$176 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 13, 2014 Check-out: Nov 16, 2014

Riu Bambu All Inclusive

3 stars
Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
48 reviews
Great experience

My only complaint would be about the food. We tried the Hibachi and Mexican restaurants, both of... See full review

  • Brian Bentrup
  • May 28, 2013
two peens two nuts

Very nice resort for the money. Food was great with large selection. Service friendly. Beautiful... See full review

  • SandR
  • Sep 26, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana beach hotel with access to resort amenities
Surrounded by lush gardens, Riu Bambu All Inclusive sits oceanfront at the lovely Playa Arena Gorda in Bavaro, Punta Cana. Guests enjoy all-inclusive activities such as windsurfing, snorkeling, tennis, a fitness center, swimming pools and water polo. The hotel also features several restaurants and bars, plus offers access to most of the bars at Riu Resort and the Riu Palace Macao Casino.
Highlights
  • Drop off the kids at the RiuLand kids club, a safe and fun hangout for young ones
  • Swim up to the bar at La Arena, one of the several bars and lounges at Riu Bambu
  • Enjoy a range of ocean sports such as windsurfing and sailing -- many without extra fees
Location
Riu Bambu overlooks Playa Arena Gorda in Bavaro, Punta Cana. Located in La Altagracia, the easternmost province of the Dominican Republic, the Punta Cana area is legendary for a sunny climate, miles of picture-perfect beaches, golfing, historic sites, nature preserves and upscale resorts.
Rooms
Riu Bambu features 560 graceful guest rooms, including double rooms, suites and family rooms. All include air conditioning, ceiling fan, minibar, liquor dispenser, satellite television, safe, balcony or patio, iron/ironing board, hair-dryer and radio alarm clock. Suites offer extra space with a living room area, while family rooms include a sofa bed and even more space to spread out.
Dining
Guests at Riu Bambu enjoy all-inclusive dining, with a full American breakfast buffet plus continental service. Buffet dining is available at Colonial, Italian cuisine at San Angelo and Asian dining at Hibachi. Snacks are on the house at all hours. The hotel offers several bars, including a swim-up bar. Guests are welcome to unlimited alcoholic and nonalcoholic drinks at most bars within Riu Resort.
Recreation
Riu Bambu features all-inclusive activities such as water polo, tennis, windsurfing, sailing, snorkeling and nightclubbing. Additional activities (fees apply) include selected ocean sports and golf.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (16.4 mi/26.4 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (17.8 mi/28.6 km)
  • Basilica de Higuey (24.7 mi/39.7 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (46.2 mi/74.4 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (57.8 mi/93 km)
  • Santo Domingo (126 mi/202 km)

Hotel Map

18.722 -68.4577
Area served
Punta Cana, 50 km / 31 miles to Higey. Dominican Republic.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana Int'l. Airport
Area description
Some 45 minutes by car west of the airport, you'll find the small fishing village of Maimon. It's an ideal place to use as base for excursions to the city of Puerto Plata and inland sites.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Bambu All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Riu Bambu All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Room
Modern and new decoration style, air conditioning,ceiling fan, two double beds, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace. Free WiFi available in the room
Family Room
Features air conditioning, ceiling fan, two double beds, separate living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower,double-sink, hairdryer and amenities kit. Terrace.
Junior Suite
Features air conditioning, ceiling fan, two double beds, separate living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, bidet, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
Double Room
Features air conditioning, ceiling fan, two double beds, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Barber/Beauty shop
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Colonial
Main restaurant offering a grand array of buffet style dining, and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week.
Mama Juana
Beach bar
Mama Juana
Beach snack bar and restaurant during the day. For dinner Steakhouse and Italian a la carte restaurant. Reservations required.
La Arena
Pool and swim up bar
La Plaza
Pavillion bar.
Caribe Grill
Enjoy theme dining only at this tropical grill restaurant.
Azucar
Lounge bar
La Pizzeria
On the Caribbean street, and excellent option for pizza.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1100
Check-out:
1500

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MJIA
Business
Iowa
Jun 11, 2012

Fun! Fun!

If you like to have fun, this is a great resort. Animation crew does a fantastic job. We have traveled to lots of places and their beach is the best we have ever been to. The resort is kept spotless. Food is fine but not fantastic. We had no regrets choosing the Riu Bambu

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KC Family
Business
Kansas City
Jun 9, 2012

Family Experience

We spent 6 nights with our two teenagers and another family with teenagers. The Beech and Palm trees were great. Rooms were small but very clean. Food was OK. Staff was OK. Great place for teenagers and parents. We had a great time with plenty of activites. .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring your own mugs/glasses with lids. This is a must.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
darbo
Business
Chicago
May 12, 2012

Riu Bambu Hotel in Dominican Republic is the worst hotel I ever been. It is overrated.

Stay away from this hotel! 1. Rooms: very small and dirty, just enough space to go around the bad. Cockroaches in the room running at night. The bad sheeting was not replaced for 3 days and we talked to our Apple vacation rep about it, he was not surprised. After we complained, they did one bad but not the second one. Upon ordering the vacation we requested smoke free room but after we arrived we got stinky room for smokers, we were informed that there no non-smoking rooms and they can make this room for non-smokers, they would spray the room. They gave us another room of course for smokers. 3. Health club? Need to go to different hotel. 2. Restaurants: The tablecloths were not replaced for days. They were new one day in the morning for 30 minutes. After that when we got to the table the waiters push to the floor all left over food with bare hands, all the spills were on the tablecloth for days. Most of the soda machines did not work, only water was running from soda machines as well you were lucky if you would get a hot tea, the machines were always out of order. Waiters were shouting to each other, showing no respect to customers, I heard them laughing from bad tricks they did to some customers. One time after the restaurant closed I was passing thru and I saw a busboy dumping a dirty cloth to the ice spoon bin with water to soak the dirty cloth to clean the restaurant. 3. Beach They have very nice beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Katherine
Business
Washington, DC
May 3, 2012

Below Par

The food needs to step up its game and the service could be better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Surprised Couple
Business
Upstate New York
Apr 22, 2012

Fantastic Getaway worth the money

Entertainment staff was excellent. Made trip alot of fun.. Very Family oriented. Lush grounds. Wide variiety of food. Excellent Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mics099
Business
macomb, MI
Apr 20, 2012

The Most beautiful beach I have ever seen!!

This hotel has ordinary amenites, what really makes it stand out is the staff and the location. Give me a clean room and helpful staff and a beautiful location and i am happy. What everyone has to remember that there is not a lot to do outside the resort....this is a developing country, this is not Playa del Carmen Mexico!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Label 1
Business
Illinois
Apr 1, 2012

Spring break 2012

The hotel was very authentic! The grounds were well manicured, the lobby was beautiful but the thing that made this hotel so enjoyable was the staff. Especially the pool staff during the day. The food was descent. You could always find something enjoyable to eat. The beds were a littler hard but fine. We enjoyed our time and would go back. Our three children had a great time too! While dining at the restaurants it was obvious that people sometimes make reservations and don't show up for them. If people don't show up they should allow others to fill up those spots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure you go early in the morning to make reservations to eat at the restaurants. It's worth getting up early.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
billncoo
Business
Dover, New Hampshire
Mar 24, 2012

A Vegan/Vegetarian perspective on the buffet

While they serve the Standard American Diet, the wide variety of foods lets vegans/vegetarians successfully "eat around the edges". For vegans, fresh tropical fruits, a good salad bar, breads (white flour), cooked vegetables and several starches are available at every meal. The juice bar at breakfast is not to be missed. But no hot cereal for breakfast. If you add dairy, you can include eggs, pancakes, and cheeses (breakfast), pasta with cream sauces (lunch), and pizza and desserts (lunch and supper). The dinner menu identifies 4 vegetarian dishes. These tended to be based on a single vegetable, such as roasted peppers, roasted tomatoes, or eggplant. I was not always able to find the vegetarian dishes, but that was balanced by (apparently) vegetarian dishes that were not listed. There were no vegan protein-based entrees, such as tofu or beans. And no nuts, except for peanuts (at the bar.) We tried the Italian-theme restaurant, and they had no vegetarian entrees, but we just took a second pass at the antipasto. In short, while they don't cater to vegans/ vegetarians, they allow for them. If you don't mind eating fresh tropical fruits instead of protein-based dishes, you'll do fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't try to eat everything in the buffet at every meal. Focus on a few foods at each meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lime D
Business
Canada
Jan 7, 2012

Great family getaway

We had a great time at the hotel. The staff went out of their way to make our stay a comfortable one. The food was okay, no one starved. We really enjoyed the Italian restaurant. Entertainment was good. We would definately go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
meat man
Business
Windsor, ON, Canada
Jan 7, 2012

Very good relaxing and entertaining vacation

I would recommend this Hotel. It was clean and the staff were very good. The entertainment staff go out of their way to make your stay awesome.There is no lack of food or drinks. The grounds are well cared for and clean. If I had one complaint is that the rooms need to have a extra blanket, because the rooms are a little cold .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top