$148 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 10, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

Riu Bambu All Inclusive

3 stars
Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
47 reviews
Great experience

My only complaint would be about the food. We tried the Hibachi and Mexican restaurants, both of... See full review

  • Brian Bentrup
  • May 28, 2013
The Perfect Weekend Get Away

The staff at the hotel was so nice! The food was excellent for my taste! Our room had old furniture... See full review

  • Karinaa
  • Aug 12, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana beach hotel with access to resort amenities
Surrounded by lush gardens, Riu Bambu All Inclusive sits oceanfront at the lovely Playa Arena Gorda in Bavaro, Punta Cana. Guests enjoy all-inclusive activities such as windsurfing, snorkeling, tennis, a fitness center, swimming pools and water polo. The hotel also features several restaurants and bars, plus offers access to most of the bars at Riu Resort and the Riu Palace Macao Casino.
Highlights
  • Drop off the kids at the RiuLand kids club, a safe and fun hangout for young ones
  • Swim up to the bar at La Arena, one of the several bars and lounges at Riu Bambu
  • Enjoy a range of ocean sports such as windsurfing and sailing -- many without extra fees
Location
Riu Bambu overlooks Playa Arena Gorda in Bavaro, Punta Cana. Located in La Altagracia, the easternmost province of the Dominican Republic, the Punta Cana area is legendary for a sunny climate, miles of picture-perfect beaches, golfing, historic sites, nature preserves and upscale resorts.
Rooms
Riu Bambu features 560 graceful guest rooms, including double rooms, suites and family rooms. All include air conditioning, ceiling fan, minibar, liquor dispenser, satellite television, safe, balcony or patio, iron/ironing board, hair-dryer and radio alarm clock. Suites offer extra space with a living room area, while family rooms include a sofa bed and even more space to spread out.
Dining
Guests at Riu Bambu enjoy all-inclusive dining, with a full American breakfast buffet plus continental service. Buffet dining is available at Colonial, Italian cuisine at San Angelo and Asian dining at Hibachi. Snacks are on the house at all hours. The hotel offers several bars, including a swim-up bar. Guests are welcome to unlimited alcoholic and nonalcoholic drinks at most bars within Riu Resort.
Recreation
Riu Bambu features all-inclusive activities such as water polo, tennis, windsurfing, sailing, snorkeling and nightclubbing. Additional activities (fees apply) include selected ocean sports and golf.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (16.4 mi/26.4 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (17.8 mi/28.6 km)
  • Basilica de Higuey (24.7 mi/39.7 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (46.2 mi/74.4 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (57.8 mi/93 km)
  • Santo Domingo (126 mi/202 km)

Hotel Map

18.722 -68.4577
Area served
Punta Cana, 50 km / 31 miles to Higey. Dominican Republic.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana Int'l. Airport
Area description
Some 45 minutes by car west of the airport, you'll find the small fishing village of Maimon. It's an ideal place to use as base for excursions to the city of Puerto Plata and inland sites.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Bambu All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Riu Bambu All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Room
Modern and new decoration style, air conditioning,ceiling fan, two double beds, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace. Free WiFi available in the room
Family Room
Features air conditioning, ceiling fan, two double beds, separate living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower,double-sink, hairdryer and amenities kit. Terrace.
Junior Suite
Features air conditioning, ceiling fan, two double beds, separate living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, bidet, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
Double Room
Features air conditioning, ceiling fan, two double beds, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Barber/Beauty shop
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Colonial
Main restaurant offering a grand array of buffet style dining, and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week.
Mama Juana
Beach bar
Mama Juana
Beach snack bar and restaurant during the day. For dinner Steakhouse and Italian a la carte restaurant. Reservations required.
La Arena
Pool and swim up bar
La Plaza
Pavillion bar.
Caribe Grill
Enjoy theme dining only at this tropical grill restaurant.
Azucar
Lounge bar
La Pizzeria
On the Caribbean street, and excellent option for pizza.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1100
Check-out:
1500

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (47)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 47
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
rushdi
nj
Sep 7, 2013

This place sucks

First of all I took my wife and two kids and my sister and they gave us a family room that's what they call it 2double beds and a pull out couch the room was so old and the ac blew mildew into the room we all where coughing all nite for 10 days the food sucks the service was so slow and if u don't tip at the bars the next time u come up got a drink they will act like the don't see u the men that work there are all perverts flirting really bad with all the woman no room service so if u get hungry after 10 u have to go to the sports bar that has burger and hotdogs u have to warm up your self so nasty . The only thing that was nice was the beach . Don't stay here !!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
darbo
Chicago
May 12, 2012

Riu Bambu Hotel in Dominican Republic is the worst hotel I ever been. It is overrated.

Stay away from this hotel! 1. Rooms: very small and dirty, just enough space to go around the bad. Cockroaches in the room running at night. The bad sheeting was not replaced for 3 days and we talked to our Apple vacation rep about it, he was not surprised. After we complained, they did one bad but not the second one. Upon ordering the vacation we requested smoke free room but after we arrived we got stinky room for smokers, we were informed that there no non-smoking rooms and they can make this room for non-smokers, they would spray the room. They gave us another room of course for smokers. 3. Health club? Need to go to different hotel. 2. Restaurants: The tablecloths were not replaced for days. They were new one day in the morning for 30 minutes. After that when we got to the table the waiters push to the floor all left over food with bare hands, all the spills were on the tablecloth for days. Most of the soda machines did not work, only water was running from soda machines as well you were lucky if you would get a hot tea, the machines were always out of order. Waiters were shouting to each other, showing no respect to customers, I heard them laughing from bad tricks they did to some customers. One time after the restaurant closed I was passing thru and I saw a busboy dumping a dirty cloth to the ice spoon bin with water to soak the dirty cloth to clean the restaurant. 3. Beach They have very nice beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Papa from NY
New York, NY, USA
Apr 6, 2013

Very average resort with very unfriendly staff

I have been to couple of different 3-4star resorts in Punta Cana, but this was by far the worst resort out of all of them. I am not very demending, but food was very bad and service at the restaurant almost non-existing. Negatives: - food at the buffet was almost the same every day - reservations to the specialty restaurants (ie steakhouse, Mexican, Japanese etc) were very hard to book. No tables were usually available after 7:30am. I think the restaurants were so "over subscribed" because food at the Buffet was very bad. - at breakfast bacon was always gone by 7:30am - to some this might not be a big deal, but to me it showed that the resort did not care to provide a basic part of a regular breakfast - service at the buffet was very bad. They simply did not have enough servers for serving water-beer-wine-coffee etc. - there were no servers around the pool or the beach. If you sat at the beach, the pool on the side or by the kids pool (we were with small kids) it was a trip to the bar. If you have no kids or the kids are older this might not be an issue as you may choose to be at the main pool right by the bar. - towels at at pool were dirty most of the time Positives + the beach is very nice with lots of palm trees (but this is nothing special in Punta Cana) + the kids pool is ok. It's better than none but it's small so it gets crowded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Pick Dolphin Explorer over Monti Park if you want to swim with dolphins

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Big Tall Todd
Indiana
Jun 26, 2013

Sub-par experience!!

This is by far the lowest quality resort of the 5 that were on the grounds in Punta Cana. The rooms are small and uncomfortable, beds are small, mattresses are thin and housekeeping did a poor job at cleaning on a daily basis. First day of trip, we found a cockroach in the room and lizards are prevalent and usually find their way into the rooms. Food quality at the daily buffets and available restaurants is sub-par or below average at best and the drinks are poorly made at the bars. Also, no poolside bar service is provided and no service is on the beach, one of the few resorts that does not provide that service. Amenities are lacking, the pool was dirty on most days and the overall entertainment quality is lacking from the poolside daily entertainment to the nighttime shows. As always, nightly vendors are pushy and disrespectful and as always shop pricing is way to high!! The deep sea fishing excursion was a disaster; however, not the fault of the hotel, although they HIGHLY recommended it! I would not recommend this resort and will definitely not be going back; however, trying a different Riu resort there may be possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Liz Beth
Long Beach, IN.
Jan 2, 2013

So-So

Food was sub-par. Staff was ok - nothing special. Beach was fantastically beautiful. Only reason to be there! Would investigate other hotels before booking here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mics099
macomb, MI
Apr 20, 2012

The Most beautiful beach I have ever seen!!

This hotel has ordinary amenites, what really makes it stand out is the staff and the location. Give me a clean room and helpful staff and a beautiful location and i am happy. What everyone has to remember that there is not a lot to do outside the resort....this is a developing country, this is not Playa del Carmen Mexico!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Colbit
Tampa, Florida
Aug 8, 2014

Expected more

First of all, the hotel was not bad, we did have a good time, beach was perfect, pools were kind of small for too many people. Activities were not good, so do not even bother (archery, darts, etc..) stick with the beach activities (not that good either but better) Rooms are way too small, the mini bar was almost empty, (2 pepsi, 1 seven up and 2 beers) and they only refill every 2 days.. So imagine we were a party of 4.. I had to give a 10 dollar tip to have it filled. Beds are small and the mattress was way too soft. IMPORTANT. WIFI is only free at the lobby but only 90 minutes per day and the time counts from when you log in the first time, so if you log in the morning the time ends after 90 minutes even if you only use it 5 minutes. The pools (all of them) close at 6:00pm (sun still up). You have to make appointment for the restaurant (a la carte) at 7:00 am (the previous day) or you wont get a space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Guest111
New Jersey, USA
Nov 24, 2011

Got what I paid for

Nothing special, it is OK but not more. Proc: stuff, I've never been waiting, all requests were handled immediately. Cons: all amentities are ordinary, no animals on site (we expected to see some as described for other hotels but nothing in this one)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MJIA
Iowa
Jun 11, 2012

Fun! Fun!

If you like to have fun, this is a great resort. Animation crew does a fantastic job. We have traveled to lots of places and their beach is the best we have ever been to. The resort is kept spotless. Food is fine but not fantastic. We had no regrets choosing the Riu Bambu

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
meen
NYC
Jul 26, 2012

Riu Bambu

Went there with my family for a few days. Food was okay, and no more than ok! The hotel in general was a nice getaway on the beach to spend a few days. Beach had plenty of seaweeds though! Pools were nice. Construction work at the hotel was NOT nice! Internet was only available in the lobby area and connection was VERY bad! One more thing, the hotel is not really located in Punta Cana. It is in Bavaro! This was a surprise to us as we thought we were in Punta Cana, based on our booking!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search