Riu Bambu All Inclusive

3 stars
Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
49 reviews
Great family vacation

Wonderful staff , clean rooms and good food! Great for kids. See full review

  • Good old dad
  • Nov 21, 2014
two peens two nuts

Very nice resort for the money. Food was great with large selection. Service friendly. Beautiful... See full review

  • SandR
  • Sep 26, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana beach hotel with access to resort amenities
Surrounded by lush gardens, Riu Bambu All Inclusive sits oceanfront at the lovely Playa Arena Gorda in Bavaro, Punta Cana. Guests enjoy all-inclusive activities such as windsurfing, snorkeling, tennis, a fitness center, swimming pools and water polo. The hotel also features several restaurants and bars, plus offers access to most of the bars at Riu Resort and the Riu Palace Macao Casino.
Highlights
  • Drop off the kids at the RiuLand kids club, a safe and fun hangout for young ones
  • Swim up to the bar at La Arena, one of the several bars and lounges at Riu Bambu
  • Enjoy a range of ocean sports such as windsurfing and sailing -- many without extra fees
Location
Riu Bambu overlooks Playa Arena Gorda in Bavaro, Punta Cana. Located in La Altagracia, the easternmost province of the Dominican Republic, the Punta Cana area is legendary for a sunny climate, miles of picture-perfect beaches, golfing, historic sites, nature preserves and upscale resorts.
Rooms
Riu Bambu features 560 graceful guest rooms, including double rooms, suites and family rooms. All include air conditioning, ceiling fan, minibar, liquor dispenser, satellite television, safe, balcony or patio, iron/ironing board, hair-dryer and radio alarm clock. Suites offer extra space with a living room area, while family rooms include a sofa bed and even more space to spread out.
Dining
Guests at Riu Bambu enjoy all-inclusive dining, with a full American breakfast buffet plus continental service. Buffet dining is available at Colonial, Italian cuisine at San Angelo and Asian dining at Hibachi. Snacks are on the house at all hours. The hotel offers several bars, including a swim-up bar. Guests are welcome to unlimited alcoholic and nonalcoholic drinks at most bars within Riu Resort.
Recreation
Riu Bambu features all-inclusive activities such as water polo, tennis, windsurfing, sailing, snorkeling and nightclubbing. Additional activities (fees apply) include selected ocean sports and golf.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (16.4 mi/26.4 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (17.8 mi/28.6 km)
  • Basilica de Higuey (24.7 mi/39.7 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (46.2 mi/74.4 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (57.8 mi/93 km)
  • Santo Domingo (126 mi/202 km)

Riu Bambu All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Room
Modern and new decoration style, air conditioning,ceiling fan, two double beds, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace. Free WiFi available in the room
Family Room
Features air conditioning, ceiling fan, two double beds, separate living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower,double-sink, hairdryer and amenities kit. Terrace.
Junior Suite
Features air conditioning, ceiling fan, two double beds, separate living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, bidet, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
Double Room
Features air conditioning, ceiling fan, two double beds, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Barber/Beauty shop
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Map

18.722 -68.4577
Area served
Punta Cana, 50 km / 31 miles to Higey. Dominican Republic.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana Int'l. Airport
Area description
Some 45 minutes by car west of the airport, you'll find the small fishing village of Maimon. It's an ideal place to use as base for excursions to the city of Puerto Plata and inland sites.

Dining

Colonial
Main restaurant offering a grand array of buffet style dining, and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week.
Mama Juana
Beach bar
Mama Juana
Beach snack bar and restaurant during the day. For dinner Steakhouse and Italian a la carte restaurant. Reservations required.
La Arena
Pool and swim up bar
La Plaza
Pavillion bar.
Caribe Grill
Enjoy theme dining only at this tropical grill restaurant.
Azucar
Lounge bar
La Pizzeria
On the Caribbean street, and excellent option for pizza.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1100
Check-out:
1500

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MargaRi
Business
Littleton,Ma
Apr 23, 2014

fantastic family getaway

Travelled with my family - 2 adult children and a 16 year old, my husband and myself. We had never experienced an all inclusive vacation or travelled outside of the US. We read the reviews prior and went in with an open mind We had the time of our lives. The beach had to be the most beautiful I have ever seen. The staff was all very friendly and accommodating. The food was pretty good, mostly buffet type food. We ate at three of the four specialty restaurants that required reservations. The Steak House, the Mexican and the Japanese Our favorite was the steak house' Mama Juana it is the only one that was not a buffet and we were waited on. The rooms were okay, We didn't spend much time in them so style etc wasn't important to us. The beds were very firm and the pillows flat, We only did one excursion, snorkeling , It was a great day and one I would highly recommend . You do not have to snorkel to participate. As the rest of the family entered the water with there snorkels and fins I sat back and enjoyed the view as well as some rum and cokes. We then proceeded on to the bath ..were we all went into the water and enjoyed some more rum and cokes and snacks. The nightly entertainment was enjoyable my only problem was the language barrier. It was all mostly in Spanish but you had no problem following along.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

I would suggest that you bring your own sun screen and aloe , We did not as I did not want to check a bag and the cost of one bottle of sunscreen was close to $30.00 also if you like snacks for the beach I would bring those as well as again to purchase these in the store is very expensive and most are not provided at any of the buffets. You are not supposed to take food out of the restaurants with the exception of the sports bar which is open 24 hours a day but really only has a cooler full of hamburgers and hot dogs for you to microwave and some fruit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark's birthday
Business
Brooklyn ny
Apr 21, 2014

Great family getaway

They was so much for the kids to do, the food was great scooter ride was great and beach and pools the kids enjoys for much their had a great vacation and would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Beautiful

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cocachita
Business
New Rochelle, NY
May 4, 2014

good value for your dollar. beautiful property

Staff was very nice,food good but not greatoverall good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to flea market on the beach, great deals and you suport the lovely locals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Dec 20, 2008

Sunshine and Warmth

This hotel was very good for the price we paid. There were countless food options, the pool was clean and warm, the employees were friendly and responsive to requests and the beach was just perfect. Four Riu properties are linked and you can go between them which we liked very much. The only bad thing I can say about this property is that the pillows are terrible and the bed is hard. Blankets from the front desk solved both problems! We had a great time and will return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Good Humor
Business
Brooklyn,New York
Dec 15, 2009

A good place for vacation

Every think was okay,except: 1)there is no place to make change,like to have small dollar bills; 2)it's almost the same kind of local food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Dec 18, 2009

Riu Bambu Vacation

Nice room. We asked for a king bed. They do not have king beds. We got 2 double pushed together. (Not the best beds...very hard) We got a large room for extra money. Well worth it. The area is beautiful and so close to the beach. Lots of activities throughout the day and evening. Food good. All the drinks you can want. Many extra activities available for extra purchase. We would take this trip again. The Riu Bambu is a more casual place to stay. Other Riu hotels are more formal. We liked not having to go into a hotel and up an elevator to our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk from room to beach...easy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
May 11, 2009

great beach, good hotel, great service

The beach is unbeatable, the hotel personnel friendly and very helpful. The room we got was a little noisy being on the only access of the hotel. The only problem we had was the presence of very large roaches (3) the very last day. Aside from that everything is on line with the price and everybody in the resort is working toward making you feel comfortable. This was our third stay in a Riu resort -mexico and DR-. Compared with other Riu resorts in mexico, the beach was deep enough so you could get your own spot all day long, and was kept spotless by the personnel. Overall great stay for a couple or a family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
destination seeker
Business
Buffalo NY
May 6, 2009

Honeymoon at the Bambu

Our trip was very good overall. The hitel was clean and much what I expected after being to DR several times. Food was decent and bar staff always had a drink waiting when they seen you coming....we do always tip them extra as they work long hours. Rooms were OK...clean but good enough for sleeping and getting ready. The beach was beautiful and always had plenty of lounge chairs to pick from. As far as fine dining goes, this hotel does not offer a lot of options.....but we were satisfied with the buffet and steakhouse. The zip-line tour is a must. Fun for all ages and worth the $80 US...crew was fun and busride gave you a true glimpse into how the people live. Only complaint would be against parents bringing children and not keeping an eue on them..especially in the pool bar area. We went during Easter break so families were expected..just wish parents would keep their kids under their own supervision!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SteveWV
Business
WV
Aug 3, 2014

Staff is very nice at Riu Bambu

Great stay for a week with family. Staff is very helpful. Pools and beach area really clean. Food and rooms are above average as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring your own wash cloth. None in rooms.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karinaa
Business
Nebraska
Aug 12, 2014

The Perfect Weekend Get Away

The staff at the hotel was so nice! The food was excellent for my taste! Our room had old furniture but we didn't mind since we only used it mainly for sleeping and showering! You can upgrade to a nicer room for more money! But this hotel has more activities than any other hotel around! Overall it's a great place!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top