$157 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 10, 2015 Check-out: Sep 13, 2015

RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Arena Gorda (within the Riu Resort Complex), Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
224 out of 224
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NEWYORKER2013
Family
NEWYORK
Jan 2, 2014

5 REASONS TO AVOID RIU PALACE PUNTA CANA

I would not recommend American's to avid this Riu palace punta cana for following reasons (1) Wifi is very slow takes 10 minutes to load one page felt like 1982 and also have to input login and password every 15 minutes very frustating. (2) Elevator was broken down several times. (3) They ran out of towels everyday by the poolside (4)Room phone was very old difficult to operate. (5) Worst of all people they do not speak english you better know spanish otherwise you will feel like you were from mars when you speak english.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

HARD ROCK RESORT

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kelso
Couples
Saratoga Springs, NY
Nov 21, 2011

Three stars at best

The room was musty - almost as if it hadn't been used in a while. Meals were ordinary - a far cry from our last visit there. The beach, pool, cocktail lounge and terrace area were fine. The place seems tired and the staff acts bored.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Do not set your dinner expectations too high; breakfasts were the exception (4-5 stars). They have trouble cooking hot dogs for lunch. Dinners were unexciting. No theme nights.

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
minename
Couples
Conway SC
Aug 3, 2012

Our Vacation

In our 8 days of stay we lost electricity 3 times. Also we were without warm water to take showers a couple of times for a few hours. The personal at the desk also need a little improvement. We have been to RIU Palace in Mexico and were very satisfied.So needless to say we will never go back to PUNTA CANA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alexandra0285
Couples
New York
Aug 30, 2012

Beautiful beach

Beautiful beach and great hotel. However, the food was not very tasty. Alcoholic beverages/cocktails were not so good either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
c317
Friends
Indiana
Sep 18, 2012

Spent 4 Nights at Riu Palace... Average..

Punta Cana itself was beautiful... would definitely go back to the island.. As for staying at the Rui Palace again... i doubt it. Room: Comfortable but had a strong musty smell. All of my clothes had to be rewashed once I got home. I killed 2 cockroaches in the room. Room service and turn down service was prompt. I upgraded to the jacuzzi suite paid $1400.00 for 4 nights and the view was apart of a roof below and leaves from palm tree. The way the resort is set up it really does not have any rooms with a decent view which was very disappointing considering what I had paid for the trip... Resort: Nice but nothing spectacular. Pool water was luke warm. All bar liquors were bottom shelf... The beach at this resort was amazing. Great beach area prob the best part of the trip. There is NO nightlife at this resort. There is a small plain bland casino that you have to take a bus ride to. The disco was less to be desired... and you had to take a bus to get to it. If you want nighttime entertainment stay some where else. They only played salsa music at the pool.. by day 3 I was salsa'd out! I can handle listening to reggie all day in Jamaica but salsa music... There is definitely an older crowd there Food: it was ok.. Not bad not great. I was never hungary. there was plenty of choice for me and I am gluten free. I never expect much from food at all inclusives. I never got sick.. so all and all i cant complain about the food. (Breakfast was their best meal in my opinion) Overall I had a blast because of the company I had. I did not choose this resort others in our party did... Looking back I prob would not have choosen this resort . It was not worth the $1400.00 I paid for 4 nights... now if you get a super deal 7-1000$ for a week... I would suck up the negative and make the best of it since it's not a 5 star luxury resort. People there do not speak much english... which made it hard sometimes

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ReneeK
Family
Houston, TX
Jan 19, 2013

New Year's getaway

Stayed there for New Year's Eve. The hotel pulled out all the stops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PPLe
Couples
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Jan 27, 2013

Okay- but would not go back again.

The vacation was okay- the resort itself was well maintain and beautiful. The beach was great and there were plenty of chairs/ space for everyone. The food was awful. I lost 5 pounds on the trip. Drinks were average. Although the package says tips are included, it was obvious that the staff expected them and you definitely got different treatment if you left them, which we did not. The desk staff were very unhelpful, did not appear to know what they were doing, and were not willing to assist us in making changes to our package. The company we booked with itself was awful to work with. We were looking to stay longer due to flight problems at the beginning of our trip, but they were not able to assist us, and kept asking us to call back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anthony Cheicon
Couples
Houston, Texas
Aug 17, 2010

What a fake 5 star hotel

Very very bad food !!! is comparable to any ordinary 3 star hotel, stinky pillows were asked to change from 3 pm and we could get new pillows around 11:30 pm after 8 calls to frontdesk, personnel rude and not firendly at all, supposed to offer premium drinks (12 years scotch was expected as in other 5 stars hotel that I have been before) the best that you could find in a bar is red label scotch. I have been around 10 hotels in Pta Cana from 3 star to 5 star this is the WORST hotel that claims to be a 5 star hotel, been optimistic could reach to a 3 star clasification. If you can do something to punish this people you should do it, I would expect my money back if were possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Kapolei. HI
Jul 9, 2009

Relaxing but not Fantastic

This was my 3rd RIU experience (Agadir, Morrocco and Ocho Rio, Jamaica). Though this hotel was much larger and more attractive than the others, it did not have the "relax we got it" feel that the others did. The atitude of the staff in Punta Cana made me feel as if I owed them something all the time. As if asking for a drink was a bother to them. I dont want to seem totally negative, overall the vacation was ok, but it simply did not compare to the prior experience. I probably wont return to this location due to the smoking, language barrier with staff and overall staff attitude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GIRLINPARADISE
Couples
OHIO
Jul 9, 2009

WILL NOT RETURN

STAFF DID NOT PROVIDE WASH CLOTHS,BAD SERVICE AT THE BUFFET,SOME STAFF LAZY,WE DID NOT TIP AFTER THE 2ND DAY,ROOMS WHERE SO MUSTY,IF YOU HAVE ALLERGIES ,YOU SHOUD NOT GO ,IT TAKES YOUR BREATH AWAY,HOUSE KEEPING ONLY SPRAYED ROOM 2 TIMES OUT OF 10 DAYS , BEDS ARE VERY HARD ,BEACH SERVICE WAS GOOD,BEACH VERY NICE ,WILL NOT RETURN ,WILL GO BACK TO MEXICO NEXT YEAR ,SERVICE IS ALWAYS EXCELLANT THERE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

TAKE PLENTY OF SPF WITH YOU ,I RAN OUT OF SPF 30 ,AND I HAD TO PAY 24.00 FOR A BOTTLE .

Back to menu Return to top