$193 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 24, 2014 Check-out: Oct 27, 2014

RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Arena Gorda (within the Riu Resort Complex), Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
226 reviews
Family Vacation

Very fun vacation the family. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful (but please tip). Room was... See full review

  • Joe from Virginia
  • Oct 13, 2014
Go Go Go!!!

AMAZING! If you are looking for classic accommodations with stellar service this is the resort for... See full review

  • World Class Nomad
  • Sep 21, 2014
Punta Cana hotel enchants with Arena Gorda address, multiple eateries

Located within the Riu resort complex, Riu Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive towers over Arena Gorda, a pristine stretch of white sand dotted by palm trees. The palatial resort beckons with 612 rooms styled with old-world furniture and earth tones, plus multiple a la carte and buffet restaurants for any occasion.  A kids' club for children ages 4 to 12 entertains with supervised activities so that adults have private time for water sports or a spa treatment.

Highlights
  • Multiple restaurants
  • Outdoor pool and kids' pool
  • Eternal Spa for facials, massages and body treatments
  • Supervised activities for kids ages 4 to 12
Rooms

Traditional details brim throughout Riu Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive, from crown moldings to dramatic, hand-carved four-poster beds. A palette of espresso, burgundy and beige warms up the rooms, while lounge areas with steps up to the bedroom provide more comfort and space. A collection of 612 rooms caters to groups of all sizes, including families, singles and couples on a romantic getaway. Standard amenities cover hydromassage bathtub, satellite TV and patio or terrace.

Features

Guests set the pace for leisure time at Riu Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive. A day might begin with an introductory Scuba lesson in the pool or a workout in the gym or four tennis courts. The hotel also keeps kayaking, windsurfing, sailing and snorkeling gear on hand for more adventurous travelers.

 

Parents make the most of supervised kids' activities for tykes ages 4 to 12, and the numerous live music and shows performed daily.

Dining

24-hour room service sates hunger at any moment, but thanks to the all-inclusive option, many guests sample the many restaurants on the property. Hot and cold buffet items, plus on-the-spot cooking stations are signatures, as are themed dinners three nights a week at Don Manuel. A la carte and reservations-required eateries globe trot from Italy to Japan.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.4 mi/19.9 km)
  • Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • El Cortecito (10.4 mi/16.8 km)
  • Cap Cano (15.3 mi/24.7 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (21.1 mi/34 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (24.6 mi/39.6 km)
Business
  • Two conference rooms and two meeting rooms
  • Wi-Fi access
  • Public computers (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • Minimum Age: At least one person of 21 years old in every room.
  • The Hotel reserves the right of admission and therefore we may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. This situation can have serious consequences and should be avoided at any cost.
  • No student groups under 21 years of age or Spring-breakers are accepted year-round.
  • A maximum of four guests – three adults and one child or two adults and two children – are allowed per room. Four adults are NOT permitted. All bodies in room will fit on existing bedding, any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult will sleep in existing bedding.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Age must be specified during booking.
  • Honeymooners will receive a surprise gift in their room upon arrival. Certificate of Marriage will be required upon arrival.
  • Special requests, including extra beds and adjoining rooms, are subject to availability.Guests will be informed at check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.7226 -68.4594
Area served
Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana. Higey, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ): Approximate driving time is 30 minutes and distance is 30 kilometers.
Area description
Beach front property, 40 m. from the beach, 50 km to Higey, 30 km to Punta Cana Intl. Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite
Room with 1 king bed or 2 double beds include Bathroom equipped with Hydro massage bathtub, hairdryer, Telephone, Central air conditioning, Ceiling fan, Mini-bar & Liquor dispenser (restockable), Satellite TV, In-room safe, Balcony or terrace, complimentary in room safe, iron & ironing board, radio alamr clock, garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area an sofa, some rooms available with a Sofa bed. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Junior Suite Superior
Room with 1 king bed or 2 double beds include Bathroom equipped with Hydro massage bathtub, hairdryer, Telephone, Central air conditioning, Ceiling fan, Mini-bar & Liquor dispenser (restockable), Satellite TV, In-room safe, Balcony or terrace, complimentary in room safe, iron & ironing board, radio alarm clock, courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with sofa bed. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Italian restaurant
Italian restaurant Luigi Specialty restaurant for dinner . Reservation required .
Pavilion
at the theater plaza
Fusion Cuisine
Krystal a la carte Fusion cuisine & gourmet restaurant for dinner. Reservations required.
Brazilian restaurant
La Bodega , Brazilian theme restaurant for dinner. Reservations required.
Pool bar
Pool bar
Main Restaurant
Don Manuel,main restaurant with terrace and non smoking section, offering buffet style dining and show cooking stations, Theme dinners served three times a week.
Lounge bar
Lounge bar with terrace
Sports bar
Sports bar & snack 24 hrs open
Grill-steak house
La altagracia Grill-steak house for dinner. Reservations required.
Japanese restaurant
Yokohama Japanese specialty theme restaurant for dinner. Reservations required.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference room divisible into 2 smaller rooms, with a total of 4,216 sq.ft of floor space.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (226)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
226 out of 226
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Micetic
Business
New York
Feb 20, 2013

Very Friendly and attentive service, Excellent food

I was very pleased that we could a chair and good location under palm trees close to water every time. So much food and good selection of tropical fruits. I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PPLe
Business
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Jan 27, 2013

Okay- but would not go back again.

The vacation was okay- the resort itself was well maintain and beautiful. The beach was great and there were plenty of chairs/ space for everyone. The food was awful. I lost 5 pounds on the trip. Drinks were average. Although the package says tips are included, it was obvious that the staff expected them and you definitely got different treatment if you left them, which we did not. The desk staff were very unhelpful, did not appear to know what they were doing, and were not willing to assist us in making changes to our package. The company we booked with itself was awful to work with. We were looking to stay longer due to flight problems at the beginning of our trip, but they were not able to assist us, and kept asking us to call back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ReneeK
Business
Houston, TX
Jan 19, 2013

New Year's getaway

Stayed there for New Year's Eve. The hotel pulled out all the stops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Xoch
Business
New York
Jan 7, 2013

Awesome couple trip

The staff was nothing more than great!! They are the nicest and most friendliest people. The whole staff is just great! Food was amazing and beach was fabulous too. I am a fan of the Riu hotels and after this trip I will only stay at the Riu

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYMomHere
Business
New York
Dec 30, 2012

Excellent choice all around except for food quality

Beautiful, fun, well kept resort. Staff is extremely attentive and friendly. Right on a beautiful beach. WiFi is free as are diving lessons. Kids club activities could definitely use some work. And while food is plentiful with many choices, the quality was mediocre at best. All in all a terrific vacation place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Do not waste time on specialty restaurants in the resorts. The food is awful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jessica White tiger
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Nov 25, 2012

Que Bueno!

Overall the trip itself was great and enjoyed by all parties. The hotel we stayed at was part of a larger complex that included their other hotels that were all interconnected via a walkway along the beach. Driving up the exterior was similar to a Spanish style plantation, Grecian columns, white on a sandy yellow, with touches of Moroccan designs. Upon entering the lobby it changed into a French Louis the 14th décor with stained glass. The lobby also contained a sports bar, gift shop, café (which is featured in the sites photos) and jewelry store. It also served as the place to book excursions around the island such as snorkeling trips, horseback riding, to trips to town. The rooms were nicely furnished and came with a liquor bar that would be replenished should one consume all of the liquor. There were a variety of actives offered every day from water aerobics to bachata lessons. Room service came by every day and was always friendly. I personally ran into an issue the required maintenance and they came by within the hour. The grounds looks exactly as depicted in the hotels photos and the wet bar also has small seating areas along the side as well as seats at the bar. The pool itself was large and at its deepest point was about 4’ deep. There were also titled chaises that one could lay on and drink. Being that the hotel is located closer to the Atlantic the waters were a bit rougher than the Caribbean, but just as gorgeous. Of course there were the usual suspects, locals selling tourist goods and discounted excursions. It was nice that the hotel actually had a street that was nothing but small shops including a pharmacy and doctor office. They of course sold everything from sunscreen, water, mamajuana, and water. The one thing that me and my party we upset about was the nights that locals came in to sell goods such as carvings, jewelry, paintings and such. Understandably this is how they make additional money but to be harassed every five feet was bit obnoxious by the third day. Also there was an ATM, but it only dispensed pesos. Which was silly considering most people preferred the American dollar, and one would have to leave the resort to exchange the pesos to dollars. Every night there were shows in the theater that were actually well put together. The lobby offered free Wi-Fi, but for a limited amount of time every day. The food was also on point. They had a lobster dinner one night that was open to everyone, just required that you wear decent clothing and not your beach cover-up. Of all the restaurants we ate at the worst was the Japanese. The rice was overcooked and the seafood lacked, which was surprising considering we were on an island. Other than that the food selection was extensive and the even offered traditional Spanish food almost every day. I personally never left the dinning hall unsatisfied over the course of the week. Overall we had a much better time in DR this year and I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

the hotel offered a great selection of food that was tasty.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zouba
Business
San Diego
Nov 19, 2012

great getaway

I recommend it for families as well as couples. Great place to stay at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

great Buffet

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LauraJean123
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 18, 2012

Good Value

I would say this hotel is a good choice if you are looking for a good place without breaking the bank. When you aren't spending a ton of money, you can't expect the Ritz. If you don't expect the Ritz than you will be happy. The staff is very pleasant, the food is good and the pool and beach is nice. I wasn't informed until later in my stay that the WIFI is free for one hour in the lobby. You'll need to get the code from the front desk to excess the free WIFI on your phone or computer. Also, make sure you explore the neighboring Rius. You have access to visit them with your bracelet so take advantage of that. And don't go horseback riding. I wasn't happy with the conditions the horses are kept in and the way they are treated. One last note, there is not much of a gym but the spa is nice. The back massages are heavenly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
c317
Business
Indiana
Sep 18, 2012

Spent 4 Nights at Riu Palace... Average..

Punta Cana itself was beautiful... would definitely go back to the island.. As for staying at the Rui Palace again... i doubt it. Room: Comfortable but had a strong musty smell. All of my clothes had to be rewashed once I got home. I killed 2 cockroaches in the room. Room service and turn down service was prompt. I upgraded to the jacuzzi suite paid $1400.00 for 4 nights and the view was apart of a roof below and leaves from palm tree. The way the resort is set up it really does not have any rooms with a decent view which was very disappointing considering what I had paid for the trip... Resort: Nice but nothing spectacular. Pool water was luke warm. All bar liquors were bottom shelf... The beach at this resort was amazing. Great beach area prob the best part of the trip. There is NO nightlife at this resort. There is a small plain bland casino that you have to take a bus ride to. The disco was less to be desired... and you had to take a bus to get to it. If you want nighttime entertainment stay some where else. They only played salsa music at the pool.. by day 3 I was salsa'd out! I can handle listening to reggie all day in Jamaica but salsa music... There is definitely an older crowd there Food: it was ok.. Not bad not great. I was never hungary. there was plenty of choice for me and I am gluten free. I never expect much from food at all inclusives. I never got sick.. so all and all i cant complain about the food. (Breakfast was their best meal in my opinion) Overall I had a blast because of the company I had. I did not choose this resort others in our party did... Looking back I prob would not have choosen this resort . It was not worth the $1400.00 I paid for 4 nights... now if you get a super deal 7-1000$ for a week... I would suck up the negative and make the best of it since it's not a 5 star luxury resort. People there do not speak much english... which made it hard sometimes

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stessy
Business
Los angeles
Sep 5, 2012

Lupercio vacation

Riu palace punta cana. Everything was great! All the workers were friendly and courteous

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top