$263 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Arena Gorda 1, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 60
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Silver Wraith
Business
Vermont
Jan 29, 2014

Solid 4 Star

Our stay at the Riu Palace Macao was from 1/20 thru 1/28. This is our 4th time to this island, 3rd time to Punta Cana. The resort is small and an adult's only, two of the reasons we went here. I'll start with my only real complaints, neither show stoppers.... for some reason the coffee here is sub par.... the cappuccino and espresso are both good... a real head scratcher... The other negative is the distance from the pool/resort area to the ocean... the resort is part of a Riu Complex and there is a path that connects all the resorts and you are allowed to use some of the other properties. The path is kinda the half way point from the resort proper and the ocean... once again not a show stopper but seeing/hearing/smelling the ocean from the resort is a nice touch. The positives are too many to list. The food here at the buffet is very possibly the best we've had at any all-inclusive, including some fairly high end resorts (5-star). The staff is top notch and very attentive. Everyone from the pool wait staff, always there with a fresh drink, to the bar tenders, the dinning room wait staff, chamber maids to the grounds crew and front desk staff, all very pleasant and helpful. The room we had was very comfortable and clean, mini fridge restocked daily with water/soda/beer and you can request specific beverages and they are happy to honor your request. The beach is gorgeous, once you get to it and you can walk for miles. The powdery white sand and the turquoise water just goes on for ever, one of the greatest sections of beach anywhere we've been. The towel game was at hand to some extent at the resort, but we never had any issues getting a lounger we wanted, even going down after breakfast.... If you are looking for a low key, restful, enjoyable stay in the Dominican, this is the place for you... the average age of the patrons was slightly higher then normal, but maybe that was due to the time of year we were there. A good mix of nationalities as well, a lot of Germans and British to go with our usual mix of Canadians and Americans. Always nice hearing the different languages as you walk around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Buffet food/variety is exceptional.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pgh Bett
Business
Pitttsburgh, PA
Jan 17, 2014

Lots to Like at Riu Palace Macao

Upon arrival greeted with a welcome drink and bags taken to our room. Liked the location as the room was near the end of the hallway and quiet. Was on the first level and looked out toward Caribbean St. and had full morning sun. Except for a few minor issues (both iron and hair dryer were dirty, the TV volumn kept changing, and had to ask for face cloths) the room would have been perfect. The best part of staying here is the location on the beach. A large area of sand and palm trees laid between the pool and the ocean. We could walk for miles without obstruction. We have been to a number of Caribbean beaches and found this one to be the nicest of all. We ate at the four restaurants that require reservations and found this made for a nice change and liked being waited on. Krystal was open every day serving a sit down three course lunch. The buffets offered so many choiches and food was kept fresh and served at the proper temperature. At breakfast and dinner one could choose to sit inside or out on the open patio. Service was quick and friendly. The entertainment staff offered lots of play opportunies during the day around the pool. In the evening there were musicians who played mostly bacharta and maranga. We particularly liked the music we were able to dance to. Show Time varied in that some of the entertainers were quite talented while others were just ok to watch. I definitly would recommend this adult all inclusive resort as there are many things about it to like (love).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
leningradka
Business
Minnesota
Dec 2, 2013

One of the best hotels in Punta Cana!

This was our fifth stay in this hotel. We have tried different resorts but couldn't find any better location, service and overall satisfaction! Will come again soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NCLady7
Business
Charlotte, NC
May 21, 2013

Not the best vacation

Everything was excellent, but we were not impressed with the food, compared to other resorts we have stayed at. One of the reasons we chose this resort was because there was a casino there. We have both played thousands of games of Blackjack at many places, but please BEWARE! This casino is a scam!!!! They pull cards out of the middle & the bottom of the deck!!! Thankfully we noticed what they were doing & that there were way too many low cards before we lost too much money. It was a HUGE disappointment to not be able to gamble while we were there. On a positive note, the resort was immaculate & the staff was very friendly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

DO NOT play in the casino!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
l.m.g.
Business
connecticut
May 9, 2013

we liked the adults only resort.

very helpful stuff.like the compact of this resort.food was tasteful and beautifully presented.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DDKK
Business
Middleton, WI
May 7, 2013

Long, detailed review

1. This place has an awesome beach. If you love the beach, you really can't go wrong. It is next to a bunch of other Riu resorts and they all share an enormous white sand beach. Combine that with the palm trees and light blue Caribbean Sea, and you've got all you could ask for. We had a large group, and there were always plenty of chairs as well. 2. The staff was great. They were professional and polite, but they were definitely down to screw around with you once they realized you're into that. For example, at dinner one night, we started chanting the waiter's name and he started dancing around. Then another waiter came in and tried to get us to start chanting his name. They seem to have a really good sense of humor, and are willing to have fun with you if that's what you want. 3. The entertainment team was the same way. They were very friendly and enthusiastic. I ended up going to a couple of shows alone because my friends were not interested. One of the team members saw me sitting by myself and grabbed me and pulled me up front to sit with her. I thought that was nice. Note: It seemed to me that the staff's English wasn't as good as in Mexico (not surprising), but if you make a point to talk slow and not use weird words, they will understand you. 4. The entertainment itself was pretty good. They have a lot of games/activities during the day and shows at night. The shows were hit or miss. I really liked the circus show. 5. The food and drink were okay. Mama Juana might be the greatest shot I've ever had. The rest of the liquor was pretty average. The food was the same way. They had a lot of stuff that was pretty good, but nothing really amazing. I went to two specialty restaurants (steakhouse and italian). The food there was better, but it wasn't quite as good as the Barcelo I went to in Mexico. I think those are the main impressions I came away with. I've only been to two all inclusives. This one was similar or better in every way than the Barcelo in Mexico except for the food and drink. If you are really into fine dining and top shelf booze, you should probably go elsewhere. If you aren't picky about that stuff and are looking for a place to relax and have fun, then this is good choice. P.S. I seem to remember the page for this hotel saying that it is not wheelchair accessible. I can't speak for the rooms, but I definitely saw people in wheelchairs. I checked all the main areas and they all have ramps, and there is a paved path to the beach. I'd think a wheelchair could work here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

I can't confirm this as I was told at the end of my trip, but one of the fellow guests said the Bambu is the place to go if you want to party at night. It is right next door and you have access to it if you are staying at the Macao

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bill W of Ohio
Business
Ohio
Feb 19, 2013

Winter Break

The adults only Riu Palace Macao was perfect for a couple who just wants to relax and get some sun and warmth during the cold winters in Ohio. The staff was very friendly and helped in anyway they could. Rooms were kept clean and the maid service was outstanding in that they would provide whatever we needed. The beach was the best we had ever seen in our visits to the Caribbean. Plenty of open area with the option of setting under a palm tree. The food was good and plenty of options in the main restaurant. We did not care for the specialty restaurants. Too difficult to reserve a setting and the choices at the restuarants were not all that great. Ovrall, it was a great week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
World traveler 168
Business
California
Feb 12, 2013

Punta Cana Riu Palace

5 of us booked riu Macao , when we arrived, 3 of us got sent to Riu Punta Cana without notice. Next 5 days we had musty smell room and bad services. We always tip very well, but the service was really bad. Only one staff have great service is Saul from pool bar

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
K3N6
Business
New Jersey
Nov 26, 2012

Time away with spouse

The hotel accommodations were the best we've had in our travels. The staff was curteous and the room was very clean. The food was excellent, and with all those choices we never went hungry. I was also able to maintain my Paleo diet. My only regret is that we did not pay for a room upgrade with a view. However, the atmosphere outside the room was warm and inviting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Macao Adults Only -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stacy88
Business
Green Bay, Wi
Apr 19, 2012

Wonderful Time

We had a wonderful time. The service was great. Always a smile, hello or High 5 from all the staff. The food was good . There is some repetition on the buffet, but if you change up what you eat, there are plenty of items so you can have something different every night. Service in the main buffet restaurant was fabulous, we had the same waiter every night. He knew what we liked to drink after the first night and had it ready for us, as soon as we walked in. We were with a group of 4 adults and 4 teenagers. The entertainment people did a great job including our teenagers in activities. They enjoyed themselves. The beaches are awesome, we loved walking the what seemed to be an endless beach. Our rooms was clean and the front desk got us everything we asked of them. My only complaint would be that we were there the last week before renovations and two days before we left they started emptying out the place and closing a few of the restaurants, which I felt was a bit unfare to us, I would have hoped they would have waited until the hotel was empty. We didn't let that get in the way of the good time we were having in a beautiful location. We all said that we would return to this hotel again. I liked the size of the resort you didn't have to walk far to get from your room to the pool to the beach and could easily walk back to the room to get something if you needed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top