$157 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Arena Gorda (within the Riu Resort Complex), Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
217 out of 217
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KJae
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 12, 2014

Great staff, good stay

I surprised my boyfriend with a trip to Punta Cana for his birthday. We absolutely loved it! The staff was great, the food was good, & the pool and beach was awesome! We'd definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Simon Mansion Restaurant and Club Oro inside Hard Rock Casino was really nice! Great night out!!

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Awi profesora
Business
San Juan PR
Aug 6, 2014

Excelent

It was an excelente and beautiful experience. The fitness Room need more attention

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Th34d3v1l5
Business
Long Island, NY
Aug 4, 2014

Go for the beach, the pool, and the drinks.

Let me start by saying I had an amazing time there. I'm also a realist. When I shopped around I was looking for the most bang for my buck and I got it. My point is that I got a long stay for a relatively good price. Whenever you get the most bang for your buck then you are going to sacrifice. I can confirm that the rooms have a musty odor and I even saw a small amount of black mold. I did not waste my time trying to get a new room because of the lack of success from previous posters. That being said I didn't come here to stay in my room. We left the room at 9am and would return periodically throughout the day for small amounts of time then we were right back out until it was time for bed. The food was Ok. The buffet was hit or miss and you had to get creative. The theme restaurants were mostly good. Two of them (luigis and the steakhouse) we did not like at all. Two of them (the bodega and gourmet) were the best on the resort and we thoroughly enjoyed. The Japanese fell somewhere in between all of them. The great thing is that you can make reservations for for three nights in a row only having to return every 3 days in the morning to make reservations in in the morning. Other resorts have been to you must do this every day and it gets competitive which kind of defeats the purpose of vacation. The entertainment crew was excellent. You could join them in many different activities or you could just be left alone to enjoy the sun. They had things going on from 9am until midnight. I try not to be an arrogant American however, I honestly expected them to speak better English even though I had read posts here saying otherwise. This is true. This is a Spanish speaking country and from my experience most guests were also not native English speakers. There were many from other Spanish speaking countries as well as many German speaking people and every other language around. A rough understanding of Spanish would help but is not completely necessary as most employees have at minimum a rough understanding of the English language. You can get by with no understanding of the language but as I already mentioned it couldn't hurt. Long story short, you aren't paying top dollar so don't expect top quality. There are 3 other Riu resorts on the property. We briefly walked through them and this one appeared to be nicest. This was my first time to the Dominican Republic so I can not compare it to other Dominican resorts. I have been to Mexico and Paradise Island in the Bahamas. The Mexican resort was more expensive so it would not be fair to compare. In the Bahamas I went to a similarly priced resort(also a Riu) and got a cleaner room with similar food and better English. I wouldn't say it was better just different. To close this rant if you want to drink and play in in the beautiful Dominican sun all while not having to reach for your wallet even though the food won't be like home then you will love this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

I found that the WiFi is much better than mentioned in previous posts. Refrain from purchasing a global roaming plan use the WiFi to make all of your calls and send all of your text messages via an app(ie; talktaphone)

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Husband M
Business
Las Vegas
Aug 4, 2014

Annual Vacation

We had a blast the hotel location was perfect and food and drinks were great!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Janett from Miami
Business
Miami, Florida
Jul 18, 2014

I love it and will definetely recommend it

I am very picky and I have to say that it was a great experience! The staff and service was awesome! The hotel is gorgeous! The buffet food was delicious and the best part is that is was difference everyday! No need to visit the a la carte restaurants. We did not really like the lobster at the stake house, but everything else was pretty good and since the buffet was so complete and good, we ended up cancelling the other restaurant reservations. It was overall a great experience. Has a little big for both worlds (to relax and to party)...the shows were very good too (better than I expected). Will definitely recommend it and that is a lot to say from someone who has been to Punta Cana 8 times already! A great tip...take a lot of $1 bills. Although tips are included, those little bills will take your experience on and beyond!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Reserve your water sports ahead of time...if you can the first or 2nd day you arrive, that way you make sure you get the times you want.

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cmzmss
Business
New Jersey
Jul 18, 2014

Perfect little getaway

This was a perfect stay for a young couple like ourselves!! The staff was extremely friendly and worked extremely hard. The beach is beautiful and there is plenty of activity for those who don't just like to sit on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast is the best!

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
puntaman
Business
central, Ohio
Jul 15, 2014

Riu Palace 2014

Nice hotel, great staff but food was average. The menu for breakfast and lunch was the same everyday. The menu varied a little at dinner from day to day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
antontheman
Business
new jersey
Jul 8, 2014

friends vacation

we visited many riu hotels,but our first time at the palace. hotel was beautiful... the food was very bad.we went with another couple,and we all got sick. the buffet was consistent ,and had the same menu. the specialty restaurants was the big problem.the food was horrible. the French restaurant was the only exception, very good.the rest null.we love punta cana. I don't know if we will ever visit another riu again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cheeze jr23
Business
bronx ny
Jul 2, 2014

freat getaway

It was a great experience and the staff made it better .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great foods

Review of RIU Palace Punta Cana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chrjoh
Business
Waretown, nj
Jul 1, 2014

Do not go in the summer!!

Lovely hotel, but some of the staff were rude and could not care less about the patron. The lobby staff were great, the girl taking reservations for dinner was the worse! I would fire her in a heart beat. Rude and could not be bothered. The food was less than average, over cooked and some of it was just nasty!!! The wait staff was very nice. The maître de in both restaurants were , I thing, they thought they were policemen!!! We were treated like peasants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food was not good!!!

Back to menu Return to top