$260 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Arena Gorda (within the Riu Resort Complex), Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
230 out of 230
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Big Busterboy
Business
Ohio
Mar 28, 2013

What's not to like?

This was my first trip to D.R. After reading reviews on RIU Punta Cana Palace I was somewhat hesitant to go there.What a delightful surprise the RIU and Dominican Republic turned out to be. I have been all over the Carribean, Hawaii, Brazil and other places to beach resorts so I am not a first time visitor to beach resorts. The Riu Punta Cana Palace was outstanding. The architecture of the Hotel is grand , the grounds are amazing, The pool is just the right size for the hotel and the beach is outstanding. Do not let any negative review influence your decision to stay at this hotel. Those people should stay at home where they are more comfortable with their surroundings. I am sure they complain all the time at home as well. This hotel is outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Just eat at the Buffet every night,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ron Francine
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 12, 2013

Great relaxing get away, first class construction & cleanliness

Great service, pleasant staff, very clean and well managed property. Very relaxing laid back atmosphere. There wasn't any crazy loud guests. Not many kids. The beach was beautiful and clean. The pools and bar service was superb. We will definetly return. We love the RIU Palaces and Bravaros. Completely safe, relaxing and great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Italian restarant onsite was excellent

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dean W
Business
Latham, NY
Mar 6, 2013

Fun Group Getaway

Went with a group of friends and we all had a great time. The hotel and grounds are beautiful - well maintained and clean. The food was very good with a good variety to choose from. Specialty restaurants were very nice with excellent service. The staff was wonderful - always friendly and helpful no matter where on the resort we were.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Book early in trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shaw67
Business
Rochester, NY
Mar 3, 2013

Fantastic Getaway

We have traveled to Mexico, Aruba and most of the other islands. We think this trip was perfect and would recommend this Hotel to anyone. Reviews are fine . Before we went to Punta Cana, I read most of the bad reviews and found them to be absolutely bogus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Micetic
Business
New York
Feb 20, 2013

Very Friendly and attentive service, Excellent food

I was very pleased that we could a chair and good location under palm trees close to water every time. So much food and good selection of tropical fruits. I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PPLe
Business
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Jan 27, 2013

Okay- but would not go back again.

The vacation was okay- the resort itself was well maintain and beautiful. The beach was great and there were plenty of chairs/ space for everyone. The food was awful. I lost 5 pounds on the trip. Drinks were average. Although the package says tips are included, it was obvious that the staff expected them and you definitely got different treatment if you left them, which we did not. The desk staff were very unhelpful, did not appear to know what they were doing, and were not willing to assist us in making changes to our package. The company we booked with itself was awful to work with. We were looking to stay longer due to flight problems at the beginning of our trip, but they were not able to assist us, and kept asking us to call back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ReneeK
Business
Houston, TX
Jan 19, 2013

New Year's getaway

Stayed there for New Year's Eve. The hotel pulled out all the stops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Xoch
Business
New York
Jan 7, 2013

Awesome couple trip

The staff was nothing more than great!! They are the nicest and most friendliest people. The whole staff is just great! Food was amazing and beach was fabulous too. I am a fan of the Riu hotels and after this trip I will only stay at the Riu

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYMomHere
Business
New York
Dec 30, 2012

Excellent choice all around except for food quality

Beautiful, fun, well kept resort. Staff is extremely attentive and friendly. Right on a beautiful beach. WiFi is free as are diving lessons. Kids club activities could definitely use some work. And while food is plentiful with many choices, the quality was mediocre at best. All in all a terrific vacation place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Do not waste time on specialty restaurants in the resorts. The food is awful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jessica White tiger
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Nov 25, 2012

Que Bueno!

Overall the trip itself was great and enjoyed by all parties. The hotel we stayed at was part of a larger complex that included their other hotels that were all interconnected via a walkway along the beach. Driving up the exterior was similar to a Spanish style plantation, Grecian columns, white on a sandy yellow, with touches of Moroccan designs. Upon entering the lobby it changed into a French Louis the 14th décor with stained glass. The lobby also contained a sports bar, gift shop, café (which is featured in the sites photos) and jewelry store. It also served as the place to book excursions around the island such as snorkeling trips, horseback riding, to trips to town. The rooms were nicely furnished and came with a liquor bar that would be replenished should one consume all of the liquor. There were a variety of actives offered every day from water aerobics to bachata lessons. Room service came by every day and was always friendly. I personally ran into an issue the required maintenance and they came by within the hour. The grounds looks exactly as depicted in the hotels photos and the wet bar also has small seating areas along the side as well as seats at the bar. The pool itself was large and at its deepest point was about 4’ deep. There were also titled chaises that one could lay on and drink. Being that the hotel is located closer to the Atlantic the waters were a bit rougher than the Caribbean, but just as gorgeous. Of course there were the usual suspects, locals selling tourist goods and discounted excursions. It was nice that the hotel actually had a street that was nothing but small shops including a pharmacy and doctor office. They of course sold everything from sunscreen, water, mamajuana, and water. The one thing that me and my party we upset about was the nights that locals came in to sell goods such as carvings, jewelry, paintings and such. Understandably this is how they make additional money but to be harassed every five feet was bit obnoxious by the third day. Also there was an ATM, but it only dispensed pesos. Which was silly considering most people preferred the American dollar, and one would have to leave the resort to exchange the pesos to dollars. Every night there were shows in the theater that were actually well put together. The lobby offered free Wi-Fi, but for a limited amount of time every day. The food was also on point. They had a lobster dinner one night that was open to everyone, just required that you wear decent clothing and not your beach cover-up. Of all the restaurants we ate at the worst was the Japanese. The rice was overcooked and the seafood lacked, which was surprising considering we were on an island. Other than that the food selection was extensive and the even offered traditional Spanish food almost every day. I personally never left the dinning hall unsatisfied over the course of the week. Overall we had a much better time in DR this year and I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

the hotel offered a great selection of food that was tasty.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top