$223 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2014 Check-out: Aug 2, 2014

RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Arena Gorda (within the Riu Resort Complex), Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
326 reviews
amazing couples vacation

Me and my boyfriend just got back on a few days ago and I wish I never had to leave. We had such an... See full review

  • kate the great 28
  • Jun 6, 2014
it was an amazing vacation!

Everything was excellent! we were celebrating our wedding there with our families and friends! See full review

  • richard kai devin street
  • May 30, 2014
Punta Cana hotel enchants with Arena Gorda address, multiple eateries

Located within the Riu resort complex, Riu Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive towers over Arena Gorda, a pristine stretch of white sand dotted by palm trees. The palatial resort beckons with 612 rooms styled with old-world furniture and earth tones, plus multiple a la carte and buffet restaurants for any occasion.  A kids' club for children ages 4 to 12 entertains with supervised activities so that adults have private time for water sports or a spa treatment.

Highlights
  • Multiple restaurants
  • Outdoor pool and kids' pool
  • Eternal Spa for facials, massages and body treatments
  • Supervised activities for kids ages 4 to 12
Rooms

Traditional details brim throughout Riu Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive, from crown moldings to dramatic, hand-carved four-poster beds. A palette of espresso, burgundy and beige warms up the rooms, while lounge areas with steps up to the bedroom provide more comfort and space. A collection of 612 rooms caters to groups of all sizes, including families, singles and couples on a romantic getaway. Standard amenities cover hydromassage bathtub, satellite TV and patio or terrace.

Features

Guests set the pace for leisure time at Riu Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive. A day might begin with an introductory Scuba lesson in the pool or a workout in the gym or four tennis courts. The hotel also keeps kayaking, windsurfing, sailing and snorkeling gear on hand for more adventurous travelers.

 

Parents make the most of supervised kids' activities for tykes ages 4 to 12, and the numerous live music and shows performed daily.

Dining

24-hour room service sates hunger at any moment, but thanks to the all-inclusive option, many guests sample the many restaurants on the property. Hot and cold buffet items, plus on-the-spot cooking stations are signatures, as are themed dinners three nights a week at Don Manuel. A la carte and reservations-required eateries globe trot from Italy to Japan.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.4 mi/19.9 km)
  • Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • El Cortecito (10.4 mi/16.8 km)
  • Cap Cano (15.3 mi/24.7 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (21.1 mi/34 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (24.6 mi/39.6 km)
Business
  • Two conference rooms and two meeting rooms
  • Wi-Fi access
  • Public computers (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • Minimum Age: At least one person of 21 years old in every room.
  • The Hotel reserves the right of admission and therefore we may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. This situation can have serious consequences and should be avoided at any cost.
  • No student groups under 21 years of age or Spring-breakers are accepted year-round.
  • A maximum of four guests – three adults and one child or two adults and two children – are allowed per room. Four adults are NOT permitted. All bodies in room will fit on existing bedding, any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult will sleep in existing bedding.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Age must be specified during booking.
  • Honeymooners will receive a surprise gift in their room upon arrival. Certificate of Marriage will be required upon arrival.
  • Special requests, including extra beds and adjoining rooms, are subject to availability.Guests will be informed at check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.7226 -68.4594
Area served
Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana. Higey, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ): Approximate driving time is 30 minutes and distance is 30 kilometers.
Area description
Beach front property, 40 m. from the beach, 50 km to Higey, 30 km to Punta Cana Intl. Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite
Room with 1 king bed or 2 double beds include Bathroom equipped with Hydro massage bathtub, hairdryer, Telephone, Central air conditioning, Ceiling fan, Mini-bar & Liquor dispenser (restockable), Satellite TV, In-room safe, Balcony or terrace, complimentary in room safe, iron & ironing board, radio alamr clock, garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area an sofa, some rooms available with a Sofa bed. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Junior Suite Superior
Room with 1 king bed or 2 double beds include Bathroom equipped with Hydro massage bathtub, hairdryer, Telephone, Central air conditioning, Ceiling fan, Mini-bar & Liquor dispenser (restockable), Satellite TV, In-room safe, Balcony or terrace, complimentary in room safe, iron & ironing board, radio alarm clock, courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with sofa bed. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference room divisible into 2 smaller rooms, with a total of 4,216 sq.ft of floor space.

Dining

Italian restaurant
Italian restaurant Luigi Specialty restaurant for dinner . Reservation required .
Pavilion
at the theater plaza
Fusion Cuisine
Krystal a la carte Fusion cuisine & gourmet restaurant for dinner. Reservations required.
Brazilian restaurant
La Bodega , Brazilian theme restaurant for dinner. Reservations required.
Pool bar
Pool bar
Main Restaurant
Don Manuel,main restaurant with terrace and non smoking section, offering buffet style dining and show cooking stations, Theme dinners served three times a week.
Lounge bar
Lounge bar with terrace
Sports bar
Sports bar & snack 24 hrs open
Grill-steak house
La altagracia Grill-steak house for dinner. Reservations required.
Japanese restaurant
Yokohama Japanese specialty theme restaurant for dinner. Reservations required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (326)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
326 out of 326
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Naples, Fl
Jun 28, 2009

Riu Palace, Punta Cana D.R.

Musty odor penetrated everything - haven't been able to get it out of clothes or suitcases despite several washings, lysol and airing our in the Florida sun for 4 days.same food on menu everyday - boring and not much variety. nothing for kids or teens to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Molly C.
Atlanta, GA, USA
Jan 10, 2012

I suggest shelling out the money for somewhere nicer

It was probably the worst vacation I have ever had. That wasn't entirely the hotel's fault. One hopes for nice weather on a tropical vacation, and we didn't have that. However, let me talk about the hotel. The building itself is beautiful and the beach was stunning! I would describe it as a one or two star hotel that happened to be located in a five star building. Right off the bat when we get to our room, our safe if broken and our lamps all had burnt out light bulbs. The bed was like sleeping on a rock. At one point I tried to order room service, and we found that our phone was broken too. I went down to the lobby, and instead of trying to fix anything they simply dialed room service, shoved the phone in my face, and walked away. On our second night there, the power went off around 4 am. It appeared to be only our room. The air conditioning and everything were off. We asked for a new room, but weren't even able to move all of our stuff until the next day because we couldn't see our stuff. The food was embarrassingly bad!!!! The worst part was, it actually looked and smelled fine. Please understand that I'm not just being picky. The 24 snack bad is merely a fridge full of the most pathetic sandwiches you have ever seen, disgusting hamburgers floating in grease, and a big container of nacho cheese that you had to scoop onto your chips with a fork and then heat in the microwave. Picture the nachos that you might see at a movie theater, nothing but processed cheese and chips. Those terrible nachos were literally one of the best things that I had to eat over a period of five days. The service overall was mediocre. I joked with some other customers that they are clearly not trying for repeat visits. I also spoke to a woman on my plane when leaving who told me she once had a similar bad experience at the Riu in Cabo. She was barely able to get her kids to eat anything. I will say, that had we had nice weather the trip would have been better. Our snorkeling trip was canceled, and it stormed the whole time. If we had been there for nicer weather, all of the bad things about the hotel wouldn't have been as big of an issue given the beauty of the beach. If you really want to go to this area because you are traveling on a budget, know this. All of the Riu resorts in Punta Cana face the same gorgeous beach. There is no need to pay for one of the nicer Rius. Given the food was so terrible at our resort, it would be hard to imagine that the food at any of the lesser resorts could be much worse. I won't be going again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping is right within reach, but know that the vendors are super aggressive. If you so much as glance at what they are selling, they will start putting cheap necklaces on you saying they are a gift in an attempt to guilt you into buying something. Also, never agree to the first price. If you show a lack of interest, they will come down on the price at least by half.

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
NM
Aug 25, 2010

Don't go there!!!!

We were booked to stay at the Palace Punta Cana, but missed our last flight out of Miami due to plane trouble. When we called the hotel that night to inform them that we would be arriving the next day, I was placed on hold five times because the staff did not want to (or could not) speak English. I finally reached someone that told me that the reservation staff would not be available until 8 AM the next day. As we were about to board the plane to DR the next day, we were informed that the hotel had given our room (a full suite) away. In a moment of panic, we allowed [...] to book us at the Palace Macao with another suite. The Palace Macao is an old hotel and much smaller than the other Palace. After dealing with rude staff at the front desk, it took another four hours for them to give us the room key. The room was smelly, above the expected slightly mildew smell associated with humid environments. The air conditioning did not work for the first three days. When it did start to work, hardly anything came out of the vents and was accompanied by a horrid noise. The bathroom was small and the Jacuzzi tub was old and creepy. The staircase leading up to the Jacuzzi was old and rusty. The beds were so incredibly hard and uncomfortable that the floor was a better option. All of that could be overlooked if the rest of the resort was nice, but it was not. There is no swim up bar and all of the other bars are not air conditioned and the lounge smelled strongly of smoke and vomit (not an exaggeration!). The wait staff was undermanned and it took a very long time just to get a glass of water at dinner. The pool had one waiter and getting his attention was impossible. The food was terrible. We ate at the Krystal restaurant one night and the food was gross, the buns were stale and served with margarine. We have eaten at the same restaurant in Puerto Vallarta and it was amazing, this was awful compared to that. And to top it all off, there were sand fleas or something that was causing small red, itchy bumps all over my body. Overall it was such a horrible experience that we asked for a refund and took the first flight out of the Dominican that we could.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Go somewhere else!!! The Riu Palace in Och Rios and Puerto Vallarta are absolutly beautiful! The staff lived to serve you, the food was great as well as everything else! However, the next time we vacation we will be looking for places that claim to have comfortable beds, good food and a pool/pool bar that will stay open late! (Riu closes their pools at 6pm)

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Julyvacationer
Massachusetts, US
Jul 31, 2012

Not a 5 star as advertised

Arrived with my pregnant wife and 8yr old daughter at 3:55 (almost a full hr late for check in) room WAS NOT READY! That was all I needed to know about this so called "5 stars" resort. So they told me to go eat and return later. When I came back they sent me to a room which believe it or not WAS OCCUPIED!!!! I actually opened and walked into a room to find personal belongings, clothing all over the place. Luckily the guest was not inside at the moment. At this point I was outraged, and I pointed out that we were tired after driving 4 hrs and my pregnant wife need a bed to rest. So they gave me a temporary room while the Superior Suite I had reserved was prepared. In short, we were only able to get our actual room 3 hours later at around 6:30pm. While I was told upon check-in that I had access to all other 4 Riu hotels, I found that it didn't include the buffets. I wasn't too excited with the menu, and food quality needs improvement. I found a little worm moving in my salad, pointed it out to a restaurant supervisor, who asked me for my room number, but don't know why because nothing happened. Marvelous looking lobby, but the cigarette stink was not so pleasant. Awesome shows, in both Palace and Riu Bambu, it's great to have options for shows. The fitness center was a joke, very big compared to other hotels, but under equipped. The heaviest dumbell was 15lbs. And finally.. WHAT"S UP WITH THE HUGE KEY?? and they only give 1 copy. Extremely inconvenient especially when you're travelling with family. It was very hard having to coordinate everything having only 1 key. I will never return, and wouldn't recommend it. I see this hotel either lowering their star rating, or price altogether.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MrsReady
Bethel, Connecticut
Aug 1, 2013

Front Desk Staff is Horrible and Rude!

My husband and I went here for our honeymoon. Excited for more than it being our honeymoon, we drove up to what we expected to be a beautiful place. The building itself was actually beautiful...it was the front desk that made it ugly. After a 7 hour flight, we arrive to check in only to be told that they were overbooked, and we had to stay at their other hotel. They had no regard for the inconvenience they were putting us through and didn't even offer to compensate us. They kept saying there was nothing they could do. Meanwhile, at least 3 other people showed up at the front desk extremely upset. One of them even complained about their room and wanted another room...which they got! How do they get another room and we get none? At any rate, arguing was going no where, so they put us at another hotel that was a joke. Small resort, horrible outdoor buffet food, and condescending manager. Not to mention the room they gave us was right over the bar, so music was blasting until 4am. The next morning we made sure to wake up early and go back to get our regularly paid for junior suite. This time, there was a different manager who hadn't been told about our situation and that we'd be coming back. He didn't want to call the other manager from the previous day because he 'had a late night' and some how that became our problem. This manager also spoke to me as if he didn't care he was preventing us from settling in and relaxing on our honeymoon. Needless to say, eventually we got our room. Although the room was nice, the musty/mildew smell was disgusting. The smell from the shower was the worst. The food, was sub-par in the restaurants and poor in the buffet. You had to make reservations at the restaurants 24hours in advance. However, when we went to make the reservations at any of their 4 restaurants, we couldn't because suddenly they were allowing people to book 3 days in advance. We only got in 2 out of our 7 days because of this. Having access to all of their resorts, I can honestly say that you would be better off staying somewhere else to relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gabriella33
New york
Nov 13, 2013

punta cana trip

The bed sheets were not changed all week, we left a tip everyday for the room staff it made no difference.There were roaches in the dining room,the food was terrible.The pool staff was wonderful and very friendly.The resort needs some tlc and paint as well as updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Trendy Couple
West Palm Beach, fl
May 14, 2013

Riu Palace Punta Cana

Reviews are better when you know who the people writing the reviews are. We are a young couple used to trendy places and comfortable rooms as well top shelf liquor- No kids. The hotel looks beautiful for picture. Rooms are very standard not a good bed at all, musty smell. Pool is not impressive at all very dirty you can see the dirt floating. The pools from Riu Bavaro and Riu Macao are better and cleaner. On the positive side the beach is amazing – ask for Ruben he is the best!!! Food - Greasy very Greasy!!!!! and restaurants where you are supposed to make a reservation have horrible food. my frined got sick from the japanesse place. Alcohol is beyond bottom shelf is the cheapest you can find oh yeah you can drink k all you want but you won’t want to drink it lol. If I were to go back; I would spend a little more and stay at the Hard Rock or the Melia or Barcelo and make sure they offer stations with top liquor as well. One more thing do not try to get out to check out the town there is absolutely nothing to do this is not like other destinations where there is an actual city , there is absolutely nothing outside of the hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

HARD ROCK!

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jersey City, NJ
Jul 20, 2009

Riu Palace - NOT ALL SAID TO BEEEEEE

Overall my experience with great, because we made it happen with the people we meet at the resort. The experience with the staff is extremely hard when you don't speak their's and they don't speak your language. Wash cloths were NOT provided, the A/C did not work 5 out of 7 days and the restaurants you have to go in person between 8:00/10:30 to make reservations for dinner. Can not make over telephone. Food was not all that good for a 5 star hotel. Again, overall we did enjoy, but will not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Make it your own

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Resse
Linden North Carolina
Jul 27, 2012

Bad

The hotel RIU Palace on the ouit side and lobby and grounds look really good, but the rooms are awful the smell and are damp the pillows are terrible and have a awful smell you can not sleep on them, everything I brought back home with me all my clothes had and awful smell from just being in the room. the staff are horrible not helpful and unfriendly the most unfriendly resort I have every been to. When we checked out they did not even ask how our stay was actually they said nothing just took our keys and handed us our check out pass and that was it. I will never return to Punta Cana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ted From Orlando
Orlando, FL, USA
Oct 22, 2011

Will not go back

The hotel is nice, the food is ok. My main complaint is you are isolated to the hotel grounds. It is very costly to take cabs and there is nothing in walking distance of the hotel. No one explained y\to us how the dinner reservation system worked, we were given a map of the hotel complex but it was a verry dark copy and no explanation of numbered locations. Specifically I was not happy wth COCO Tours, our transportation company, they scheduled us to arrange our transportation tio the airport and did not show up. The rep was only available one day, but we were told they would be available every day. Air travel from Orlando is miserable, since you have no direct flights to DR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top