RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Arena Gorda (within the Riu Resort Complex), Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
223 reviews
riveting memories

riveting trip--better internet connection would be a boost-tour operators outfit should be more... See full review

  • ramkarran
  • Aug 18, 2015
Awesome Experience!

It was our family's first time at Punta Cana. It was a wonderful experience. The employees,... See full review

  • Steven B.
  • Aug 5, 2015

Located within the Riu resort complex, Riu Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive towers over Arena Gorda, a pristine stretch of white sand dotted by palm trees. The palatial resort beckons with 612 rooms styled with old-world furniture and earth tones, plus multiple a la carte and buffet restaurants for any occasion.  A kids' club for children ages 4 to 12 entertains with supervised activities so that adults have private time for water sports or a spa treatment.

Dining

24-hour room service sates hunger at any moment, but thanks to the all-inclusive option, many guests sample the many restaurants on the property. Hot and cold buffet items, plus on-the-spot cooking stations are signatures, as are themed dinners three nights a week at Don Manuel. A la carte and reservations-required eateries globe trot from Italy to Japan.

Rooms

Traditional details brim throughout Riu Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive, from crown moldings to dramatic, hand-carved four-poster beds. A palette of espresso, burgundy and beige warms up the rooms, while lounge areas with steps up to the bedroom provide more comfort and space. A collection of 612 rooms caters to groups of all sizes, including families, singles and couples on a romantic getaway. Standard amenities cover hydromassage bathtub, satellite TV and patio or terrace.

Property features

Guests set the pace for leisure time at Riu Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive. A day might begin with an introductory Scuba lesson in the pool or a workout in the gym or four tennis courts. The hotel also keeps kayaking, windsurfing, sailing and snorkeling gear on hand for more adventurous travelers.

 

Parents make the most of supervised kids' activities for tykes ages 4 to 12, and the numerous live music and shows performed daily.

Highlights
  • Multiple restaurants
  • Outdoor pool and kids' pool
  • Eternal Spa for facials, massages and body treatments
  • Supervised activities for kids ages 4 to 12
Business
  • Two conference rooms and two meeting rooms
  • Wi-Fi access
  • Public computers (fees apply)
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.4 mi/19.9 km)
  • Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • El Cortecito (10.4 mi/16.8 km)
  • Cap Cano (15.3 mi/24.7 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (21.1 mi/34 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (24.6 mi/39.6 km)
Policies
  • Minimum Age: At least one person of 21 years old in every room.
  • The Hotel reserves the right of admission and therefore we may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. This situation can have serious consequences and should be avoided at any cost.
  • No student groups under 21 years of age or Spring-breakers are accepted year-round.
  • A maximum of four guests – three adults and one child or two adults and two children – are allowed per room. Four adults are NOT permitted. All bodies in room will fit on existing bedding, any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult will sleep in existing bedding.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Age must be specified during booking.
  • Honeymooners will receive a surprise gift in their room upon arrival. Certificate of Marriage will be required upon arrival.
  • Special requests, including extra beds and adjoining rooms, are subject to availability.Guests will be informed at check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite
Room with 1 king bed or 2 double beds include Bathroom equipped with Hydro massage bathtub, hairdryer, Telephone, Central air conditioning, Ceiling fan, Mini-bar & Liquor dispenser (restockable), Satellite TV, In-room safe, Balcony or terrace, complimentary in room safe, iron & ironing board, radio alamr clock, garden view, all rooms have split-level sitting area an sofa, some rooms available with a Sofa bed. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Junior Suite Superior
Room with 1 king bed or 2 double beds include Bathroom equipped with Hydro massage bathtub, hairdryer, Telephone, Central air conditioning, Ceiling fan, Mini-bar & Liquor dispenser (restockable), Satellite TV, In-room safe, Balcony or terrace, complimentary in room safe, iron & ironing board, radio alarm clock, courtyard view, all rooms have split-level sitting area and sofa, some rooms available with sofa bed. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Map

18.7226 -68.4594
Area served
Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana. Higey, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ): Approximate driving time is 30 minutes and distance is 30 kilometers.
Area description
Beach front property, 40 m. from the beach, 50 km to Higey, 30 km to Punta Cana Intl. Airport.

Dining

Italian restaurant
Italian restaurant Luigi Specialty restaurant for dinner . Reservation required .
Pavilion
at the theater plaza
Fusion Cuisine
Krystal a la carte Fusion cuisine & gourmet restaurant for dinner. Reservations required.
Brazilian restaurant
La Bodega , Brazilian theme restaurant for dinner. Reservations required.
Pool bar
Pool bar
Main Restaurant
Don Manuel,main restaurant with terrace and non smoking section, offering buffet style dining and show cooking stations, Theme dinners served three times a week.
Lounge bar
Lounge bar with terrace
Sports bar
Sports bar & snack 24 hrs open
Grill-steak house
La altagracia Grill-steak house for dinner. Reservations required.
Japanese restaurant
Yokohama Japanese specialty theme restaurant for dinner. Reservations required.
Swim up bar
Swim up bar
Lobby bar
Lobby bar.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference room divisible into 2 smaller rooms, with a total of 4,216 sq.ft of floor space.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (223)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
223 out of 223
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
marbur1943
Couples
Colorado
Sep 28, 2014

Great Value just lock up anything of value.

This would have been a perfect trip if Girlfriend didn't get $300 stolen by the maid who turned down the bed while we were at dinner. She forgot to put her purse in the safe but it was in the bottom of her bag which meant she went through our bags when she was in our room. This was a great time of the year to go because there were not very many children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you want to eat in the buffet every night then do not book any morning tours. You can only book the fine dinning restaurants from 10 am to 12 pm and since we were gone at that time we had to eat in the buffets almost every night

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
World Class Nomad
Couples
Chicago
Sep 21, 2014

Go Go Go!!!

AMAZING! If you are looking for classic accommodations with stellar service this is the resort for you!! We are a finicky couple and the resort eclipsed our expectations. This trip was for relaxation and boy did we ever have some fun! We stayed at the resort the entire week, no excursions necessary. The food was delicious with many many selections to choose from. We don't have a complaint about the food, not one. Our room was large with a very comfortable bed. I do suggest packing a small fan for the bathroom as there isn't an air conditioning vent in the bathroom, I did and was so glad for it. Every night we enjoyed a great show ~ We were in awe over the talent and performances. Worth staying up for! Beyond all the compliments I can give about this resort I cannot say enough about the fantastic staff. They are the best in service and personality. We had a great time which was only enhanced by the staff. FIVE STAR without question!! We will definitely return to this resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

the shows start at 10 PM. Get your table by 920 no reservations needed. The shows are amazing!

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cozz.
Couples
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Sep 13, 2014

Nice Resort But Would Not Go Back !!

The resort was beautiful (it truly was a Palace) !!! The beach was perfect !!! The bed was as hard as a ROCK ( if you have any kind of back issues forget it) !! The food was below average at best ( worst room service food I have ever had & the menu was very, very limited ) !!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pavanreddy
Couples
mountain view, california
Sep 7, 2014

awesome place

Had a get time staying at this hotel. This was our third RIU hotel stay. I think this has all amenities for a really relaxing vacation. I would have liked to have a better WiFi at this location. Unrelated to the stay but the WiFi was very slow. Waiters are really helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
All friendly
Family
New Jersey
Aug 24, 2014

Great location, but rooms not clean

Perfectly located resort, but the rooms were not clean at all. We saw bed bug spots inside the room on curtain and outside the room on the walls too. When we complained, they applied with bug spray and the smell would not go away for our entire stay. The staff was very nice every where... But I wish they could keep rooms cleaner and free from bed bugs..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Good shows every night.. Get inside the hall sooner.

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Epepe
Family
Jersey shore
Aug 20, 2014

Great Resort

We had a great time. The only con would be the lack of night life

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Lack of night fun

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KJae
Couples
Atlanta, GA
Aug 12, 2014

Great staff, good stay

I surprised my boyfriend with a trip to Punta Cana for his birthday. We absolutely loved it! The staff was great, the food was good, & the pool and beach was awesome! We'd definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Simon Mansion Restaurant and Club Oro inside Hard Rock Casino was really nice! Great night out!!

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Awi profesora
Family
San Juan PR
Aug 6, 2014

Excelent

It was an excelente and beautiful experience. The fitness Room need more attention

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Th34d3v1l5
Couples
Long Island, NY
Aug 4, 2014

Go for the beach, the pool, and the drinks.

Let me start by saying I had an amazing time there. I'm also a realist. When I shopped around I was looking for the most bang for my buck and I got it. My point is that I got a long stay for a relatively good price. Whenever you get the most bang for your buck then you are going to sacrifice. I can confirm that the rooms have a musty odor and I even saw a small amount of black mold. I did not waste my time trying to get a new room because of the lack of success from previous posters. That being said I didn't come here to stay in my room. We left the room at 9am and would return periodically throughout the day for small amounts of time then we were right back out until it was time for bed. The food was Ok. The buffet was hit or miss and you had to get creative. The theme restaurants were mostly good. Two of them (luigis and the steakhouse) we did not like at all. Two of them (the bodega and gourmet) were the best on the resort and we thoroughly enjoyed. The Japanese fell somewhere in between all of them. The great thing is that you can make reservations for for three nights in a row only having to return every 3 days in the morning to make reservations in in the morning. Other resorts have been to you must do this every day and it gets competitive which kind of defeats the purpose of vacation. The entertainment crew was excellent. You could join them in many different activities or you could just be left alone to enjoy the sun. They had things going on from 9am until midnight. I try not to be an arrogant American however, I honestly expected them to speak better English even though I had read posts here saying otherwise. This is true. This is a Spanish speaking country and from my experience most guests were also not native English speakers. There were many from other Spanish speaking countries as well as many German speaking people and every other language around. A rough understanding of Spanish would help but is not completely necessary as most employees have at minimum a rough understanding of the English language. You can get by with no understanding of the language but as I already mentioned it couldn't hurt. Long story short, you aren't paying top dollar so don't expect top quality. There are 3 other Riu resorts on the property. We briefly walked through them and this one appeared to be nicest. This was my first time to the Dominican Republic so I can not compare it to other Dominican resorts. I have been to Mexico and Paradise Island in the Bahamas. The Mexican resort was more expensive so it would not be fair to compare. In the Bahamas I went to a similarly priced resort(also a Riu) and got a cleaner room with similar food and better English. I wouldn't say it was better just different. To close this rant if you want to drink and play in in the beautiful Dominican sun all while not having to reach for your wallet even though the food won't be like home then you will love this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

I found that the WiFi is much better than mentioned in previous posts. Refrain from purchasing a global roaming plan use the WiFi to make all of your calls and send all of your text messages via an app(ie; talktaphone)

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Husband M
Couples
Las Vegas
Aug 4, 2014

Annual Vacation

We had a blast the hotel location was perfect and food and drinks were great!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top