$341 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 18, 2015 Check-out: Jan 21, 2015

RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Arena Gorda (within the Riu Resort Complex), Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
228 reviews
An amazing time spent!

impressed by the service! An incredible service!!! See full review

  • Breeselda
  • Nov 16, 2014
Family Vacation

Very fun vacation the family. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful (but please tip). Room was... See full review

  • Joe from Virginia
  • Oct 13, 2014
Punta Cana hotel enchants with Arena Gorda address, multiple eateries

Located within the Riu resort complex, Riu Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive towers over Arena Gorda, a pristine stretch of white sand dotted by palm trees. The palatial resort beckons with 612 rooms styled with old-world furniture and earth tones, plus multiple a la carte and buffet restaurants for any occasion.  A kids' club for children ages 4 to 12 entertains with supervised activities so that adults have private time for water sports or a spa treatment.

Highlights
  • Multiple restaurants
  • Outdoor pool and kids' pool
  • Eternal Spa for facials, massages and body treatments
  • Supervised activities for kids ages 4 to 12
Rooms

Traditional details brim throughout Riu Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive, from crown moldings to dramatic, hand-carved four-poster beds. A palette of espresso, burgundy and beige warms up the rooms, while lounge areas with steps up to the bedroom provide more comfort and space. A collection of 612 rooms caters to groups of all sizes, including families, singles and couples on a romantic getaway. Standard amenities cover hydromassage bathtub, satellite TV and patio or terrace.

Features

Guests set the pace for leisure time at Riu Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive. A day might begin with an introductory Scuba lesson in the pool or a workout in the gym or four tennis courts. The hotel also keeps kayaking, windsurfing, sailing and snorkeling gear on hand for more adventurous travelers.

 

Parents make the most of supervised kids' activities for tykes ages 4 to 12, and the numerous live music and shows performed daily.

Dining

24-hour room service sates hunger at any moment, but thanks to the all-inclusive option, many guests sample the many restaurants on the property. Hot and cold buffet items, plus on-the-spot cooking stations are signatures, as are themed dinners three nights a week at Don Manuel. A la carte and reservations-required eateries globe trot from Italy to Japan.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.4 mi/19.9 km)
  • Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • El Cortecito (10.4 mi/16.8 km)
  • Cap Cano (15.3 mi/24.7 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (21.1 mi/34 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (24.6 mi/39.6 km)
Business
  • Two conference rooms and two meeting rooms
  • Wi-Fi access
  • Public computers (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • Minimum Age: At least one person of 21 years old in every room.
  • The Hotel reserves the right of admission and therefore we may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. This situation can have serious consequences and should be avoided at any cost.
  • No student groups under 21 years of age or Spring-breakers are accepted year-round.
  • A maximum of four guests – three adults and one child or two adults and two children – are allowed per room. Four adults are NOT permitted. All bodies in room will fit on existing bedding, any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult will sleep in existing bedding.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Age must be specified during booking.
  • Honeymooners will receive a surprise gift in their room upon arrival. Certificate of Marriage will be required upon arrival.
  • Special requests, including extra beds and adjoining rooms, are subject to availability.Guests will be informed at check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite
Room with 1 king bed or 2 double beds include Bathroom equipped with Hydro massage bathtub, hairdryer, Telephone, Central air conditioning, Ceiling fan, Mini-bar & Liquor dispenser (restockable), Satellite TV, In-room safe, Balcony or terrace, complimentary in room safe, iron & ironing board, radio alamr clock, garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area an sofa, some rooms available with a Sofa bed. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Junior Suite Superior
Room with 1 king bed or 2 double beds include Bathroom equipped with Hydro massage bathtub, hairdryer, Telephone, Central air conditioning, Ceiling fan, Mini-bar & Liquor dispenser (restockable), Satellite TV, In-room safe, Balcony or terrace, complimentary in room safe, iron & ironing board, radio alarm clock, courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with sofa bed. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Italian restaurant
Italian restaurant Luigi Specialty restaurant for dinner . Reservation required .
Pavilion
at the theater plaza
Fusion Cuisine
Krystal a la carte Fusion cuisine & gourmet restaurant for dinner. Reservations required.
Brazilian restaurant
La Bodega , Brazilian theme restaurant for dinner. Reservations required.
Pool bar
Pool bar
Main Restaurant
Don Manuel,main restaurant with terrace and non smoking section, offering buffet style dining and show cooking stations, Theme dinners served three times a week.
Lounge bar
Lounge bar with terrace
Sports bar
Sports bar & snack 24 hrs open
Grill-steak house
La altagracia Grill-steak house for dinner. Reservations required.
Japanese restaurant
Yokohama Japanese specialty theme restaurant for dinner. Reservations required.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference room divisible into 2 smaller rooms, with a total of 4,216 sq.ft of floor space.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (228)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
228 out of 228
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gera13
Business
New York
Oct 11, 2014

The worst place to go !

I was in Punta Cana many times and this was the worst experience! Most unprofessional staff !They do not care and not even trying to be helpful! Food is so bad I can not even describe , I do not really care about food but there are nothing to eat in buffet at all!! Restaurants poor quality as well!!! Very small beach and dirty even in you come in AM!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The only ok thing is Casino , but as well even manager there is out of his mind! They put the music so loud and when few people asked them to lower the music , the reply was ... " our manager likes it".. Crazy place!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
still a happy traveller
Business
new york
Jun 8, 2010

Riu Palace Punta Cana

Staff not very friendly and unwilling to get you the necessities like towels or clean room or bring up extra pillows and blankets. Room just looked wiped down, not actually scrubbed cleaned. They left balloons taped onto the bed from the couple that had their honeymoon before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DR Neveragain
Business
NYC
May 11, 2011

Just an Average place..

Went to this hotel with 7 of my best buds to cut loose and hang out. The place had zero night life. The hotel staff was nice but the entertainment was non-existent. The poolside entertainment was even worse and the music never changed. Sadly all three RIU's are the same. And don't bother hitting the Casino in the Macao because it's a sad excuse for a Casino and full of scam artist trying to rip everyone off. I REPEAT do not hit the casino unless you want to get ripped off. When you ask about clubs they send you to Pacha which is outside the Macao and not part of the all-inclusive. This place is nasty and frequented by hookers looking to lure in unsuspecting travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
worldexplorer
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Oct 12, 2011

Very disappointed

I travel alot. I have been to alot of places. When my partner and I arrived, we thought the place was very pretty inside. We asked for a suite. We paid an extra 100/night for a suite. After an hour of waiting for a room. We took what we received. This room was pretty but extremely dirty. There was MOLD in the ceiling. The bed was so mildewed that I needed towels to put down over the bed to sleep ok. The air did not work when we got there. Just horrible. The staff is average. Not very friendly and actually needs more training. The food is definitely below average. We got up at 7 am to make reservations in the Italian restaurant for that night and when we got there, we had a buffet of pizza. I was able to get an average steak. Very little choices. Very disappointed. I would not go back. Not worth the money. There is no quality control and they do not maintain the hotel well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ted From Orlando
Business
Orlando, FL, USA
Oct 22, 2011

Will not go back

The hotel is nice, the food is ok. My main complaint is you are isolated to the hotel grounds. It is very costly to take cabs and there is nothing in walking distance of the hotel. No one explained y\to us how the dinner reservation system worked, we were given a map of the hotel complex but it was a verry dark copy and no explanation of numbered locations. Specifically I was not happy wth COCO Tours, our transportation company, they scheduled us to arrange our transportation tio the airport and did not show up. The rep was only available one day, but we were told they would be available every day. Air travel from Orlando is miserable, since you have no direct flights to DR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Resse
Business
Linden North Carolina
Jul 27, 2012

Bad

The hotel RIU Palace on the ouit side and lobby and grounds look really good, but the rooms are awful the smell and are damp the pillows are terrible and have a awful smell you can not sleep on them, everything I brought back home with me all my clothes had and awful smell from just being in the room. the staff are horrible not helpful and unfriendly the most unfriendly resort I have every been to. When we checked out they did not even ask how our stay was actually they said nothing just took our keys and handed us our check out pass and that was it. I will never return to Punta Cana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Trendy Couple
Business
West Palm Beach, fl
May 14, 2013

Riu Palace Punta Cana

Reviews are better when you know who the people writing the reviews are. We are a young couple used to trendy places and comfortable rooms as well top shelf liquor- No kids. The hotel looks beautiful for picture. Rooms are very standard not a good bed at all, musty smell. Pool is not impressive at all very dirty you can see the dirt floating. The pools from Riu Bavaro and Riu Macao are better and cleaner. On the positive side the beach is amazing – ask for Ruben he is the best!!! Food - Greasy very Greasy!!!!! and restaurants where you are supposed to make a reservation have horrible food. my frined got sick from the japanesse place. Alcohol is beyond bottom shelf is the cheapest you can find oh yeah you can drink k all you want but you won’t want to drink it lol. If I were to go back; I would spend a little more and stay at the Hard Rock or the Melia or Barcelo and make sure they offer stations with top liquor as well. One more thing do not try to get out to check out the town there is absolutely nothing to do this is not like other destinations where there is an actual city , there is absolutely nothing outside of the hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

HARD ROCK!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MrsReady
Business
Bethel, Connecticut
Aug 1, 2013

Front Desk Staff is Horrible and Rude!

My husband and I went here for our honeymoon. Excited for more than it being our honeymoon, we drove up to what we expected to be a beautiful place. The building itself was actually beautiful...it was the front desk that made it ugly. After a 7 hour flight, we arrive to check in only to be told that they were overbooked, and we had to stay at their other hotel. They had no regard for the inconvenience they were putting us through and didn't even offer to compensate us. They kept saying there was nothing they could do. Meanwhile, at least 3 other people showed up at the front desk extremely upset. One of them even complained about their room and wanted another room...which they got! How do they get another room and we get none? At any rate, arguing was going no where, so they put us at another hotel that was a joke. Small resort, horrible outdoor buffet food, and condescending manager. Not to mention the room they gave us was right over the bar, so music was blasting until 4am. The next morning we made sure to wake up early and go back to get our regularly paid for junior suite. This time, there was a different manager who hadn't been told about our situation and that we'd be coming back. He didn't want to call the other manager from the previous day because he 'had a late night' and some how that became our problem. This manager also spoke to me as if he didn't care he was preventing us from settling in and relaxing on our honeymoon. Needless to say, eventually we got our room. Although the room was nice, the musty/mildew smell was disgusting. The smell from the shower was the worst. The food, was sub-par in the restaurants and poor in the buffet. You had to make reservations at the restaurants 24hours in advance. However, when we went to make the reservations at any of their 4 restaurants, we couldn't because suddenly they were allowing people to book 3 days in advance. We only got in 2 out of our 7 days because of this. Having access to all of their resorts, I can honestly say that you would be better off staying somewhere else to relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gabriella33
Business
New york
Nov 13, 2013

punta cana trip

The bed sheets were not changed all week, we left a tip everyday for the room staff it made no difference.There were roaches in the dining room,the food was terrible.The pool staff was wonderful and very friendly.The resort needs some tlc and paint as well as updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Naples, FL
May 10, 2008

My review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

The bad first! Well, be prepared for a few things. I've never had these types of things happen to me on vacation so it was a bit of an unpleasant surprise. Be ready for no hot water- and I mean NONE....for 4 of our 6 days we took cold showers. Not only that. We were without total water in the room on the morning of our departure. So here we are- fresh out of our massages, all greased up and sticky, and there was no water to be had for a shower. Great feeling just before having to catch a flight. Prepare for sporadic power outages that translate into no AC which translates into a nasty and musty room. It was quite the dilemma getting that musty and moldy smell out of ALL our clothes and luggage. Everything always seems wet in our room. Beaches were beautiful. We walked and walked for miles. You can find your own little hiding hole in between the branches of palms for the lady to go topless or just to get some quiet space. Weather is hot. Pool is OK. Bars serve typical 'all-inclusive' types of drinks. None all too strong. Hotel grounds were pristine. Go snorkeling. Reefs were beautiful. Huge yellowtail snapper everywhere. Bring some bread from the buffet so you can have them eating right out of your hand. Go Sailing. Go Kayaking. We went on a fishing charter and caught a white marlin...highlight of the trip for me. Restaurants were on the low side of OK. Skip the Brazilian fiasco. Weird and interesting at the same time. I ate it but I'm a guy and I eat just about anything when I'm hungry. Do the steak house and the tapas place. Good luck!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Check out the outfitter Scuba Caribe on the beach front before you book anything with you tour guy dude. Prices were much cheaper with Scuba Caribe. The folks working the hut were mostly pleasant and informative. These are the same people parading in and out of the pool and beach areas in flowered shirts selling excursions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top