$193 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Arena Gorda 1, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
91 reviews
Fantastic Staff

Extremely nice and friendly staff!! They go out of their way to help you or get whatever you need... See full review

  • Midwest Hoosier Traveler
  • May 23, 2014
Great for NO KIDS!!!!!

I've been to many Riu locations. This was a perfect mix of all they have to offer, and best of all... See full review

  • Riu Junkie
  • Mar 29, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana hotel lures with leisure activities, eateries

Embraced by lovely palm trees and overlooking the ocean, Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive beckons with palatial white architecture, classically styled rooms and a heavy menu of resort activities. Kids ages 4 to 12 have their own club featuring supervised activities, while adults can learn how to Scuba dive, play water polo or visit the numerous a la carte or specialty restaurants on the property.

Highlights
  • Live music and themed dinners
  • Traditional rooms with patios and terraces
  • Multiple a la carte restaurants on site and access to bars at sister Riu properties
  • Kids' club for children ages 4 to 12
Rooms

Old-world touches dominate the 356 rooms at Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive. Heavy floral-printed drapes and valances coordinate with oversized, striped armchairs, while hand-carved mahogany furniture adds stateliness to the spaces. Shaded lamps and a palette of beige, forest green and burgundy favor traditional design themes. Every room boasts a bathroom with bidet, central air, liquor dispenser and patio or terrace.

Features

Leisure activities at Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive are as vast as the buffet. Guests might take a Scuba lesson in the pool, play table tennis, hit the Jacuzzi or indulge in the many water sports in the area, from kayaking to windsurfing. A casino is a center for all-day action, and live music and themed entertainment feed the festive vibe. Families also take advantage of the kids' club for children ages 4 to 12.

Dining

On-the-spot cooking stations and buffets overflowing with salad, fruit, seafood and other items fuel visitors at Riu Palace Macao All Inclusive. The hotel also hosts themed dinners three times a week and a la carte dinners at specialty restaurants Grill and steakhouse, Caribe grill, Kabuki and Krystal. For a change of scenery, tourists can also sample other bars within the Riu complex (excluding Pacha nightclub and those at Riu Palace Punta Cana.)

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.4 mi/19.9 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • El Cortecito (10.4 mi/16.8 km)
  • Cap Cana (15.3 mi/24.7 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (21.1 mi/34 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (24.6 mi/39.6 km)
Business
  • Indoor and outdoor event space
  • Audiovisual equipment
Policies and fees
  • Minimum Age: At least one person of 21 years old in every room.
  • The Hotel reserves the right of admission and therefore we may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. This situation can have serious consequences and should be avoided at any cost.  
  • The hotel prohibits spring breakers year-round and student groups under 21 years old.
  • Maximum Occupancy: In all RIU hotels and room categories (unless specified otherwise) the maximum occupancies are 4 bodies in room, either 3 Adults + 1 Child OR 2 Adults + 2 Children. Four adults are NOT permitted. All bodies in room will fit on existing bedding, any special request remains upon availability. Children & and third adult will sleep in existing bedding.
  • Discounts: Children under 2 years stay & eat free. Their age must be specified in the Booking. Honeymooners: Will receive a surprise gift in their room upon arrival. Certificate of Marriage will be required upon arrival.
  • Special requests : Any special request such a extra beds, rollaways, cribs, room next door, remains upon availability of the hotel . Guests will be informed at check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.7202 -68.4556
Area served
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
Punta Cana Airport - (PUJ)
Area description
Located at 50 km distance from the City of Higey.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive Rooms

Suite
Features: Living room area, Air-conditioned, one king size bed, ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, mini bar & liquor dispenser (restockable), in room safe, bathroom with shower, bidet and hairdryer, balcony or terrace. New Italian bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso". Coffe maker as of November 2009.
Double Room
Air-conditioned, two double beds, ceiling fan, satellite TV, phone, mini bar & liquor dispenser (restockable), clock/alarm radio, in room safe, bathroom with shower, bidet and hair dryer, balcony or terrace. New Italian amenities "Lavarino Cosso". Coffe maker as of November 2009.
Jacuzzi Suite
Features: Living room area, as well as a balcony or terrace with jacuzzi. Air-conditioned, one king size bed, ceiling fan, satelite TV, phone, mini bar & liquor dispenser (restockable), clock/alarm radio, in room safe, bathroom with shower, bidet and hair dryer, balcony or terrace. New Italian bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso". Coffe maker as of November 2009.
Superior
Air-conditioned, 2 double beds, ceiling fan, satellite TV, clock/ alarm radio, phone, mini bar & liquor dispenser (restockable), in room safe, bathroom with shower, bidet and hair dryer, balcony or terrace. New Italian bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso". Coffe maker as of November 2009.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Barber/Beauty shop
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

La Boheme
Lounge bar.
Cubano
Piano bar.
La Sirena
Pool Bar.
International
Lunch & Snacks.
La Pizzeria
Located at the Caribbean street, serving Italian & Snacks.
Chiringuito
Beach Bar.
Caribe Grill Steakhouse
Restaurant la Carte for dinner.
Japanese Restaurant
Try this restaurants only for dinner. Reservations required.
El Patio
Main restaurants offering buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served three times a week.
Kristal
Restaurant la Carte for dinner.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference room, 1506 ft2 / 140 m2, capacity 80 pax.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (91)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 91
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Nice vacation spot

Nice clean beaches, warm water. Windy but wind is warm and did not bother us. Quality of service is good. Front desk people could have more training.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
l.m.g.
connecticut
May 9, 2013

we liked the adults only resort.

very helpful stuff.like the compact of this resort.food was tasteful and beautifully presented.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DDKK
Middleton, WI
May 7, 2013

Long, detailed review

1. This place has an awesome beach. If you love the beach, you really can't go wrong. It is next to a bunch of other Riu resorts and they all share an enormous white sand beach. Combine that with the palm trees and light blue Caribbean Sea, and you've got all you could ask for. We had a large group, and there were always plenty of chairs as well. 2. The staff was great. They were professional and polite, but they were definitely down to screw around with you once they realized you're into that. For example, at dinner one night, we started chanting the waiter's name and he started dancing around. Then another waiter came in and tried to get us to start chanting his name. They seem to have a really good sense of humor, and are willing to have fun with you if that's what you want. 3. The entertainment team was the same way. They were very friendly and enthusiastic. I ended up going to a couple of shows alone because my friends were not interested. One of the team members saw me sitting by myself and grabbed me and pulled me up front to sit with her. I thought that was nice. Note: It seemed to me that the staff's English wasn't as good as in Mexico (not surprising), but if you make a point to talk slow and not use weird words, they will understand you. 4. The entertainment itself was pretty good. They have a lot of games/activities during the day and shows at night. The shows were hit or miss. I really liked the circus show. 5. The food and drink were okay. Mama Juana might be the greatest shot I've ever had. The rest of the liquor was pretty average. The food was the same way. They had a lot of stuff that was pretty good, but nothing really amazing. I went to two specialty restaurants (steakhouse and italian). The food there was better, but it wasn't quite as good as the Barcelo I went to in Mexico. I think those are the main impressions I came away with. I've only been to two all inclusives. This one was similar or better in every way than the Barcelo in Mexico except for the food and drink. If you are really into fine dining and top shelf booze, you should probably go elsewhere. If you aren't picky about that stuff and are looking for a place to relax and have fun, then this is good choice. P.S. I seem to remember the page for this hotel saying that it is not wheelchair accessible. I can't speak for the rooms, but I definitely saw people in wheelchairs. I checked all the main areas and they all have ramps, and there is a paved path to the beach. I'd think a wheelchair could work here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

I can't confirm this as I was told at the end of my trip, but one of the fellow guests said the Bambu is the place to go if you want to party at night. It is right next door and you have access to it if you are staying at the Macao

Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bill W of Ohio
Ohio
Feb 19, 2013

Winter Break

The adults only Riu Palace Macao was perfect for a couple who just wants to relax and get some sun and warmth during the cold winters in Ohio. The staff was very friendly and helped in anyway they could. Rooms were kept clean and the maid service was outstanding in that they would provide whatever we needed. The beach was the best we had ever seen in our visits to the Caribbean. Plenty of open area with the option of setting under a palm tree. The food was good and plenty of options in the main restaurant. We did not care for the specialty restaurants. Too difficult to reserve a setting and the choices at the restuarants were not all that great. Ovrall, it was a great week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
World traveler 168
California
Feb 12, 2013

Punta Cana Riu Palace

5 of us booked riu Macao , when we arrived, 3 of us got sent to Riu Punta Cana without notice. Next 5 days we had musty smell room and bad services. We always tip very well, but the service was really bad. Only one staff have great service is Saul from pool bar

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
K3N6
New Jersey
Nov 26, 2012

Time away with spouse

The hotel accommodations were the best we've had in our travels. The staff was curteous and the room was very clean. The food was excellent, and with all those choices we never went hungry. I was also able to maintain my Paleo diet. My only regret is that we did not pay for a room upgrade with a view. However, the atmosphere outside the room was warm and inviting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stacy88
Green Bay, Wi
Apr 19, 2012

Wonderful Time

We had a wonderful time. The service was great. Always a smile, hello or High 5 from all the staff. The food was good . There is some repetition on the buffet, but if you change up what you eat, there are plenty of items so you can have something different every night. Service in the main buffet restaurant was fabulous, we had the same waiter every night. He knew what we liked to drink after the first night and had it ready for us, as soon as we walked in. We were with a group of 4 adults and 4 teenagers. The entertainment people did a great job including our teenagers in activities. They enjoyed themselves. The beaches are awesome, we loved walking the what seemed to be an endless beach. Our rooms was clean and the front desk got us everything we asked of them. My only complaint would be that we were there the last week before renovations and two days before we left they started emptying out the place and closing a few of the restaurants, which I felt was a bit unfare to us, I would have hoped they would have waited until the hotel was empty. We didn't let that get in the way of the good time we were having in a beautiful location. We all said that we would return to this hotel again. I liked the size of the resort you didn't have to walk far to get from your room to the pool to the beach and could easily walk back to the room to get something if you needed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sully500
NH
Apr 11, 2012

visited over easter 2012

This was my second time at Riu Place Macao...the facilities and staff are great, they want you to come back and do everything possible to make that happen..this summer the facility is being renovated it is currently a little dated...reno's to include a larger pool which will make the prop even more attactive.Good Value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mayberry
Kings Park, New York
Feb 13, 2012

Always a great stay

This was our 6th visit to Riu Palace Macao. Always happy with our vacation but this resort is "tired" looking. They finally installed flat screen TV's for starters and this spring they are closing for renova- tions which are much needed. It was evident that the staff was not as experienced as in the past. I believe that when they opened the new Riu Bavaro next door much of the Macao's experienced waiters, cleaners, etc were sent there. This was evident. I will return to this resort next year to see the renovations first hand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Nice vacation spot

Nice clean beaches, warm water. Windy but wind is warm and did not bother us. Quality of service is good. Front desk people could have more training.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
adka
New York, NY, USA
Oct 31, 2011

great prewinter escape

very friendly staff,very relaxing atmosphere,can walk miles on the beach or stay at the swimming pool. food is excelent and Kristal restaurant on the beach offers great menu and beatiful ocean view. small katamarans are great fan to learn sailing. will return next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top