$297 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 22, 2015 Check-out: Jan 25, 2015

Riu Bambu All Inclusive

3 stars
Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
49 reviews
Great family vacation

Wonderful staff , clean rooms and good food! Great for kids. See full review

  • Good old dad
  • Nov 21, 2014
two peens two nuts

Very nice resort for the money. Food was great with large selection. Service friendly. Beautiful... See full review

  • SandR
  • Sep 26, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana beach hotel with access to resort amenities
Surrounded by lush gardens, Riu Bambu All Inclusive sits oceanfront at the lovely Playa Arena Gorda in Bavaro, Punta Cana. Guests enjoy all-inclusive activities such as windsurfing, snorkeling, tennis, a fitness center, swimming pools and water polo. The hotel also features several restaurants and bars, plus offers access to most of the bars at Riu Resort and the Riu Palace Macao Casino.
Highlights
  • Drop off the kids at the RiuLand kids club, a safe and fun hangout for young ones
  • Swim up to the bar at La Arena, one of the several bars and lounges at Riu Bambu
  • Enjoy a range of ocean sports such as windsurfing and sailing -- many without extra fees
Location
Riu Bambu overlooks Playa Arena Gorda in Bavaro, Punta Cana. Located in La Altagracia, the easternmost province of the Dominican Republic, the Punta Cana area is legendary for a sunny climate, miles of picture-perfect beaches, golfing, historic sites, nature preserves and upscale resorts.
Rooms
Riu Bambu features 560 graceful guest rooms, including double rooms, suites and family rooms. All include air conditioning, ceiling fan, minibar, liquor dispenser, satellite television, safe, balcony or patio, iron/ironing board, hair-dryer and radio alarm clock. Suites offer extra space with a living room area, while family rooms include a sofa bed and even more space to spread out.
Dining
Guests at Riu Bambu enjoy all-inclusive dining, with a full American breakfast buffet plus continental service. Buffet dining is available at Colonial, Italian cuisine at San Angelo and Asian dining at Hibachi. Snacks are on the house at all hours. The hotel offers several bars, including a swim-up bar. Guests are welcome to unlimited alcoholic and nonalcoholic drinks at most bars within Riu Resort.
Recreation
Riu Bambu features all-inclusive activities such as water polo, tennis, windsurfing, sailing, snorkeling and nightclubbing. Additional activities (fees apply) include selected ocean sports and golf.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (16.4 mi/26.4 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (17.8 mi/28.6 km)
  • Basilica de Higuey (24.7 mi/39.7 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (46.2 mi/74.4 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (57.8 mi/93 km)
  • Santo Domingo (126 mi/202 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Bambu All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Riu Bambu All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Room
Modern and new decoration style, air conditioning,ceiling fan, two double beds, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace. Free WiFi available in the room
Family Room
Features air conditioning, ceiling fan, two double beds, separate living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower,double-sink, hairdryer and amenities kit. Terrace.
Junior Suite
Features air conditioning, ceiling fan, two double beds, separate living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, bidet, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
Double Room
Features air conditioning, ceiling fan, two double beds, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Barber/Beauty shop
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Colonial
Main restaurant offering a grand array of buffet style dining, and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week.
Mama Juana
Beach bar
Mama Juana
Beach snack bar and restaurant during the day. For dinner Steakhouse and Italian a la carte restaurant. Reservations required.
La Arena
Pool and swim up bar
La Plaza
Pavillion bar.
Caribe Grill
Enjoy theme dining only at this tropical grill restaurant.
Azucar
Lounge bar
La Pizzeria
On the Caribbean street, and excellent option for pizza.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1100
Check-out:
1500

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pat Traveler
Business
Mississippi
Jul 9, 2012

People are wonderful

They have one of the best beaches. The rooms all have two double beds, and are always clean. They do need to get new mattress's, the beds are hard. We have been going there since the year 2000, we think the staff makes a difference in the way you are treated. The staff couldn't be any better. You can sign up for the different water sports at the hotel. The buffet is very good, they have 3 restaurants that are very good. They have 2 pools one with seats and one with a bar. They were building another pool when we were there it is suppose to open end of July. They are also building another restaurant. Last year we took our grandaughter and she had a great time. (age 11)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
meen
Business
NYC
Jul 26, 2012

Riu Bambu

Went there with my family for a few days. Food was okay, and no more than ok! The hotel in general was a nice getaway on the beach to spend a few days. Beach had plenty of seaweeds though! Pools were nice. Construction work at the hotel was NOT nice! Internet was only available in the lobby area and connection was VERY bad! One more thing, the hotel is not really located in Punta Cana. It is in Bavaro! This was a surprise to us as we thought we were in Punta Cana, based on our booking!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MJIA
Business
Iowa
Jun 11, 2012

Fun! Fun!

If you like to have fun, this is a great resort. Animation crew does a fantastic job. We have traveled to lots of places and their beach is the best we have ever been to. The resort is kept spotless. Food is fine but not fantastic. We had no regrets choosing the Riu Bambu

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bren74
Business
dracut, ma
Sep 17, 2012

honeymoon

The resort in itself was beautiful. We thought the rooms were small and especially the bathrooms. Everything was right on top of each other. There was also alot of bugs in the room. The pools were absolutely beautiful and we did enjoy them very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Veronika from Chicago
Business
Riu Bambu, Punta Cana Dom Republic
Dec 26, 2012

Needs customer service attention

I have experienced one outragious situation with staff- rude behavior at the towel counter. The staff needs to be trained to be more attentive to the needs of guests. The quality and variety of food was much below expected. It is a 5 star resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brooklyn knight
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Apr 21, 2014

Average stay.

The entertainment is hilarious. The pool parties were good. The Disco plays good music. Besides that it's an average hotel. The food is ok. The steak at the steakhouse was the only really good food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The Cave aka Imagine

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London, England
Dec 19, 2010

Pleasantly surprised

Hotel refurbishment was quite good, always hot water in the shower, shower screens on patio which is the first hotel in this area that i've ever seen them on. Breakfast buffet excellent, lunch buffet disappointing and not much variation for the evening buffet, didn't try the speciality restaurants but in our experience, normally not worth it. Pool area quite cramped with sunbeds but beach well stocked with beds and plenty of room. If you can get a good price to stay here, you shouldn't be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice independant restauant next to the palace hotel which does lobster and a beer for 20 US

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monroeville, Pa.
Dec 23, 2010

Nice for the price

Staff great! Food poor! Weather great! Hotel good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Teachrchic
Business
Long Island, NY
May 24, 2009

ENH.....

Went with a friend on a last minute vacation. we recently stayed in puerto plata, DR @ the riu Bachata. bc of this, we were all about comparing the two. *The beach is stunning- powdery white sand and crystal clear tourquois water. * staff did not particularly seem to go out of their way to help you (i.e. it rained a lot when we were there.... our room umbrella magically diassappeared. when we asked for a replacement we were told "probobly tomorrow youll get one..." ok... *make sure to get your butt up early to get beach/pool towels, they run out early. really? its a beach front hotel, why do you only have the bare minimum of towels? when i went to inquire about this to the front desk, they took their sweet time finding me a towel and seemed annoyed that i asked (i am NOT a pushy complainer by any means) * the food is edible......we lived on salad,pizza and french fries....no food after 10oclock, sucks for when youre starving after a night of drinking! *in order to eat at a "restaurant" (closed off area of the daily snack bar) make sure you get up to make your reservation between 7-10 am.....we chose to sleep, since we were on vacation *teeny tiny ants in the rooms * front desk called and woke us up at 8am on our second day there, to ask us about how we were getting to the airport....5 days later

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

not much to do at night. the club sucks. the hotel bars seemed to close early (clearly not open until 7 am as they state they are). europeans stuck together with europenas. every english speaking person we found we latched onto, as they did to us

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
staten island,ny
Aug 25, 2009

RIU Macao

Our original booking was RIU Bambu. They stated that they upgraded us to RIU Macao because Bambu was overbooked. This might have been a good thing except that we were given rooms in the back on the top floor. The air conditioning did not work, the phone was out and the TV reception was horrible without all channels. So, they acted like they were doing us a favor but we got the worst room. The reception desk was not very sympathetic and stated that he was doing the best he could. We requested to be put in Bambu or get a better room. They showed us another room that had the same problem with the air conditioning. We were finally given another set of rooms on the first floor with somewhat better air conditioning but not great. We didn't get settled in until 8:00p.m. losing our first day and being totally aggravated. We stayed at Macao because we didn't want to waste any more time trying to get a room the next day. The reception supervisor was apologetic but he blamed Coco Tours and Orbitz for our problems. We won't stay at RIU hotels any longer due to this experience. The Hotel itself was beautiful but we have stayed at more modern hotels prior to this that have given us very good rooms with huge beautiful pools and grounds with the same rating for same amount of money or less.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top