$157 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Arena Gorda (within the Riu Resort Complex), Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
217 out of 217
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sun worshper
Business
Florida
Jun 18, 2012

Better than I expected

Very impressive at first look. Everything very clean. The staff was always more than helpful my lack of Spanish skills, was trying at times, but they went out of their way to try to speak your language. We were warned not to drink the water, even to brush your teeth. They provide bottled water in your room, replaced daily, as well as full wet bar. The pool, always fun, great pool bar. Only feet away from the beach, constant activities there. Access to lots of toys too. I had a massage in the beach hut, well worth the money.many special touches that made this place very special. Plenty of variet in food, changing daily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Take advantage of the excursions planners in the lobby, the sailing/snorkeling trip was over the top

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bannanahammock1
Business
Buffalo NY
May 24, 2012

great times in Punta!!

this was one of my best vacations ever! didn't do anything special as far as excursions...just chilled, drank, laughed, ate and did it over and over for 5 days. The staff is top notch and the on-site ebtertainment is awesome as well. Room did have a slight musty smell because of humidity. The A/C turns off if you open the porch doors, Just bring a candle and life is good. Will definitely be back again! Gracias

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gayla
Business
Gadsden, Alabama
Apr 30, 2012

GREAT LONG WEEKEND

Went for an extra long weekend (4 nts) and it was excellent!! The beach is absolutely gorgeous, one of the prettiest I have ever seen. The staff at the Riu Palace Punta Cana go out of their way to make your stay the best it can be! I highly recommend going to the Dominican Republic, it was a very relaxing trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The best restaurant that we tried was the Italian one on site, however all the food was pretty good.

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cyn F
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Apr 22, 2012

Family Trip

The Rui Palace was a beautiful Hotel, actually one of the best on the beach after walking up and down the strip of hotels. Pool awesome too and lots of entertainment during the day for the kids and adults. You didnt need to leave your resort, everything was their for you to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food was just ok. Many things to try but tried to keep it safe. The meats not so good. Not what were used to for sure. Just keep it simple!

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tom and Sandra
Business
Wethersfield, CT, USA
Apr 21, 2012

Beach Resort

Beautiful resort in good location, nice pool and wonderful beach. Friendly & helpful staff. Good food at specialty restaurants and the buffets. Wine & beer selection limited. We really enjoyed evening music & dancing outdoors in "town square" atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
OSusieO
Business
Pipestone, MN 56164, USA
Mar 28, 2012

Punta Cana

Wonderful! Sun, sand, beautiful water, great people who made me feel like a queen!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John nj
Business
NJ
Mar 25, 2012

Best bang for buck

Great set up, nice location, helpful staff Food could have been better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jazz U.
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Feb 14, 2012

Valentines Day Getaway

The hotel is very well situated and the beach is truly amazing. The staff is fantastic and are always smiling. The check in process was great, terrific lobby and the drinks are just great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The entertainment staff can take you to a local nightclub which is much better than the one located at the hotel

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dommie
Business
NY
Jan 17, 2012

I would go back

Overall my experience was positive. I love the hotel setup and the grounds were beautiful. Service was good and I never had to wait extensively for anything. The wifi in the lobby was fine but it would be great if there was internet access in the rooms. The food was pretty good. I felt it was better in the buffet restaurant than the other restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Molly C.
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Jan 10, 2012

I suggest shelling out the money for somewhere nicer

It was probably the worst vacation I have ever had. That wasn't entirely the hotel's fault. One hopes for nice weather on a tropical vacation, and we didn't have that. However, let me talk about the hotel. The building itself is beautiful and the beach was stunning! I would describe it as a one or two star hotel that happened to be located in a five star building. Right off the bat when we get to our room, our safe if broken and our lamps all had burnt out light bulbs. The bed was like sleeping on a rock. At one point I tried to order room service, and we found that our phone was broken too. I went down to the lobby, and instead of trying to fix anything they simply dialed room service, shoved the phone in my face, and walked away. On our second night there, the power went off around 4 am. It appeared to be only our room. The air conditioning and everything were off. We asked for a new room, but weren't even able to move all of our stuff until the next day because we couldn't see our stuff. The food was embarrassingly bad!!!! The worst part was, it actually looked and smelled fine. Please understand that I'm not just being picky. The 24 snack bad is merely a fridge full of the most pathetic sandwiches you have ever seen, disgusting hamburgers floating in grease, and a big container of nacho cheese that you had to scoop onto your chips with a fork and then heat in the microwave. Picture the nachos that you might see at a movie theater, nothing but processed cheese and chips. Those terrible nachos were literally one of the best things that I had to eat over a period of five days. The service overall was mediocre. I joked with some other customers that they are clearly not trying for repeat visits. I also spoke to a woman on my plane when leaving who told me she once had a similar bad experience at the Riu in Cabo. She was barely able to get her kids to eat anything. I will say, that had we had nice weather the trip would have been better. Our snorkeling trip was canceled, and it stormed the whole time. If we had been there for nicer weather, all of the bad things about the hotel wouldn't have been as big of an issue given the beauty of the beach. If you really want to go to this area because you are traveling on a budget, know this. All of the Riu resorts in Punta Cana face the same gorgeous beach. There is no need to pay for one of the nicer Rius. Given the food was so terrible at our resort, it would be hard to imagine that the food at any of the lesser resorts could be much worse. I won't be going again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping is right within reach, but know that the vendors are super aggressive. If you so much as glance at what they are selling, they will start putting cheap necklaces on you saying they are a gift in an attempt to guilt you into buying something. Also, never agree to the first price. If you show a lack of interest, they will come down on the price at least by half.

Back to menu Return to top