$193 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Arena Gorda (within the Riu Resort Complex), Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
328 reviews
Perfect little getaway

This was a perfect stay for a young couple like ourselves!! The staff was extremely friendly and... See full review

  • cmzmss
  • Jul 18, 2014
I love it and will definetely recommend it

I am very picky and I have to say that it was a great experience! The staff and service was... See full review

  • Janett from Miami
  • Jul 18, 2014
Punta Cana hotel enchants with Arena Gorda address, multiple eateries

Located within the Riu resort complex, Riu Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive towers over Arena Gorda, a pristine stretch of white sand dotted by palm trees. The palatial resort beckons with 612 rooms styled with old-world furniture and earth tones, plus multiple a la carte and buffet restaurants for any occasion.  A kids' club for children ages 4 to 12 entertains with supervised activities so that adults have private time for water sports or a spa treatment.

Highlights
  • Multiple restaurants
  • Outdoor pool and kids' pool
  • Eternal Spa for facials, massages and body treatments
  • Supervised activities for kids ages 4 to 12
Rooms

Traditional details brim throughout Riu Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive, from crown moldings to dramatic, hand-carved four-poster beds. A palette of espresso, burgundy and beige warms up the rooms, while lounge areas with steps up to the bedroom provide more comfort and space. A collection of 612 rooms caters to groups of all sizes, including families, singles and couples on a romantic getaway. Standard amenities cover hydromassage bathtub, satellite TV and patio or terrace.

Features

Guests set the pace for leisure time at Riu Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive. A day might begin with an introductory Scuba lesson in the pool or a workout in the gym or four tennis courts. The hotel also keeps kayaking, windsurfing, sailing and snorkeling gear on hand for more adventurous travelers.

 

Parents make the most of supervised kids' activities for tykes ages 4 to 12, and the numerous live music and shows performed daily.

Dining

24-hour room service sates hunger at any moment, but thanks to the all-inclusive option, many guests sample the many restaurants on the property. Hot and cold buffet items, plus on-the-spot cooking stations are signatures, as are themed dinners three nights a week at Don Manuel. A la carte and reservations-required eateries globe trot from Italy to Japan.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.4 mi/19.9 km)
  • Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • El Cortecito (10.4 mi/16.8 km)
  • Cap Cano (15.3 mi/24.7 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (21.1 mi/34 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (24.6 mi/39.6 km)
Business
  • Two conference rooms and two meeting rooms
  • Wi-Fi access
  • Public computers (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • Minimum Age: At least one person of 21 years old in every room.
  • The Hotel reserves the right of admission and therefore we may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. This situation can have serious consequences and should be avoided at any cost.
  • No student groups under 21 years of age or Spring-breakers are accepted year-round.
  • A maximum of four guests – three adults and one child or two adults and two children – are allowed per room. Four adults are NOT permitted. All bodies in room will fit on existing bedding, any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult will sleep in existing bedding.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Age must be specified during booking.
  • Honeymooners will receive a surprise gift in their room upon arrival. Certificate of Marriage will be required upon arrival.
  • Special requests, including extra beds and adjoining rooms, are subject to availability.Guests will be informed at check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.7226 -68.4594
Area served
Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana. Higey, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ): Approximate driving time is 30 minutes and distance is 30 kilometers.
Area description
Beach front property, 40 m. from the beach, 50 km to Higey, 30 km to Punta Cana Intl. Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite
Room with 1 king bed or 2 double beds include Bathroom equipped with Hydro massage bathtub, hairdryer, Telephone, Central air conditioning, Ceiling fan, Mini-bar & Liquor dispenser (restockable), Satellite TV, In-room safe, Balcony or terrace, complimentary in room safe, iron & ironing board, radio alamr clock, garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area an sofa, some rooms available with a Sofa bed. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Junior Suite Superior
Room with 1 king bed or 2 double beds include Bathroom equipped with Hydro massage bathtub, hairdryer, Telephone, Central air conditioning, Ceiling fan, Mini-bar & Liquor dispenser (restockable), Satellite TV, In-room safe, Balcony or terrace, complimentary in room safe, iron & ironing board, radio alarm clock, courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with sofa bed. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Italian restaurant
Italian restaurant Luigi Specialty restaurant for dinner . Reservation required .
Pavilion
at the theater plaza
Fusion Cuisine
Krystal a la carte Fusion cuisine & gourmet restaurant for dinner. Reservations required.
Brazilian restaurant
La Bodega , Brazilian theme restaurant for dinner. Reservations required.
Pool bar
Pool bar
Main Restaurant
Don Manuel,main restaurant with terrace and non smoking section, offering buffet style dining and show cooking stations, Theme dinners served three times a week.
Lounge bar
Lounge bar with terrace
Sports bar
Sports bar & snack 24 hrs open
Grill-steak house
La altagracia Grill-steak house for dinner. Reservations required.
Japanese restaurant
Yokohama Japanese specialty theme restaurant for dinner. Reservations required.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference room divisible into 2 smaller rooms, with a total of 4,216 sq.ft of floor space.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (328)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
328 out of 328
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tom and Sandra
Wethersfield, CT, USA
Apr 21, 2012

Beach Resort

Beautiful resort in good location, nice pool and wonderful beach. Friendly & helpful staff. Good food at specialty restaurants and the buffets. Wine & beer selection limited. We really enjoyed evening music & dancing outdoors in "town square" atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nashville, TN
Feb 13, 2008

Not there yet

While a beautiful physical plant, the staff at the Riu Palace have not been sufficiently trained throughout the facility to provide the type of service I have come to expect at comparably priced facilities in the Caribbean. It ranged from pleasant to indifferent to almost rude. Also, while there is access to many activities, a number of them require substantial travel to take advantage of on the island. Finally, the specialty restaurants we dined in were disappointing; the quality of the food was just as good, and the variety better, in the more conventional buffet offerings. Overall, I would give the facility no more than three stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Bear, DE
Jul 5, 2011

RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

A beautiful resort! The hotel and staff are great. My wife and I speak spanish and got to know some of the staff over the seven days we stayed. It's obvious the animation team works 14 plus hr days and they said a 12 day work week is norm Although the resort is "all inclusive" the staff's compensation is poor. I tipped those who were directly involved in my service. 98% of the food is excellent and there is so much you can't try it all. If a drink is not on the menu and you know how it's made it's your's and there is top shelf liquor. They wanted you to take sailing lessons for $30 in order to use the Katamarans which are only 10' and I was not able to convince them I could sail even though they saw me on the wind boards. That was the only disappointment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Beware of the "other resort promoters". They come ashore via boat wanting you to take a look at a new resort that will take approx. 40min.. They'll show you a resort under construction and then whisk you away to try and sell you a membership in a vaation club. It might be a good deal but all the food and drink they offered didn't make up for the 4hrs it took away from our vacation trying to convince them we were not interested. Also the water sports people try convincing you you have to take lessons to to Katamaran. You can talk your way out of that.

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RLJ
MA
Aug 22, 2009

Beautiful Resort

The thing about Punta Cana is there isn't much to see. It is a very poor place. Most people stick to the resorts because you don't want to go wandering off into town. This isn't a bad thing as long as there are things to do at the resort. The Riu Palace Punta Cana is beautiful and the staff is great. During the day you can sit by the pool, swim up to the bar,head down to the beach, or take part in daily activities( pool games, darts, volleyball, horseshoes, etc. There are also non-motorized water sports included as well, but the catch is you need to schedule these each day. They can fill up quickly. Once the evening hits there is less to do. The pool closes at 7. There is a show from 9:45-10:30, and that's about it. The Disco(Pacha) is down the road by the Riu Macao, not here at the Riu Palace. Then there is the so called Casino. At the resort this is actually a off the sports bar comprimising of about 10 slot machines and a roulette table. There is a Casino at the Riu Macao. but there is not much to see there either about 30 machines maybe 3 tables. So nightly entertainment is lacking. There needs to be more to do in the resort itself. As for food. There is the buffet that runs breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Good food but you'll be sick of it by day 3 because it is the same everyday. There are about 5 restaurants you can have dinner at but they are not all open each night and once again you have to make reservations daily. First seating at 6:30 second at 9. Reservations have to be made by 9am because they fill up quickly and then your stuck at the buffet for the same meal you ate the day before. There is also 24 hour room service, but this list is small: veggie or club sandwich, nachos, a plate of fruit, salad, or chocolate cake. I would stick the to salads because the sandwiches are filled with well bread. The snack-bar is also open 24-7. They have nachos, burgers, hot dogs, ham sandwiches and fruit available in one cooler throughout the day. The drinks are pretty good. There is a selection of resort drinks, but you can find a bartendor or two that can make a few other things. Coffee is great. There are machines that dispense Nescafe coffee(expresso, latte, etc) - very good. All in all the resort is a really nice place to be. They just need to spruce up the night life and change up the buffet a little and the place will be great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

If you walk along the beach to the right toward the other resorts you will eventually find a market on the beach where all sorts of things are for sale. Its a good place to bargain for souvenirs.

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
20'scouple
New Jersey
Sep 21, 2010

Overall good

This was our honeymoon. Neither of us had traveled to the Dominican but based on great reviews from family and friends we decided to try it out. The hotel was nice, clean, friendly staff. The only things we didn't like was that there were a lot of younger children running around and it could be very hard to relax with them there. Don't get me wrong I love children, but our particular experience was with very rowdy ones. Also, although there were some activities at night, we felt as if it was geared towards an older crowd. Being in our 20's, at times we felt out of place. The time at the hotel was very relaxing, the food was pretty decent overall(krystal was our favorite restaurant), and we had a good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
msbreya09
Baltimore, MD, USA
Oct 28, 2013

Beautiful Resort fro a wedding

I loved this hotel. I went for a wedding and absolutely loved the staff and food. The rooms on the other hand, were just ok. Outdated and smelled wet, but I dealt with it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
myrtle beach, sc
Jul 22, 2010

relaxing

great place to relax. Check in and checkout was quick and easy. the beach was great, the room was clean and confortable. Food was ok(Melia Caribe's was better). The hotel staff and waiters were very friendly unlike the people who run their beach (wind surfing, etc).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

did the snorkel/speed boat/snuba trip. Almost 3 hours before we were on the water. Too much wasted time, too little time on water. Misleading sales pitch also. Stay at the hotel.

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Punkie
New York, NY, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Husband's Birthday Getaway

We had a wondeful time. I will definitely go again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make dinner reservations at the resturants the day of or next day of arrival. Can make reservations for each day being spent at the resort at the same time.

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boris J007
Chicago
Jan 10, 2014

will be back fort he thirt time

Just came back from the Riu Palace Punta Cana. This was our second visit in the last three years. We enjoyed our stay there very much. Overall the hotel has a lot to offer, however I would not consider it a 5 star, rather 4.The entire staff was very friendly. The staff at the buffet were very attentive and met all our needs at each meal. Overall resort was very good and you could see that staff was trying their best to ensure that visitors were served well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CROnCRO
Apex, NC
Jul 30, 2009

Beautiful resort with great staff

This was our honeymoon trip. It was amazing. The grounds and gardens were kept up, the pool area, and beach were beautiful as well. We went in the middle of July so it was pretty humid there. The only complaint I have, if I even have one, is that our room wouldn't be cleaned until almost 3 or 4 in the afternoon. But we were at the pool, or beach most of the time anyway, so it's a very minor complaint.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Skip the Itailian restaurant. The other 4 are worth the wait.

Back to menu Return to top