$157 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Arena Gorda (within the Riu Resort Complex), Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
217 out of 217
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Resse
Business
Linden North Carolina
Jul 27, 2012

Bad

The hotel RIU Palace on the ouit side and lobby and grounds look really good, but the rooms are awful the smell and are damp the pillows are terrible and have a awful smell you can not sleep on them, everything I brought back home with me all my clothes had and awful smell from just being in the room. the staff are horrible not helpful and unfriendly the most unfriendly resort I have every been to. When we checked out they did not even ask how our stay was actually they said nothing just took our keys and handed us our check out pass and that was it. I will never return to Punta Cana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MrsReady
Business
Bethel, Connecticut
Aug 1, 2013

Front Desk Staff is Horrible and Rude!

My husband and I went here for our honeymoon. Excited for more than it being our honeymoon, we drove up to what we expected to be a beautiful place. The building itself was actually beautiful...it was the front desk that made it ugly. After a 7 hour flight, we arrive to check in only to be told that they were overbooked, and we had to stay at their other hotel. They had no regard for the inconvenience they were putting us through and didn't even offer to compensate us. They kept saying there was nothing they could do. Meanwhile, at least 3 other people showed up at the front desk extremely upset. One of them even complained about their room and wanted another room...which they got! How do they get another room and we get none? At any rate, arguing was going no where, so they put us at another hotel that was a joke. Small resort, horrible outdoor buffet food, and condescending manager. Not to mention the room they gave us was right over the bar, so music was blasting until 4am. The next morning we made sure to wake up early and go back to get our regularly paid for junior suite. This time, there was a different manager who hadn't been told about our situation and that we'd be coming back. He didn't want to call the other manager from the previous day because he 'had a late night' and some how that became our problem. This manager also spoke to me as if he didn't care he was preventing us from settling in and relaxing on our honeymoon. Needless to say, eventually we got our room. Although the room was nice, the musty/mildew smell was disgusting. The smell from the shower was the worst. The food, was sub-par in the restaurants and poor in the buffet. You had to make reservations at the restaurants 24hours in advance. However, when we went to make the reservations at any of their 4 restaurants, we couldn't because suddenly they were allowing people to book 3 days in advance. We only got in 2 out of our 7 days because of this. Having access to all of their resorts, I can honestly say that you would be better off staying somewhere else to relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Naples, FL
May 10, 2008

My review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

The bad first! Well, be prepared for a few things. I've never had these types of things happen to me on vacation so it was a bit of an unpleasant surprise. Be ready for no hot water- and I mean NONE....for 4 of our 6 days we took cold showers. Not only that. We were without total water in the room on the morning of our departure. So here we are- fresh out of our massages, all greased up and sticky, and there was no water to be had for a shower. Great feeling just before having to catch a flight. Prepare for sporadic power outages that translate into no AC which translates into a nasty and musty room. It was quite the dilemma getting that musty and moldy smell out of ALL our clothes and luggage. Everything always seems wet in our room. Beaches were beautiful. We walked and walked for miles. You can find your own little hiding hole in between the branches of palms for the lady to go topless or just to get some quiet space. Weather is hot. Pool is OK. Bars serve typical 'all-inclusive' types of drinks. None all too strong. Hotel grounds were pristine. Go snorkeling. Reefs were beautiful. Huge yellowtail snapper everywhere. Bring some bread from the buffet so you can have them eating right out of your hand. Go Sailing. Go Kayaking. We went on a fishing charter and caught a white marlin...highlight of the trip for me. Restaurants were on the low side of OK. Skip the Brazilian fiasco. Weird and interesting at the same time. I ate it but I'm a guy and I eat just about anything when I'm hungry. Do the steak house and the tapas place. Good luck!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Check out the outfitter Scuba Caribe on the beach front before you book anything with you tour guy dude. Prices were much cheaper with Scuba Caribe. The folks working the hut were mostly pleasant and informative. These are the same people parading in and out of the pool and beach areas in flowered shirts selling excursions.

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hornell Heights
Oct 18, 2008

I've been to Better

Not to complain too much as I had a wonderful vacation. The smell of must in the room was a major dissatisfier, if it wasn't for the wonderful receptionist at the spa I wouldn't have been able to enjoy the room. She however gave me some incence and another air freshener for the room. The resort lacked atmosphere and the entertainment left alot to be desired. Standing in line every morning to book the a-la-carte resteraunt was not the best of experiences. However the a-la-carte resteraunts were wonderful. The beach was beautiful and we did take advantage of the spa and fitness center. Again I have alot of praise for the receptionist at the Spa she out did herself in givig us ideas on where to visit and helping me to rid the room of the bad odor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 15, 2007

My review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

The room I stayed in had a constant order of mildew. The smell pervaded everything in the room and even clothes that I didn't wear had to be washed when I got home. Other than that, the service was excellant and the food and drink were above reproach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jersey City, NJ
Jul 20, 2009

Riu Palace - NOT ALL SAID TO BEEEEEE

Overall my experience with great, because we made it happen with the people we meet at the resort. The experience with the staff is extremely hard when you don't speak their's and they don't speak your language. Wash cloths were NOT provided, the A/C did not work 5 out of 7 days and the restaurants you have to go in person between 8:00/10:30 to make reservations for dinner. Can not make over telephone. Food was not all that good for a 5 star hotel. Again, overall we did enjoy, but will not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Make it your own

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chrjoh
Business
Waretown, nj
Jul 1, 2014

Do not go in the summer!!

Lovely hotel, but some of the staff were rude and could not care less about the patron. The lobby staff were great, the girl taking reservations for dinner was the worse! I would fire her in a heart beat. Rude and could not be bothered. The food was less than average, over cooked and some of it was just nasty!!! The wait staff was very nice. The maître de in both restaurants were , I thing, they thought they were policemen!!! We were treated like peasants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food was not good!!!

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
All friendly
Business
New Jersey
Aug 24, 2014

Great location, but rooms not clean

Perfectly located resort, but the rooms were not clean at all. We saw bed bug spots inside the room on curtain and outside the room on the walls too. When we complained, they applied with bug spray and the smell would not go away for our entire stay. The staff was very nice every where... But I wish they could keep rooms cleaner and free from bed bugs..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Good shows every night.. Get inside the hall sooner.

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cozz.
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Sep 13, 2014

Nice Resort But Would Not Go Back !!

The resort was beautiful (it truly was a Palace) !!! The beach was perfect !!! The bed was as hard as a ROCK ( if you have any kind of back issues forget it) !! The food was below average at best ( worst room service food I have ever had & the menu was very, very limited ) !!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AshMay
Business
N/A
Mar 26, 2015

Go if you want to feel like just another number

My husband and I went to celebrate our 4 year anniversary as well as a new baby. From the time that we entered, it was just a below average place. 2 of the staff spoke English. Rest were unable to communicate with us. And they were uninterested in communicating, they just asked the normal questions and then chatted among themselves. Some of the staff at the buffett was nice enough to warm up my oatmeal in microwave. There are no microwaves in the fridge. No water waiting for you in the room when you arrive or check in. You have to call for water and it'll take 30 mins. Only place that will give you water is the front desk.. which is far if you're at another end of the resort. The restaurants were below average. The food was a buffet style.. mostly every where. The food, was below average (I would discourage your from going to this resort if you're a vegetarian). The fruits were ALL the same everyday.. sour mango, sour passion fruit, bruised bananas, good pineapple and seeded watermelon and unripe cantalope. The staff clearly doesnt know what a vegetarian means as they have ALL the meat dishes side by side with vegetarian (of which were choice of same pasta dishes, omlette made with one spachula for veg and non-veg), the drinks were all the same.. SWEET and not made with fresh juices. The room service menu had 6 items (of which 3 were deserts and all else was less than average). There were ants around the fridge area that I told the attendent about, but they could careless.. which gave us some bug bites. The elevators were slow, the gift shot was CRAZY expensive (35 dollars for a sun screen). The VIP person assigned to us was a complete disapointment. We couldnt find him when he told us to be in the lobby.. waited for him for 2 hours at the bar. No one else cared to help us. Then day before we were set to leave, I met up with him and he had the BIGGEST attitiude. He claimed that I was lying and didnt come and wait for him, and I told him to confirm with the front desk to check himself before he called me a lier. Then with attitude, he said okay leave your return pass here come back in 20 mins. Then as i was walking away,, he said.. "YOU ARE WELCOME".. I never said thank you.. for his RUDE behavior. went back, he handed me the piece of paper with time and said here follow this. This was pretty much the same exprience that others had that we spoke to. I am so furious and I asked someone for the manager, and NO ONE CARED. Thats what i'd like to sum up this experience with.. NO one cares about you at this hotel.. for the price that we paid, for a four star resort, it should have been 10 times better than this. The SPA was disgusting. The jacuzzi area had small kids running around and jumping in the water (clearly friends of the staff) and no one said ANYTHING to them including their mother which seemed like a staff at the hotel. It was NOT relaxing at ALL. The best part was some of the visitors were nice and fun to conversate. Night entertainment consisted of same band.. No schedule posted anywhere for all the activity they had.. overall.. not a great hotel, food and staff. I would stay away from this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top