$176 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 22, 2014 Check-out: Nov 25, 2014

Riu Bambu All Inclusive

3 stars
Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
48 reviews
Great experience

My only complaint would be about the food. We tried the Hibachi and Mexican restaurants, both of... See full review

  • Brian Bentrup
  • May 28, 2013
two peens two nuts

Very nice resort for the money. Food was great with large selection. Service friendly. Beautiful... See full review

  • SandR
  • Sep 26, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana beach hotel with access to resort amenities
Surrounded by lush gardens, Riu Bambu All Inclusive sits oceanfront at the lovely Playa Arena Gorda in Bavaro, Punta Cana. Guests enjoy all-inclusive activities such as windsurfing, snorkeling, tennis, a fitness center, swimming pools and water polo. The hotel also features several restaurants and bars, plus offers access to most of the bars at Riu Resort and the Riu Palace Macao Casino.
Highlights
  • Drop off the kids at the RiuLand kids club, a safe and fun hangout for young ones
  • Swim up to the bar at La Arena, one of the several bars and lounges at Riu Bambu
  • Enjoy a range of ocean sports such as windsurfing and sailing -- many without extra fees
Location
Riu Bambu overlooks Playa Arena Gorda in Bavaro, Punta Cana. Located in La Altagracia, the easternmost province of the Dominican Republic, the Punta Cana area is legendary for a sunny climate, miles of picture-perfect beaches, golfing, historic sites, nature preserves and upscale resorts.
Rooms
Riu Bambu features 560 graceful guest rooms, including double rooms, suites and family rooms. All include air conditioning, ceiling fan, minibar, liquor dispenser, satellite television, safe, balcony or patio, iron/ironing board, hair-dryer and radio alarm clock. Suites offer extra space with a living room area, while family rooms include a sofa bed and even more space to spread out.
Dining
Guests at Riu Bambu enjoy all-inclusive dining, with a full American breakfast buffet plus continental service. Buffet dining is available at Colonial, Italian cuisine at San Angelo and Asian dining at Hibachi. Snacks are on the house at all hours. The hotel offers several bars, including a swim-up bar. Guests are welcome to unlimited alcoholic and nonalcoholic drinks at most bars within Riu Resort.
Recreation
Riu Bambu features all-inclusive activities such as water polo, tennis, windsurfing, sailing, snorkeling and nightclubbing. Additional activities (fees apply) include selected ocean sports and golf.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (16.4 mi/26.4 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (17.8 mi/28.6 km)
  • Basilica de Higuey (24.7 mi/39.7 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (46.2 mi/74.4 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (57.8 mi/93 km)
  • Santo Domingo (126 mi/202 km)

Hotel Map

18.722 -68.4577
Area served
Punta Cana, 50 km / 31 miles to Higey. Dominican Republic.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana Int'l. Airport
Area description
Some 45 minutes by car west of the airport, you'll find the small fishing village of Maimon. It's an ideal place to use as base for excursions to the city of Puerto Plata and inland sites.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Bambu All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Riu Bambu All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Room
Modern and new decoration style, air conditioning,ceiling fan, two double beds, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace. Free WiFi available in the room
Family Room
Features air conditioning, ceiling fan, two double beds, separate living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower,double-sink, hairdryer and amenities kit. Terrace.
Junior Suite
Features air conditioning, ceiling fan, two double beds, separate living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, bidet, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
Double Room
Features air conditioning, ceiling fan, two double beds, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Barber/Beauty shop
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Colonial
Main restaurant offering a grand array of buffet style dining, and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week.
Mama Juana
Beach bar
Mama Juana
Beach snack bar and restaurant during the day. For dinner Steakhouse and Italian a la carte restaurant. Reservations required.
La Arena
Pool and swim up bar
La Plaza
Pavillion bar.
Caribe Grill
Enjoy theme dining only at this tropical grill restaurant.
Azucar
Lounge bar
La Pizzeria
On the Caribbean street, and excellent option for pizza.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1100
Check-out:
1500

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
staten island,ny
Aug 25, 2009

RIU Macao

Our original booking was RIU Bambu. They stated that they upgraded us to RIU Macao because Bambu was overbooked. This might have been a good thing except that we were given rooms in the back on the top floor. The air conditioning did not work, the phone was out and the TV reception was horrible without all channels. So, they acted like they were doing us a favor but we got the worst room. The reception desk was not very sympathetic and stated that he was doing the best he could. We requested to be put in Bambu or get a better room. They showed us another room that had the same problem with the air conditioning. We were finally given another set of rooms on the first floor with somewhat better air conditioning but not great. We didn't get settled in until 8:00p.m. losing our first day and being totally aggravated. We stayed at Macao because we didn't want to waste any more time trying to get a room the next day. The reception supervisor was apologetic but he blamed Coco Tours and Orbitz for our problems. We won't stay at RIU hotels any longer due to this experience. The Hotel itself was beautiful but we have stayed at more modern hotels prior to this that have given us very good rooms with huge beautiful pools and grounds with the same rating for same amount of money or less.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Colbit
Business
Tampa, Florida
Aug 8, 2014

Expected more

First of all, the hotel was not bad, we did have a good time, beach was perfect, pools were kind of small for too many people. Activities were not good, so do not even bother (archery, darts, etc..) stick with the beach activities (not that good either but better) Rooms are way too small, the mini bar was almost empty, (2 pepsi, 1 seven up and 2 beers) and they only refill every 2 days.. So imagine we were a party of 4.. I had to give a 10 dollar tip to have it filled. Beds are small and the mattress was way too soft. IMPORTANT. WIFI is only free at the lobby but only 90 minutes per day and the time counts from when you log in the first time, so if you log in the morning the time ends after 90 minutes even if you only use it 5 minutes. The pools (all of them) close at 6:00pm (sun still up). You have to make appointment for the restaurant (a la carte) at 7:00 am (the previous day) or you wont get a space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pookh007
Business
New York, NY
Jan 19, 2014

Perfect vacation

Perfect place to stay for vacation. Stuff friendly and useful. Enjoyed staying in Riu hotels every time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MargaRi
Business
Littleton,Ma
Apr 23, 2014

fantastic family getaway

Travelled with my family - 2 adult children and a 16 year old, my husband and myself. We had never experienced an all inclusive vacation or travelled outside of the US. We read the reviews prior and went in with an open mind We had the time of our lives. The beach had to be the most beautiful I have ever seen. The staff was all very friendly and accommodating. The food was pretty good, mostly buffet type food. We ate at three of the four specialty restaurants that required reservations. The Steak House, the Mexican and the Japanese Our favorite was the steak house' Mama Juana it is the only one that was not a buffet and we were waited on. The rooms were okay, We didn't spend much time in them so style etc wasn't important to us. The beds were very firm and the pillows flat, We only did one excursion, snorkeling , It was a great day and one I would highly recommend . You do not have to snorkel to participate. As the rest of the family entered the water with there snorkels and fins I sat back and enjoyed the view as well as some rum and cokes. We then proceeded on to the bath ..were we all went into the water and enjoyed some more rum and cokes and snacks. The nightly entertainment was enjoyable my only problem was the language barrier. It was all mostly in Spanish but you had no problem following along.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

I would suggest that you bring your own sun screen and aloe , We did not as I did not want to check a bag and the cost of one bottle of sunscreen was close to $30.00 also if you like snacks for the beach I would bring those as well as again to purchase these in the store is very expensive and most are not provided at any of the buffets. You are not supposed to take food out of the restaurants with the exception of the sports bar which is open 24 hours a day but really only has a cooler full of hamburgers and hot dogs for you to microwave and some fruit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark's birthday
Business
Brooklyn ny
Apr 21, 2014

Great family getaway

They was so much for the kids to do, the food was great scooter ride was great and beach and pools the kids enjoys for much their had a great vacation and would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Beautiful

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cocachita
Business
New Rochelle, NY
May 4, 2014

good value for your dollar. beautiful property

Staff was very nice,food good but not greatoverall good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to flea market on the beach, great deals and you suport the lovely locals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Samuel
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Aug 3, 2011

Good hotel!!!! Nice facilities

It was a good. Nice hotel. The personel it was nice. The food was great. The beach it was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Party of five
Business
Washington, DC
Dec 29, 2011

Wonderful Christmas at Riu Bambu

This was our third Riu Hotel and overall we were pleased with it. The rooms were very clean. Like all Riu's, the beds were very firm but we got used to them. One of our rooms smelled a little (I thought mildewy, husband thought the smell was lysol)- but leaving the doors open aired the room out and we slept with the doorsopen each night - enjoying the island breezes. The beach - beautiful and long - always easy to get a chair. The water was glorious! The food - the buffet was bountiful - there was always something for everyone to eat and I am a vegetarian. The Christmas eve dinner was lobster! Everyone enjoyed the drinks! The cons: Despite what we were told, you cannot eat and drink at the adjoining properties. Although the other riu resorts are opulent - we thought the Bambu was the prettiest and most relaxing! My sons (in their twenties) were very disappointed that they had to pay for their drinks at the Pacha nightclub (the Riu disco) !! In Puerta Plata, the wrtistbands got you free drinks there as well. The resort only restocks the minibar every other day - that is fine as far as sodas go but they only give you two bottles of water. Since we were advised not to drink the tap water, we felt we didn't have enough water to drink in our rooms. They only gave 2 bottles for the room that had 3 paying guests too. Don't bother with standing in line for the "specialty restaurants"! We always ended up stopping by the buffet afterwards to get something else to eat. This has been the case at all three Riu's we've been to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the surfing lessons at the Macao Surf Camp! They were fabulous. Great beach, great instructors! My 61 year old husband got up on his board and surfed! The highlight of his trip! Don't miss this excursion! You can contact them at macaosurfcamp@gmail.com

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
meat man
Business
Windsor, ON, Canada
Jan 7, 2012

Very good relaxing and entertaining vacation

I would recommend this Hotel. It was clean and the staff were very good. The entertainment staff go out of their way to make your stay awesome.There is no lack of food or drinks. The grounds are well cared for and clean. If I had one complaint is that the rooms need to have a extra blanket, because the rooms are a little cold .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
billncoo
Business
Dover, New Hampshire
Mar 24, 2012

A Vegan/Vegetarian perspective on the buffet

While they serve the Standard American Diet, the wide variety of foods lets vegans/vegetarians successfully "eat around the edges". For vegans, fresh tropical fruits, a good salad bar, breads (white flour), cooked vegetables and several starches are available at every meal. The juice bar at breakfast is not to be missed. But no hot cereal for breakfast. If you add dairy, you can include eggs, pancakes, and cheeses (breakfast), pasta with cream sauces (lunch), and pizza and desserts (lunch and supper). The dinner menu identifies 4 vegetarian dishes. These tended to be based on a single vegetable, such as roasted peppers, roasted tomatoes, or eggplant. I was not always able to find the vegetarian dishes, but that was balanced by (apparently) vegetarian dishes that were not listed. There were no vegan protein-based entrees, such as tofu or beans. And no nuts, except for peanuts (at the bar.) We tried the Italian-theme restaurant, and they had no vegetarian entrees, but we just took a second pass at the antipasto. In short, while they don't cater to vegans/ vegetarians, they allow for them. If you don't mind eating fresh tropical fruits instead of protein-based dishes, you'll do fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't try to eat everything in the buffet at every meal. Focus on a few foods at each meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top