$297 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 22, 2015 Check-out: Jan 25, 2015

Riu Bambu All Inclusive

3 stars
Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
49 reviews
Great family vacation

Wonderful staff , clean rooms and good food! Great for kids. See full review

  • Good old dad
  • Nov 21, 2014
two peens two nuts

Very nice resort for the money. Food was great with large selection. Service friendly. Beautiful... See full review

  • SandR
  • Sep 26, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana beach hotel with access to resort amenities
Surrounded by lush gardens, Riu Bambu All Inclusive sits oceanfront at the lovely Playa Arena Gorda in Bavaro, Punta Cana. Guests enjoy all-inclusive activities such as windsurfing, snorkeling, tennis, a fitness center, swimming pools and water polo. The hotel also features several restaurants and bars, plus offers access to most of the bars at Riu Resort and the Riu Palace Macao Casino.
Highlights
  • Drop off the kids at the RiuLand kids club, a safe and fun hangout for young ones
  • Swim up to the bar at La Arena, one of the several bars and lounges at Riu Bambu
  • Enjoy a range of ocean sports such as windsurfing and sailing -- many without extra fees
Location
Riu Bambu overlooks Playa Arena Gorda in Bavaro, Punta Cana. Located in La Altagracia, the easternmost province of the Dominican Republic, the Punta Cana area is legendary for a sunny climate, miles of picture-perfect beaches, golfing, historic sites, nature preserves and upscale resorts.
Rooms
Riu Bambu features 560 graceful guest rooms, including double rooms, suites and family rooms. All include air conditioning, ceiling fan, minibar, liquor dispenser, satellite television, safe, balcony or patio, iron/ironing board, hair-dryer and radio alarm clock. Suites offer extra space with a living room area, while family rooms include a sofa bed and even more space to spread out.
Dining
Guests at Riu Bambu enjoy all-inclusive dining, with a full American breakfast buffet plus continental service. Buffet dining is available at Colonial, Italian cuisine at San Angelo and Asian dining at Hibachi. Snacks are on the house at all hours. The hotel offers several bars, including a swim-up bar. Guests are welcome to unlimited alcoholic and nonalcoholic drinks at most bars within Riu Resort.
Recreation
Riu Bambu features all-inclusive activities such as water polo, tennis, windsurfing, sailing, snorkeling and nightclubbing. Additional activities (fees apply) include selected ocean sports and golf.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (16.4 mi/26.4 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (17.8 mi/28.6 km)
  • Basilica de Higuey (24.7 mi/39.7 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (46.2 mi/74.4 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (57.8 mi/93 km)
  • Santo Domingo (126 mi/202 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Bambu All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Riu Bambu All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Room
Modern and new decoration style, air conditioning,ceiling fan, two double beds, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace. Free WiFi available in the room
Family Room
Features air conditioning, ceiling fan, two double beds, separate living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower,double-sink, hairdryer and amenities kit. Terrace.
Junior Suite
Features air conditioning, ceiling fan, two double beds, separate living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, bidet, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
Double Room
Features air conditioning, ceiling fan, two double beds, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Barber/Beauty shop
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Colonial
Main restaurant offering a grand array of buffet style dining, and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week.
Mama Juana
Beach bar
Mama Juana
Beach snack bar and restaurant during the day. For dinner Steakhouse and Italian a la carte restaurant. Reservations required.
La Arena
Pool and swim up bar
La Plaza
Pavillion bar.
Caribe Grill
Enjoy theme dining only at this tropical grill restaurant.
Azucar
Lounge bar
La Pizzeria
On the Caribbean street, and excellent option for pizza.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1100
Check-out:
1500

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 49
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Good old dad
Business
Michigan
Nov 21, 2014

Great family vacation

Wonderful staff , clean rooms and good food! Great for kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karinaa
Business
Nebraska
Aug 12, 2014

The Perfect Weekend Get Away

The staff at the hotel was so nice! The food was excellent for my taste! Our room had old furniture but we didn't mind since we only used it mainly for sleeping and showering! You can upgrade to a nicer room for more money! But this hotel has more activities than any other hotel around! Overall it's a great place!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Colbit
Business
Tampa, Florida
Aug 8, 2014

Expected more

First of all, the hotel was not bad, we did have a good time, beach was perfect, pools were kind of small for too many people. Activities were not good, so do not even bother (archery, darts, etc..) stick with the beach activities (not that good either but better) Rooms are way too small, the mini bar was almost empty, (2 pepsi, 1 seven up and 2 beers) and they only refill every 2 days.. So imagine we were a party of 4.. I had to give a 10 dollar tip to have it filled. Beds are small and the mattress was way too soft. IMPORTANT. WIFI is only free at the lobby but only 90 minutes per day and the time counts from when you log in the first time, so if you log in the morning the time ends after 90 minutes even if you only use it 5 minutes. The pools (all of them) close at 6:00pm (sun still up). You have to make appointment for the restaurant (a la carte) at 7:00 am (the previous day) or you wont get a space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SteveWV
Business
WV
Aug 3, 2014

Staff is very nice at Riu Bambu

Great stay for a week with family. Staff is very helpful. Pools and beach area really clean. Food and rooms are above average as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring your own wash cloth. None in rooms.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MargaRi
Business
Littleton,Ma
Apr 23, 2014

fantastic family getaway

Travelled with my family - 2 adult children and a 16 year old, my husband and myself. We had never experienced an all inclusive vacation or travelled outside of the US. We read the reviews prior and went in with an open mind We had the time of our lives. The beach had to be the most beautiful I have ever seen. The staff was all very friendly and accommodating. The food was pretty good, mostly buffet type food. We ate at three of the four specialty restaurants that required reservations. The Steak House, the Mexican and the Japanese Our favorite was the steak house' Mama Juana it is the only one that was not a buffet and we were waited on. The rooms were okay, We didn't spend much time in them so style etc wasn't important to us. The beds were very firm and the pillows flat, We only did one excursion, snorkeling , It was a great day and one I would highly recommend . You do not have to snorkel to participate. As the rest of the family entered the water with there snorkels and fins I sat back and enjoyed the view as well as some rum and cokes. We then proceeded on to the bath ..were we all went into the water and enjoyed some more rum and cokes and snacks. The nightly entertainment was enjoyable my only problem was the language barrier. It was all mostly in Spanish but you had no problem following along.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

I would suggest that you bring your own sun screen and aloe , We did not as I did not want to check a bag and the cost of one bottle of sunscreen was close to $30.00 also if you like snacks for the beach I would bring those as well as again to purchase these in the store is very expensive and most are not provided at any of the buffets. You are not supposed to take food out of the restaurants with the exception of the sports bar which is open 24 hours a day but really only has a cooler full of hamburgers and hot dogs for you to microwave and some fruit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark's birthday
Business
Brooklyn ny
Apr 21, 2014

Great family getaway

They was so much for the kids to do, the food was great scooter ride was great and beach and pools the kids enjoys for much their had a great vacation and would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Beautiful

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pookh007
Business
New York, NY
Jan 19, 2014

Perfect vacation

Perfect place to stay for vacation. Stuff friendly and useful. Enjoyed staying in Riu hotels every time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
rushdi
Business
nj
Sep 7, 2013

This place sucks

First of all I took my wife and two kids and my sister and they gave us a family room that's what they call it 2double beds and a pull out couch the room was so old and the ac blew mildew into the room we all where coughing all nite for 10 days the food sucks the service was so slow and if u don't tip at the bars the next time u come up got a drink they will act like the don't see u the men that work there are all perverts flirting really bad with all the woman no room service so if u get hungry after 10 u have to go to the sports bar that has burger and hotdogs u have to warm up your self so nasty . The only thing that was nice was the beach . Don't stay here !!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Big Tall Todd
Business
Indiana
Jun 26, 2013

Sub-par experience!!

This is by far the lowest quality resort of the 5 that were on the grounds in Punta Cana. The rooms are small and uncomfortable, beds are small, mattresses are thin and housekeeping did a poor job at cleaning on a daily basis. First day of trip, we found a cockroach in the room and lizards are prevalent and usually find their way into the rooms. Food quality at the daily buffets and available restaurants is sub-par or below average at best and the drinks are poorly made at the bars. Also, no poolside bar service is provided and no service is on the beach, one of the few resorts that does not provide that service. Amenities are lacking, the pool was dirty on most days and the overall entertainment quality is lacking from the poolside daily entertainment to the nighttime shows. As always, nightly vendors are pushy and disrespectful and as always shop pricing is way to high!! The deep sea fishing excursion was a disaster; however, not the fault of the hotel, although they HIGHLY recommended it! I would not recommend this resort and will definitely not be going back; however, trying a different Riu resort there may be possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brian Bentrup
Business
Chicago, IL
May 28, 2013

Great experience

My only complaint would be about the food. We tried the Hibachi and Mexican restaurants, both of which were great. The standard buffet, the Colonial, was alright. The standard pool-side fare at the Mama Juana was nothing special. I heard their steakhouse offerings were fantastic, however. I really wanted to try the Italian San Angelo restaurant because I felt they had the best menu, but they made our reservation for the wrong day. I guess I am partly to blame since I did not double-check the reservation ticket. Otherwise, I have absolutely no complaints. Special props go out to our maid Juana who not only cleaned the room and made interesting animals out of the towels, but even folded my laundry and put it on top of my suitcase! How awesome is that? I have stayed at Naiboa, Macao, and Bavaro (which just opened). Being that Bambu is the second cheapest, I would rate it accordingly by comparison. But even so, it was absolutely stunning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure you book your reservations a couple days in advance instead of waiting until the same day. The popular restaurants like the Mama Juana Steakhouse filled up in a hurry. Sometimes the hotel will let you reserve it 3 days in advance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top