Riu Bambu All Inclusive

3 stars
Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
58 reviews
Great experience

My only complaint would be about the food. We tried the Hibachi and Mexican restaurants, both of... See full review

  • Brian Bentrup
  • May 28, 2013
good value for your dollar. beautiful property

Staff was very nice,food good but not greatoverall good. See full review

  • cocachita
  • May 4, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana beach hotel with access to resort amenities
Surrounded by lush gardens, Riu Bambu All Inclusive sits oceanfront at the lovely Playa Arena Gorda in Bavaro, Punta Cana. Guests enjoy all-inclusive activities such as windsurfing, snorkeling, tennis, a fitness center, swimming pools and water polo. The hotel also features several restaurants and bars, plus offers access to most of the bars at Riu Resort and the Riu Palace Macao Casino.
Highlights
  • Drop off the kids at the RiuLand kids club, a safe and fun hangout for young ones
  • Swim up to the bar at La Arena, one of the several bars and lounges at Riu Bambu
  • Enjoy a range of ocean sports such as windsurfing and sailing -- many without extra fees
Location
Riu Bambu overlooks Playa Arena Gorda in Bavaro, Punta Cana. Located in La Altagracia, the easternmost province of the Dominican Republic, the Punta Cana area is legendary for a sunny climate, miles of picture-perfect beaches, golfing, historic sites, nature preserves and upscale resorts.
Rooms
Riu Bambu features 560 graceful guest rooms, including double rooms, suites and family rooms. All include air conditioning, ceiling fan, minibar, liquor dispenser, satellite television, safe, balcony or patio, iron/ironing board, hair-dryer and radio alarm clock. Suites offer extra space with a living room area, while family rooms include a sofa bed and even more space to spread out.
Dining
Guests at Riu Bambu enjoy all-inclusive dining, with a full American breakfast buffet plus continental service. Buffet dining is available at Colonial, Italian cuisine at San Angelo and Asian dining at Hibachi. Snacks are on the house at all hours. The hotel offers several bars, including a swim-up bar. Guests are welcome to unlimited alcoholic and nonalcoholic drinks at most bars within Riu Resort.
Recreation
Riu Bambu features all-inclusive activities such as water polo, tennis, windsurfing, sailing, snorkeling and nightclubbing. Additional activities (fees apply) include selected ocean sports and golf.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (16.4 mi/26.4 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (17.8 mi/28.6 km)
  • Basilica de Higuey (24.7 mi/39.7 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (46.2 mi/74.4 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (57.8 mi/93 km)
  • Santo Domingo (126 mi/202 km)

Riu Bambu All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Room
Modern and new decoration style, air conditioning,ceiling fan, two double beds, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace. Free WiFi available in the room
Family Room
Features air conditioning, ceiling fan, two double beds, separate living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower,double-sink, hairdryer and amenities kit. Terrace.
Junior Suite
Features air conditioning, ceiling fan, two double beds, separate living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, bidet, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
Double Room
Features air conditioning, ceiling fan, two double beds, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Barber/Beauty shop
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Map

18.722 -68.4577
Area served
Punta Cana, 50 km / 31 miles to Higey. Dominican Republic.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana Int'l. Airport
Area description
Some 45 minutes by car west of the airport, you'll find the small fishing village of Maimon. It's an ideal place to use as base for excursions to the city of Puerto Plata and inland sites.

Dining

Colonial
Main restaurant offering a grand array of buffet style dining, and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week.
Mama Juana
Beach bar
Mama Juana
Beach snack bar and restaurant during the day. For dinner Steakhouse and Italian a la carte restaurant. Reservations required.
La Arena
Pool and swim up bar
La Plaza
Pavillion bar.
Caribe Grill
Enjoy theme dining only at this tropical grill restaurant.
Azucar
Lounge bar
La Pizzeria
On the Caribbean street, and excellent option for pizza.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1100
Check-out:
1500

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (58)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Dec 4, 2009

WORST wedding/honeymoon I could imagine!

I had booked the package for my wedding/honeymoon and I had heard many good things about this resort and the reviews didn't look bad at all. When I arrived on Monday, November 9th, 2009, I was expecting the best, what I got was anything but!My fiancee and I were placed in a regular room at the Bambu (although the high end wedding package entitled us to a free room upgrade if available) at first since the front desk guy, [...], said there weren't any junior suites available for at least a couple of days. Not a big deal I thought, we can wait a day or two since we're here for another week after the wedding (11/14/09). The next morning[...] tells us that there is a jr suite JUST made available, anyone else think this sounds suspicious? We pack up everything (wedding gown, tux, favors, etc) and we lug all our stuff (thanks resort staff for not lending a hand at all!) to the "newly available" room. At first it was really nice and clean albeit a little warm. We had 37 guests staying at the Bambu for our wedding and the resort staff knew about this since we told them when checking in and I had tipped [...] generously and ahead of time for any help with letting our friends and family know where we were and letting us know where they were.The first night in the jr suite was little humid and nowhere near as cool as the other room so I tell [...] the next morning if there's anything he can do about it. He calls an "engineer" on his walkie and says it'll be taken care of and gives me some logic that because the room is bigger than a normal room, the a/c cannot fill the whole room as well. Where's the logic in that?? Why wouldn't you account for the bigger room when you build it and put in an a/c unit??! I figured out that the a/c unit was actually broken/not functioning at all because I started noticing there wasn't a compressor sound humming at any time in the ceiling where the a/c unit is whereas our previous room had a light humming any time the a/c was on. The a/c shuts off automatically anytime the room door or terrace door is open and turns back on when the doors are closed. After a few more days of our wedding attire smelling like mildew and complaints every morning and evening to the front desk about the a/c actually being broken and having them tell us "we'll send an engineer to check it out", [...] says he can put us back in a regular room if we'd like because there are no other jr suites available, lie #2! The other jr suite next to us just vacated in the morning and it SURE felt cold peeking into the room when the cleaning lady went in to tidy up! So why couldn't we move across the hall into that jr suite? Who knows...After the wedding, my wife and I were, sadly, getting used to going to sleep with just the terrace door open and ceiling fan on circulating at least SOME air since we can't get them to fix the a/c or allow us to move into the other VACANT and COLD jr suite. We spent another miserable 5 days after our wedding in that room and could not WAIT to go home. It took us another week after getting back home to finally get the mildew smell out of our clothes and really start our marriage. Our friends and family that stayed there also had pretty mediocre opinions of the resort and the facilities and staff after the weekend, but at least they had a/c in their rooms! If you're going to go to Riu Bambu for your wedding/honeymoon, DON'T! Save yourself the time and grief and money and go somewhere with consistent and great reviews! Avoid Riu Bambu unless you enjoy sweating at night and having your wedding/honeymoon/vacation memories be of mildew smells and rude resort staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't go to or stay at the Riu Bambu and you'll have saved a LOT of money! My wife and I could have saved $1,000+ had we known the facilities and staff were like this!

Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
darbo
Chicago
May 12, 2012

Riu Bambu Hotel in Dominican Republic is the worst hotel I ever been. It is overrated.

Stay away from this hotel! 1. Rooms: very small and dirty, just enough space to go around the bad. Cockroaches in the room running at night. The bad sheeting was not replaced for 3 days and we talked to our Apple vacation rep about it, he was not surprised. After we complained, they did one bad but not the second one. Upon ordering the vacation we requested smoke free room but after we arrived we got stinky room for smokers, we were informed that there no non-smoking rooms and they can make this room for non-smokers, they would spray the room. They gave us another room of course for smokers. 3. Health club? Need to go to different hotel. 2. Restaurants: The tablecloths were not replaced for days. They were new one day in the morning for 30 minutes. After that when we got to the table the waiters push to the floor all left over food with bare hands, all the spills were on the tablecloth for days. Most of the soda machines did not work, only water was running from soda machines as well you were lucky if you would get a hot tea, the machines were always out of order. Waiters were shouting to each other, showing no respect to customers, I heard them laughing from bad tricks they did to some customers. One time after the restaurant closed I was passing thru and I saw a busboy dumping a dirty cloth to the ice spoon bin with water to soak the dirty cloth to clean the restaurant. 3. Beach They have very nice beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Dec 4, 2009

WORST wedding/honeymoon I could imagine!

I had booked the package for my wedding/honeymoon and I had heard many good things about this resort and the reviews didn't look bad at all. When I arrived on Monday, November 9th, 2009, I was expecting the best, what I got was anything but!My fiancee and I were placed in a regular room at the Bambu (although the high end wedding package entitled us to a free room upgrade if available) at first since the front desk guy, [...], said there weren't any junior suites available for at least a couple of days. Not a big deal I thought, we can wait a day or two since we're here for another week after the wedding (11/14/09). The next morning[...] tells us that there is a jr suite JUST made available, anyone else think this sounds suspicious? We pack up everything (wedding gown, tux, favors, etc) and we lug all our stuff (thanks resort staff for not lending a hand at all!) to the "newly available" room. At first it was really nice and clean albeit a little warm. We had 37 guests staying at the Bambu for our wedding and the resort staff knew about this since we told them when checking in and I had tipped [...] generously and ahead of time for any help with letting our friends and family know where we were and letting us know where they were.The first night in the jr suite was little humid and nowhere near as cool as the other room so I tell [...] the next morning if there's anything he can do about it. He calls an "engineer" on his walkie and says it'll be taken care of and gives me some logic that because the room is bigger than a normal room, the a/c cannot fill the whole room as well. Where's the logic in that?? Why wouldn't you account for the bigger room when you build it and put in an a/c unit??! I figured out that the a/c unit was actually broken/not functioning at all because I started noticing there wasn't a compressor sound humming at any time in the ceiling where the a/c unit is whereas our previous room had a light humming any time the a/c was on. The a/c shuts off automatically anytime the room door or terrace door is open and turns back on when the doors are closed. After a few more days of our wedding attire smelling like mildew and complaints every morning and evening to the front desk about the a/c actually being broken and having them tell us "we'll send an engineer to check it out", [...] says he can put us back in a regular room if we'd like because there are no other jr suites available, lie #2! The other jr suite next to us just vacated in the morning and it SURE felt cold peeking into the room when the cleaning lady went in to tidy up! So why couldn't we move across the hall into that jr suite? Who knows...After the wedding, my wife and I were, sadly, getting used to going to sleep with just the terrace door open and ceiling fan on circulating at least SOME air since we can't get them to fix the a/c or allow us to move into the other VACANT and COLD jr suite. We spent another miserable 5 days after our wedding in that room and could not WAIT to go home. It took us another week after getting back home to finally get the mildew smell out of our clothes and really start our marriage. Our friends and family that stayed there also had pretty mediocre opinions of the resort and the facilities and staff after the weekend, but at least they had a/c in their rooms! If you're going to go to Riu Bambu for your wedding/honeymoon, DON'T! Save yourself the time and grief and money and go somewhere with consistent and great reviews! Avoid Riu Bambu unless you enjoy sweating at night and having your wedding/honeymoon/vacation memories be of mildew smells and rude resort staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't go to or stay at the Riu Bambu and you'll have saved a LOT of money! My wife and I could have saved $1,000+ had we known the facilities and staff were like this!

Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
rushdi
nj
Sep 7, 2013

This place sucks

First of all I took my wife and two kids and my sister and they gave us a family room that's what they call it 2double beds and a pull out couch the room was so old and the ac blew mildew into the room we all where coughing all nite for 10 days the food sucks the service was so slow and if u don't tip at the bars the next time u come up got a drink they will act like the don't see u the men that work there are all perverts flirting really bad with all the woman no room service so if u get hungry after 10 u have to go to the sports bar that has burger and hotdogs u have to warm up your self so nasty . The only thing that was nice was the beach . Don't stay here !!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
Nov 20, 2009

Stay away and go the palace instead

It suppose to be all inclusive but they didn't bother restocking my mini fridge for three days even tho I asked them too each day. The phone in my room didn't work and they didn't bother to fix it for the 7 days I was there. They lost my laundry and didn't find it until 2 days later. I spent $120 on fake cuban cigars that they sold in the lobby, and that was after I asked the staff it they were real and they said yes. I hated the staff there. The only good thing was the cleaning lady who did a great job each morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Katherine
Washington, DC
May 3, 2012

Below Par

The food needs to step up its game and the service could be better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Papa from NY
New York, NY, USA
Apr 6, 2013

Very average resort with very unfriendly staff

I have been to couple of different 3-4star resorts in Punta Cana, but this was by far the worst resort out of all of them. I am not very demending, but food was very bad and service at the restaurant almost non-existing. Negatives: - food at the buffet was almost the same every day - reservations to the specialty restaurants (ie steakhouse, Mexican, Japanese etc) were very hard to book. No tables were usually available after 7:30am. I think the restaurants were so "over subscribed" because food at the Buffet was very bad. - at breakfast bacon was always gone by 7:30am - to some this might not be a big deal, but to me it showed that the resort did not care to provide a basic part of a regular breakfast - service at the buffet was very bad. They simply did not have enough servers for serving water-beer-wine-coffee etc. - there were no servers around the pool or the beach. If you sat at the beach, the pool on the side or by the kids pool (we were with small kids) it was a trip to the bar. If you have no kids or the kids are older this might not be an issue as you may choose to be at the main pool right by the bar. - towels at at pool were dirty most of the time Positives + the beach is very nice with lots of palm trees (but this is nothing special in Punta Cana) + the kids pool is ok. It's better than none but it's small so it gets crowded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Pick Dolphin Explorer over Monti Park if you want to swim with dolphins

Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Big Tall Todd
Indiana
Jun 26, 2013

Sub-par experience!!

This is by far the lowest quality resort of the 5 that were on the grounds in Punta Cana. The rooms are small and uncomfortable, beds are small, mattresses are thin and housekeeping did a poor job at cleaning on a daily basis. First day of trip, we found a cockroach in the room and lizards are prevalent and usually find their way into the rooms. Food quality at the daily buffets and available restaurants is sub-par or below average at best and the drinks are poorly made at the bars. Also, no poolside bar service is provided and no service is on the beach, one of the few resorts that does not provide that service. Amenities are lacking, the pool was dirty on most days and the overall entertainment quality is lacking from the poolside daily entertainment to the nighttime shows. As always, nightly vendors are pushy and disrespectful and as always shop pricing is way to high!! The deep sea fishing excursion was a disaster; however, not the fault of the hotel, although they HIGHLY recommended it! I would not recommend this resort and will definitely not be going back; however, trying a different Riu resort there may be possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
Nov 20, 2009

Stay away and go the palace instead

It suppose to be all inclusive but they didn't bother restocking my mini fridge for three days even tho I asked them too each day. The phone in my room didn't work and they didn't bother to fix it for the 7 days I was there. They lost my laundry and didn't find it until 2 days later. I spent $120 on fake cuban cigars that they sold in the lobby, and that was after I asked the staff it they were real and they said yes. I hated the staff there. The only good thing was the cleaning lady who did a great job each morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Liz Beth
Long Beach, IN.
Jan 2, 2013

So-So

Food was sub-par. Staff was ok - nothing special. Beach was fantastically beautiful. Only reason to be there! Would investigate other hotels before booking here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top