$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

Riu Bambu All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lime D
Business
Canada
Jan 7, 2012

Great family getaway

We had a great time at the hotel. The staff went out of their way to make our stay a comfortable one. The food was okay, no one starved. We really enjoyed the Italian restaurant. Entertainment was good. We would definately go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
meat man
Business
Windsor, ON, Canada
Jan 7, 2012

Very good relaxing and entertaining vacation

I would recommend this Hotel. It was clean and the staff were very good. The entertainment staff go out of their way to make your stay awesome.There is no lack of food or drinks. The grounds are well cared for and clean. If I had one complaint is that the rooms need to have a extra blanket, because the rooms are a little cold .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Party of five
Business
Washington, DC
Dec 29, 2011

Wonderful Christmas at Riu Bambu

This was our third Riu Hotel and overall we were pleased with it. The rooms were very clean. Like all Riu's, the beds were very firm but we got used to them. One of our rooms smelled a little (I thought mildewy, husband thought the smell was lysol)- but leaving the doors open aired the room out and we slept with the doorsopen each night - enjoying the island breezes. The beach - beautiful and long - always easy to get a chair. The water was glorious! The food - the buffet was bountiful - there was always something for everyone to eat and I am a vegetarian. The Christmas eve dinner was lobster! Everyone enjoyed the drinks! The cons: Despite what we were told, you cannot eat and drink at the adjoining properties. Although the other riu resorts are opulent - we thought the Bambu was the prettiest and most relaxing! My sons (in their twenties) were very disappointed that they had to pay for their drinks at the Pacha nightclub (the Riu disco) !! In Puerta Plata, the wrtistbands got you free drinks there as well. The resort only restocks the minibar every other day - that is fine as far as sodas go but they only give you two bottles of water. Since we were advised not to drink the tap water, we felt we didn't have enough water to drink in our rooms. They only gave 2 bottles for the room that had 3 paying guests too. Don't bother with standing in line for the "specialty restaurants"! We always ended up stopping by the buffet afterwards to get something else to eat. This has been the case at all three Riu's we've been to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the surfing lessons at the Macao Surf Camp! They were fabulous. Great beach, great instructors! My 61 year old husband got up on his board and surfed! The highlight of his trip! Don't miss this excursion! You can contact them at macaosurfcamp@gmail.com

Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Guest111
Business
New Jersey, USA
Nov 24, 2011

Got what I paid for

Nothing special, it is OK but not more. Proc: stuff, I've never been waiting, all requests were handled immediately. Cons: all amentities are ordinary, no animals on site (we expected to see some as described for other hotels but nothing in this one)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
raulin
Business
Maryland, USA
Aug 31, 2011

alm,ost perfec

people need to share sone tips to workers fabuloso

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
raulin
Business
Maryland, USA
Aug 31, 2011

alm,ost perfec

people need to share sone tips to workers fabuloso

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monroeville, Pa.
Dec 23, 2010

Nice for the price

Staff great! Food poor! Weather great! Hotel good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London, England
Dec 19, 2010

Pleasantly surprised

Hotel refurbishment was quite good, always hot water in the shower, shower screens on patio which is the first hotel in this area that i've ever seen them on. Breakfast buffet excellent, lunch buffet disappointing and not much variation for the evening buffet, didn't try the speciality restaurants but in our experience, normally not worth it. Pool area quite cramped with sunbeds but beach well stocked with beds and plenty of room. If you can get a good price to stay here, you shouldn't be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice independant restauant next to the palace hotel which does lobster and a beer for 20 US

Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Dec 18, 2009

Riu Bambu Vacation

Nice room. We asked for a king bed. They do not have king beds. We got 2 double pushed together. (Not the best beds...very hard) We got a large room for extra money. Well worth it. The area is beautiful and so close to the beach. Lots of activities throughout the day and evening. Food good. All the drinks you can want. Many extra activities available for extra purchase. We would take this trip again. The Riu Bambu is a more casual place to stay. Other Riu hotels are more formal. We liked not having to go into a hotel and up an elevator to our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk from room to beach...easy!

Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Good Humor
Business
Brooklyn,New York
Dec 15, 2009

A good place for vacation

Every think was okay,except: 1)there is no place to make change,like to have small dollar bills; 2)it's almost the same kind of local food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top