$124 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 10, 2015 Check-out: Sep 13, 2015

Riu Bambu All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
53 reviews
Friendly staffs Good food great service

The hotel is very nice is clean have a lot of kinds of activities for all ages we play in the... See full review

  • Ana R.
  • Aug 4, 2015
Love the Riu Bambu

Great beach and great vacation, 7th trip at same resort. I will only go to the Bambu. Love the... See full review

  • Michele M.
  • Aug 1, 2015
Surrounded by lush gardens, Riu Bambu All Inclusive sits oceanfront at the lovely Playa Arena Gorda in Bavaro, Punta Cana. Guests enjoy all-inclusive activities such as windsurfing, snorkeling, tennis, a fitness center, swimming pools and water polo. The hotel also features several restaurants and bars, plus offers access to most of the bars at Riu Resort and the Riu Palace Macao Casino.
Location
Riu Bambu overlooks Playa Arena Gorda in Bavaro, Punta Cana. Located in La Altagracia, the easternmost province of the Dominican Republic, the Punta Cana area is legendary for a sunny climate, miles of picture-perfect beaches, golfing, historic sites, nature preserves and upscale resorts.
Dining
Guests at Riu Bambu enjoy all-inclusive dining, with a full American breakfast buffet plus continental service. Buffet dining is available at Colonial, Italian cuisine at San Angelo and Asian dining at Hibachi. Snacks are on the house at all hours. The hotel offers several bars, including a swim-up bar. Guests are welcome to unlimited alcoholic and nonalcoholic drinks at most bars within Riu Resort.
Rooms
Riu Bambu features 560 graceful guest rooms, including double rooms, suites and family rooms. All include air conditioning, ceiling fan, minibar, liquor dispenser, satellite television, safe, balcony or patio, iron/ironing board, hair-dryer and radio alarm clock. Suites offer extra space with a living room area, while family rooms include a sofa bed and even more space to spread out.
Highlights
  • Drop off the kids at the RiuLand kids club, a safe and fun hangout for young ones
  • Swim up to the bar at La Arena, one of the several bars and lounges at Riu Bambu
  • Enjoy a range of ocean sports such as windsurfing and sailing -- many without extra fees
Nearby attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (17.8 mi/28.6 km)
  • Basilica de Higuey (24.7 mi/39.7 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (46.2 mi/74.4 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (57.8 mi/93 km)
  • Santo Domingo (126 mi/202 km)
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (16.4 mi/26.4 km)
Recreation
Riu Bambu features all-inclusive activities such as water polo, tennis, windsurfing, sailing, snorkeling and nightclubbing. Additional activities (fees apply) include selected ocean sports and golf.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Bambu All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$119
3.8 / 5 252 reviews
★★★★
$157
4.0 / 5 223 reviews
★★★★
$145
3.3 / 5 511 reviews
★★★
$129
3.4 / 5 53 reviews
★★★★
$213
4.0 / 5 147 reviews
★★★
$118
3.2 / 5 211 reviews
★★★★
$150
3.9 / 5 76 reviews

Riu Bambu All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Room
Modern and new decoration style, air conditioning,ceiling fan, two double beds, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace. Free WiFi available in the room
Family Room
Features air conditioning, ceiling fan, two double beds, separate living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower,double-sink, hairdryer and amenities kit. Terrace.
Junior Suite
Features air conditioning, ceiling fan, two double beds, separate living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, bidet, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
Double Room
Features air conditioning, ceiling fan, two double beds, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Barber/Beauty shop
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Colonial
Main restaurant offering a grand array of buffet style dining, and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week.
Mama Juana
Beach bar
Mama Juana
Beach snack bar and restaurant during the day. For dinner Steakhouse and Italian a la carte restaurant. Reservations required.
La Arena
Pool and swim up bar
La Plaza
Pavillion bar.
Caribe Grill
Enjoy theme dining only at this tropical grill restaurant.
Azucar
Lounge bar
La Pizzeria
On the Caribbean street, and excellent option for pizza.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
11:00 AM
Check-out:
3:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 53
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Alberto T.
Family
bridgeport
Aug 11, 2015

Family trip

Room smells humidity. Between reception and pool smells very bad. The beach dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ana R.
Family
N/A
Aug 4, 2015

Friendly staffs Good food great service

The hotel is very nice is clean have a lot of kinds of activities for all ages we play in the swimming pool a lot of games at nights great shows free transportation to go shopping, casino and night club. I had a good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CARLOS M.
Family
PLANT CITY
Jan 16, 2015

Nice Hotel

The hotel was what we expected, good overall, good food and plenty of options, staf was very friendly and alwasy willing to help. Room was clean and bed were fine. Recommended, great price for the money. If you are going to get a tour, shop around the potions at the hotel, do not reserve in the first one..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Good old dad
Family
Michigan
Nov 21, 2014

Great family vacation

Wonderful staff , clean rooms and good food! Great for kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Viajero ABC
Family
LA, CA
Aug 22, 2014

Punta Cana 2004

The hotel location is wonderful, but unfortunately there were a few things that need to be improved. 1. The staff in the front desk are not well informed about basic info, and many times they are not capable to answer your questions and help you efficiently. They have a very informal approach. 2. The rooms were very simple which is not a problem, but the furniture and linings have to be replaced, are way too old. 3. The food at the Mexican restaurant was terrible and the buffet needs more variety. My family and me spent six days and we ate the same food every single morning. The stuff in the Colonial dinning room were not always cordial and polite as we expected. 4. The beach area needs more shade! It is very hot .There are not enough palm trees to hide from the sun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karinaa
Family
Nebraska
Aug 12, 2014

The Perfect Weekend Get Away

The staff at the hotel was so nice! The food was excellent for my taste! Our room had old furniture but we didn't mind since we only used it mainly for sleeping and showering! You can upgrade to a nicer room for more money! But this hotel has more activities than any other hotel around! Overall it's a great place!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Colbit
Family
Tampa, Florida
Aug 8, 2014

Expected more

First of all, the hotel was not bad, we did have a good time, beach was perfect, pools were kind of small for too many people. Activities were not good, so do not even bother (archery, darts, etc..) stick with the beach activities (not that good either but better) Rooms are way too small, the mini bar was almost empty, (2 pepsi, 1 seven up and 2 beers) and they only refill every 2 days.. So imagine we were a party of 4.. I had to give a 10 dollar tip to have it filled. Beds are small and the mattress was way too soft. IMPORTANT. WIFI is only free at the lobby but only 90 minutes per day and the time counts from when you log in the first time, so if you log in the morning the time ends after 90 minutes even if you only use it 5 minutes. The pools (all of them) close at 6:00pm (sun still up). You have to make appointment for the restaurant (a la carte) at 7:00 am (the previous day) or you wont get a space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SteveWV
Family
WV
Aug 3, 2014

Staff is very nice at Riu Bambu

Great stay for a week with family. Staff is very helpful. Pools and beach area really clean. Food and rooms are above average as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring your own wash cloth. None in rooms.

Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MargaRi
Family
Littleton,Ma
Apr 23, 2014

fantastic family getaway

Travelled with my family - 2 adult children and a 16 year old, my husband and myself. We had never experienced an all inclusive vacation or travelled outside of the US. We read the reviews prior and went in with an open mind We had the time of our lives. The beach had to be the most beautiful I have ever seen. The staff was all very friendly and accommodating. The food was pretty good, mostly buffet type food. We ate at three of the four specialty restaurants that required reservations. The Steak House, the Mexican and the Japanese Our favorite was the steak house' Mama Juana it is the only one that was not a buffet and we were waited on. The rooms were okay, We didn't spend much time in them so style etc wasn't important to us. The beds were very firm and the pillows flat, We only did one excursion, snorkeling , It was a great day and one I would highly recommend . You do not have to snorkel to participate. As the rest of the family entered the water with there snorkels and fins I sat back and enjoyed the view as well as some rum and cokes. We then proceeded on to the bath ..were we all went into the water and enjoyed some more rum and cokes and snacks. The nightly entertainment was enjoyable my only problem was the language barrier. It was all mostly in Spanish but you had no problem following along.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

I would suggest that you bring your own sun screen and aloe , We did not as I did not want to check a bag and the cost of one bottle of sunscreen was close to $30.00 also if you like snacks for the beach I would bring those as well as again to purchase these in the store is very expensive and most are not provided at any of the buffets. You are not supposed to take food out of the restaurants with the exception of the sports bar which is open 24 hours a day but really only has a cooler full of hamburgers and hot dogs for you to microwave and some fruit.

Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark's birthday
Family
Brooklyn ny
Apr 21, 2014

Great family getaway

They was so much for the kids to do, the food was great scooter ride was great and beach and pools the kids enjoys for much their had a great vacation and would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Beautiful

Back to menu Return to top