$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

Riu Bambu All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cocachita
Business
New Rochelle, NY
May 4, 2014

good value for your dollar. beautiful property

Staff was very nice,food good but not greatoverall good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to flea market on the beach, great deals and you suport the lovely locals.

Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MargaRi
Business
Littleton,Ma
Apr 23, 2014

fantastic family getaway

Travelled with my family - 2 adult children and a 16 year old, my husband and myself. We had never experienced an all inclusive vacation or travelled outside of the US. We read the reviews prior and went in with an open mind We had the time of our lives. The beach had to be the most beautiful I have ever seen. The staff was all very friendly and accommodating. The food was pretty good, mostly buffet type food. We ate at three of the four specialty restaurants that required reservations. The Steak House, the Mexican and the Japanese Our favorite was the steak house' Mama Juana it is the only one that was not a buffet and we were waited on. The rooms were okay, We didn't spend much time in them so style etc wasn't important to us. The beds were very firm and the pillows flat, We only did one excursion, snorkeling , It was a great day and one I would highly recommend . You do not have to snorkel to participate. As the rest of the family entered the water with there snorkels and fins I sat back and enjoyed the view as well as some rum and cokes. We then proceeded on to the bath ..were we all went into the water and enjoyed some more rum and cokes and snacks. The nightly entertainment was enjoyable my only problem was the language barrier. It was all mostly in Spanish but you had no problem following along.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

I would suggest that you bring your own sun screen and aloe , We did not as I did not want to check a bag and the cost of one bottle of sunscreen was close to $30.00 also if you like snacks for the beach I would bring those as well as again to purchase these in the store is very expensive and most are not provided at any of the buffets. You are not supposed to take food out of the restaurants with the exception of the sports bar which is open 24 hours a day but really only has a cooler full of hamburgers and hot dogs for you to microwave and some fruit.

Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark's birthday
Business
Brooklyn ny
Apr 21, 2014

Great family getaway

They was so much for the kids to do, the food was great scooter ride was great and beach and pools the kids enjoys for much their had a great vacation and would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Beautiful

Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brooklyn knight
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Apr 21, 2014

Average stay.

The entertainment is hilarious. The pool parties were good. The Disco plays good music. Besides that it's an average hotel. The food is ok. The steak at the steakhouse was the only really good food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The Cave aka Imagine

Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pookh007
Business
New York, NY
Jan 19, 2014

Perfect vacation

Perfect place to stay for vacation. Stuff friendly and useful. Enjoyed staying in Riu hotels every time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
rushdi
Business
nj
Sep 7, 2013

This place sucks

First of all I took my wife and two kids and my sister and they gave us a family room that's what they call it 2double beds and a pull out couch the room was so old and the ac blew mildew into the room we all where coughing all nite for 10 days the food sucks the service was so slow and if u don't tip at the bars the next time u come up got a drink they will act like the don't see u the men that work there are all perverts flirting really bad with all the woman no room service so if u get hungry after 10 u have to go to the sports bar that has burger and hotdogs u have to warm up your self so nasty . The only thing that was nice was the beach . Don't stay here !!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Big Tall Todd
Business
Indiana
Jun 26, 2013

Sub-par experience!!

This is by far the lowest quality resort of the 5 that were on the grounds in Punta Cana. The rooms are small and uncomfortable, beds are small, mattresses are thin and housekeeping did a poor job at cleaning on a daily basis. First day of trip, we found a cockroach in the room and lizards are prevalent and usually find their way into the rooms. Food quality at the daily buffets and available restaurants is sub-par or below average at best and the drinks are poorly made at the bars. Also, no poolside bar service is provided and no service is on the beach, one of the few resorts that does not provide that service. Amenities are lacking, the pool was dirty on most days and the overall entertainment quality is lacking from the poolside daily entertainment to the nighttime shows. As always, nightly vendors are pushy and disrespectful and as always shop pricing is way to high!! The deep sea fishing excursion was a disaster; however, not the fault of the hotel, although they HIGHLY recommended it! I would not recommend this resort and will definitely not be going back; however, trying a different Riu resort there may be possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brian Bentrup
Business
Chicago, IL
May 28, 2013

Great experience

My only complaint would be about the food. We tried the Hibachi and Mexican restaurants, both of which were great. The standard buffet, the Colonial, was alright. The standard pool-side fare at the Mama Juana was nothing special. I heard their steakhouse offerings were fantastic, however. I really wanted to try the Italian San Angelo restaurant because I felt they had the best menu, but they made our reservation for the wrong day. I guess I am partly to blame since I did not double-check the reservation ticket. Otherwise, I have absolutely no complaints. Special props go out to our maid Juana who not only cleaned the room and made interesting animals out of the towels, but even folded my laundry and put it on top of my suitcase! How awesome is that? I have stayed at Naiboa, Macao, and Bavaro (which just opened). Being that Bambu is the second cheapest, I would rate it accordingly by comparison. But even so, it was absolutely stunning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure you book your reservations a couple days in advance instead of waiting until the same day. The popular restaurants like the Mama Juana Steakhouse filled up in a hurry. Sometimes the hotel will let you reserve it 3 days in advance.

Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Papa from NY
Business
New York, NY, USA
Apr 6, 2013

Very average resort with very unfriendly staff

I have been to couple of different 3-4star resorts in Punta Cana, but this was by far the worst resort out of all of them. I am not very demending, but food was very bad and service at the restaurant almost non-existing. Negatives: - food at the buffet was almost the same every day - reservations to the specialty restaurants (ie steakhouse, Mexican, Japanese etc) were very hard to book. No tables were usually available after 7:30am. I think the restaurants were so "over subscribed" because food at the Buffet was very bad. - at breakfast bacon was always gone by 7:30am - to some this might not be a big deal, but to me it showed that the resort did not care to provide a basic part of a regular breakfast - service at the buffet was very bad. They simply did not have enough servers for serving water-beer-wine-coffee etc. - there were no servers around the pool or the beach. If you sat at the beach, the pool on the side or by the kids pool (we were with small kids) it was a trip to the bar. If you have no kids or the kids are older this might not be an issue as you may choose to be at the main pool right by the bar. - towels at at pool were dirty most of the time Positives + the beach is very nice with lots of palm trees (but this is nothing special in Punta Cana) + the kids pool is ok. It's better than none but it's small so it gets crowded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Pick Dolphin Explorer over Monti Park if you want to swim with dolphins

Review of Riu Bambu All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Veronika from Chicago
Business
Riu Bambu, Punta Cana Dom Republic
Dec 26, 2012

Needs customer service attention

I have experienced one outragious situation with staff- rude behavior at the towel counter. The staff needs to be trained to be more attentive to the needs of guests. The quality and variety of food was much below expected. It is a 5 star resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top