$154 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 1, 2014 Check-out: May 4, 2014

Riu Bambu All Inclusive

3 stars
Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
40 reviews
Great experience

My only complaint would be about the food. We tried the Hibachi and Mexican restaurants, both of... See full review

  • Brian Bentrup
  • May 28, 2013
Perfect vacation

Perfect place to stay for vacation. Stuff friendly and useful. Enjoyed staying in Riu hotels every... See full review

  • Pookh007
  • Jan 19, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana beach hotel with access to resort amenities
Surrounded by lush gardens, Riu Bambu All Inclusive sits oceanfront at the lovely Playa Arena Gorda in Bavaro, Punta Cana. Guests enjoy all-inclusive activities such as windsurfing, snorkeling, tennis, a fitness center, swimming pools and water polo. The hotel also features several restaurants and bars, plus offers access to most of the bars at Riu Resort and the Riu Palace Macao Casino.
Highlights
  • Drop off the kids at the RiuLand kids club, a safe and fun hangout for young ones
  • Swim up to the bar at La Arena, one of the several bars and lounges at Riu Bambu
  • Enjoy a range of ocean sports such as windsurfing and sailing -- many without extra fees
Location
Riu Bambu overlooks Playa Arena Gorda in Bavaro, Punta Cana. Located in La Altagracia, the easternmost province of the Dominican Republic, the Punta Cana area is legendary for a sunny climate, miles of picture-perfect beaches, golfing, historic sites, nature preserves and upscale resorts.
Rooms
Riu Bambu features 560 graceful guest rooms, including double rooms, suites and family rooms. All include air conditioning, ceiling fan, minibar, liquor dispenser, satellite television, safe, balcony or patio, iron/ironing board, hair-dryer and radio alarm clock. Suites offer extra space with a living room area, while family rooms include a sofa bed and even more space to spread out.
Dining
Guests at Riu Bambu enjoy all-inclusive dining, with a full American breakfast buffet plus continental service. Buffet dining is available at Colonial, Italian cuisine at San Angelo and Asian dining at Hibachi. Snacks are on the house at all hours. The hotel offers several bars, including a swim-up bar. Guests are welcome to unlimited alcoholic and nonalcoholic drinks at most bars within Riu Resort.
Recreation
Riu Bambu features all-inclusive activities such as water polo, tennis, windsurfing, sailing, snorkeling and nightclubbing. Additional activities (fees apply) include selected ocean sports and golf.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (16.4 mi/26.4 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (17.8 mi/28.6 km)
  • Basilica de Higuey (24.7 mi/39.7 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (46.2 mi/74.4 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (57.8 mi/93 km)
  • Santo Domingo (126 mi/202 km)

Riu Bambu All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Room
Modern and new decoration style, air conditioning,ceiling fan, two double beds, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace. Free WiFi available in the room
Family Room
Features air conditioning, ceiling fan, two double beds, separate living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower,double-sink, hairdryer and amenities kit. Terrace.
Junior Suite
Features air conditioning, ceiling fan, two double beds, separate living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, bidet, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
Double Room
Features air conditioning, ceiling fan, two double beds, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Barber/Beauty shop
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Bambu All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.722 -68.4577
Area served
Punta Cana, 50 km / 31 miles to Higey. Dominican Republic.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana Int'l. Airport
Area description
Some 45 minutes by car west of the airport, you'll find the small fishing village of Maimon. It's an ideal place to use as base for excursions to the city of Puerto Plata and inland sites.

Dining

Colonial
Main restaurant offering a grand array of buffet style dining, and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week.
Mama Juana
Beach bar
Mama Juana
Beach snack bar and restaurant during the day. For dinner Steakhouse and Italian a la carte restaurant. Reservations required.
La Arena
Pool and swim up bar
La Plaza
Pavillion bar.
Caribe Grill
Enjoy theme dining only at this tropical grill restaurant.
Azucar
Lounge bar
La Pizzeria
On the Caribbean street, and excellent option for pizza.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1100
Check-out:
1500

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Overall score

3.1 / 5
18 out of 40
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.4

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Brian Bentrup
Chicago, IL
May 28, 2013

Great experience

My only complaint would be about the food. We tried the Hibachi and Mexican restaurants, both of which were great. The standard buffet, the Colonial, was alright. The standard pool-side fare at the Mama Juana was nothing special. I heard their steakhouse offerings were fantastic, however. I really wanted to try the Italian San Angelo restaurant because I felt they had the best menu, but they made our reservation for the wrong day. I guess I am partly to blame since I did not double-check the reservation ticket. Otherwise, I have absolutely no complaints. Special props go out to our maid Juana who not only cleaned the room and made interesting animals out of the towels, but even folded my laundry and put it on top of my suitcase! How awesome is that? I have stayed at Naiboa, Macao, and Bavaro (which just opened). Being that Bambu is the second cheapest, I would rate it accordingly by comparison. But even so, it was absolutely stunning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure you book your reservations a couple days in advance instead of waiting until the same day. The popular restaurants like the Mama Juana Steakhouse filled up in a hurry. Sometimes the hotel will let you reserve it 3 days in advance.

Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Label 1
Illinois
Apr 1, 2012

Spring break 2012

The hotel was very authentic! The grounds were well manicured, the lobby was beautiful but the thing that made this hotel so enjoyable was the staff. Especially the pool staff during the day. The food was descent. You could always find something enjoyable to eat. The beds were a littler hard but fine. We enjoyed our time and would go back. Our three children had a great time too! While dining at the restaurants it was obvious that people sometimes make reservations and don't show up for them. If people don't show up they should allow others to fill up those spots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure you go early in the morning to make reservations to eat at the restaurants. It's worth getting up early.

Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Party of five
Washington, DC
Dec 29, 2011

Wonderful Christmas at Riu Bambu

This was our third Riu Hotel and overall we were pleased with it. The rooms were very clean. Like all Riu's, the beds were very firm but we got used to them. One of our rooms smelled a little (I thought mildewy, husband thought the smell was lysol)- but leaving the doors open aired the room out and we slept with the doorsopen each night - enjoying the island breezes. The beach - beautiful and long - always easy to get a chair. The water was glorious! The food - the buffet was bountiful - there was always something for everyone to eat and I am a vegetarian. The Christmas eve dinner was lobster! Everyone enjoyed the drinks! The cons: Despite what we were told, you cannot eat and drink at the adjoining properties. Although the other riu resorts are opulent - we thought the Bambu was the prettiest and most relaxing! My sons (in their twenties) were very disappointed that they had to pay for their drinks at the Pacha nightclub (the Riu disco) !! In Puerta Plata, the wrtistbands got you free drinks there as well. The resort only restocks the minibar every other day - that is fine as far as sodas go but they only give you two bottles of water. Since we were advised not to drink the tap water, we felt we didn't have enough water to drink in our rooms. They only gave 2 bottles for the room that had 3 paying guests too. Don't bother with standing in line for the "specialty restaurants"! We always ended up stopping by the buffet afterwards to get something else to eat. This has been the case at all three Riu's we've been to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the surfing lessons at the Macao Surf Camp! They were fabulous. Great beach, great instructors! My 61 year old husband got up on his board and surfed! The highlight of his trip! Don't miss this excursion! You can contact them at macaosurfcamp@gmail.com

Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
rmclean
Albany, NY
Aug 5, 2012

Excellent family vacation

RIU Bambu was an excellent overall vacation. Beach, weather, hotel pools are outstanding. Much of the resort is open air and great ambiance! The staff are very friendly and helpful and plan tons of activities for guests: beach volleyball, ping pong tournies, bingo, water polo, water volleyball, etc. Something for everyone. We liked the buffet the best over the speciaty restaurants - food is good, not great. Our room was smaller and lower quality than we hoped. I would recommend this place! Snorkeling excursion, swim with Dolphins, and ziplining were great and well worth it if you have the $.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
KC Family
Kansas City
Jun 9, 2012

Family Experience

We spent 6 nights with our two teenagers and another family with teenagers. The Beech and Palm trees were great. Rooms were small but very clean. Food was OK. Staff was OK. Great place for teenagers and parents. We had a great time with plenty of activites. .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring your own mugs/glasses with lids. This is a must.

Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Samuel
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Aug 3, 2011

Good hotel!!!! Nice facilities

It was a good. Nice hotel. The personel it was nice. The food was great. The beach it was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Pookh007
New York, NY
Jan 19, 2014

Perfect vacation

Perfect place to stay for vacation. Stuff friendly and useful. Enjoyed staying in Riu hotels every time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
staten island,ny
Aug 25, 2009

RIU Macao

Our original booking was RIU Bambu. They stated that they upgraded us to RIU Macao because Bambu was overbooked. This might have been a good thing except that we were given rooms in the back on the top floor. The air conditioning did not work, the phone was out and the TV reception was horrible without all channels. So, they acted like they were doing us a favor but we got the worst room. The reception desk was not very sympathetic and stated that he was doing the best he could. We requested to be put in Bambu or get a better room. They showed us another room that had the same problem with the air conditioning. We were finally given another set of rooms on the first floor with somewhat better air conditioning but not great. We didn't get settled in until 8:00p.m. losing our first day and being totally aggravated. We stayed at Macao because we didn't want to waste any more time trying to get a room the next day. The reception supervisor was apologetic but he blamed Coco Tours and Orbitz for our problems. We won't stay at RIU hotels any longer due to this experience. The Hotel itself was beautiful but we have stayed at more modern hotels prior to this that have given us very good rooms with huge beautiful pools and grounds with the same rating for same amount of money or less.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
mics099
macomb, MI
Apr 20, 2012

The Most beautiful beach I have ever seen!!

This hotel has ordinary amenites, what really makes it stand out is the staff and the location. Give me a clean room and helpful staff and a beautiful location and i am happy. What everyone has to remember that there is not a lot to do outside the resort....this is a developing country, this is not Playa del Carmen Mexico!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
Guest111
New Jersey, USA
Nov 24, 2011

Got what I paid for

Nothing special, it is OK but not more. Proc: stuff, I've never been waiting, all requests were handled immediately. Cons: all amentities are ordinary, no animals on site (we expected to see some as described for other hotels but nothing in this one)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top