$297 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 22, 2015 Check-out: Jan 25, 2015

Riu Bambu All Inclusive

3 stars
Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
49 reviews
Great family vacation

Wonderful staff , clean rooms and good food! Great for kids. See full review

  • Good old dad
  • Nov 21, 2014
two peens two nuts

Very nice resort for the money. Food was great with large selection. Service friendly. Beautiful... See full review

  • SandR
  • Sep 26, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana beach hotel with access to resort amenities
Surrounded by lush gardens, Riu Bambu All Inclusive sits oceanfront at the lovely Playa Arena Gorda in Bavaro, Punta Cana. Guests enjoy all-inclusive activities such as windsurfing, snorkeling, tennis, a fitness center, swimming pools and water polo. The hotel also features several restaurants and bars, plus offers access to most of the bars at Riu Resort and the Riu Palace Macao Casino.
Highlights
  • Drop off the kids at the RiuLand kids club, a safe and fun hangout for young ones
  • Swim up to the bar at La Arena, one of the several bars and lounges at Riu Bambu
  • Enjoy a range of ocean sports such as windsurfing and sailing -- many without extra fees
Location
Riu Bambu overlooks Playa Arena Gorda in Bavaro, Punta Cana. Located in La Altagracia, the easternmost province of the Dominican Republic, the Punta Cana area is legendary for a sunny climate, miles of picture-perfect beaches, golfing, historic sites, nature preserves and upscale resorts.
Rooms
Riu Bambu features 560 graceful guest rooms, including double rooms, suites and family rooms. All include air conditioning, ceiling fan, minibar, liquor dispenser, satellite television, safe, balcony or patio, iron/ironing board, hair-dryer and radio alarm clock. Suites offer extra space with a living room area, while family rooms include a sofa bed and even more space to spread out.
Dining
Guests at Riu Bambu enjoy all-inclusive dining, with a full American breakfast buffet plus continental service. Buffet dining is available at Colonial, Italian cuisine at San Angelo and Asian dining at Hibachi. Snacks are on the house at all hours. The hotel offers several bars, including a swim-up bar. Guests are welcome to unlimited alcoholic and nonalcoholic drinks at most bars within Riu Resort.
Recreation
Riu Bambu features all-inclusive activities such as water polo, tennis, windsurfing, sailing, snorkeling and nightclubbing. Additional activities (fees apply) include selected ocean sports and golf.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (16.4 mi/26.4 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (17.8 mi/28.6 km)
  • Basilica de Higuey (24.7 mi/39.7 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (46.2 mi/74.4 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (57.8 mi/93 km)
  • Santo Domingo (126 mi/202 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Bambu All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Riu Bambu All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Room
Modern and new decoration style, air conditioning,ceiling fan, two double beds, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace. Free WiFi available in the room
Family Room
Features air conditioning, ceiling fan, two double beds, separate living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower,double-sink, hairdryer and amenities kit. Terrace.
Junior Suite
Features air conditioning, ceiling fan, two double beds, separate living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, bidet, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
Double Room
Features air conditioning, ceiling fan, two double beds, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Barber/Beauty shop
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Colonial
Main restaurant offering a grand array of buffet style dining, and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week.
Mama Juana
Beach bar
Mama Juana
Beach snack bar and restaurant during the day. For dinner Steakhouse and Italian a la carte restaurant. Reservations required.
La Arena
Pool and swim up bar
La Plaza
Pavillion bar.
Caribe Grill
Enjoy theme dining only at this tropical grill restaurant.
Azucar
Lounge bar
La Pizzeria
On the Caribbean street, and excellent option for pizza.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1100
Check-out:
1500

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
raulin
Business
Maryland, USA
Aug 31, 2011

alm,ost perfec

people need to share sone tips to workers fabuloso

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lime D
Business
Canada
Jan 7, 2012

Great family getaway

We had a great time at the hotel. The staff went out of their way to make our stay a comfortable one. The food was okay, no one starved. We really enjoyed the Italian restaurant. Entertainment was good. We would definately go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Surprised Couple
Business
Upstate New York
Apr 22, 2012

Fantastic Getaway worth the money

Entertainment staff was excellent. Made trip alot of fun.. Very Family oriented. Lush grounds. Wide variiety of food. Excellent Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brian Bentrup
Business
Chicago, IL
May 28, 2013

Great experience

My only complaint would be about the food. We tried the Hibachi and Mexican restaurants, both of which were great. The standard buffet, the Colonial, was alright. The standard pool-side fare at the Mama Juana was nothing special. I heard their steakhouse offerings were fantastic, however. I really wanted to try the Italian San Angelo restaurant because I felt they had the best menu, but they made our reservation for the wrong day. I guess I am partly to blame since I did not double-check the reservation ticket. Otherwise, I have absolutely no complaints. Special props go out to our maid Juana who not only cleaned the room and made interesting animals out of the towels, but even folded my laundry and put it on top of my suitcase! How awesome is that? I have stayed at Naiboa, Macao, and Bavaro (which just opened). Being that Bambu is the second cheapest, I would rate it accordingly by comparison. But even so, it was absolutely stunning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure you book your reservations a couple days in advance instead of waiting until the same day. The popular restaurants like the Mama Juana Steakhouse filled up in a hurry. Sometimes the hotel will let you reserve it 3 days in advance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Dec 10, 2007

outstanding food

The RUI Bambu has great service and outstanding food. The room was more like a motel than a hotel with very uncomfortable beds. The only drawback is that is not advisable to check out the local areas outside the hotel unless you go on one of the many tours offered for a price. The casino was the most unprofessional one I have ever seen and we only stayed about 15 minutes. If you are going away for R & R this is the place for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

There is really nothing to see or do in the nearby areas of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jun 17, 2007

Great Hotel

I was very impressed with the Riu Bambu hotel. Everything was wonderful from beginning to end. The drinks, food, rooms, and staff were all great and the property was in a fantastic location. I would recommend the hotel to anyone interested in going to Punta Cana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Great Safaris and excursions are only 20 minutes away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Mar 15, 2008

Family friendly resort

Very family oriented resort but there is a lot to do as a couple. We pretty much relaxed on the beach every day.We took some daily trips outside of the resort (the are OK but not as described in a booklet, I would think twice next time before booking another day trip if it is worth the money). Staff is very friendly and helpfull, large food selection every day, rooms are OK, outside upkeep is great, people work all the time there. Loved the resort, would go back anytime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you want A la carte dinner you have to make your reservation at 7am that day, do not wait because it gets booked very fast. Dinner in colonial diner was very good, large selection every day, theme dinners offered every day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Good old dad
Business
Michigan
Nov 21, 2014

Great family vacation

Wonderful staff , clean rooms and good food! Great for kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Samuel
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Aug 3, 2011

Good hotel!!!! Nice facilities

It was a good. Nice hotel. The personel it was nice. The food was great. The beach it was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Party of five
Business
Washington, DC
Dec 29, 2011

Wonderful Christmas at Riu Bambu

This was our third Riu Hotel and overall we were pleased with it. The rooms were very clean. Like all Riu's, the beds were very firm but we got used to them. One of our rooms smelled a little (I thought mildewy, husband thought the smell was lysol)- but leaving the doors open aired the room out and we slept with the doorsopen each night - enjoying the island breezes. The beach - beautiful and long - always easy to get a chair. The water was glorious! The food - the buffet was bountiful - there was always something for everyone to eat and I am a vegetarian. The Christmas eve dinner was lobster! Everyone enjoyed the drinks! The cons: Despite what we were told, you cannot eat and drink at the adjoining properties. Although the other riu resorts are opulent - we thought the Bambu was the prettiest and most relaxing! My sons (in their twenties) were very disappointed that they had to pay for their drinks at the Pacha nightclub (the Riu disco) !! In Puerta Plata, the wrtistbands got you free drinks there as well. The resort only restocks the minibar every other day - that is fine as far as sodas go but they only give you two bottles of water. Since we were advised not to drink the tap water, we felt we didn't have enough water to drink in our rooms. They only gave 2 bottles for the room that had 3 paying guests too. Don't bother with standing in line for the "specialty restaurants"! We always ended up stopping by the buffet afterwards to get something else to eat. This has been the case at all three Riu's we've been to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the surfing lessons at the Macao Surf Camp! They were fabulous. Great beach, great instructors! My 61 year old husband got up on his board and surfed! The highlight of his trip! Don't miss this excursion! You can contact them at macaosurfcamp@gmail.com

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top