$355 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Arena Gorda 1, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
59 reviews
RIU Macao is for you

Like they say upon arrival, "Welcome Home". This is a beautiful adults-only resort. Really no... See full review

  • Thomas from Florida
  • Jul 25, 2014
Fantastic Staff

Extremely nice and friendly staff!! They go out of their way to help you or get whatever you need... See full review

  • Midwest Hoosier Traveler
  • May 23, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana hotel lures with leisure activities, eateries

Embraced by lovely palm trees and overlooking the ocean, Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive beckons with palatial white architecture, classically styled rooms and a heavy menu of resort activities. Kids ages 4 to 12 have their own club featuring supervised activities, while adults can learn how to Scuba dive, play water polo or visit the numerous a la carte or specialty restaurants on the property.

Highlights
  • Live music and themed dinners
  • Traditional rooms with patios and terraces
  • Multiple a la carte restaurants on site and access to bars at sister Riu properties
  • Kids' club for children ages 4 to 12
Rooms

Old-world touches dominate the 356 rooms at Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive. Heavy floral-printed drapes and valances coordinate with oversized, striped armchairs, while hand-carved mahogany furniture adds stateliness to the spaces. Shaded lamps and a palette of beige, forest green and burgundy favor traditional design themes. Every room boasts a bathroom with bidet, central air, liquor dispenser and patio or terrace.

Features

Leisure activities at Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive are as vast as the buffet. Guests might take a Scuba lesson in the pool, play table tennis, hit the Jacuzzi or indulge in the many water sports in the area, from kayaking to windsurfing. A casino is a center for all-day action, and live music and themed entertainment feed the festive vibe. Families also take advantage of the kids' club for children ages 4 to 12.

Dining

On-the-spot cooking stations and buffets overflowing with salad, fruit, seafood and other items fuel visitors at Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive. The hotel also hosts themed dinners three times a week and a la carte dinners at specialty restaurants Grill and steakhouse, Caribe grill, Kabuki and Krystal. For a change of scenery, tourists can also sample other bars within the Riu complex (excluding Pacha nightclub and those at Riu Palace Punta Cana.)

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.4 mi/19.9 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • El Cortecito (10.4 mi/16.8 km)
  • Cap Cana (15.3 mi/24.7 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (21.1 mi/34 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (24.6 mi/39.6 km)
Business
  • Indoor and outdoor event space
  • Audiovisual equipment
Policies and fees
  • Minimum Age: At least one person of 21 years old in every room.
  • The Hotel reserves the right of admission and therefore we may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. This situation can have serious consequences and should be avoided at any cost.  
  • The hotel prohibits spring breakers year-round and student groups under 21 years old.
  • Maximum Occupancy: In all RIU hotels and room categories (unless specified otherwise) the maximum occupancies are 4 bodies in room, either 3 Adults + 1 Child OR 2 Adults + 2 Children. Four adults are NOT permitted. All bodies in room will fit on existing bedding, any special request remains upon availability. Children & and third adult will sleep in existing bedding.
  • Discounts: Children under 2 years stay & eat free. Their age must be specified in the Booking. Honeymooners: Will receive a surprise gift in their room upon arrival. Certificate of Marriage will be required upon arrival.
  • Special requests : Any special request such a extra beds, rollaways, cribs, room next door, remains upon availability of the hotel . Guests will be informed at check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive Rooms

Suite
Features: Living room area, Air-conditioned, one king size bed, ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, mini bar & liquor dispenser (restockable), in room safe, bathroom with shower, bidet and hairdryer, balcony or terrace. New Italian bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso". Coffe maker as of November 2009.
Double Room
Air-conditioned, two double beds, ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, mini bar & liquor dispenser (restockable), clock/alarm radio, in room safe, bathroom with shower, bidet and hair dryer, balcony or terrace. New Italian amenities "Lavarino Cosso". Coffe maker as of November 2009.
Jacuzzi Suite
Features: Living room area, as well as a balcony or terrace with jacuzzi. Air-conditioned, one king size bed, ceiling fan, satelite TV, phone, mini bar & liquor dispenser (restockable), clock/alarm radio, in room safe, bathroom with shower, bidet and hair dryer, balcony or terrace. New Italian bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso". Coffe maker as of November 2009.
Superior
Air-conditioned, 2 double beds, ceiling fan, satellite TV, clock/ alarm radio, phone, mini bar & liquor dispenser (restockable), in room safe, bathroom with shower, bidet and hair dryer, balcony or terrace. New Italian bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso". Coffe maker as of November 2009.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Barber/Beauty shop
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

La Boheme
Lounge bar.
Cubano
Piano bar.
La Sirena
Pool Bar.
International
Lunch & Snacks.
La Pizzeria
Located at the Caribbean street, serving Italian & Snacks.
Chiringuito
Beach Bar.
Caribe Grill Steakhouse
Restaurant la Carte for dinner.
Japanese Restaurant
Try this restaurants only for dinner. Reservations required.
El Patio
Main restaurants offering buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Kristal
Restaurant la Carte for dinner.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference room, 1506 ft2 / 140 m2, capacity 80 pax.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (59)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 59
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mayberry
Business
Kings Park, New York
Feb 13, 2012

Always a great stay

This was our 6th visit to Riu Palace Macao. Always happy with our vacation but this resort is "tired" looking. They finally installed flat screen TV's for starters and this spring they are closing for renova- tions which are much needed. It was evident that the staff was not as experienced as in the past. I believe that when they opened the new Riu Bavaro next door much of the Macao's experienced waiters, cleaners, etc were sent there. This was evident. I will return to this resort next year to see the renovations first hand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Nice vacation spot

Nice clean beaches, warm water. Windy but wind is warm and did not bother us. Quality of service is good. Front desk people could have more training.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
adka
Business
New York, NY, USA
Oct 31, 2011

great prewinter escape

very friendly staff,very relaxing atmosphere,can walk miles on the beach or stay at the swimming pool. food is excelent and Kristal restaurant on the beach offers great menu and beatiful ocean view. small katamarans are great fan to learn sailing. will return next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jerry R.
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 13, 2011

Punta Canta Vacae

Overall, the hotel & staff were great. The only exception is the A/C did not work properly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Try the doom buggie tour/excursion. Great experience!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Asian Sensation
Business
Bayside, Queens, NY, USA
Aug 26, 2011

Riu Palace Macao Was Okay

We booked this hotel knowing that it wasn't going to be the greatest place to stay at. We were right in that so we knew what to expect. All the other reviewers are spot on in saying that this hotel is outdated. The rooms weren't overly spacious, and the 3rd floor rooms seem smaller but that's only because the ceiling caves in. The smell of mold is definitely predominant as well, and you'll definitely bring it back home, even after a few washes. The staff was great, they always had a smile on their faces. However, most of the staff had a difficulty with English. The beach was beautiful, however it was ruined with Hurricane Irene for our last two days. The beach is definitely less crowded then the other resorts. You will see a lot of people walking up and down the shoreline so be prepared for that if your looking for privacy. All in all, this hotel wasn't anything spectacular. I know they are building another Riu Palace next door so you should wait till next year to book a trip if your planning on staying at a Riu since the Riu Palace Punta Cana didn't seem all that great neither. Also, be sure to haggle with the vendors at Caribbean Street. I got a bottle of mamajuana with two cigars for $8 USD while the person wanted it for $25. Haggling is your friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to haggle with the vendors at Caribbean Street. I got a bottle of mamajuana with two cigars for $8 USD while the person wanted it for $25. Haggling is your friend.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brainchick
Business
Sellersburg, IN
Aug 7, 2011

Great location with fair service

Beautiful grounds & room, room service quick but limited menu, refrigerator in room re--stocked only once during week stay. Buffet food was decent and servers attentive. Bar service at pool looked adequate but none on beach (although the bar was close by). Air conditioning in room was broken and never got fixed despite 3 requests. [...]coco tours buggy excursion was fabulous. parasailing avail at extra charge. Linens refreshed twice daily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Jul 28, 2011

Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive

The hotel was old, renovated, but kept clean.The beach was very beautiful, although it needed cleaning from sea weeds more often than once in the morning, as the hotel did. The hotel employees were very helpful and nice.Hotel room services were very slow and most of the room cleaning crew could not understand English.The nightly entertainment was very good on certain nights. I would say at least 3 out of the 8 nights or (.375 of the nights) we spent there were very good. The remaining shows were OK, but below average.Scuba diving was very bad, the crew was not helpful, they did not advise us that the seas were very rough. The waves were more than 8 feet high and the boat operator was not cooperative in getting us out of the water, afraid that we may .... from seas sickness in his boat making him having to clean it after us, do he kept us waiting in the water an additional 8 or more minutes before extending the ladder for us to get on board.The dive masters (2 of them) went down before the divers instead of waiting to make sure every one went down first and was OK before them diving in. I wasted at least 10 minutes out the 40 minutes total dive looking for my dive partner, until I realized that she did not make it down for some reason .... When I got back to the boat I was told that she got seas sick & requested to be transferred back to shore.The non-motorized water activity was very well organized and well done. As well as the motorized activity such as para sailing etc... I believe they were operated privately.The hotel food/drinks were very good, but they only have 4 restaurants contrary to what they proclaim on their web site [...] Over all it was a nice 8 day vacation, just like everything else, you get back what you put into it. Lower your expectation & you will not be disappointed.I hope this helps someone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tampa fl
Jul 22, 2011

great place to relax

everything was perfect except the matress on the bed, they are very hard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, Fl
May 29, 2011

Riu Macao

We were just looking to relax and get away from work, so we didn't do much else than stay at the hotel and sign up for a few trips. We never got to eat at any of the restaurants as you have to make your recervation from 7:00 to 10:00am every morning and most of the time they are already booked if you don't go very early. Needless to say we never made it! We ate at the regular buffet place instead. In the afternoons, we hanged by the pool and the beach. A big draw back was that pool closed at 7:00pm and most of the times by 6:00-6:30pm. Also, no music and/or very little entertainment. We ate dinner at the buffet place. Great service and great people there. We went to the show at 10:00am. I felt the shows were a bit too short, but nice when the entertainment team weren't the ones doing it. If you only speak English, you might have trouble understanding what they say. Some of the trips/experiences we did were parasailing, buggy rides and zip lining. Parasailing was a great experience. Customer service was bad, the guys kept arguing about someone else taking one of their customers. We had to remind them three times to speed up because our friends were falling into the water, they were too focused on the argument that forgot they had people in the air. Zip lining was great, I would encourage everyone to do it. Awesome all around. Buggy ride was a disappointment, we changed vehicles three times because they kept breaking down. The person leading it wasn't too friendly and was rushing everyone because he needed to go to his other job. In short, if you are looking to relax and not do much, this is a nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sand and surf worshippers
Business
Annapolis, Md.
Feb 26, 2011

I keep going back

The hotel was overbooked so we were moved next door to the Bamboo,which has recently been remodeled. After 3 days we requested to move back. Having stayed at the Macao Palace previously, we new what we were missing. They upgraded our room selection to a suite and provided us with a 3 day voucher for next year. We then proceeded to have a wonderful time. The food was just fine with a different theme every night. We went on a snorkeling excursion for 1/2 day which included snorkeling, swimming with sharks and rays, lunch, and a 15 minute massage. This was only about 20 minutes from the resort. There is a beautiful 20 miles of beach to walk along. I will be going back next year for the 8th time. This little piece of paradise helps ward off winter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The hotel staff will get you involved in all kinds of activities or leave you to relax and explore as you please.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top