$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 10, 2015 Check-out: Jun 13, 2015

RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Arena Gorda (within the Riu Resort Complex), Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
259 out of 259
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Xoch
Business
New York
Jan 7, 2013

Awesome couple trip

The staff was nothing more than great!! They are the nicest and most friendliest people. The whole staff is just great! Food was amazing and beach was fabulous too. I am a fan of the Riu hotels and after this trip I will only stay at the Riu

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYMomHere
Business
New York
Dec 30, 2012

Excellent choice all around except for food quality

Beautiful, fun, well kept resort. Staff is extremely attentive and friendly. Right on a beautiful beach. WiFi is free as are diving lessons. Kids club activities could definitely use some work. And while food is plentiful with many choices, the quality was mediocre at best. All in all a terrific vacation place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Do not waste time on specialty restaurants in the resorts. The food is awful.

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jessica White tiger
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Nov 25, 2012

Que Bueno!

Overall the trip itself was great and enjoyed by all parties. The hotel we stayed at was part of a larger complex that included their other hotels that were all interconnected via a walkway along the beach. Driving up the exterior was similar to a Spanish style plantation, Grecian columns, white on a sandy yellow, with touches of Moroccan designs. Upon entering the lobby it changed into a French Louis the 14th décor with stained glass. The lobby also contained a sports bar, gift shop, café (which is featured in the sites photos) and jewelry store. It also served as the place to book excursions around the island such as snorkeling trips, horseback riding, to trips to town. The rooms were nicely furnished and came with a liquor bar that would be replenished should one consume all of the liquor. There were a variety of actives offered every day from water aerobics to bachata lessons. Room service came by every day and was always friendly. I personally ran into an issue the required maintenance and they came by within the hour. The grounds looks exactly as depicted in the hotels photos and the wet bar also has small seating areas along the side as well as seats at the bar. The pool itself was large and at its deepest point was about 4’ deep. There were also titled chaises that one could lay on and drink. Being that the hotel is located closer to the Atlantic the waters were a bit rougher than the Caribbean, but just as gorgeous. Of course there were the usual suspects, locals selling tourist goods and discounted excursions. It was nice that the hotel actually had a street that was nothing but small shops including a pharmacy and doctor office. They of course sold everything from sunscreen, water, mamajuana, and water. The one thing that me and my party we upset about was the nights that locals came in to sell goods such as carvings, jewelry, paintings and such. Understandably this is how they make additional money but to be harassed every five feet was bit obnoxious by the third day. Also there was an ATM, but it only dispensed pesos. Which was silly considering most people preferred the American dollar, and one would have to leave the resort to exchange the pesos to dollars. Every night there were shows in the theater that were actually well put together. The lobby offered free Wi-Fi, but for a limited amount of time every day. The food was also on point. They had a lobster dinner one night that was open to everyone, just required that you wear decent clothing and not your beach cover-up. Of all the restaurants we ate at the worst was the Japanese. The rice was overcooked and the seafood lacked, which was surprising considering we were on an island. Other than that the food selection was extensive and the even offered traditional Spanish food almost every day. I personally never left the dinning hall unsatisfied over the course of the week. Overall we had a much better time in DR this year and I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

the hotel offered a great selection of food that was tasty.

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zouba
Business
San Diego
Nov 19, 2012

great getaway

I recommend it for families as well as couples. Great place to stay at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

great Buffet

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LauraJean123
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 18, 2012

Good Value

I would say this hotel is a good choice if you are looking for a good place without breaking the bank. When you aren't spending a ton of money, you can't expect the Ritz. If you don't expect the Ritz than you will be happy. The staff is very pleasant, the food is good and the pool and beach is nice. I wasn't informed until later in my stay that the WIFI is free for one hour in the lobby. You'll need to get the code from the front desk to excess the free WIFI on your phone or computer. Also, make sure you explore the neighboring Rius. You have access to visit them with your bracelet so take advantage of that. And don't go horseback riding. I wasn't happy with the conditions the horses are kept in and the way they are treated. One last note, there is not much of a gym but the spa is nice. The back massages are heavenly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
c317
Business
Indiana
Sep 18, 2012

Spent 4 Nights at Riu Palace... Average..

Punta Cana itself was beautiful... would definitely go back to the island.. As for staying at the Rui Palace again... i doubt it. Room: Comfortable but had a strong musty smell. All of my clothes had to be rewashed once I got home. I killed 2 cockroaches in the room. Room service and turn down service was prompt. I upgraded to the jacuzzi suite paid $1400.00 for 4 nights and the view was apart of a roof below and leaves from palm tree. The way the resort is set up it really does not have any rooms with a decent view which was very disappointing considering what I had paid for the trip... Resort: Nice but nothing spectacular. Pool water was luke warm. All bar liquors were bottom shelf... The beach at this resort was amazing. Great beach area prob the best part of the trip. There is NO nightlife at this resort. There is a small plain bland casino that you have to take a bus ride to. The disco was less to be desired... and you had to take a bus to get to it. If you want nighttime entertainment stay some where else. They only played salsa music at the pool.. by day 3 I was salsa'd out! I can handle listening to reggie all day in Jamaica but salsa music... There is definitely an older crowd there Food: it was ok.. Not bad not great. I was never hungary. there was plenty of choice for me and I am gluten free. I never expect much from food at all inclusives. I never got sick.. so all and all i cant complain about the food. (Breakfast was their best meal in my opinion) Overall I had a blast because of the company I had. I did not choose this resort others in our party did... Looking back I prob would not have choosen this resort . It was not worth the $1400.00 I paid for 4 nights... now if you get a super deal 7-1000$ for a week... I would suck up the negative and make the best of it since it's not a 5 star luxury resort. People there do not speak much english... which made it hard sometimes

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stessy
Business
Los angeles
Sep 5, 2012

Lupercio vacation

Riu palace punta cana. Everything was great! All the workers were friendly and courteous

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alexandra0285
Business
New York
Aug 30, 2012

Beautiful beach

Beautiful beach and great hotel. However, the food was not very tasty. Alcoholic beverages/cocktails were not so good either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Svetlana31
Business
Atlanta
Aug 29, 2012

Great vocation!

We stayed at RIU before and were very pleased with all the resorts have to offer ,so this time we did not hesitate to book our vocation in Punta Cana at RIU.It was a great trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

This resort does nott have a night club on its teritory,and only on our last day of stay there we found out that there is a night club and casino just a short walk away on the teritory of RIU Mambu.Its definately worth going if you like dancing.

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sweety10
Business
LA, california
Aug 21, 2012

Great

Everything was amazing! Food was great, lots of selections. Service is top notch! Everybody was super nice. Property is gorgeous, well maintained. Only downside is the beach is basically unswimable. Lots of seaweed. I dont think its the hotels… fault, its just nature. Hotel tries to clean it up all day long but still comes back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Good shpping place

Back to menu Return to top