RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Arena Gorda (within the Riu Resort Complex), Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
226 reviews
Family Vacation

Very fun vacation the family. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful (but please tip). Room was... See full review

  • Joe from Virginia
  • Oct 13, 2014
Go Go Go!!!

AMAZING! If you are looking for classic accommodations with stellar service this is the resort for... See full review

  • World Class Nomad
  • Sep 21, 2014
Punta Cana hotel enchants with Arena Gorda address, multiple eateries

Located within the Riu resort complex, Riu Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive towers over Arena Gorda, a pristine stretch of white sand dotted by palm trees. The palatial resort beckons with 612 rooms styled with old-world furniture and earth tones, plus multiple a la carte and buffet restaurants for any occasion.  A kids' club for children ages 4 to 12 entertains with supervised activities so that adults have private time for water sports or a spa treatment.

Highlights
  • Multiple restaurants
  • Outdoor pool and kids' pool
  • Eternal Spa for facials, massages and body treatments
  • Supervised activities for kids ages 4 to 12
Rooms

Traditional details brim throughout Riu Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive, from crown moldings to dramatic, hand-carved four-poster beds. A palette of espresso, burgundy and beige warms up the rooms, while lounge areas with steps up to the bedroom provide more comfort and space. A collection of 612 rooms caters to groups of all sizes, including families, singles and couples on a romantic getaway. Standard amenities cover hydromassage bathtub, satellite TV and patio or terrace.

Features

Guests set the pace for leisure time at Riu Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive. A day might begin with an introductory Scuba lesson in the pool or a workout in the gym or four tennis courts. The hotel also keeps kayaking, windsurfing, sailing and snorkeling gear on hand for more adventurous travelers.

 

Parents make the most of supervised kids' activities for tykes ages 4 to 12, and the numerous live music and shows performed daily.

Dining

24-hour room service sates hunger at any moment, but thanks to the all-inclusive option, many guests sample the many restaurants on the property. Hot and cold buffet items, plus on-the-spot cooking stations are signatures, as are themed dinners three nights a week at Don Manuel. A la carte and reservations-required eateries globe trot from Italy to Japan.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.4 mi/19.9 km)
  • Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • El Cortecito (10.4 mi/16.8 km)
  • Cap Cano (15.3 mi/24.7 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (21.1 mi/34 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (24.6 mi/39.6 km)
Business
  • Two conference rooms and two meeting rooms
  • Wi-Fi access
  • Public computers (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • Minimum Age: At least one person of 21 years old in every room.
  • The Hotel reserves the right of admission and therefore we may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. This situation can have serious consequences and should be avoided at any cost.
  • No student groups under 21 years of age or Spring-breakers are accepted year-round.
  • A maximum of four guests – three adults and one child or two adults and two children – are allowed per room. Four adults are NOT permitted. All bodies in room will fit on existing bedding, any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult will sleep in existing bedding.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Age must be specified during booking.
  • Honeymooners will receive a surprise gift in their room upon arrival. Certificate of Marriage will be required upon arrival.
  • Special requests, including extra beds and adjoining rooms, are subject to availability.Guests will be informed at check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite
Room with 1 king bed or 2 double beds include Bathroom equipped with Hydro massage bathtub, hairdryer, Telephone, Central air conditioning, Ceiling fan, Mini-bar & Liquor dispenser (restockable), Satellite TV, In-room safe, Balcony or terrace, complimentary in room safe, iron & ironing board, radio alamr clock, garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area an sofa, some rooms available with a Sofa bed. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Junior Suite Superior
Room with 1 king bed or 2 double beds include Bathroom equipped with Hydro massage bathtub, hairdryer, Telephone, Central air conditioning, Ceiling fan, Mini-bar & Liquor dispenser (restockable), Satellite TV, In-room safe, Balcony or terrace, complimentary in room safe, iron & ironing board, radio alarm clock, courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with sofa bed. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Map

18.7226 -68.4594
Area served
Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana. Higey, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ): Approximate driving time is 30 minutes and distance is 30 kilometers.
Area description
Beach front property, 40 m. from the beach, 50 km to Higey, 30 km to Punta Cana Intl. Airport.

Dining

Italian restaurant
Italian restaurant Luigi Specialty restaurant for dinner . Reservation required .
Pavilion
at the theater plaza
Fusion Cuisine
Krystal a la carte Fusion cuisine & gourmet restaurant for dinner. Reservations required.
Brazilian restaurant
La Bodega , Brazilian theme restaurant for dinner. Reservations required.
Pool bar
Pool bar
Main Restaurant
Don Manuel,main restaurant with terrace and non smoking section, offering buffet style dining and show cooking stations, Theme dinners served three times a week.
Lounge bar
Lounge bar with terrace
Sports bar
Sports bar & snack 24 hrs open
Grill-steak house
La altagracia Grill-steak house for dinner. Reservations required.
Japanese restaurant
Yokohama Japanese specialty theme restaurant for dinner. Reservations required.
Swim up bar
Swim up bar
Lobby bar
Lobby bar.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference room divisible into 2 smaller rooms, with a total of 4,216 sq.ft of floor space.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (226)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
226 out of 226
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Sep 10, 2010

Enjoyable and entertaining with some iss

This is definetely the best looking hotel in the area. Our room was spacious yet we did have a deluxe room with a jacuzzi and have heard the opposite about all other rooms. The wait staff is friendly and helpful and the food is excellant for a all inclusive. The major complaints are: housekeeping is not good and the free internet they say they have rarely works. The first night we got here we found our sheets were dirty as well as the robes. When asking for them to be changed, the housekeeper came but brought towels and when trying to explain we needed new sheets, she could not speak english and jsut left. The elevators stop working once a day as well as the power has gone out every other dady (no storms or any reason). The free internet rarely works and always goes out in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

the shows are entertianing but sometimes feel like you are in a bad spanish 1960's game show.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Colombiano
Business
Crystal River FL 34429
Dec 9, 2009

I did'nt like it.

we went to gran bahia principe in may and we realy like it, we were impress with this hotel and friends invited us to RIU Palace, but everything was different thisa hotel smell like old moggi, we went 25 people and 4 got sick the second day for the food, the shows was bad, we went to the pool 3 times and twice they didn't have towels, the bar service was a dissaster all the time, the cleaning staff at the room was good, one person at the dinning room help us with the food for the sick people his name is [...]( good person) the rest was not good, I never planing to go back to this hotel, next time I will go to Gran bahia principe I had a good time in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ready to tour the USA
Business
Wilkes-Barre, PA
Jun 3, 2010

Beautiful Resort, BUT

The resort was beautiful. However, we hit the rainy season. The glazed floor tiles were extremely slippery and dangerous when wet. Also, there were no security locks to keep the staff out of the rooms while you were in there. We had housekeeping coming in and out of the room all day long. By the last day we were questioning their motives as someone entered out room at 9:00 pm to ask if we needed more towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CT
Jun 23, 2009

Beautiful location but lacks service

The hotel itself is just as beautiful as the pictures show. However, there are some aspects which could be improved. 1. Hotel cleanliness - the rooms were not cleaned thoroughly and sometimes towels would not be replenished. The outside walks were not swept thoroughly and there would often be debris lying around. 2. The pool side bar would close at 5 p.m. which was entirely too early. People would just start leaving the beach and could not enjoy an outdoor drink. 3. There were no umbrellas provided at the beach and people would take up spaces under palm trees very early in the morning by putting their towels on chairs. It was very difficult to get any shade from the sun. 4. The check in process was horrible. We had our Orbitz confirmation printed out but it did not have a hotel voucher attached to it. They would not let us check in without a printed hotel voucher. We asked "Don't you know who is staying in your resort?" They replied that it is not their responsibility and made us pay $6 for 1/2 use of the internet and $1 to print the voucher. When we brought back the printed voucher, they had our names all along on a list. It was infuriating thay they played such games! Other than the minor setbacks, the food was excellent, waiters provided great service, and the entertainment crew worked hard to make everyone's stay enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Please try not to forget any travel essentials such as toothpaste, cold medicine, suntan lotion...etc. The prices in the hotel are outrageous and there is nowhere to go to it cheaper.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 4, 2010

Average at Best

I was very disappointed with thee rooms. We had to switch in the middle of our stay and both rooms were very damp with a horrible odor. We had ALOT of tiny bugs in the 1st room. Each time, we were not given blankets, and we had to request extra towels that didn't arrive for an entire day. In short, the house keeping was sub par. The food, drinks, and staff were great. But as a wekly traveler, I was very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Work with Prieto travel online.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Jan 3, 2011

Our annual Christmas holiday vacation

The trip was over all waiting constantly for something. At the airport, we had previously ordered the van through [...]and had to wait almost an entire hour before we left for our hotel (we had three stops before ours). We had to wait in line for dinner reservations each day (getting up at 6:30 to make sure we didn't have to eat the buffet food). We had to wait for a lounge chair near the pool, all were taken by 7:00 in the morning (even though in the description of the hotel they do not allow this). So we had to go to the beach and drag a chair to the pool area. You are only allowed one very small towel per person which I might add were very old and worn. I felt this hotel was extremely stingy with food and towels. The air temperature was beautiful but the sun was only out for two days of our stay (overcast the rest of the time). Also, it is winter and the winds are very strong all day long. Hence the red flag was up every day and from morning to evening the water was for surfing rather than swimming or snorkeling. We have traveled extensively, Mexico and the Carribean and this was a place we will not return to, especially the RIU palace Punta Cana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Need to get up very early and wait in line to make reservations for dinner each day. My husband got up at 6:30 and was in line by 6:45, usually first, and we got our first choice (reservations are opened at 8 a.m., so it's a long time to wait in line just for a dinner reservation). However, the food was excellent for dinner especially at the Italian, Crystal, and Japanese restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maria del Mar
Business
West Palm Beach, FL
Sep 11, 2009

What is the definition of a non smoking

I had requested a non smoking room due to asthma and severe allergies. The hotel's idea of a non smoking room was using tons of Fabrees until you can not breath. We had to open the windows to let the room aired out. The manegement told us that the hotel does not have non smoking rooms. Additionally it took about four hours for us to get a room; most rooms had the same strong mold smell and the air condition did not work well. I email Orbitz and recieved no response.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Although the hotel claims five restaurants only a couple are open any given night, so go early for reservations or better yet stick to the buffet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ma
May 13, 2010

Good service for most part

The hotel was nice and the service was well. However we did not get our back door fixed or our safes which we asked multiple times. The waitsatff was great and they had a lot of activities to offer during the day

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pursehag
Business
Sam Francisco Bay Area, CA
Aug 16, 2009

Great Beach

they had great service, great food. but the room was musty smelling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
muskegon mi
Jul 24, 2010

beautiful but lacking

food was very bland. meats very tough. would have enjoyed more local fare. rooms smelled very musty and damp. everything was damp when we left, even clothes that weren't worn. poor security on lower levels at back side of resort. no lighting. had a theif come in through terrace door and take some things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top