$341 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 18, 2015 Check-out: Jan 21, 2015

RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Arena Gorda (within the Riu Resort Complex), Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
227 reviews
An amazing time spent!

impressed by the service! An incredible service!!! See full review

  • Breeselda
  • Nov 16, 2014
Family Vacation

Very fun vacation the family. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful (but please tip). Room was... See full review

  • Joe from Virginia
  • Oct 13, 2014
Punta Cana hotel enchants with Arena Gorda address, multiple eateries

Located within the Riu resort complex, Riu Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive towers over Arena Gorda, a pristine stretch of white sand dotted by palm trees. The palatial resort beckons with 612 rooms styled with old-world furniture and earth tones, plus multiple a la carte and buffet restaurants for any occasion.  A kids' club for children ages 4 to 12 entertains with supervised activities so that adults have private time for water sports or a spa treatment.

Highlights
  • Multiple restaurants
  • Outdoor pool and kids' pool
  • Eternal Spa for facials, massages and body treatments
  • Supervised activities for kids ages 4 to 12
Rooms

Traditional details brim throughout Riu Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive, from crown moldings to dramatic, hand-carved four-poster beds. A palette of espresso, burgundy and beige warms up the rooms, while lounge areas with steps up to the bedroom provide more comfort and space. A collection of 612 rooms caters to groups of all sizes, including families, singles and couples on a romantic getaway. Standard amenities cover hydromassage bathtub, satellite TV and patio or terrace.

Features

Guests set the pace for leisure time at Riu Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive. A day might begin with an introductory Scuba lesson in the pool or a workout in the gym or four tennis courts. The hotel also keeps kayaking, windsurfing, sailing and snorkeling gear on hand for more adventurous travelers.

 

Parents make the most of supervised kids' activities for tykes ages 4 to 12, and the numerous live music and shows performed daily.

Dining

24-hour room service sates hunger at any moment, but thanks to the all-inclusive option, many guests sample the many restaurants on the property. Hot and cold buffet items, plus on-the-spot cooking stations are signatures, as are themed dinners three nights a week at Don Manuel. A la carte and reservations-required eateries globe trot from Italy to Japan.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.4 mi/19.9 km)
  • Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • El Cortecito (10.4 mi/16.8 km)
  • Cap Cano (15.3 mi/24.7 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (21.1 mi/34 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (24.6 mi/39.6 km)
Business
  • Two conference rooms and two meeting rooms
  • Wi-Fi access
  • Public computers (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • Minimum Age: At least one person of 21 years old in every room.
  • The Hotel reserves the right of admission and therefore we may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. This situation can have serious consequences and should be avoided at any cost.
  • No student groups under 21 years of age or Spring-breakers are accepted year-round.
  • A maximum of four guests – three adults and one child or two adults and two children – are allowed per room. Four adults are NOT permitted. All bodies in room will fit on existing bedding, any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult will sleep in existing bedding.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Age must be specified during booking.
  • Honeymooners will receive a surprise gift in their room upon arrival. Certificate of Marriage will be required upon arrival.
  • Special requests, including extra beds and adjoining rooms, are subject to availability.Guests will be informed at check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite
Room with 1 king bed or 2 double beds include Bathroom equipped with Hydro massage bathtub, hairdryer, Telephone, Central air conditioning, Ceiling fan, Mini-bar & Liquor dispenser (restockable), Satellite TV, In-room safe, Balcony or terrace, complimentary in room safe, iron & ironing board, radio alamr clock, garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area an sofa, some rooms available with a Sofa bed. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Junior Suite Superior
Room with 1 king bed or 2 double beds include Bathroom equipped with Hydro massage bathtub, hairdryer, Telephone, Central air conditioning, Ceiling fan, Mini-bar & Liquor dispenser (restockable), Satellite TV, In-room safe, Balcony or terrace, complimentary in room safe, iron & ironing board, radio alarm clock, courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with sofa bed. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Italian restaurant
Italian restaurant Luigi Specialty restaurant for dinner . Reservation required .
Pavilion
at the theater plaza
Fusion Cuisine
Krystal a la carte Fusion cuisine & gourmet restaurant for dinner. Reservations required.
Brazilian restaurant
La Bodega , Brazilian theme restaurant for dinner. Reservations required.
Pool bar
Pool bar
Main Restaurant
Don Manuel,main restaurant with terrace and non smoking section, offering buffet style dining and show cooking stations, Theme dinners served three times a week.
Lounge bar
Lounge bar with terrace
Sports bar
Sports bar & snack 24 hrs open
Grill-steak house
La altagracia Grill-steak house for dinner. Reservations required.
Japanese restaurant
Yokohama Japanese specialty theme restaurant for dinner. Reservations required.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference room divisible into 2 smaller rooms, with a total of 4,216 sq.ft of floor space.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (227)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
227 out of 227
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
quinn
Business
brooklyn, ny
Sep 18, 2010

stinky!

there is a smell that permeates the entire hotel that is a cross between rotted dampness and smelly feet.there are water bugs and roaches in the rooms,dining hall. the reception staff is very condescending.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

to move to bahia gran principe right next door!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Molly C.
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Jan 10, 2012

I suggest shelling out the money for somewhere nicer

It was probably the worst vacation I have ever had. That wasn't entirely the hotel's fault. One hopes for nice weather on a tropical vacation, and we didn't have that. However, let me talk about the hotel. The building itself is beautiful and the beach was stunning! I would describe it as a one or two star hotel that happened to be located in a five star building. Right off the bat when we get to our room, our safe if broken and our lamps all had burnt out light bulbs. The bed was like sleeping on a rock. At one point I tried to order room service, and we found that our phone was broken too. I went down to the lobby, and instead of trying to fix anything they simply dialed room service, shoved the phone in my face, and walked away. On our second night there, the power went off around 4 am. It appeared to be only our room. The air conditioning and everything were off. We asked for a new room, but weren't even able to move all of our stuff until the next day because we couldn't see our stuff. The food was embarrassingly bad!!!! The worst part was, it actually looked and smelled fine. Please understand that I'm not just being picky. The 24 snack bad is merely a fridge full of the most pathetic sandwiches you have ever seen, disgusting hamburgers floating in grease, and a big container of nacho cheese that you had to scoop onto your chips with a fork and then heat in the microwave. Picture the nachos that you might see at a movie theater, nothing but processed cheese and chips. Those terrible nachos were literally one of the best things that I had to eat over a period of five days. The service overall was mediocre. I joked with some other customers that they are clearly not trying for repeat visits. I also spoke to a woman on my plane when leaving who told me she once had a similar bad experience at the Riu in Cabo. She was barely able to get her kids to eat anything. I will say, that had we had nice weather the trip would have been better. Our snorkeling trip was canceled, and it stormed the whole time. If we had been there for nicer weather, all of the bad things about the hotel wouldn't have been as big of an issue given the beauty of the beach. If you really want to go to this area because you are traveling on a budget, know this. All of the Riu resorts in Punta Cana face the same gorgeous beach. There is no need to pay for one of the nicer Rius. Given the food was so terrible at our resort, it would be hard to imagine that the food at any of the lesser resorts could be much worse. I won't be going again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping is right within reach, but know that the vendors are super aggressive. If you so much as glance at what they are selling, they will start putting cheap necklaces on you saying they are a gift in an attempt to guilt you into buying something. Also, never agree to the first price. If you show a lack of interest, they will come down on the price at least by half.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Julyvacationer
Business
Massachusetts, US
Jul 31, 2012

Not a 5 star as advertised

Arrived with my pregnant wife and 8yr old daughter at 3:55 (almost a full hr late for check in) room WAS NOT READY! That was all I needed to know about this so called "5 stars" resort. So they told me to go eat and return later. When I came back they sent me to a room which believe it or not WAS OCCUPIED!!!! I actually opened and walked into a room to find personal belongings, clothing all over the place. Luckily the guest was not inside at the moment. At this point I was outraged, and I pointed out that we were tired after driving 4 hrs and my pregnant wife need a bed to rest. So they gave me a temporary room while the Superior Suite I had reserved was prepared. In short, we were only able to get our actual room 3 hours later at around 6:30pm. While I was told upon check-in that I had access to all other 4 Riu hotels, I found that it didn't include the buffets. I wasn't too excited with the menu, and food quality needs improvement. I found a little worm moving in my salad, pointed it out to a restaurant supervisor, who asked me for my room number, but don't know why because nothing happened. Marvelous looking lobby, but the cigarette stink was not so pleasant. Awesome shows, in both Palace and Riu Bambu, it's great to have options for shows. The fitness center was a joke, very big compared to other hotels, but under equipped. The heaviest dumbell was 15lbs. And finally.. WHAT"S UP WITH THE HUGE KEY?? and they only give 1 copy. Extremely inconvenient especially when you're travelling with family. It was very hard having to coordinate everything having only 1 key. I will never return, and wouldn't recommend it. I see this hotel either lowering their star rating, or price altogether.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pickax
Business
Ohio
Aug 20, 2012

Pay More Attention to the "Not So Good Reviews" For This Resort

O.K. so we were just like you right now (reading these reviews). We read a lot of good reviews about this resort and several bad ones. The bad ones seemed to have in common the comments about rooms without air conditioning, really bad “musty smelling” rooms, hard beds, and average (at best) food quality. Since there were so many more good reviews, we hoped for the best and concluded the bad reviews just must have been from overly “fussy” or “hard to please people” …you can’t please every body correct? I think you know where we’re going with this…we were WRONG! Please pay attention to these bad reviews (they nailed our experience with this resort on the head). Our first night we were given an EXTREMELY musty smelling room with non-working air conditioning. The room was on the inside facing the courtyard directly across from one of their bar/entertainment areas so the music/noise during the evening was unbearable (and we could not close the balcony doors since the AC was not working. After 6 hours and 3 visits to the front desk (each time with the manager saying “I will send somebody up RIGHT NOW…which we found out actually meant “Forget about it”) they moved us (at midnight) to another very musty smelling room with working AC (just barely working). We noticed that after the AC was on for a couple of hours, water would begin dripping from the corner of the ceiling lighting fixture in the bathroom (we assumed it was overflow condensation from a poorly drained AC). The rooms were so musty smelling (and we saw “black mold” like growth in several areas of the room) that our clothes and suit cases reeked of it even after we returned home. We thought that all resorts on this island must have this issue since it is so humid here. OK…so we were WRONG again! We stayed an extra night at another resort (courtesy of the Airline overbooking our return flight) and the other resort’s rooms did not have a trace of any musty smell to them! The food was average (at best) and we all (six of us) had stomach issues after the first day (bring plenty of Imodium) and for our entire stay (we only used the supplied bottled water to brush our teeth and drink). My wife was initially concerned that I would gain weight at an all you can eat “inclusive” resort. Image her surprise when I weighed myself after coming home and I had lost 4 pounds!!! I joked with her that if I went back to the resort for another 6 weeks, I’d loose enough weight to be at my ideal perfect “healthy weight! A work gang of several people were also hard at work during our entire 7 day stay, tearing up the Resort fountains (breaking up thick concrete with pick axes and then wheelbarrowing the debris away). This daily scene did not quit match the nice pictures that the web site depicted (and for which we paid for). The good stuff? The beach is nice…that’s about it! We will try other resorts but definitely not this one and not any in this particular island (don’t even get me started about the airport and the transportation infrastructure)!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Average...at best!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sfmcbc
Business
San Francisco, California
Jun 12, 2013

sfsj Families

Nice hotel from the photos! But the rooms have strong mildew/mudsty smell. There are cock roaches in the rooms as well as in the lobby. Food and drinks were not that great - very salty and too sweet! There were no AC for the last five days while we stayed there and staff kept telling us that they were aware of the problem and had been working on. Majority staff speak limited or no English, so you get ignorance if you speak only English. Won't go back again!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
valsol
Business
miami
Dec 21, 2013

Stolen money

On the first day in Riu Palace there was stolen money $2000 from my room safe. It was very terrible situation. There was not management not police help to us. It was only few people have key entree to room. It was easy to find thief. But they told no suspicious. No investigation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Aug 3, 2009

Don't Waste Your Money

I stayed at the Riu Palace in Punta Cana because my friend was getting married on the resort. It honestly was the worst vacation I have ever had. From the day I got there I had severe stomach issues (without even drinking the local water) from the drinks and food from the resort. The restaurants and food were much less than spectacular for the resort as well. I asked for a first floor room (and brought a doctors note with me due to physical limitations) and was given a 2nd floor room. Half the time the maid forgot to leave me fresh towels after cleaning the room and I had to call to the front desk to have them delievered. At one point my room safe broke and would not open. It took 2 hours to have someone sent to try and fix it. The pool area was dirty most of the time with the other vacationers leaving their cigarette butts and trash around and in the pool. On the beach, the resort allows the locals to come and try to sell you packages for parasailing, scuba diving, etc. and it becomes quite annoying if you're trying to relax. Many of my friends who have been to Punta Cana have said that they never experienced that on their resorts beach area. It is a very beautiful island and the beaches are wonderful. However if you are looking around for resorts to stay at on the island, I would look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NM
Aug 25, 2010

Don't go there!!!!

We were booked to stay at the Palace Punta Cana, but missed our last flight out of Miami due to plane trouble. When we called the hotel that night to inform them that we would be arriving the next day, I was placed on hold five times because the staff did not want to (or could not) speak English. I finally reached someone that told me that the reservation staff would not be available until 8 AM the next day. As we were about to board the plane to DR the next day, we were informed that the hotel had given our room (a full suite) away. In a moment of panic, we allowed [...] to book us at the Palace Macao with another suite. The Palace Macao is an old hotel and much smaller than the other Palace. After dealing with rude staff at the front desk, it took another four hours for them to give us the room key. The room was smelly, above the expected slightly mildew smell associated with humid environments. The air conditioning did not work for the first three days. When it did start to work, hardly anything came out of the vents and was accompanied by a horrid noise. The bathroom was small and the Jacuzzi tub was old and creepy. The staircase leading up to the Jacuzzi was old and rusty. The beds were so incredibly hard and uncomfortable that the floor was a better option. All of that could be overlooked if the rest of the resort was nice, but it was not. There is no swim up bar and all of the other bars are not air conditioned and the lounge smelled strongly of smoke and vomit (not an exaggeration!). The wait staff was undermanned and it took a very long time just to get a glass of water at dinner. The pool had one waiter and getting his attention was impossible. The food was terrible. We ate at the Krystal restaurant one night and the food was gross, the buns were stale and served with margarine. We have eaten at the same restaurant in Puerto Vallarta and it was amazing, this was awful compared to that. And to top it all off, there were sand fleas or something that was causing small red, itchy bumps all over my body. Overall it was such a horrible experience that we asked for a refund and took the first flight out of the Dominican that we could.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Go somewhere else!!! The Riu Palace in Och Rios and Puerto Vallarta are absolutly beautiful! The staff lived to serve you, the food was great as well as everything else! However, the next time we vacation we will be looking for places that claim to have comfortable beds, good food and a pool/pool bar that will stay open late! (Riu closes their pools at 6pm)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
brooklyn,ny
Sep 18, 2010

smeeeeeeeeeeellllllllly

The hotel is permeated by a foul smell. It is a cross between rotting dampness and smelly feet and it is everywhere. It is in the rooms the linens, the furniture, etc. The reception staff is very condescending as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

to the hotel bahia gran principe right next door!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Naples, Fl
Jun 28, 2009

Riu Palace, Punta Cana D.R.

Musty odor penetrated everything - haven't been able to get it out of clothes or suitcases despite several washings, lysol and airing our in the Florida sun for 4 days.same food on menu everyday - boring and not much variety. nothing for kids or teens to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top