$237 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 5, 2015 Check-out: May 8, 2015

RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Arena Gorda (within the Riu Resort Complex), Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
234 out of 234
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
OSusieO
Pipestone, MN 56164, USA
Mar 28, 2012

Punta Cana

Wonderful! Sun, sand, beautiful water, great people who made me feel like a queen!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Sep 14, 2010

great looking hotel and decent food

The hotel wait for the restaurants were great but that is all. The bar service was poor and a bit rude not to mention housekeeping was ok at best (dirty linens when we arrived and kept dirty towels in the room). The food for an all inclusive was better then normal and yes the drinks are free. The night entertainment is something out of a spanish comedy show rather then the true entertaining i think it is meant to be. For the price, the hotel is worth staying at but they do need to improve on service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Do not try to exchange back money, they take a -14 peso exchange rate which is very high.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Sep 10, 2010

Enjoyable and entertaining with some iss

This is definetely the best looking hotel in the area. Our room was spacious yet we did have a deluxe room with a jacuzzi and have heard the opposite about all other rooms. The wait staff is friendly and helpful and the food is excellant for a all inclusive. The major complaints are: housekeeping is not good and the free internet they say they have rarely works. The first night we got here we found our sheets were dirty as well as the robes. When asking for them to be changed, the housekeeper came but brought towels and when trying to explain we needed new sheets, she could not speak english and jsut left. The elevators stop working once a day as well as the power has gone out every other dady (no storms or any reason). The free internet rarely works and always goes out in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

the shows are entertianing but sometimes feel like you are in a bad spanish 1960's game show.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Colombiano
Business
Crystal River FL 34429
Dec 9, 2009

I did'nt like it.

we went to gran bahia principe in may and we realy like it, we were impress with this hotel and friends invited us to RIU Palace, but everything was different thisa hotel smell like old moggi, we went 25 people and 4 got sick the second day for the food, the shows was bad, we went to the pool 3 times and twice they didn't have towels, the bar service was a dissaster all the time, the cleaning staff at the room was good, one person at the dinning room help us with the food for the sick people his name is [...]( good person) the rest was not good, I never planing to go back to this hotel, next time I will go to Gran bahia principe I had a good time in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ready to tour the USA
Business
Wilkes-Barre, PA
Jun 3, 2010

Beautiful Resort, BUT

The resort was beautiful. However, we hit the rainy season. The glazed floor tiles were extremely slippery and dangerous when wet. Also, there were no security locks to keep the staff out of the rooms while you were in there. We had housekeeping coming in and out of the room all day long. By the last day we were questioning their motives as someone entered out room at 9:00 pm to ask if we needed more towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CT
Jun 23, 2009

Beautiful location but lacks service

The hotel itself is just as beautiful as the pictures show. However, there are some aspects which could be improved. 1. Hotel cleanliness - the rooms were not cleaned thoroughly and sometimes towels would not be replenished. The outside walks were not swept thoroughly and there would often be debris lying around. 2. The pool side bar would close at 5 p.m. which was entirely too early. People would just start leaving the beach and could not enjoy an outdoor drink. 3. There were no umbrellas provided at the beach and people would take up spaces under palm trees very early in the morning by putting their towels on chairs. It was very difficult to get any shade from the sun. 4. The check in process was horrible. We had our Orbitz confirmation printed out but it did not have a hotel voucher attached to it. They would not let us check in without a printed hotel voucher. We asked "Don't you know who is staying in your resort?" They replied that it is not their responsibility and made us pay $6 for 1/2 use of the internet and $1 to print the voucher. When we brought back the printed voucher, they had our names all along on a list. It was infuriating thay they played such games! Other than the minor setbacks, the food was excellent, waiters provided great service, and the entertainment crew worked hard to make everyone's stay enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Please try not to forget any travel essentials such as toothpaste, cold medicine, suntan lotion...etc. The prices in the hotel are outrageous and there is nowhere to go to it cheaper.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 4, 2010

Average at Best

I was very disappointed with thee rooms. We had to switch in the middle of our stay and both rooms were very damp with a horrible odor. We had ALOT of tiny bugs in the 1st room. Each time, we were not given blankets, and we had to request extra towels that didn't arrive for an entire day. In short, the house keeping was sub par. The food, drinks, and staff were great. But as a wekly traveler, I was very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Work with Prieto travel online.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Jan 3, 2011

Our annual Christmas holiday vacation

The trip was over all waiting constantly for something. At the airport, we had previously ordered the van through [...]and had to wait almost an entire hour before we left for our hotel (we had three stops before ours). We had to wait in line for dinner reservations each day (getting up at 6:30 to make sure we didn't have to eat the buffet food). We had to wait for a lounge chair near the pool, all were taken by 7:00 in the morning (even though in the description of the hotel they do not allow this). So we had to go to the beach and drag a chair to the pool area. You are only allowed one very small towel per person which I might add were very old and worn. I felt this hotel was extremely stingy with food and towels. The air temperature was beautiful but the sun was only out for two days of our stay (overcast the rest of the time). Also, it is winter and the winds are very strong all day long. Hence the red flag was up every day and from morning to evening the water was for surfing rather than swimming or snorkeling. We have traveled extensively, Mexico and the Carribean and this was a place we will not return to, especially the RIU palace Punta Cana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Need to get up very early and wait in line to make reservations for dinner each day. My husband got up at 6:30 and was in line by 6:45, usually first, and we got our first choice (reservations are opened at 8 a.m., so it's a long time to wait in line just for a dinner reservation). However, the food was excellent for dinner especially at the Italian, Crystal, and Japanese restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maria del Mar
Business
West Palm Beach, FL
Sep 11, 2009

What is the definition of a non smoking

I had requested a non smoking room due to asthma and severe allergies. The hotel's idea of a non smoking room was using tons of Fabrees until you can not breath. We had to open the windows to let the room aired out. The manegement told us that the hotel does not have non smoking rooms. Additionally it took about four hours for us to get a room; most rooms had the same strong mold smell and the air condition did not work well. I email Orbitz and recieved no response.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Although the hotel claims five restaurants only a couple are open any given night, so go early for reservations or better yet stick to the buffet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ma
May 13, 2010

Good service for most part

The hotel was nice and the service was well. However we did not get our back door fixed or our safes which we asked multiple times. The waitsatff was great and they had a lot of activities to offer during the day

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pursehag
Business
Sam Francisco Bay Area, CA
Aug 16, 2009

Great Beach

they had great service, great food. but the room was musty smelling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top