warm and did not bother us. Quality of service is good. Front desk people could have more training.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
adka
Business
New York, NY, USA
Oct 31, 2011

great prewinter escape

very friendly staff,very relaxing atmosphere,can walk miles on the beach or stay at the swimming pool. food is excelent and Kristal restaurant on the beach offers great menu and beatiful ocean view. small katamarans are great fan to learn sailing. will return next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jerry R.
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 13, 2011

Punta Canta Vacae

Overall, the hotel & staff were great. The only exception is the A/C did not work properly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Try the doom buggie tour/excursion. Great experience!

Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Asian Sensation
Business
Bayside, Queens, NY, USA
Aug 26, 2011

Riu Palace Macao Was Okay

We booked this hotel knowing that it wasn't going to be the greatest place to stay at. We were right in that so we knew what to expect. All the other reviewers are spot on in saying that this hotel is outdated. The rooms weren't overly spacious, and the 3rd floor rooms seem smaller but that's only because the ceiling caves in. The smell of mold is definitely predominant as well, and you'll definitely bring it back home, even after a few washes. The staff was great, they always had a smile on their faces. However, most of the staff had a difficulty with English. The beach was beautiful, however it was ruined with Hurricane Irene for our last two days. The beach is definitely less crowded then the other resorts. You will see a lot of people walking up and down the shoreline so be prepared for that if your looking for privacy. All in all, this hotel wasn't anything spectacular. I know they are building another Riu Palace next door so you should wait till next year to book a trip if your planning on staying at a Riu since the Riu Palace Punta Cana didn't seem all that great neither. Also, be sure to haggle with the vendors at Caribbean Street. I got a bottle of mamajuana with two cigars for $8 USD while the person wanted it for $25. Haggling is your friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to haggle with the vendors at Caribbean Street. I got a bottle of mamajuana with two cigars for $8 USD while the person wanted it for $25. Haggling is your friend.

Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brainchick
Business
Sellersburg, IN
Aug 7, 2011

Great location with fair service

Beautiful grounds & room, room service quick but limited menu, refrigerator in room re--stocked only once during week stay. Buffet food was decent and servers attentive. Bar service at pool looked adequate but none on beach (although the bar was close by). Air conditioning in room was broken and never got fixed despite 3 requests. [...]coco tours buggy excursion was fabulous. parasailing avail at extra charge. Linens refreshed twice daily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Jul 28, 2011

Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive

The hotel was old, renovated, but kept clean.The beach was very beautiful, although it needed cleaning from sea weeds more often than once in the morning, as the hotel did. The hotel employees were very helpful and nice.Hotel room services were very slow and most of the room cleaning crew could not understand English.The nightly entertainment was very good on certain nights. I would say at least 3 out of the 8 nights or (.375 of the nights) we spent there were very good. The remaining shows were OK, but below average.Scuba diving was very bad, the crew was not helpful, they did not advise us that the seas were very rough. The waves were more than 8 feet high and the boat operator was not cooperative in getting us out of the water, afraid that we may .... from seas sickness in his boat making him having to clean it after us, do he kept us waiting in the water an additional 8 or more minutes before extending the ladder for us to get on board.The dive masters (2 of them) went down before the divers instead of waiting to make sure every one went down first and was OK before them diving in. I wasted at least 10 minutes out the 40 minutes total dive looking for my dive partner, until I realized that she did not make it down for some reason .... When I got back to the boat I was told that she got seas sick & requested to be transferred back to shore.The non-motorized water activity was very well organized and well done. As well as the motorized activity such as para sailing etc... I believe they were operated privately.The hotel food/drinks were very good, but they only have 4 restaurants contrary to what they proclaim on their web site [...] Over all it was a nice 8 day vacation, just like everything else, you get back what you put into it. Lower your expectation & you will not be disappointed.I hope this helps someone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top