$173 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Riu Bambu All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Surprised Couple
Upstate New York
Apr 22, 2012

Fantastic Getaway worth the money

Entertainment staff was excellent. Made trip alot of fun.. Very Family oriented. Lush grounds. Wide variiety of food. Excellent Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
meen
Business
NYC
Jul 26, 2012

Riu Bambu

Went there with my family for a few days. Food was okay, and no more than ok! The hotel in general was a nice getaway on the beach to spend a few days. Beach had plenty of seaweeds though! Pools were nice. Construction work at the hotel was NOT nice! Internet was only available in the lobby area and connection was VERY bad! One more thing, the hotel is not really located in Punta Cana. It is in Bavaro! This was a surprise to us as we thought we were in Punta Cana, based on our booking!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pat Traveler
Business
Mississippi
Jul 9, 2012

People are wonderful

They have one of the best beaches. The rooms all have two double beds, and are always clean. They do need to get new mattress's, the beds are hard. We have been going there since the year 2000, we think the staff makes a difference in the way you are treated. The staff couldn't be any better. You can sign up for the different water sports at the hotel. The buffet is very good, they have 3 restaurants that are very good. They have 2 pools one with seats and one with a bar. They were building another pool when we were there it is suppose to open end of July. They are also building another restaurant. Last year we took our grandaughter and she had a great time. (age 11)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
calnik
Business
California
Jul 5, 2012

Would visit again

We traveled with our children and had an excellent time. The food was a bit boring after a week. The beaches were lovely! We did a few day trips which were expensive, but worth it. Altos De Chavon was one of our favorites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MJIA
Business
Iowa
Jun 11, 2012

Fun! Fun!

If you like to have fun, this is a great resort. Animation crew does a fantastic job. We have traveled to lots of places and their beach is the best we have ever been to. The resort is kept spotless. Food is fine but not fantastic. We had no regrets choosing the Riu Bambu

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KC Family
Business
Kansas City
Jun 9, 2012

Family Experience

We spent 6 nights with our two teenagers and another family with teenagers. The Beech and Palm trees were great. Rooms were small but very clean. Food was OK. Staff was OK. Great place for teenagers and parents. We had a great time with plenty of activites. .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring your own mugs/glasses with lids. This is a must.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
darbo
Business
Chicago
May 12, 2012

Riu Bambu Hotel in Dominican Republic is the worst hotel I ever been. It is overrated.

Stay away from this hotel! 1. Rooms: very small and dirty, just enough space to go around the bad. Cockroaches in the room running at night. The bad sheeting was not replaced for 3 days and we talked to our Apple vacation rep about it, he was not surprised. After we complained, they did one bad but not the second one. Upon ordering the vacation we requested smoke free room but after we arrived we got stinky room for smokers, we were informed that there no non-smoking rooms and they can make this room for non-smokers, they would spray the room. They gave us another room of course for smokers. 3. Health club? Need to go to different hotel. 2. Restaurants: The tablecloths were not replaced for days. They were new one day in the morning for 30 minutes. After that when we got to the table the waiters push to the floor all left over food with bare hands, all the spills were on the tablecloth for days. Most of the soda machines did not work, only water was running from soda machines as well you were lucky if you would get a hot tea, the machines were always out of order. Waiters were shouting to each other, showing no respect to customers, I heard them laughing from bad tricks they did to some customers. One time after the restaurant closed I was passing thru and I saw a busboy dumping a dirty cloth to the ice spoon bin with water to soak the dirty cloth to clean the restaurant. 3. Beach They have very nice beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Katherine
Business
Washington, DC
May 3, 2012

Below Par

The food needs to step up its game and the service could be better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Surprised Couple
Business
Upstate New York
Apr 22, 2012

Fantastic Getaway worth the money

Entertainment staff was excellent. Made trip alot of fun.. Very Family oriented. Lush grounds. Wide variiety of food. Excellent Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mics099
Business
macomb, MI
Apr 20, 2012

The Most beautiful beach I have ever seen!!

This hotel has ordinary amenites, what really makes it stand out is the staff and the location. Give me a clean room and helpful staff and a beautiful location and i am happy. What everyone has to remember that there is not a lot to do outside the resort....this is a developing country, this is not Playa del Carmen Mexico!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Label 1
Business
Illinois
Apr 1, 2012

Spring break 2012

The hotel was very authentic! The grounds were well manicured, the lobby was beautiful but the thing that made this hotel so enjoyable was the staff. Especially the pool staff during the day. The food was descent. You could always find something enjoyable to eat. The beds were a littler hard but fine. We enjoyed our time and would go back. Our three children had a great time too! While dining at the restaurants it was obvious that people sometimes make reservations and don't show up for them. If people don't show up they should allow others to fill up those spots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure you go early in the morning to make reservations to eat at the restaurants. It's worth getting up early.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top