$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

Riu Bambu All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
50 reviews
Love the Riu Bambu

Great beach and great vacation, 7th trip at same resort. I will only go to the Bambu. Love the... See full review

  • Michele M.
  • Aug 1, 2015
Memorable

The hotel was quaint and had all the amenities one needs. The staff is what made the stay... See full review

  • Ramon P.
  • Jul 22, 2015
Surrounded by lush gardens, Riu Bambu All Inclusive sits oceanfront at the lovely Playa Arena Gorda in Bavaro, Punta Cana. Guests enjoy all-inclusive activities such as windsurfing, snorkeling, tennis, a fitness center, swimming pools and water polo. The hotel also features several restaurants and bars, plus offers access to most of the bars at Riu Resort and the Riu Palace Macao Casino.
Location
Riu Bambu overlooks Playa Arena Gorda in Bavaro, Punta Cana. Located in La Altagracia, the easternmost province of the Dominican Republic, the Punta Cana area is legendary for a sunny climate, miles of picture-perfect beaches, golfing, historic sites, nature preserves and upscale resorts.
Dining
Guests at Riu Bambu enjoy all-inclusive dining, with a full American breakfast buffet plus continental service. Buffet dining is available at Colonial, Italian cuisine at San Angelo and Asian dining at Hibachi. Snacks are on the house at all hours. The hotel offers several bars, including a swim-up bar. Guests are welcome to unlimited alcoholic and nonalcoholic drinks at most bars within Riu Resort.
Rooms
Riu Bambu features 560 graceful guest rooms, including double rooms, suites and family rooms. All include air conditioning, ceiling fan, minibar, liquor dispenser, satellite television, safe, balcony or patio, iron/ironing board, hair-dryer and radio alarm clock. Suites offer extra space with a living room area, while family rooms include a sofa bed and even more space to spread out.
Highlights
  • Drop off the kids at the RiuLand kids club, a safe and fun hangout for young ones
  • Swim up to the bar at La Arena, one of the several bars and lounges at Riu Bambu
  • Enjoy a range of ocean sports such as windsurfing and sailing -- many without extra fees
Nearby attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (17.8 mi/28.6 km)
  • Basilica de Higuey (24.7 mi/39.7 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (46.2 mi/74.4 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (57.8 mi/93 km)
  • Santo Domingo (126 mi/202 km)
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (16.4 mi/26.4 km)
Recreation
Riu Bambu features all-inclusive activities such as water polo, tennis, windsurfing, sailing, snorkeling and nightclubbing. Additional activities (fees apply) include selected ocean sports and golf.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Bambu All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Riu Bambu All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Room
Modern and new decoration style, air conditioning,ceiling fan, two double beds, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace. Free WiFi available in the room
Family Room
Features air conditioning, ceiling fan, two double beds, separate living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower,double-sink, hairdryer and amenities kit. Terrace.
Junior Suite
Features air conditioning, ceiling fan, two double beds, separate living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, bidet, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
Double Room
Features air conditioning, ceiling fan, two double beds, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Barber/Beauty shop
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Colonial
Main restaurant offering a grand array of buffet style dining, and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week.
Mama Juana
Beach bar
Mama Juana
Beach snack bar and restaurant during the day. For dinner Steakhouse and Italian a la carte restaurant. Reservations required.
La Arena
Pool and swim up bar
La Plaza
Pavillion bar.
Caribe Grill
Enjoy theme dining only at this tropical grill restaurant.
Azucar
Lounge bar
La Pizzeria
On the Caribbean street, and excellent option for pizza.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
11:00 AM
Check-out:
3:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 50
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2.4
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3

29% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jun 17, 2007

Great Hotel

I was very impressed with the Riu Bambu hotel. Everything was wonderful from beginning to end. The drinks, food, rooms, and staff were all great and the property was in a fantastic location. I would recommend the hotel to anyone interested in going to Punta Cana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Great Safaris and excursions are only 20 minutes away.

Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Dec 20, 2008

Sunshine and Warmth

This hotel was very good for the price we paid. There were countless food options, the pool was clean and warm, the employees were friendly and responsive to requests and the beach was just perfect. Four Riu properties are linked and you can go between them which we liked very much. The only bad thing I can say about this property is that the pillows are terrible and the bed is hard. Blankets from the front desk solved both problems! We had a great time and will return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Veronika from Chicago
Business
Riu Bambu, Punta Cana Dom Republic
Dec 26, 2012

Needs customer service attention

I have experienced one outragious situation with staff- rude behavior at the towel counter. The staff needs to be trained to be more attentive to the needs of guests. The quality and variety of food was much below expected. It is a 5 star resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Teachrchic
Business
Long Island, NY
May 24, 2009

ENH.....

Went with a friend on a last minute vacation. we recently stayed in puerto plata, DR @ the riu Bachata. bc of this, we were all about comparing the two. *The beach is stunning- powdery white sand and crystal clear tourquois water. * staff did not particularly seem to go out of their way to help you (i.e. it rained a lot when we were there.... our room umbrella magically diassappeared. when we asked for a replacement we were told "probobly tomorrow youll get one..." ok... *make sure to get your butt up early to get beach/pool towels, they run out early. really? its a beach front hotel, why do you only have the bare minimum of towels? when i went to inquire about this to the front desk, they took their sweet time finding me a towel and seemed annoyed that i asked (i am NOT a pushy complainer by any means) * the food is edible......we lived on salad,pizza and french fries....no food after 10oclock, sucks for when youre starving after a night of drinking! *in order to eat at a "restaurant" (closed off area of the daily snack bar) make sure you get up to make your reservation between 7-10 am.....we chose to sleep, since we were on vacation *teeny tiny ants in the rooms * front desk called and woke us up at 8am on our second day there, to ask us about how we were getting to the airport....5 days later

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

not much to do at night. the club sucks. the hotel bars seemed to close early (clearly not open until 7 am as they state they are). europeans stuck together with europenas. every english speaking person we found we latched onto, as they did to us

Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
David S.
Business
N/A
Jul 5, 2015

Will never stay in a Riu resort again

This is my first experience with Riu, and will certainly be my last. The staff made the entire group of 30 people I travel with annually feel as if we were an annoyance. Well we will not be annoying them again. I heard the Palladium was a much better experience, but I haven't been there myself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Nov 20, 2009

Stay away and go the palace instead

It suppose to be all inclusive but they didn't bother restocking my mini fridge for three days even tho I asked them too each day. The phone in my room didn't work and they didn't bother to fix it for the 7 days I was there. They lost my laundry and didn't find it until 2 days later. I spent $120 on fake cuban cigars that they sold in the lobby, and that was after I asked the staff it they were real and they said yes. I hated the staff there. The only good thing was the cleaning lady who did a great job each morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jan K
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Not good

I would spend the extra money and go someplace else. this was below average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top