$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 10, 2015 Check-out: Jun 13, 2015

RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Arena Gorda (within the Riu Resort Complex), Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
259 out of 259
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bear, DE
Jul 7, 2011

Riu Palace Punta Cana

This is an addendum to my previous review because the information was not know then. Be very careful booking excursions. I don't know if others have experienced problems with fraudulent credit card usage after using their card in Punta Cana but here is what happened: We booked an excursion through Prieto Tours Bravado, Punta Cana within the hotel reception area. The agent swiped our Visa through two different card readers which didn't impact me at the time. Three days after returning home my Visa usage was blocked by the card issuing company because of suspected fradulent use in New York. When I spoke with a representative of Visa I was informed that the magnetic strip information was stolen from my card and used to make a duplicate Visa. There were attempts to purchase over $5000.00 wirth of merchandise but the card was shut down at $220.00 because I notified Visa of my travels and where card usage would be. I have not been able to contact RIU via email to inform them of this. I believe the Hotel will take appropriate action, so guess are not troubled in the future, once contacted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

This is an addendum to my previous review because the information was not know then. Be very careful booking excursions. I don't know if others have experienced problems with fraudulent credit card usage after using their card in Punta Cana but here is what happened: We booked an excursion through Prieto Tours Bravado, Punta Cana within the hotel reception area. The agent swiped our Visa through two different card readers which didn't impact me at the time. Three days after returning home my Visa usage was blocked by the card issuing company because of suspected fradulent use in New York. When I spoke with a representative of Visa I was informed that the magnetic strip information was stolen from my card and used to make a duplicate Visa. There were attempts to purchase over $5000.00 wirth of merchandise but the card was shut down at $220.00 because I notified Visa of my travels and where card usage would be. I believe the Hotel will take appropriate action, so guess are not troubled in the future, once contacted.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gobble0401
Business
Beacon, NY 12508, USA
Nov 27, 2011

Wonderful resort

Great resort! Beautiful beaches. Lots to do. Kids club was not geared toward the over 8 crowd. Recommend this and the Riu palace las Americas in cancun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Punkie
Business
New York, NY, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Husband's Birthday Getaway

We had a wondeful time. I will definitely go again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make dinner reservations at the resturants the day of or next day of arrival. Can make reservations for each day being spent at the resort at the same time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Superlatives
Business
Pennsylvania
Dec 23, 2011

Best of Riu

Excellent service from the staff. Room smelled musty but I guess that's part of the package when you are in a humid and hot country. Cappuccinos and Orange Caribe were the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

We went to Hard Rock which is a short drive and looked around. The Casino was awesome there and discotheque played all the latest dance music.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daveh Cowboah
Business
Southern NJ
Dec 19, 2011

Great Place

I'll start by saying this place was pretty inexpensive. The staff was incredibly helpful. Everyone spoke enough English to get by, most were proficient, and all of the main employees like the people working the front desk, the bus drivers, etc... were fluent. The food was mediocre at the buffet. It was the same food every single day, and although a lot of it like the desserts looked amazing, they were tasteless. All the cereal was stale, the fish was tasty, but overall I was not impressed with the food. I am a 20 year old and even I got sick of the food by the end of the 5 days. Breakfast diner quality, lunch was just enough to keep me content, but dinner (Granted you wake up before 10 AM) and made a reservation was pretty tasty! Their premier restaurants require a reservation, but they fill up fast or you will be back at the buffet. The pools were good, the beach was awesome. The hot tub was warm not hot though. Also people try to sell you things left and right. The only thing I found that worked was to get on the defensive and get a bit of an attitude to get them to knock it off. They are very assertive! IMPORTANT TO NOTE! I chose this place because I wanted to snorkel so bad!!!! The water activities like snorkeling and scuba diving ARE NOT included. Scuba diving is about 200$ per person (Not too bad) but snorkeling is 85 bucks per person. That was upsetting because I chose this resort because I love to snorkel, and the water was great. All in all, the hotel was great, vendors, and water activity guys could have been better. For the money, you can't beat this place. I had a great time and would totally go again. P.S. throw the bartenders 1$ every time you get a drink, everyone works their butts off and your drinks will get better and stronger.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Wake up and make reservations, the buffet food gets old fast. They say the reservations close at 11 am but they fill up quickly, around 10 am.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Breanna K
Business
Nebraska, USA
Dec 25, 2011

Honeymoon

We stayed here for our honeymoon and really liked it. The beach was amazing at the hotel. We walked down the beach to see all the other resorts beaches and were not impressed. All the other resorts had really small, shaded beaches. However, at the RIU Punta Cana the beach area was huge in comparison to all the others, and there was plenty of areas to lay in the sun without being shaded by a bunch of trees. The food overall was also very good and we had the best waiter (Wanny) every night we went down for dinner. At the check-in desk there was a variety of different people. Some of them were really helpful and nice others were rude. Overall, the hotel was amazing though and I would most definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alex10
Business
Virginia
Jan 4, 2012

Good, resort, but....

Riu is a good hotel, well maintained. Rooms are big enough, but beds are very hard, but wide. Staff cames to clean, or refil your drinks when they want, without knocking. One comes with towels, then the cleaner, then the maid who folds beds....people just come in. Restaurants are not so good. Pleanty of food, but not really good. The food is beautifully arranged, but not tastey. Entertainment is very cheese and amature. Every show has hints which aren't done tastfully, without any consideration that there are children around. One week is a bit too long for a such a resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Will not go back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dommie
Business
NY
Jan 17, 2012

I would go back

Overall my experience was positive. I love the hotel setup and the grounds were beautiful. Service was good and I never had to wait extensively for anything. The wifi in the lobby was fine but it would be great if there was internet access in the rooms. The food was pretty good. I felt it was better in the buffet restaurant than the other restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jazz U.
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Feb 14, 2012

Valentines Day Getaway

The hotel is very well situated and the beach is truly amazing. The staff is fantastic and are always smiling. The check in process was great, terrific lobby and the drinks are just great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The entertainment staff can take you to a local nightclub which is much better than the one located at the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John nj
Business
NJ
Mar 25, 2012

Best bang for buck

Great set up, nice location, helpful staff Food could have been better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top